Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gillside Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Gillside Farm
Glenridding
(lake District)
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0QQ
Tel: 017684 82346
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 106 Reviews
                8/10 from 106 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Philly27 3 reviews from this member

Visited this site on a busy weekend with my partner and two friends. The three showers (in ladies) were a stone throw away from our tent; clean, hot and only 20p (long enough to wash my long locks!)
Local shops well stocked and nearby petrol station. The owners friendly and chilled out. Good price for such a breath taking setting; plenty of superb walks in surrounding area and local pubs which I didn't manage to sample.

Pitched our 4 man tent on a slight slope but didn't stop me from sleeping! Noise level was low with a good mix of people all ages. Dogs welcomed but need to be kept on lead! Pretty basic didn't have hook ups but think available but we're camping not hoteling after all. Would definitely go back there again great place to be in the heart of the hills! Roads well kept even for little cars. Washing up facilities were a God send and clean also.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Budgieseed 1 review from this member

A lovely campsite with clean facilities, Mrs Lightfoot and family are very welcoming and accomodating. We've been 3 years running and will do so again. The views from the site are amazing and there is nothing better than enjoying a barbecue of an evening while the sun goes down. Lovely walks to suit all tastes from the site, from Lantys Tarn to the mighty Hellvellyn.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wetnwild78 4 reviews from this member

Basic facilities, but kept clean.

Young lambs playing on site.

Lovely location with glenridding village walking distance.

Good location to tackle striding edge and helvellyn. Some flat pitches near to river.

Would return.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hps199 1 review from this member

Arrived back on Sunday from a week at this campsite which I thoroughly enjoyed and would stay at again. For 5 out of my 6 nights stay there was a maximum of 3 tents pitched which were mostly occupied by serious walkers who only stayed a couple of nights max, which made for a quiet and peaceful week. As a lone camper I felt safe and secure. Although as expected it did get busy (perhaps a little too busy) over the Bank Holiday - but where in the Lake District doesn't?

The facilities were basic but always very clean and plenty of hot water and I found that the 20p was easily sufficient to wash long hair and stand and relax after a long days walking (anyone who needed 60p spends too long in the shower and obviously isn't on a water meter when at home!), although I would imagine the toilet block could be quite chilly at either end of the season it was fine in May.

While the site was quite muddy in places there had been an extraordinary amount of rain during the week so it was hardly surprising and the site certainly dried out quickly when it did stop raining.

It was an easy walk to the village where food/milk and essentials could be bought, as well as a nice walk down the lake and a trip on the Ullswater steamer.

If you are a serious walker, who requires a good base with decent facilities that don't cost the earth, within walking distance of some of the most spectacular mountain scenes in England then this is definitely the site for you.

If you want a well groomed, posh place with a children's playground, hard-standings and tiny specified pitches then go elsewhere and no campsite I have ever stayed at could guarantee to not have irritating people who don't realise that tents are not sound proof!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stu4668 2 reviews from this member

Just arrived back early from bank holiday weekend. This is the first time I have stayed at the site and it will certainly be the last. If you are twenty something, like loud music and drunken behaviour until 3am then this is the site for you (Glastonbury would probably be quieter). The site is not managed at all, the only site rules we saw were no camp fires, but quite a few people were having fires. Toilet block basic but relatively clean, showers 20p but you need to spend 60p to have a proper wash.
The owners certainly need to invest in some stone for tracks and hard standing as the place was an entire mud bath, site on an elevated slope and people trying to get the cars up hill. Anyway its true what they say, you get what you pay for, £21 per night for family of four, I will certainly pay that extra £4/5 per night and go to the family oriented sites where they ensure site rules are observed. This site is not suitable for families with children in our opinion.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ayunns1 1 review from this member

We arrived at Gillside farm initially planning on spending just the one night and moving on but soon changed our minds as this is one of the best located sites we've stayed on in the lake district.
It is obviously perfectly sited for some fantastic walks and has plenty of pitches available - although if you plan on spending a long weekend, make sure you arrive early on the Friday as it gets extremely busy towards early evening (that doesn't say it's noisy or not in the least bit relaxing).  Once we had pitched our tent at a perfect spot right next to the Gill we spent hours just admiring the wonderful views afforded from the site!

The facilities are what could probably be termed as basic, but they are spotlessly clean and more importantly showers are always hot, toilets always flush and paper can always be found - there isn't really a lot lacking from Gillside Farm and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again should the opportunity arise!
Definitely recommend staying here if you can.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marc_sp 1 review from this member

I have stayed at Gillside a few times now and have had mixed experiences.
The site is in a good location just a few minutes walk from Glenridding and at the start of some good walks. Glenridding has a few pubs and shops with a tourist information office as well.
 
As for the site itself I will spilt it up into pros and cons.
Pros
Amazing scenery that is hard to beat. Friendly family run site
Clean shower block within easy reach of the site
Easy walking distance to Glenridding
Milk and other items available from the farm house
Prices average
 
Cons
The chemical toilets can be rather smelly if the wind is blowing towards the site. We have tried moving the tent to different places but if the winds against you, you can't avoid it.
 
The site is on a bit of a slope so you tend to roll a bit unless you get one of the few level patches
 
Possibly due to the slope so water flows down to the sire, when it rains the it gets very muddy. A couple of cars actually got stuck this last visit. If you pop up to the farmhouse they will come tow you out with the tractor though but one time a couple had to wait quite along time.
 
The showers seem a bit intermittent, they do stay hot but the flow of water can almost disappear at some times.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: John +trish 1 review from this member

This was our first time at this site and it will not be our last.  Toilets and showers were clean. This site was popular with families and groups, but not overly noisy at night which is a great improvement from the last camp site we stayed on.  Easy access to Glenridding from the main entrance and footpath on site.  We only ever had breakfast on site, we ate at the Travellers Rest for lunch, which offered a good menu for all the family and reasonably priced.  We also enjoyed the curry night at Fletchers Bar. Curry and pudding for £7.95.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lisaalain 1 review from this member

Last Year after a week of camping on our last night we found this peaceful and beautiful campsite, ideal for walkers. Everything you need is only mins away and the shower/toilet block is clean and easy to reach, we have now stayed there 3 times. I would recommend this site to anyone who enjoy walks by the lake or walks to the hills and mountains around Glen-ridding.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kath+john 7 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 12 nights arriving on a Sunday and leaving on a Friday. The weather was very mixed, so the site may have been less busy than normal. We found this to be a really good site, in a beautiful setting.
The site was split into a large field at a lower level bounded by the beck, and a smaller area further up the hill bounded by the field wall. The lower field was level, and had the toilet block at one end. Access to the lower field was direct from the lane, and was busy at the weekend. The upper area was accessed through the farmyard, and hence less straight forward. It was less popular, therefore more peaceful and probably a bit more exposed. The site was very quiet mid week.
The owners were very friendly and helpful. The toilet block was always clean and supplied with loo paper. The men's had a shaver point, and the women's a 3 pin socket. Showers were 20p a time, and always hot. There was an undercover dishwashing area. There was a payphone on the site, useful as mobile reception was poor for Orange.
We paid £14/night for two people, a car, and a tent.
There were lots of rabbits hopping about, and odd groups of stray sheep. Milk, a range of yogurts, and chocolate was always available on site at reasonable prices. At weekends there was a catering van in the lower field. Two small but adequate food shops, a hiking type shop, some pubs, tea-rooms, and a good tourist office, were 5 minutes walk down the beckside path to the village. There are bus and boat services from the village.
Excellent hiking can be had straight from the campsite to suit all abilities.

Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4027 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019