Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gillside Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Gillside Farm Reviews

Gillside Farm
Glenridding
(lake District)
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0QQ
Tel: 017684 82346
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 119 Reviews
                8/10 from 119 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ashbash 4 reviews from this member

 We booked this site based on its location, as we wanted somewhere that allowed us to walk straight into the fells without having to drive anywhere.

The path towards Helvellyn goes right past the tent pitching area and many other Wainwrights can be started directly from the site. We went up Glenridding Dodd, Heron Pike, Sheffield Pike and onto to Stybarrow Dodd and Raise.

It was great being able to do our walk without having to factor in drive times and parking etc.

If I was in a tent I would give it 10 out of 10, but in a touring caravan it wasn't quite as perfect. The tent pitches, which are shown in most photos online have panoramic views of the fells but the touring pitches are set amongst the static caravans and trees.

Only a couple of pitches are suitable for small tourers beside the beck, which is very pretty with good views. The majority of the touring pitches are on a terraced area and although large enough for a caravan, car and awning, they feel very close together.

Due to the way they are set out you will often be overlooked from all sides and can be very close to the unit beside/opposite you. Our view from our front window was the rear end of a motor home and we could hear our neighbours conversation from inside our caravan as they sat chatting in their awning!

The rules require dogs to be on leads as this is a working farm, but several dogs were wandering around off lead (they mainly belonged to the people in the static vans) so consequently there was some dog poop here and there.

These were the only niggles I had and may not be an issue for others and to be honest the location outweighed any negatives overall.

We didn't use the showers but did use the toilets and they were very clean. I would definitely recommend this site to anyone wanting to climb the mountains and fells as a perfect base.

Those using a tent or campervan will have plenty of choice regarding where and how to pitch to make the most of the fantastic views.

My husband had good mobile phone signal with GifGaf, but I had no signal at all in the whole Glenridding and Patterdale area with Three network.

I gave this site 8/10, as we really enjoyed our stay apart from a couple of niggles. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hwaring 4 reviews from this member

 We arrived on a trial bike rally weekend so our pitch wasn't ready, but wasn't a problem, there was room for us to park up till later on in afternoon

Excellent location, just a short walk into village with steamer departure and local pub doing reasonably priced food

We paid at house then left alone to enjoy our break

Would definitely return 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Davidc 1 review from this member

 Booked in via email. Checked in and enjoyed the fabulous site.

Guys, use the shower nearest the outer wall, by far the best and the 20 pence last ages. 👍 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jelray 3 reviews from this member

 Nice site, easy stroll into village, 3 pubs, and cafe, gift shop & general store. Lots of outdoor activities available, as well as water sports.

Site is good, plenty of spaces, but quite a lot of the area is sloping. Where we were in our Campervan was a hook up pitch on the camping field side are essentially car parking spaces quite close together.

There’s a van serving food from about 07:30 on site, was a lovely addition!

The toilet block is basic, but very clean & well maintained. 20p per shower which was lovely & hot & very powerful!

Not much for kids to do, other than regular outdoor activities but wasn't an issue for us.

Close to the stream, so supervision of younger children required. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: TRT1968 10 reviews from this member

 Basic facilities - toilet, water, bin, showers.

Showers were 20p for every 3 minutes, but they were hot and clean. Bit cramped I found, and nowhere to perch.

There was a catering van on site, which served a range of good basic grub. The top field I was on was a bit sloped, leading to a sliding sleep.

However the site is ideally located for a circular along the hardest routes on Helvellyn, and it's nearby a bus route that will take you to the transport hubs of the area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ianarayner 29 reviews from this member

 Stayed over the bank holiday weekend so the site was busy, some might say packed.

This is a great site for walking the hills around Glenridding. Ullswater lake is great for a play on the water or you can just relax by the beck and enjoy the scenery.

Toilets are clean and showers were good, (20p gets you about 5 mins).

Milk eggs and yoghurt available at the farmhouse and lovely bacon sandwiches from the van. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gwennol17 10 reviews from this member

 Fabulous location. We were sited next to the stream, under some big trees. The facilities were clean and lots of hot water.

There's a good short circular walk above the site, with amazing views. And of course it is ideally sited for Helvellyn and other hills.

Milk, eggs and yoghurts available from the farm.

We were very happy with our stay and plan to return. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Meps 8 reviews from this member

 This site is all about location, direct access to walks up to Helvellyn and other areas and 5 min walk to lake. Unless you can get a pitch on the far side (away from toilets) or up on the top field, you probably won't get much peace.

We were told in April that they wouldn't be running at full capacity but this was definitely not the case as it was rammed. Although by Sunday it was probably 1/4 the amount of people than on the Friday. If you go out for the day, you don't know who will have plonked themselves within yards of your pitch.

As we didn't get there til late on a Friday afternoon and as it was the start of a hot week, the only level pitch left was alongside the path hikers used to get to Helvellyn so we had no privacy.

Unfortunately for us as no set pitches a big group of very inconsiderate families crammed themselves and their 3 tents into a tiny space, giving absolutely no regard for others, just 2 foot away from other poor campers.

They then were making a racket til well after 12pm and up again making a racket at 7am. This was just unfortunate for us, and it was the decision maker to leave.

Also, although obligatory wearing of face masks has been lifted, very few campers were using masks in the toilets, showers and washign up area, even though signs were still up, so totally not respecting other people's wishes.

As we didn't know how long the noisy neighbours would be there, we decided to move on to the Yorkshire Dales to a really peaceful site.

My other half said toilets and showers got really busy when a big group of DofE boys camped overnight.

You'd probably be better off here mid-week in September, if you do go, take some earplugs! Cheaper site than others in Lake District I suppose. 


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gary newman 3 reviews from this member

 The huge plus for this site is it's fantastic location. We were in the 'overflow' part of the site, which is situated alongside a stunning steam on one side, but a busy footpath on the other. This didn't bother us, but may bother others.

This area hasn't got set pitches and feels like a French aire, rather than a site. Our neighbours awning was only a couple of feet away from our van. Again, we were ok with that, but not all will be.

Having said that, we felt a little aggrieved at paying the same rate as those on the full campsite, with facilities. (We were offered the chance to move over after one night, but we really loved the views, so stayed put). Situated on the path for Helvelyn, but only 10 minutes to the pretty town of Glenridding, on the shores of Ullswater.

Facilities not open at moment, but look adequate. However, if you are on the overflow side, it's a bit of a trek to the Elsan and water point.

Friendly and helpful owners of the site and we wouldn't hesitate to return. Also on a good bus route between Penrith and Windermere. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sharon 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite and good facilities. The views are breath taking.

Pub a 10min walk away and around 20mins walk into town. Woke one morning with sheep grazing aound the awning, not something you wake up to every day.

Nature lovers will be in their element here. 


Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gillside Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gillside Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Gillside Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3143 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement