Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gillside Farm

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Gillside Farm > Reviews

Gillside Farm
Glenridding
(lake District)
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0QQ
Tel: 017684 82346
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 88 Reviews
                8/10 from 88 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  88 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bpjyt6 1 review from this member

 Just a fantastic site. I need say No more, amazing. Well done.  
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Chrssh 2 reviews from this member

 Great site with a really good location, bottom of Helvellyn!

Site very clean and tidy, with the required amenities (also very clean),

Good prices so will definitely be visiting again!

Be aware when booking in, very friendly owner with loads of local info, you will be accosted by a lovely border collie requiring obligatory ear rubs! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Emmaw7 1 review from this member

 Cracking campsite - perfect location at the foot of the Striding edge walk and 5 mins from a great pub.

Really lovely welcome from the owners.

Cheap hot showers.

We'll be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Nickelpede 5 reviews from this member

 Used as a base for Helvellyn via Swirral Edge and down Striding Edge. Excellent location for the walk, path runs through the site!

Great location, nestled in rolling hills. Short walk into Glenridding where you can access the lake (Ulls Water) for a paddle/swim also a shop for wood or milk etc.

Tight to get into site. Camping is a sharp left after the bridge. In future I'd ignore the 'go to reception before pitching' especially with a trailer nightmare once stopped - swing right towards the statics to enter - I say all this from experience of messing it up and having to detach trailer to turn. Trailer bottomed out couple of times on road onto pitches but no harm done.

Pitches are good but only a few can be considered near level these are nearer the bottom of the field.

Facilities dated but clean.

Quick response to booking. Not the most friendly of welcomes but ok when taking payment next day even after my adjustments in nights stayed.

Few younger families with the usual noise associated but we have been that family so no complaints.

River very near kids playing can be seen from site in some locations.

£38 a night 3 adults 1 child. I thought was pricey but it's a changing world. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Nichar 1 review from this member

 Excellent location for exploring all the eastern fells

Basic facilities but good enough for what you need on a campsite. Showers cost 20p but were hot and had plenty of time to use them before money ran out

Email response was a bit blunt but lady was friendly on arrival

5 min walk to Glenridding shops pubs cafes and lake

Great seeing jets fly over

Would stay here again 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Sssnake 39 reviews from this member

 Took a short walking holiday with my son and decided to use Gillside as our base. We’re glad we did.

Beautiful, peaceful location and owners are welcoming and helpful. I parked the Dub in the main tent camping area because I love grass underfoot and it is open and airy so the solar panel was never obstructed and ran the fridge without a hiccup for four days - cold ale is an essential after a long day on the fells.

Wash house was functional but clean and the 20p showers gave plenty of piping hot water.

Nearby pub serves standard pub grub at a reasonable price and quality but the ales were excellent.

Good value for money (£19/night for two adults, van and small tent used for storing rucksacks and boots) so we’ll definitely be back. Looking forward to it already. 


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Susie Sedgwick 6 reviews from this member

 We were very happy at Gillside. There are some statics right through the middle of the site.

So pitches for campers, caravans etc were either side, you could choose a raised flat site on gravel in the sun or a pitch under trees down by the river. We tried both,

Pros and cons for each, I suppose it comes down to personal preference in the end.

Showers need 20p, but always hot. All a little tired in that department but when camping in such a beautiful place and with such friendly helpful people who cares.

Everything worked and was clean. Mary and her crew were helpful.

Great to walk up Helvellyn from there. Just try to do it before you’re between 63-70! We were the oldest ones up there the day we went!

I have given 10/10 for customer service as I had a problem which needed special help from a groundsman with a tractor. I wished I got his name. I shall be eternally grateful to him. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: N1ge 2 reviews from this member

 Friendly and helpful lady at Farmhouse.

We had a pitch with electrical hook-up in the area with static caravans. The pitches were well prepared - level, with electric and water at each pitch.

The pitches were gravel finished, even though we had we had a lot of rain never got waterlogged. Toilets and wash-up areas were always kept clean and were in good condition.

The location was ideal for walks around Ullswater and Helvellyn. There is also a pub 5 mins walk away. We preferred to walk into Glenridding using the footpath alongside the stream rather than using the road past the pub.

There was no phone reception for Three - had to use Virgin.

It was inconvenient to pay 20p for showers - don't use cash that much so had to organise some change.

Site was good value for money. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ashbash 4 reviews from this member

 We booked this site based on its location, as we wanted somewhere that allowed us to walk straight into the fells without having to drive anywhere.

The path towards Helvellyn goes right past the tent pitching area and many other Wainwrights can be started directly from the site. We went up Glenridding Dodd, Heron Pike, Sheffield Pike and onto to Stybarrow Dodd and Raise.

It was great being able to do our walk without having to factor in drive times and parking etc.

If I was in a tent I would give it 10 out of 10, but in a touring caravan it wasn't quite as perfect. The tent pitches, which are shown in most photos online have panoramic views of the fells but the touring pitches are set amongst the static caravans and trees.

Only a couple of pitches are suitable for small tourers beside the beck, which is very pretty with good views. The majority of the touring pitches are on a terraced area and although large enough for a caravan, car and awning, they feel very close together.

Due to the way they are set out you will often be overlooked from all sides and can be very close to the unit beside/opposite you. Our view from our front window was the rear end of a motor home and we could hear our neighbours conversation from inside our caravan as they sat chatting in their awning!

The rules require dogs to be on leads as this is a working farm, but several dogs were wandering around off lead (they mainly belonged to the people in the static vans) so consequently there was some dog poop here and there.

These were the only niggles I had and may not be an issue for others and to be honest the location outweighed any negatives overall.

We didn't use the showers but did use the toilets and they were very clean. I would definitely recommend this site to anyone wanting to climb the mountains and fells as a perfect base.

Those using a tent or campervan will have plenty of choice regarding where and how to pitch to make the most of the fantastic views.

My husband had good mobile phone signal with GifGaf, but I had no signal at all in the whole Glenridding and Patterdale area with Three network.

I gave this site 8/10, as we really enjoyed our stay apart from a couple of niggles. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hwaring 4 reviews from this member

 We arrived on a trial bike rally weekend so our pitch wasn't ready, but wasn't a problem, there was room for us to park up till later on in afternoon

Excellent location, just a short walk into village with steamer departure and local pub doing reasonably priced food

We paid at house then left alone to enjoy our break

Would definitely return 
via mobile


Previous     88 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Gillside Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gillside Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Gillside Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


21383 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement