Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gillside Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Gillside Farm
Glenridding
(lake District)
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0QQ
Tel: 017684 82346
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 106 Reviews
                8/10 from 106 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leapfrog 1 review from this member

I have visited this site on two occasions now and love it. The facilities are basic ie. Shower block, toilets and washing up area but they are clean. No on site entertainment but a lovely place to sit and relax with views over the fells.
This site is actually a working farm but is still peaceful and quiet. The local shops are a 5 minute walk away as are a few pubs. Each time I have visited I pitch up right next to the beck which means you don't have to be so quiet at night as the flowing water masks your noise.
There are quite a lot of midgies around the beck area. All in all a great place to stay if you don't want all the fuss and noise of a busy holiday park.

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 493 reviews from this member

This is an excellently located site, being a short walk from Gleridding and surrounded by some of the Lake District's best scenery. Helvellyn, Place Fell and other excellent walks can be started from the site and Ullswater is on the doorstep with lots of opportunities for boat trips and watersports.
The village has all you need, with a couple of shops and cafes and several pubs serving excellent food and real ales. Patterdale is a short walk, which offers further choices of places to eat and drink. The site is within a few miles of the Kirkstone Pass, so it is fairly easy to access other places in the area such as Amblside, Bowness and Windermere.

The site itself is ideal, although a little pricey for what you get in terms of facilities. They charge £6 per person and £3 for electricity (low season), so if there is a group of adults, the price can seem quite expensive. Facilities are fairly basic and are quite dated, but do the job adequately. This is the 2nd time I have visited the site, and I will definitely return again.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: XXjojoXX 10 reviews from this member

I love this campsite. I have been twice, the owner is lovely and cooks lovely food in the breakfast bar. The village is just a short walk down the brook and is lovely, the pub is nice also.
The shops have everything you need, beer, groceries and camping gear from the camping shop. The shower blocks are ok.
The only thing that lets this site down is the mud. Both times I have been it has got so muddy. They should extend the gravel track where the cars go and it wouldn't be so bad.
Excellent site, but a shame about the excessive mud.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skiman 1 review from this member

Superb campsite in a beautiful setting. At the bottom of the ascent / descent of Helvellyn. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We got there late on a Saturday night and they were still very accommodating.
Showers and toilets Very clean. Catering van to save washing up is there of a weekend & The Travellers Rest pub was a 5 minute walk away for great food & real ales. See you again soon.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RacheyB 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here last weekend of August.

Lovely location & ideal for our plans to walk over Helvellyn & surrounding mountains.

I'd called up the day before to check if needed to book a pitch. The lovely lady I spoke to advised that the campsite was very very muddy at the moment & they weren't allowing cars onto the grass areas. She was very honest.

Our group decided to go ahead & I'm glad we did. The campsite was very full when we got there Friday night but we managed to squeeze in - our party had 5 tents. Was a bit tight but we made do.

We were on the top site near to the farm house, but I'd recommend trying to get on the bottom field near the river - less of a slope.

We were closely pitched to the shower/toilet block which was very convenient.

The showers were great once you had sussed out which of the 3 was the best (3 in the female side).

Only negative I'd say is I've been to other sites that don't charge for showers - this site charges 20p. Seemed a bit odd as the outside washing up area had free piping hot water.

The site even has a breakfast trailer serving up bacon butties, coffee/tea. The usual.

Travellers Rest pub is a short walk away & very good. Good pub food & reasonably priced drinks.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DOC1066 1 review from this member

We have just got back from a fantastic (slightly wet) bank holiday weekend with two kids aged one and four (the first time we have taken them camping). We arrived at the site on spec to a friendly reception around dinner time to find there were a few places left: get here early if you donít want to be disappointed.

The site fee was £42.00 for the three nights. The site itself was a mix of flat areas and slopes: avoid the low ground in the wetter months as this gets quite boggy and unless you have a 4x4 keep your car off the grass. The views from the site where spectacular and it was great to watch the sun rising across the hills early on a morning (donít go camping with kids if you want a sleep in) The wind can be quite fierce through this site at night and on our last night we saw some seasoned campers loose their tents: lash your tent down well!

There was a good mix of people on site from families to groups to lone campers and it was a great friendly atmosphere, we had no problem getting to sleep on a night. The facilities where spotlessly clean: my only minor gripe would be that the showers are a little small for trying to get young children washed down.

Having the little ones with us we took the time on an evening to sample a couple of the local taverns instead of cooking:

The Travellers Rest: about 5minutes walk from the site, fairly small pub and difficult to get a table on busy days. The food was excellent with a good selection on the kids menu.

The Ramblers is about 10 minutes walk into the main village and has a great play area for the kids and the staff are happy to serve food out to the picnic tables, great venue for a light bite at lunch and let the little ones burn off some energy (if there is a wedding on you won't be able to use this one on a evening)

Ratchers Bar (in the Glenridding Hotel) about 10 minutes walk into the village: this is ideal if you want a bit of a treat of an evening with some great meals on the specials board (prices a little on the high side but the food was great)

All of the venues welcomed families and had high chairs for the smaller folk (oh yes and the beer was good too!)

A great site that welcomes all: we will be back again next year and will highly recommend this site to our friends.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynannhrd 6 reviews from this member

Just returned from staying the weekend at this site which I cant wait to return to. The location was lovely with a river running outside our caravan and surrounded by hills. The toilets and showers were very clean, the pub down the road, the Travellers Rest does lovely bar meals. Ideal site for exploring Helvellyn.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mattwilde66 2 reviews from this member

Brilliant Site. One of the best I've been to. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We got there on a Thursday so we had a few good spots to pick from. We were up in top end near reception a bit steeper but not as crowded and convenient for the toilets. The showers and toilets were spot on. Very clean and 20p lasted forever. The burger van was a life saver on the morning. The Travellers Rest pub was a short stagger away for a great night. I cant wait to come back.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jamforbrains 4 reviews from this member

Site is slightly bumpy but flatter than many (eg Side Farm), get there early and youíll have a pick of a variety of pitches. Simple facilities but hot water and plenty of sinks in the toilet block. Good pot wash sinks and plenty of bins dotted around the site.
Used by wide variety of people from serious walkers who stay one night and are off by 8am to those who are just happy to sit in their tents with a cup of tea and admire the view. Yes there were a few people who had had a few too many but they were friendly enough and nothing that earplugs and the sounds of the river didnít drown out!

Iíd return again and again, was one of the most picturesque sites Iíve ever been to, cheap too.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pearlsnail 2 reviews from this member

I'm new to camping but thought the facilities were fine. Had been little rain recently so area was dry. Toilet block was clean and tidy and plenty of hot water.

It did get busy at the weekend but only to be expected in the Lake District.

There is a burger van for breakfast at the weekend but it wouldn't beat the full english at the nearby pub.

Village is a lovely few minutes walk by the river. No free cash points but bread/milk etc. Also another pub.

Bus stop and tourist information centre in the village and can get Ullswater 'steamer' boat trips too.

The views from the campsite are amazing and a its great base for walking. I would definitely camp here again.

Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2015 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019