Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gillside Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Gillside Farm
Glenridding
(lake District)
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0QQ
Tel: 017684 82346
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 106 Reviews
                8/10 from 106 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wendy2017 2 reviews from this member

A lot of people seem to like this site but it is not for us and we won’t be returning. It is far too busy with not enough facilities to cope. They seem to run youth schemes from here so large groups of young adults kept arriving and their camping area was near the toilet/shower block. They were always in there and as there is only 3 showers and sinks it was hard to even get space to brush your teeth. The area around the sinks was always drenched and the hot water was scalding so unusable.

But the worst thing for us was having no freezer. We had gone armed with our cool box filled with sausages, bacon etc and it all had to be eaten quick. For a site that size I was really surprised about no freezer.

It is a short walk to an expensive small shop but a 30 minute drive to anywhere decent. I felt a bit cut off which may appeal to some people.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sandgrounder52 11 reviews from this member

This is a very attractive site in a beautiful location.

The two touring van areas are either side of a row of static caravans. One side is beneath trees alongside a fast flowing rocky stream. Although attractive I thought these pitches were a bit small and would be shaded nearly all of the time. The pitch we chose was amongst 10 or so on terraced pitches which look to have been recently gravelled. EHU was fine and water is available close to most pitches.

The location is ideal. 10 minutes walk into Glenridding (with bars, shops and hotels) along a pretty, wooded riverside walk. Alternatively, a 5 minute walk the other way leads to The Travellers Rest, with a decent bar where we enjoyed a tasty meal (very generous portions!)

The site owners are some of the friendliest, kindest people I ever encountered on a caravan site. They were a real pleasure to deal with.

Unlike a previous reviewer, I did think the approach was a bit hair raising, it is up a steep, very narrow road. However, we did arrive and depart without incident.

The site is let down by one thing. The shower block. Unfortunately, it just isn't up to the standard that I look for.

The toilets weren't bad. The cubicles have concrete floors which showed their age but were clean. The toilets themselves were always clean with plenty of paper and an effective flush. The showers, however, were poor. It is 20p for 3 minutes but the coin mechanism didn't always work so you needed to add extra coins. There was a hook on the back of the door but no division or curtain to protect clothes / belongings whilst showering. No shelves for soap, shampoo etc in the shower. Finally, the water temperature was tepid rather than hot.

Because of the showers I would look elsewhere next time I visit Ullswater. However, if they upgraded the shower block I'd be back in a heartbeat.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RickScatchard 4 reviews from this member

A good site. Perfect for walkers. Showers hot and not expensive. Would go again. Owners friendly. Handy for village and lake steamers. Access road tricky but not impossible. The hard standings are pretty level if prone to a little 'puddling up'.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dielie 1 review from this member

Stayed here 4 nights. Saturday and Sunday was very crowded due to perfect weather, capacity of facilities (toilets and showers) not sufficient. But for the rest a very good campsite. Perfect grass pitches. Great views and lots of walking directly from the campsite.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Glennpenn 2 reviews from this member

Great site, great views. Worked out at £19 a night for the two of us. Showers and facilities are fine but a little dated, 20p needed for showers. Milk, chocolate, 20p's and alike available from the farmhouse.

We were pitched near to the white tents on the flat lower level, when Monday came so did the outward bound/adventure school trips which used them and made it noisy from 8-10am and 7-10pm when playing football and such.

Easy access to Helvelyn via striding edge or greenside as well as many other walks.

2 minute walk down to shops, bars, restaurants, cafe's etc all right next to Ullswater which has the steamer boat tours, boat/canoe hire, a small beach and free fishing (pike, perch and trout said to be in there I caught a perch on the spinner1).

All in all lots to do without having to travel.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Micktab 1 review from this member

Just stayed 4 nights in a holiday home ( static caravan ), wonderful time, lovely setting with the hills around the site, this is the third time I have stayed here, fishing at red tarn and ulswater, nice local pubs and shops, will be coming back.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Durhamspurs59 1 review from this member

Spent five nights here July new to caravan touring only the fourth time towing so a little apprehensive after reading the reviews regarding pitching. No need to be, tow slow and the site approach is ok

No allocated pitches but plenty to chose from and spacious. Upon arrival went to check in so laid back the lady was baking cakes so said just come back when I wanted to pay very friendly and trusting.

If like me walking the fells is your love you will not be disappointed my van never moved till it was time to hitch up and leave. Cant add anything new regarding showers, glenridding previous posts sum them up a good site and location. If I was to be picky the tent field has the best views compared to the caravan pitches but neither compare to the views from the top of a fell magical

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Steveand babs 8 reviews from this member

Stayed 5 nights.

Lovely location 10/15 mins walk/stroll from Glenridding following the stream where there are some small food shops, art gallery, hiking shop, hotels & Ullswater of course!.

Many walks off the site into the mountains.

Electric pitches are either terraced (need to be very good at reversing or have a motor mover to get on) or a tight spot under trees next to a stream. Note you need rock pegs for awnings.

Toilet block for tent field very clean. Toilet block for electric hook up area could do with an update with male urinal a bit stinky on an evening (mainly concrete standing area not being tiled I think), no dispensing soap at the sinks all the time I was there despite being cleaned daily?

20p for a shower and very hot water at the dish wash.

The farmer was extremely helpful when my camp chair fell to pieces and searched in his bucket of nuts and bolts to find a replacement to fix it. A big thank you there.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: High tower 1 review from this member

Hi we have been camping at gillside farm campsite Glenridding ullswater since Thursday 26th may to the 30th may Bank holiday weekend, have to say I have never been to this campsite but I will be returning as we had an excellent time here at gillside farm. It is a little site and very quiet for the family and dog friendly. Only down side there is no play area for the kids, when there got bored, but apart from that was spot on. Will definitely tell friends and family about this site!

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 484 reviews from this member

This is a superb campsite at the top of Glenridding village. Facilities are basic and the site is very relaxed. Great pubs on the doorstep. Access to the lake for water sports is a 10 minute walk and the classic 'edges' Helvellyn walk starts from the site! Great place.

Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3686 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!