Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gillside Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Gillside Farm
Glenridding
(lake District)
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0QQ
Tel: 017684 82346
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 106 Reviews
                8/10 from 106 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Beechcomb 1 review from this member

Pleasant quiet site although very wet when we stayed at half term. Good hardstanding with Hook up. Try not to overshoot the entrance when booking in,as it's an awkward reverse with a caravan!

Facilities basic but clean. Perfect spot for Helvellyn. Great views and a quiet site. It's a pleasant stroll to Glenridding - Hikers bar at the Inn on the Lake serves excellent wholesome food!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bigbird25 1 review from this member

We have just returned home from our second time at Gillside Farm. From the minute we set up our caravan and awning the first time in July, we loved this site.

The site is separated into two, one side is where the tents are situated and the other being hardstanding for touring caravans, with electric hookup. For caravans there are approx 14 pitches which are huge, enough to get on a large caravan, awning and at least 2 cars if need be.

There is a shower block in very close proximity, with about 4 toilets and 2 showers, although they are basic, they are always clean, and I have never had to wait. It costs 20pence for the showers, which pays for the cost of heating up the water for approx 8 mins, and its boiling hot.

There is also a small laundry, pot washing and waste disposal. The reception sells milk, eggs and some confectionery, and on a weekend there is a burger van on a morning.

The site is perfectly situated for many a day out and there are numerous walks straight out of this site, like helvellyn for example. Also it is a lovely 10 minute stroll along the river side into Glenridding, where there is a couple of shops that sell everything you would need, walking shops, cafes, there is also ratchers a restaurant in the glenridding hotel, that serves some of the nicest food I have had in a while.

Also there is lake ullswater and the steamers. There is also a pud (the travellers rest) 5 min walk from the site for meals and drinks if you don't fancy cooking. All in all we have found this site fantastic, and are returning again in september.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The outwellers 1 review from this member

My husband son and myself stayed here, we were recommended this site by a friend. On arrival we initially paid for 2 nights which cost 34, I thought this very reasonable. The very nice lady told us to pitch where we liked. We found a perfect pitch up the top of the field right next to the farm house.

The toilet block was just down the hill from us, and were cleaned regular, they were immaculate, and never too busy. The showers were roasting hot and at 20p were well worth it. There is a little stream that runs down the bottom of the camp site which if you follow for 5mins will take you into the town of Glenridding.

There is plenty of little shops there for provisions and a steamer which can take you to Howtown or Pooley bridge. I recommend 'The Inn by the Lake' beautiful views and a lovely pint of beer.

This campsite has beautiful views and is run by the nicest family, who are more than happy to help. We ended up staying 6 night in the end are going back next week for another week.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rachael22 7 reviews from this member

Stayed one night whilst hiking in the area.

Location perfect for climbing Helvellyn the next day, lovely path straight from the back of the campsite up the mountain.

Facilities fine, clean and fairly central on the campsite. Showers are 20p for 4 mins, but that was more than enough time, even for those of us who like a good long hot shower normally!

Downside is that there are no set pitches; as the evening wore on our tent was encroached on by more and more people, and there did not seem to be a quiet time set down.

Great for walkers as they promise not to turn walkers away, though finding a pitch may be tricky and quite a lot of the site is on hills.

Local village has a friendly but seemingly overpriced pub.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fletcher5050 13 reviews from this member

Stopped here for 4 wet and windy days/nights in June. First remember to have the cash for the site fees as they do not take plastic but we did receive a friendly welcome from the site owners.

There are 3 levels to the site also a caravan site for static vans, all levels drained ok but low level did start to get water logged. Pitches are nearly all on a slight slope and you can pitch where you like, big problem is most pitches are for backpacker size tents and not big enough for large tents.

Showers are ok but it is a pain having to put 20p in slot for a shower (long enough for a normal shower) wash sinks always clean and tidy whilst we where there. Pot washing in covered area to the side of shower blocks plenty of hot water for pot washing. Rubbish bins are in centre of site no real recycling just leave glass bottles next to bins.

Views are amazing and you are straight in to the hills via public footpath that runs along bottom of site. Nearest pub 5 minutes away with good pub food. Glen ridding has village shop for every day needs, Ullswater Lake and the steamers are in the village.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BlueC 4 reviews from this member

Location location location!

Great location perfect for walking up Helvellyn and the campsite is in a picturesque setting in a valley surrounded by beautiful scenery. 3 pubs and 2 mini-market shops in easy walking distance in Glenridding. Shop on site sells milk at very reasonable price (cheaper than supermarkets!).

The layout is a bit weird - lots of hills and not too many flat surfaces. It's a total free-for-all with no designated pitches. Unfortunately we got there late and only found one space for our tent which was fine until it rained heavily and then we realised we were in a drainage ditch - cue rapid departure!

Basic but good clean facilities. Owners very friendly and helpful. Campsite was full by 6pm on Friday so get there early! No bookings allowed!

No space for playing games/football/frisbee but there is lots of grass spaces down in Glenridding.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rm_pne17 2 reviews from this member

Went to this campsite for the first time in late April this year for a few nights and really enjoyed our stay there. Unfortunately we stayed there during bad weather and had to keep getting up during the night on the last night of our stay to secure the tent pegs due to very high winds, part of this may due to owning a low cost tent but also the open location may be another factor. Weather aside we thought the campsite was lovely with brilliant views from the foot of hellvelyn. Bathroom facilities were clean and the showers which require payment of 20p were warm. The campsite is also only a five minute walk from the village of Glenridding which has two grocery stores. Overall, the campsite is low cost with all essential facilities although unsure whether it would suit families with young children.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ashpat 3 reviews from this member

We arrived at the campsite late morning, we hadn't made a booking and the lady at reception was nice and took are details and we were told to just drive around the site and choose a space we liked. We were a groups of 5 adults and 1 child.

The toilets and shower block were clean at all times, it was 20p for a hot shower which lasted about 10 minutes which I felt was enough. The campsite was full but we did not really have to wait for the showers. (One small point was it was about 5 minute walk to the block)

They have a pot washing section where there are several sink where hot water was available free of charge.

The campsite itself seem to fall into two main section one was the static caravans and motorhomes, they were all in one field. The second was the tents, the fields were quiet hilly in parts but all in all nothing to complain about.

The local shop and pub is about 5 minutes walk from the campsite. The camp site is ideal for walkers or people just wanting to relax, the area/views around the campsite were beautiful. I would definitely recommend this campsite. The only small point is people in tents don't have electric hookup.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DiddyBamBam 1 review from this member

We as a family of four have just spent five scorching days at Gillside at the end of Half Term. We arrived on the Wednesday and left on the following Monday. Stunning weather for a stunningly located site.

Site Layout

We pitched our tent under the trees alongside the river that runs through the site, which was a godsend as the breeze kept the tent cool on the very hot days. Our pitch was basically flat but a little rocky in places but this was not a problem. The rest of the site can be split into three distinct areas.

The central area of the site is fairly flat but I would imagine it would get quite waterlogged in the standard Lakeland Summer!

The top area of the site has quite a significant gradient and whilst in good weather it affords beautiful views of Sheffield Pike and beyond, when its wet I think it would be tough to get vehicle access to some of the pitches.

Up by the farmhouse is the final area of the site and this is predominantly flat and is closest to the amenities such as the shower/toilet block and the burger van!

Amenities

The toilet/shower block was always clean, even though the site was full. Plenty of toilets,sinks and hot showers even at this peak time. You do pay for the showers, but if you are organised then one 20p will suffice, to really pamper yourself then 40p may be the order of the day.

Pot wash facilities are good with plenty of sinks and hot water.

There are lots of large wheelie bins dotted around the site for general rubbish but there is only recycling for glass bottles and jars, I would suggest a very positive move for the site would be to focus also on tins and paper - at the very least!

Location

Awesomely located under the bluebell drenched slopes of Keldas and the towering mass that is Birkhouse Moor - the gateway to Striding Edge and ultimately Helvellyn! Nuf Said.

Glenridding Village is a five minute stroll along the river, where you can get all you need from basic food supplies to a new pair of walking boots.

Though there are other pubs in the village we only really spent time at the Travellers Rest Pub which is five minutes from the site. Whilst it is very small inside there are loads of seats outside for when the sun is shining with views across to Place Fell.

This was our first visit to this site and we had a fabulous time. The site is beautifully located, the facilities are good, the other campers were great and our car didn't move for five days! All we needed/wanted was there - we will definitely return again.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scooter956 3 reviews from this member

We spent 2 nights at Gillside on a walking break. It was early June and midweek. First impressions were good, the owner, Rose, was extremely friendly, helpful and pleasant, 7 pppn no extras for car etc. The showers were 20p, for 8 mins, and very good, All washing and washing up facilities were great, lots of hot water. The site is lovely, with lots of flat areas on different levels, and you can even camp right next to the river. There is a public footpath that runs right through the middle of the site. This site is ideal for walking up to Helvellyn and the surrounding hills. The local pub 'travellers rest' is very friendly and close to the site. Would recommend it and we will be camping there again. In the reception area you could buy eggs, gas, sweets etc, however the local shops in Glenridding were a mere 5 mins down from the camp site

Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2965 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019