Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gillside Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Gillside Farm
Glenridding
(lake District)
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0QQ
Tel: 017684 82346
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 106 Reviews
                8/10 from 106 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: OneHorsePower 5 reviews from this member

I stayed at Gillside Farm for 2 nights with the dog.

Gillside Farm is set in a fantastic location beside Glenridding Beck and set in amongst the fells. There are fantastic walks right from the campsite including Sheffield Pike, Glenridding Dodd, Birkhouse Moor and of course Helvellyn by the edges! A Walkers Paradise. It is a quick walk into Glenridding for the amenities including local shops, pubs and the Ullswater Steamers.

Friendly welcome from the owner and thought the chargers were very reasonable (£11 for tent, adult, car and of course the dog). In busy spells I would aim to arrive early as although there are flat pitches - if you miss you one - you will be sleeping on a slope and I think the ground could also get a bit water-logged/muddy in places. Depending on your choice of pitching spot you cannot get your car right beside your tent - although some spots allow you to get your car fairly close.

Campsite was very quiet and never heard any noise from fellow campers. Covered washing area to use and Toilets and showers were basic but clean. Be sure to have some 20p for a shower but were lovely and hot.

Overall a lovely little campsite set in fantastic location with superb walks from the door-step and plenty facilities a short walk away - do you need a lot more?! Absolutely not! The question would I return - without a doubt!

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Smithy2404 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here as part of a family group for a birthday celebration. We were very impressed with the site, lovely owners and a great location.

We conquered Helvellyn which you can walk to straight out of the back of the site. Striding Edge did almost kill the birthday boy so the following day we took the ferry across Ullswater and walked back which was much more relaxing.

It is a short walk into Glenridding which has a couple of good shops and a pub. Our planned barbeque was rained off so we had takeaway pizza from Ratchers Tavern instead which we can highly recommend.

All in all it was a great and very memorable weekend.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 493 reviews from this member

Spent a few days on this site while touring Scotland.

Location

A five minute walk from the lovely village of Glenridding. It's definitely worth a visit - great pubs and a great atmosphere. The surrounding countryside is stunning and a good base water sports and hill walking.

Facilities

Generally well maintained, though quite dated. Breakfast van on site.

Price

Around £20 per night for two people with electricity.

Great site!

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Darlana 1 review from this member

It was our first time on the Lake District and in the static caravan. We have to admit that we were really surprised by the condition of the caravan (looked and smelled like new). It was fully fitted with all the kitchen appliances, bathroom with shower, TV, etc. The only things missing were Wi-Fi and kitchen towels. But seriously, the only things we took with us were bathing towels and pillow cases. If you are looking for some quiet and peaceful location, ask for a caravan far from the stream. It was quite disturbing at night. There's also other option for a good night time sleep - walk a lot and then drink a couple of local beverages from the Glenridding’s store.

Owners are very friendly and helpful.

As for the surrounding area: I think, the word Helvellyn says it all. Apart from the famous and beautiful LD area, there is a small town/village of Glenridding where you can buy some groceries, outdoor equipment, drink some coffee. There's also well equipped tourist information center (with very accurate daily weather forecast) and an ATM in one of the shops.

If you are interested in a passive form of recreation and like sightseeing, I recommend traveling between Glenridding and Pooley Bridge with Ullswater Steamers.

Time spent there: 10/10

We will definitely go there next year.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gary Ricco 1 review from this member

Always a relaxed and pleasant site. Caravans, campervans and tents all welcome and a refreshing lack of regimentation and excessive rules add to the atmosphere.

Beautiful location, basic but clean facilities, shops and tourist information in Glenriding village only a short stroll away and a good pub even closer! Walkers will love the surrounding fells, and a day spent on the shores of Ullswater will appeal to everyone.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Livelylass 14 reviews from this member

What a gem of a site!

The owners are so relaxed, accommodating and welcoming.

Gillside Farm is ideally placed on the track that will take you up to that apex of the Eastern fells, Helvellyn and Striding Edge. But if you go the other way the pathway at the bottom of the canvas camping area will take you down into Glenridding.

The site is split into two, with canvas campers in one field overlooking the valley and the caravans across the road under cover of trees with the babbling beck running along side.

The facilities are very adequate. Electric hook-up; clean toilet block & with 20p hot showers (but need to check which one is working!); laundry room; dish washing area and chemical waste disposal area. Basic provisions are also available from the farmhouse shop.

Will definitely be returning

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Stephen1945 7 reviews from this member

Chose this site after reading so many positive reviews. I found that the greatest thing about this site is the location. It is a naturally beautiful place.

It has basic facilities which are clean and includes hot showers which you pay 20p to use. The second time that I tried, I found there was no hot water after I had paid my 20p. They were also commandeered for two hours by visiting college students from the tent site preventing use by anyone else during this time

I must also mention that the two pitches on the left as we entered the touring/static area smelled of raw sewage which we thought may have been due to the wet weather, however not pleasant to say the least.

Finally, despite the efforts of the owners to make everyone's stay pleasant, in my opinion £18. 00 for two adults and a dog is way over the top. £10. 00 would be much nearer the mark.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fad64 7 reviews from this member

There is no point in having rules unless someone enforces them.

The owners of this site saying 'no single sex groups' and then allowing a group of around 25 to 30 rowdy blokes to take over half of the site, playing loud music, drinking and shouting and comparing tattoos, while their kids used the side of our tent as a target for their late night football match is one of the reasons we will not be going back to this site ever again.

Another is the fact that the choices of pitches were, to sleep on a steep slope, or in a swamp. We found ourselves hemmed in by other tents on our Friday night visit, but it's not like we would have wanted to sit outside anyway, as the views were almost entirely obscured by trees (and other tents). Not to mention the crowds of people which are, frankly, not what I go to the Lakes to see.

The only competition for the noise and music from the huge, all male, group camped next to us was the clamour of what sounded like a riot going on in the village nearby.

And to rub it in, this was by far the most expensive site we visited in 2 weeks of camping in the Lakes and Scotland.

Never, ever again.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sufsup2 2 reviews from this member

This is a fantastic relaxed family campsite. It is a working farm, the owners are very friendly and helpful.

No club house or swimming pool or rules that you find on other sites. Just a good well run campsite with natures wonders to keep the kids active and you relaxed.

Facilities are good clean and basic. Although you pay 20p for showers they have plenty of hot water

Excellent location next to a stream - kids loved it.

The village of Glenridding has 3 pubs and a few general dealer shops

The site is a good location if you want to relax.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Camperholic 2 reviews from this member

We booked a caravan and were delighted to find it was brand new and 3 bedroomed. As we had invited some of the family for the week-end it was better than ideal. The greeting was great as was our stay.

The site is part of a working farm and we were always made welcome when we went to the lambing shed.

The walks in the area are excellent and we felt very comfortable and have already booked again for next year.

The facilities are more than adequate for the campers and the caravanners.

A beautiful area of the Lake District with the Travellers Rest pub five minutes away with good ale and value for money meals.

Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


747 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019