Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gillside Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Gillside Farm
Glenridding
(lake District)
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0QQ
Tel: 017684 82346
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 106 Reviews
                8/10 from 106 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mr millstone 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here as a solo camper backpacking, it fitted my needs perfectly though is a little pricey for a solitary camper with no car.

Location is excellent, surrounded by the fells with many walks possible straight from the site including Helvellyn via Striding Edge. It's quiet with no traffic noise, just the sound of the stream at night. The toilet/shower block is quite basic but clean and functional and only 20p for a shower, and the welcome at the farm house was friendly.

I can imagine the lower part of the site could get wet in bad weather, while the higher areas are quite sloping but neither were a problem on my visit.

The Travellers Rest pub is a short walk away with local ales and good food, the nearby village has shops and hotel bars.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Welsh173 4 reviews from this member

Visited this site with friends and had a great weekend.

Greeted by the owners and advised as to what was what. This site can be best described as a functional no nonsense site ideally located in an area of outstanding natural beauty. The walks are, as expected, too numerous to mention and literally on your doorstep. The surrounding mountains and peaks are dramatic and enclose the campsite. The facilities are clean and practical.

The nearby pubs and shops are well catered for the tourist and as most Lake district pubs they make dogs very welcome.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rohfer 3 reviews from this member

Best described as a functional site from a touring caravanning point of view.

The road through is rough and footpaths around are in need of some serious upgrading as there are numerous trip hazards particularly at night as lighting is poor and what there is casts shadows across walk ways.

The road floods and 'pools' water for you to dodge - not easy in the dark. Rain water needs 'managing' with a bit of drain channels or something. Would possibly benefit from some trees being felled near toilet block to let more sunlight into site.

Toilets are functional but clean.

Wasn't sure where the 'grey' waste drain was as none of the drains were easily accessible other than one outside the ladies toilets but that is not in a good position if it was the grey waste.

The surroundings were pleasant, very quiet and the owner welcoming. Great location for fell walking and would use again for short break for specific walks.

Would not use for long breaks due to poor footpaths/lighting but if these were upgraded would be happy to stay for longer. I'm surprised the static caravan owners put up with it.

Nearest pub about 5 mins on foot with good food. Village pleasant and access to lake steamers.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Beck246 4 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to Gillside and will not be our last. Friendly owners on arrival bode well. There is a mixture of flat pitches and hillside pitches - the hillside pitches are tricky in wet weather though.

Toilet and shower facilities are clean and showers are hot. The washing up facilities always had hot water to clean your pots and pans whatever the time.

The views from the campsite are outstanding and it is a short walk into Glenridding itself. There are no playgrounds for children but as we were out all day exploring the lakes and peaks this was not an issue for our kids.

The pubs are welcoming and friendly.

There is a breakfast van and prices seemed reasonable although we cooked our own breakfasts. This is an area of outstanding beauty.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DaveG23 19 reviews from this member

Access to this site with a caravan is not for the faint hearted (the back of the van had an altercation with a dry stone wall on the way in) but, once in, the pitches are hard standing terraced onto the slope or under trees beside the stream.

Not a glamorous site but the location is excellent (particularly if you are a walker) and the facilities are clean and adequate with 20p for a shower not exorbitant as it deterred lengthy occupation of them (two showers in each of the male/female blocks).

As there are statics on the site, they used the laundry facilities meaning that it was a job to get access to washer/dryer at times.

The weather was pretty awful while we were there but, being the lake district, it is rather expected. There are pleny of places to go in the rain and with the lake at the end of the road, you could catch the ferry boat easily.

The pub just down the road (forgotten the name) was very popular and did a good meal.

I would recommend this site as long as your expectations are not for luxury or glamour.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wellera 2 reviews from this member

Have camped at this site twice now. The toilet blocks are clean, but could do with up dating.

The site is on sloping ground that and is rocky. The lower part of the site is prone to flooding, in the rain so it's best to camp on higher areas if the weather looks like it will be wet.

The site is idea for walking striding edge etc but is slightly more expensive than other sites in the area, also there are no freezer / microwave / laundry facilities.

The showers cost 20p but do last a long while. Handy Cafe open at weekends only.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lucyjane81 1 review from this member

Great site. Arrived midday on Friday for a long weekend and had no problem getting on the site. All the flat areas were more or less taken though unless we pitched close to another tent which we didn't really want to do so we ended up at the top of the hill overlooking all the rest of the campers which was fine, although it felt a bit like being on a stage at times. The hill made cooking slightly difficult and we woke up having slid down the tent most mornings but apart from that it was ok.

Basic shower block but always clean and the 20p lasted more than enough to wash hair and body with time to just relax under the shower. I was also impressed that despite being busy they were always very well stocked with loo roll.

Local area was convenient but nearest pub very busy on sunny days. We found a lovely pub which is signposted on the way to Penrith called the Kings Arms, the food was amazing and not too badly priced in comparison to other pubs around the area.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thetwowalkers 3 reviews from this member

This site is beautifully situated above the beck at Glenridding. The views over the valley are stunning.

We went with friends for a long weekend and the site was busy. We managed to get on the ledge at the top overlooking the site.

This is a basic site but is just a short walk to Glenridding which has a small shop and pub. It's right next to the trail up to Helvellyn and my favourite walk along Striding Edge (not for the faint hearted). You can also hire sailing boats from The Spit just in the village. Ullswatet is a superb place for sailing and not too expensive for the day.

The toilet block is old but very clean and freshly painted. Plenty of hot water but really wish the showers were included as always have to keep some 20p's. Saying that, there were not too many queues.

Would definitely recommend and we will be back as it really is in the best location.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: WildBlueYonder 8 reviews from this member

Having camped here previously we knew what to expect from Gillside.

It is an ideal location for walking. Straight from the site up Myres Beck to Helvellyn and beyond, or any number of other challenging Cumbrian Fells and Peaks in other directions.

Useful village stores down the beckside path, one usually overpriced, the other with an odd character at the till. Try to get him talking. If you can.

Choice of local pubs but none offer 'carry out' for draught beer sadly.

The toilet facilities are old but immaculately clean, spiders etc do not last long here. They seem to be painted each season.

New touring pitches are levelled and surfaced with gravel. The access is tight into Gillside (be clear about directions before you approach as getting it wrong in most directions could leave you high and dry!) and getting a caravan onto a pitch isn't that easy though I did manage without the movers. Despite screams from my co-pilot due to the angle of the caravan at times as it went up the 'step'!

Electricity and waterpoints everwhere, though greywater disposal took a bit of hunting out. Ask first and save yourself a treasure hunt.

Laundry, pot washing and Elsan point all as immaculate as the loo's.

Showers long and hot enough for 20p a go.

Expect a noisy night if the beck is up after rain. But it's never spoiled my kip!

Mid-price site but top-dollar accommodation for any outdoor enthusiasts.

Nothing for the kids on site but the beck and 885 sq miles of National Park around it!

Don't expect too much from your TV here. But why would you want to?

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: DogsandCo 18 reviews from this member

This site will appeal to those who like the wilder northern parts of the Lakes and who are into proper fell walking (rather than ambling along the lower routes, like us!) The short walk along the beck into Glenridding is very scenic, but we were a bit disappointed by the limited access to the lake in Glenridding - there is a grassy recreation area with lovely views, but you can't walk for any distance along the shore on this side of Ullswater. The weather was awful so we didn't brave the steamer trip across the lake.

Facilities on the van side of the site are on the basic side but perfectly clean and when we were there very few people seemed to be using them - 4 loos and 2 showers in the ladies, 2 loos and 2 showers for the men. There is a separate block in the tent field. The campers were mostly hardy types in one and two man tents rather than big family outfits and despite the rain people were setting off up Helvellyn in droves.

If you're towing a caravan to this site for the first time, don't lose heart on the approach to the site - it is a bit rough but we did see large vans getting in and out OK. But when you approach Glenridding from the north, be sure to take the right turn BEFORE the bridge over the beck. It's easy to miss and take the next turn (we did). Cars and campervans will be able to turn round but with a caravan you'd be stuffed. This second turning is actually also signed to the campsite but this means access on foot not in a vehicle.

Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2921 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019