Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Blackberry Wood Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Brighton > Blackberry Wood Campsite Reviews

Blackberry Wood Campsite
Streat Lane
Streat
Ditchling
Brighton
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN6 8RS
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 90 Reviews
                8/10 from 90 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: StephP 2 reviews from this member

 Blackberry wood is a very nice campsite nestled in a scrub. It isn't particularly near features or walking distance of things in our experience, but nearby drives have nice views of rolling fields. The service is a little odd if I'm honest, but well meaning I'm sure. A bit of a fawlty towers campsite! The bathrooms are pretty basic, and require coins to operate. We were lucky to get a pitch in the daylight, by fluke really. Most were hidden under the shrub with the swamp and mosquitoes around I would guess! They hardly had daylight even in the height of summer. The playground is very sweet though. Not a favourite, I don't think we will go again but at least we can say we've tried it! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Matsume 1 review from this member

 I'd like to think that coming from Canada, I know what a good, back to the basics campsite is. Forget the open fields where all you see are other tents and builders cracks everywhere! This place is for those who like to be in the woods, back to nature, and build fires with their little ones.

We stayed on the Dumpty Humpty pitch which was actually only two pitches down from the second parking lot but you couldn't tell as we were surrounded by beautiful woodland. Actually most of the pitches here are surrounded by woodland and have their own private fire pits. It doesn't get any better than this! Trust me, I've probably spent about a week researching for campsites that allow campfires ( not fire buckets, blah!), in a wooded area, quiet ( my 3 year old doesn't appreciate techno at midnight), and that's within a 2 hour drive from London. This is the perfect place.

But for those of you who would like a bit more comfort, well, these guys have showers, hot water, sweet toilets with paper and fairy lights, two play areas for kids to play, a cute shop that has ice cream and marshmallows. They even have converted caravans, a wooden cabin, a helicopter and a double decker bus which actually has a mini built in soft play room upstairs which I guess, could be used as a large sleeping area for babies.

I only had the chance to meet Eva, who was lovely and baked ( maybe you bought them) croissants for one of our lazy mornings. Nigel, the park warden was super friendly! I don't think he had a minute to sit down though as he had someone new going up to him for wood or something else, every second! They'll both stop what there doing to help you out and you feel so welcomed.

If the privacy of your pitch is too lonely, no need to fret, there's an open space between all the converted helicopters and buses, where there's a communal fire pit and picnic tables where people go to chat and let the kiddies run.

Can you tell I love this place? It really is a wonderful place. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LiziMoon 1 review from this member

 We've been visiting Blackberry Wood for about 10 years and have never been disappointed. We usually take our own tent but have also seen in the new year in one of the caravans as well as the gypsy one.

We just love this place and see no reason to look elsewhere. Once our tent is set up in our glade of choice, we are once again in our relaxing nature bubble in the wood listening to birdsong and the crackle of camp fires.

The owners are always friendly and helpful, as are the couple who help to run the place. The washing/showering and washing up facilities are more than adequate. A lot of thought has gone into the design and build of more recent additions and care is taken with the maintenance of the various glades.

If you want clubs, pools, washing machines and electronic entertainment, then keep searching. If you want good, honest, back to basics (but not too basic!) enjoyable camping which feeds the soul, then you have arrived. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scoutpace 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a 3 day stay at this campsite deep in the heart of E. Sussex.

Pros:

1 Children will love this site. Lots of woodland to play in with secret paths that all seem to lead to the adventure play area. Lots of wildlife. Campfires! Chance for them to have the kind of childhood that we did in the 1980s ie no health and safety environment. You sign away your legal rights to making claims for damage to your offspring on entering this site!

2 If you don't want to stay in a tent, hire a helicopter, gypsy caravan, double Decker bus, airstream caravan or a curvy cabin ( I'm not making this up!) to stay in. Children and adults found these very interesting.

3 Very peaceful, most of the time.

4 The Half Moon pub on the way to Plumpton is a great dining pub that caters well for children without offering fried food.

5 This is a site with minimal rules.

6 The camping glades are very private and make the campsite feel secluded.

Cons:

1 This site trades heavily on its green credentials, however only recycles plastic bottles, glass and cardboard. What about tins/gas bottles, paper and other plastic packaging?

2 Lots of wildlife, including rats! Site owners are aware of the problem and have put down special traps. However when a rat comes within 2feet of a campfire to grab a bit of paper to nibble on, I'm thinking it's time to call in the local air rifle club to do a bit of target practice. Recommend you keep all food in your car until needed and have good camp hygiene.

3 Showers are 20p and not always hot. Not particularly clean either.

4 You will not be able to see your kids from your camping glade. But you'll hear their excited voices!

Additional notes

Fire wood is 5 per bag and comes with some complimentary kindling to get you started. Owners are very against you 'harvesting' the woodland for your fire. 1 bag is enough for a cooking fire.

Saw a planning notice for the erection of tree houses. Not sure if these are for staying in or just for kids to play in, but I think they should save the money and plough resources into upgrading the toilet/shower facilities. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ltlwing 6 reviews from this member

 Reminded me of home! This lovely campsite with private little clearings in which to pitch your tent reminded me of camping in Canada. The fact that campfires are encouraged, and marshmallows (with sticks!) are available only heightened the illusion. The sound of birdsong is never-ending - blackbirds, robins, chiffchaffs, song thrushes, nightingales, and owls all contributed to the daily chorus.

Very friendly and knowledgeable owner, good, basic facilities (the shower on 'the wild side' is wonderfully liberating) and an abundance of wildlife make Blackberry Wood worth a return visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mark Doyle 2 reviews from this member

 Blackberry Woods - on the wild side - and I liked it. Don't forget to pay a visit to the Manor Farm stockist - he is a lovely old man. Camping on the wild side gave a real sense of being able to hear your own thoughts, its just the tonic for a mental reset, away for the noise pollution. I woke up to hear every bird singing, started my morning fire and put on my whistling kettle. Night time is real darkness save only the comforting glow of the camp fire and a wee dram for company.

Constructive criticism - its what you make it, come prepared for cooking, gauge what you need for the length of time you're on site. Perhaps, being slightly over demanding on my side is the the gladed enclosures hinder the view of sunrise and sunset.

I went knowing full well what I wanted and that was a good sense of touching base with the sense of peace -Blackberry woods would certainly deliver. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cheesyb73 3 reviews from this member

 This is quite a unique campsite, which I highly recommend.

First of all, the pitches are well screened from each other, most being in clearings in the woodland. Each pitch has its own private fire pit, and ours even had a tree swing! The facilities are very good, and we loved the open air showers - quite an experience when it's raining! The wheelbarrows to help get your stuff from car to pitch are a nice touch. The staff were so helpful and laid back at the same time. Fantastic stuff, and a very chilled, peaceful place to be.

The location is good, near to the lovely town of Lewes, with it's lovely dog friendly real ale pub, the Snowdrop. Great network of paths on the doorstep, which lead to a few local pubs, which we didn't try.

I highly recommend this site, which does not feel crowded, even when all pitches are occupied, which they often seem to be. We'll be back. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barneyuk 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a lovely weekend stay at Blackbery Wood. We were given a choice of our own glade even though we did not arrive until 6pm. The pitches were nice and flat and we loved the fact that each area had its' own hearth for campfires (logs can be purchased on site). The site facilities are fairly basic but the toilets were clean and the showers hot. You cannot park your car next to the pitch but it really is not far to walk to them and wheelbarrows are provided.

We were happy to sit and enjoy our fire in the evening so did not venture out into the surrounding area for food or a drink but there did seem to be pubs reasonably locally which we believe could be reached by foot, although it may have been a reasonable cross country hike.

The charm of this site is it's simplicity. Although the site was quite full, the arrangement in glades made it seem reasonably private. The site was very quiet in the late evening as there are no radios or music allowed and we enjoyed the dawn chorus in the morning. We will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DeborahTurner 17 reviews from this member

 This is a review of the Blackberry Fields, or 'Wild Side' - the adult-only overspill on the other side of the road.

The camping is in small woodland glades, off a path through the wood or off the access track. Most really are quite small and if you have a large tent it will take up most of the glade - I doubt a big family tent would fit and only a couple of glades would accommodate a bell tent.

There was a bigger more open space close to the shower and washing up sink. The glades closer to the road end of the site looked a little sunnier and less muddy - the flip side of lovely secluded woodland camping is that you don't get much sun.

The facilities make a virtue of simplicity. The toilet block was fine for the capacity - no hot water in the Ladies washbasin or the washing up sink, one tap for water, and a wonderful 'al fresco' shower which had an excellent supply of hot water if you happy to stand in a thicket to have your shower! (there is a curtain, a 'busy' sign and fencing to ensure privacy).

If you prefer a more conventional arrangement, use the 20p showers on the main site. Care was evident in that fresh flowering shrubs had been planted, and woodchip put down to prevent mud.

Access to the glades is via a path (only muddy in one place) with barrows. There were a good number of barrows, but it would be better if people waited until all their gear was ready to load and then just use it for the duration of the trip, rather than monopolising a barrow for the whole duration of the packing - up period.

Rubbish and re-cycling needs to be taken to the main site.

The shop on the main site keeps all basics and enough to create an emergency meal, also stocks self-inlfating mats, and bags of logs and kindling are available for 4. Good seasoned wood, to cut down smoke.

The village shop (Londis) in Plumpton is an aladdins cave of excellent goods, with a good deli section, a range of excellent authentic frozen curries, the upmarket home made 'Cook' brand of frozen meals, maps, and all manner of bits and bobs. Homecooked Thai Takeaway meals can also be delivered to the campsite through a local small business - ask at Reception or the site shop.

We had a stroll through the main site, and (perhaps due to only being open in August) the overspill seemed less dank, and the glades more private. The Wild Side site is a good place for quiet camping, not suited to groups, and there is a 'quiet' policy. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dickie hutch 1 review from this member

 After the weather warnings and the predicted rainfall, we decided, against the odds, to meet up with some good friends and brave it camping in Blackberry Wood. On the drive to the camp site I could feel the wind pushing my car, this was not boding well!

However, when we arrived the sun decided to make an appearance and although the wind was pretty bad in the car park the pitches were much further down, so we could hear the wind blowing above but did not feel its effects.

Blackberry Wood is a very pleasant camp site, it has all the basics you need and some quirky additions including a Helicopter, Gypsy Caravan, Double Decker bus that you can hire for you holiday. We even braved the open air showers, fantastic!

We also enjoyed a very pleasant walk to the local (sort of. ) pub. The camp shop has everything you should need and the owners are very helpful. One of the highlights of the weekend was the open fire, accompanied by a few bottles of red wine!

I am not an experienced camper and I have come accustomed to my creature comforts, however, it doesn't take long before you start to feel comfortable, once you have everything in order. My family and I enjoyed our brief stay at Blackberry Wood and have now caught the bug for more camping. On the Internet now looking for my next BIGGER tent. 


Previous     90 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Blackberry Wood Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Blackberry Wood Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Blackberry Wood Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brighton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3431 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement