Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gillside Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Gillside Farm
Glenridding
(lake District)
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0QQ
Tel: 017684 82346
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 106 Reviews
                8/10 from 106 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Emwebb27 1 review from this member

Lovely clean and new static to stay in right by a stream! Plenty of heaters as well if staying in the colder months. Complete with picnic bench and washing line. We BBq'd in the peaceful surroundings and also had plenty of facilities in which to cook two meals! The owners are delightful and made sure were welcomed and that things were as needed. The caravan was only 5 mins walk from the nearest pub and a few minutes more walking takes you right to Ullswater lake with more pubs, restaurants and shops. Perfect location! A brill time was had by all!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Keithjude 19 reviews from this member

We stayed and the weather was glorious over Easter, the camp site is just above the village, with a pub that does great food 10min away.

On Site there is a food trailer, but was not opened until weekend when we left. You book in at the house and the lady was very friendly.

The shower block are basic but clean, the pitches where we stayed are level and well cut.

We were walking C2C and only just off the route, worth small diversion.

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 493 reviews from this member

Had a great weekend at this campsite!

It is set within a few minutes walk of Glenridding, which is a great little village with excellent pubs. Ullswater is on the doorstep, with watersports and boat trips easily available.

It is a superb base for hillwalking. The Striding/Swirral Edges route up Helvellyn starts from the site, and other great walks including Sheffield Pike and Raise can be started from here.

Site facilities are fine, although a little on the basic side with 20p showers. Pitches for campers are on hardstanding with EHU. Other accommodation, including caravan hire and bunk barn are available too.

Brilliant site.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trevorandfiona 10 reviews from this member

We'd been to this campsite many times with a tent before but this was our first time there with our caravan. On the day we arrived we had just driven for 12 hours up from another trip to Cornwall and were very grateful for the warm welcome we received from the owner. They were very helpful and didn't mind that we were checking-in pretty late!

The caravan side of the campsite is separate from the tent part (although only on the other side of the lane) and has it's own washrooms, dish-washing etc. Which were more than adequate. Admittedly they aren't heated and not the prettiest but hey - they are very practical, clean and there was plenty of hot water (and we are supposed to be camping, after all!).

The showers need a 20p coin to be operated but generally 1 was sufficient. I guess some people might complain about having to pay for the showers but the very small cost is a good way of stopping people hogging the showers longer than is necessary!

The pitches are new and very well designed. There are probably about 15 in the main area, each on it's own level / terrace with hard-packed gravel over the entire surface, a light and an electric point for each pitch - way more then necessary! There are plenty of water-points as well. Each unit is given a very large amount of space and over-crowding will never be an issue!

The site location itself is, for us, the main draw. At the foot of Helvellyn you have immediate access to hundreds of the best walks in the UK right from the site. There is a 5 minute walk to a brilliant old pub (serving the biggest salads you can possibly imagine, along with local food and beer) and a further 5 minutes will take you into the small village itself where you'll find useful shops (for food and for camping / walking equipment), a big tourist information centre and a few hotels. There is even a little footpath to the village if you would prefer not to go on the road (even though the chances of meeting a car are slim!)

This continues to be our favourite campsite in the UK and one that we will keep visiting as often as possible!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: BrandonX 13 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a week over a very wet August bank holiday and had a lovely time. The location of this site is perfect for doing Helvellyn and also walks and boat trips around Ullswater.

The site is in a beautiful location, facilities are good and the people who run it are very helpful and friendly and even towed us out with their tractor at the end of the week!

There is a very good pub within walking distance and a bus stop if you want to go to Keswick on a rainy day. We loved this place and hope to return one day.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gemski87 1 review from this member

My partner and I stayed here for a bank holiday weekend arriving midday on Thursday to find plenty of space to pitch up our tent.

The site is perfect for access to Helvellyn, which we managed to scramble up with the dog, although wouldn't suggest doing it in the rain.

The facilities are exceptional, clean, never crowded and always had hot water available well worth 20p a go. Also very easy to use. There is a separate area for washing up and laundry which is free to use.

The camp site itself is a 5 minute walk away from Ullswater lake where there are a number of bars and restaurants. We spent an evening in the Travellers Rest, the nearest pub where hot food and the local ale are available and the locals are all really friendly.

It did rain heavily on the last day of our stay and the field got quite muddy and slippery but overall I haven't a bad word to say about the site, absolutely superb and would definitely go back again.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rose_dee 2 reviews from this member

I was part of group of 6 with 3 tents. The site was roomy and although very busy, the facilities were plentiful and space was abundant.

The toilet block was clean at all times and the showers hot well worth 20p.

The local pubs were welcoming and busy, but with plenty of seating both inside and out.

The location for Helvellyn was perfect.

It had rained constantly in the week running up to our stay and tipped it down during our stay, so placement of the car in relation to the driveway was key.

The river was very high and therefore was the main noise heard throughout the stay.

The campsite was quiet by 10pm.

We enjoyed our stay and will return to conquer Helvellyn when hopefully the weather is on our side.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BERK+JERK 8 reviews from this member

Absolutely fantastic site to use when going up Helvellyn, it's just at the start of the path what more can you ask for?

The toilets are basic but are kept really clean and tidy, no problems at all.

In the morning there is a van for breakfast, this seemed popular but we didn't use it so I can't comment.

We were in a motorhome and our friends were in a tent so unfortunately we couldn't be together as tents are on a separate field but maybe that wasn't a bad idea after being together all day!

The pub is about 5 minutes walk, different local brews, food was good especially after the walk!

Definitely be going back

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: ROO_Defender 110 6 reviews from this member

We stayed at this campsite using our Land Rover & roof tent on the last weekend of April (Saturday to Monday) purely as a base to walk on the fells of Helvellyn with our dog.

We arrived late on Saturday afternoon in bright sunshine and whilst the campsite was fairly busy (probably due to the lovely weather of the preceding week) it still had plenty of room.

Upon arrival you park and follow the signs on foot to the reception, the lady owner being very friendly and helpful. You then pretty much go where you want and find a suitable pitch and as the main camping area is flat this is not difficult. The other campers were a very mixed bag from large groups, couples & families to several minibuses of school children and D of Es. That said everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves and the site was quiet after about 11pm.

Its literally a 5 minute walk down a track into Glenridding with its pubs and hotels / restaurants. As we had taken all our own food and alcohol with us we didn't use any of these facilities but they did seem very popular with other campers and tourists.

The campsite facilities, whilst basic as expected, were clean and pleasant and we were particularly impressed with the washing-up room with 3 sinks, plenty of room, good lighting and very hot water. The camping field itself was clean and there are plenty of large green wheelie bins dotted around the site and these are regularly emptied by the farmer on his tractor.

All in all this site was a perfect base for Helvellyn and I have no hesitation in recommending it to others. We will definitely be returning again in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lynscp 2 reviews from this member

This was the first campsite that me and my partner had stayed in. It is situated about a 5 min walk from Ullswater, it is set in a very beautiful location with a stream running along side it.

You can choose where to pitch, there was not much availability by the time we arrived so we pitched up on a slight hill. I would not recommend this as it rained and became very very boggy. So muddy that our car got stuck, luckily the staff are very helpful on site. A staff member quickly got his tractor over to us and pulled us out no problem for which we were extremely grateful.

The showers needed 20p's but we found 1 or 2 to be sufficient for a nice hot soak. The washing up area is outside but covered, lots of creepy crawlies around the washing up area at night due to the attraction to the lights, but this is what you expect when camping.

The campsite on a whole was basic but the location made up for it. It may not be the kind of site families would wish to visit due to no facilities for kids but for us it was perfectly fine.

Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3763 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019