Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gillside Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Gillside Farm Reviews

Gillside Farm
Glenridding
(lake District)
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0QQ
Tel: 017684 82346
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 112 Reviews
                8/10 from 112 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gwennol17 10 reviews from this member

 Fabulous location. We were sited next to the stream, under some big trees. The facilities were clean and lots of hot water.

There's a good short circular walk above the site, with amazing views. And of course it is ideally sited for Helvellyn and other hills.

Milk, eggs and yoghurts available from the farm.

We were very happy with our stay and plan to return. 


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gary newman 3 reviews from this member

 The huge plus for this site is it's fantastic location. We were in the 'overflow' part of the site, which is situated alongside a stunning steam on one side, but a busy footpath on the other. This didn't bother us, but may bother others.

This area hasn't got set pitches and feels like a French aire, rather than a site. Our neighbours awning was only a couple of feet away from our van. Again, we were ok with that, but not all will be.

Having said that, we felt a little aggrieved at paying the same rate as those on the full campsite, with facilities. (We were offered the chance to move over after one night, but we really loved the views, so stayed put). Situated on the path for Helvelyn, but only 10 minutes to the pretty town of Glenridding, on the shores of Ullswater.

Facilities not open at moment, but look adequate. However, if you are on the overflow side, it's a bit of a trek to the Elsan and water point.

Friendly and helpful owners of the site and we wouldn't hesitate to return. Also on a good bus route between Penrith and Windermere. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sharon 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite and good facilities. The views are breath taking.

Pub a 10min walk away and around 20mins walk into town. Woke one morning with sheep grazing aound the awning, not something you wake up to every day.

Nature lovers will be in their element here. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Barnsacl 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent location and hard standing pitches, shared water by pitches. Stayed for 8 nights, service was wonderful, staff friendly and excellent views.

Nicely maintained and good laundry. Close enough to shops local bars. Dogs allowed, easy access.

Would recommend. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: AndreaLyons 3 reviews from this member

 The site is in a lovely setting next to Rattlebeck Gill and Rattlebeck Bridge. There is a mixture of accommodation types including a bothy, tent field and static caravans. They have made terracing so that there are level, hard standing pitches which are ideal for motorhomes.

As we had booked and paid in advance signage at the entrance advised us to pick a pitch we liked and pitch up. That meant that we did not go to reception or meet the owners at all.

The toilets and showers were for the use of the bothy occupants only to help reduce contact with other people and the risk of spreading the virus.

This is an ideal location for access to Glenridding and all it has to offer, a set off point for lots of hill walks and a quiet place just to sit and relax. It was lovely. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: November 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cheryl44 5 reviews from this member

 Extra large gravel pitch, electric hook up and shared water point adjacent to pitch.

Excellent location, close to Glennridding and en-route to many fell walks. Short walk to Travellers Rest Pub.

Toilets and showers clean. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wendy2017 2 reviews from this member

 A lot of people seem to like this site but it is not for us and we won’t be returning. It is far too busy with not enough facilities to cope.

They seem to run youth schemes from here so large groups of young adults kept arriving and their camping area was near the toilet/shower block.

They were always in there and as there is only 3 showers and sinks it was hard to even get space to brush your teeth. The area around the sinks was always drenched and the hot water was scalding so unusable.

But the worst thing for us was having no freezer. We had gone armed with our cool box filled with sausages, bacon etc and it all had to be eaten quick. For a site that size I was really surprised about no freezer.

It is a short walk to an expensive small shop but a 30 minute drive to anywhere decent. I felt a bit cut off which may appeal to some people. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sandgrounder52 12 reviews from this member

 This is a very attractive site in a beautiful location.

The two touring van areas are either side of a row of static caravans. One side is beneath trees alongside a fast flowing rocky stream. Although attractive I thought these pitches were a bit small and would be shaded nearly all of the time. The pitch we chose was amongst 10 or so on terraced pitches which look to have been recently gravelled. EHU was fine and water is available close to most pitches.

The location is ideal. 10 minutes walk into Glenridding (with bars, shops and hotels) along a pretty, wooded riverside walk. Alternatively, a 5 minute walk the other way leads to The Travellers Rest, with a decent bar where we enjoyed a tasty meal (very generous portions!)

The site owners are some of the friendliest, kindest people I ever encountered on a caravan site. They were a real pleasure to deal with.

Unlike a previous reviewer, I did think the approach was a bit hair raising, it is up a steep, very narrow road. However, we did arrive and depart without incident.

The site is let down by one thing. The shower block. Unfortunately, it just isn't up to the standard that I look for.

The toilets weren't bad. The cubicles have concrete floors which showed their age but were clean. The toilets themselves were always clean with plenty of paper and an effective flush. The showers, however, were poor. It is 20p for 3 minutes but the coin mechanism didn't always work so you needed to add extra coins. There was a hook on the back of the door but no division or curtain to protect clothes / belongings whilst showering. No shelves for soap, shampoo etc in the shower. Finally, the water temperature was tepid rather than hot.

Because of the showers I would look elsewhere next time I visit Ullswater. However, if they upgraded the shower block I'd be back in a heartbeat. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RickScatchard 5 reviews from this member

 A good site. Perfect for walkers. Showers hot and not expensive. Would go again. Owners friendly.

Handy for village and lake steamers. Access road tricky but not impossible.

The hard standings are pretty level if prone to a little 'puddling up'. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dielie 1 review from this member

 Stayed here 4 nights. Saturday and Sunday was very crowded due to perfect weather, capacity of facilities (toilets and showers) not sufficient.

But for the rest a very good campsite. Perfect grass pitches.

Great views and lots of walking directly from the campsite. 


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gillside Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gillside Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Gillside Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5015 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement