Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Blackberry Wood Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Brighton > Blackberry Wood Campsite Reviews

Blackberry Wood Campsite
Streat Lane
Streat
Ditchling
Brighton
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN6 8RS
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 90 Reviews
                8/10 from 90 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Reviewer: Carolines 29 reviews from this member

 July 2005
Had a look in at this site on our way home. An interesting and innovative idea. Little clearing of varaious sizes created in the woods and the bracken, all with different names, so if you have a favourite book it again.

Called in on a lovely summer evening so probably saw it at its best. Only drawback seemed to be that if you had lots of gear, or a heavy tent with canvas and poles it would be dificults to get all the euipment down the little paths to your choosen campsite: if you pitched in the woods.There is a site next to the car park where one frametent was pitched. There is a wheelbarrow provided to get your gear to where you need to go, as you will not be able to drive to your camping spot.

Loved the idea of the campfires. However there were a lot of mozzies around when we visited, and we did wonder if they would be a problem as each little clearing is very enclosed. Although music is banned we also wondered if other campers chatting would disturb others as the clearings were quite close to each other. There is not much grass on each clearing and this could be muddy if it was wet. However as time goes on Im sure all these problems will be sorted.
It is a nice idea and we had a very friendly welcome. If you are not looking for big vistas, but are happy with a little clearing in the wood, then this is for you ..just take your mozzie repellent! 


Reviewer: Foregolfblue 2 reviews from this member

 June 2005
We had a whale of a time here. This was my wifes first time in years under canvas and she can't wait to go again. The site is made up of secluded pitches or a slightly larger area for pitching. We pitched in the slightly larger area but found this to be no problem at all. The site is left lovely and natural which really adds to the experiance.

Whilst there was only two showers on the sight I didn't see any queuing, but then maybe everyone was just dirty. They were lovely and hot and the 20p needed lasted no problem, they were nice and clean as were the toilets.

The chance to have a fire was excellent (wood on sale) and everyone took advantage. The kids had a great time playing with their new friends and cant wait to go back again. They won't have to wait long! If your after a site with street lights, nice paths, modern facilities and a bar then this is not the place, if you want camping at its best, then you can't go wrong.

The owners Tim and Eva were very nice and have a lovely set up, and have said that they dont intend to change it to much which is great to hear. The only down side was it was'nt particuarly cheap, 5 per adult, 5 per tent and 3 for children per night so for the two nights it cost me just over 50. Saying that it won't stop me going back agin this year. Top site.  


Reviewer: 2Shoes 1 review from this member

 August 2004
I thought this was a great camp site, it is the best I have been to so far, it has hot showers, clean toilets and a very clean camping grounds, there are brilliant plots on the camping grounds where you can camp, including plots in woodland areas, I stayed in a small cove with trees overhanging, both me and my girlfriend loved every minute of it, we also made an open fire from logs and wooden blocks provided by the campsite, 3.00 for a very generous sack full of wood, you cant go wrong. The people are very polite and friendly to talk to.

We will defiantly be back Tim.

Tom & Fiona

P.S. Name for where we stayed, maybe "Campers Cove" we are working on it 


Reviewer: Lisa+Clare 1 review from this member

 July 2004
We were looking for a peaceful site to spend a couple of nights away from London and found it here. Tolets were clean and showers were hot. On arrival at the site Tim showed us around and also gave us a map of the area which was helpful in exploring the wonderful South Downs. At the site you have a a choice of flat even 'communal' ground or one of the secluded clearings in the wood. We choose the latter and enjoyed 2 nights under the stars in front of an open fire .... bliss

p.s. the campsite isn't the easiest to find don't follow the AA website instructions get to Ditchling and phone Tim!!!! 


Reviewer: Simon Gray 2 reviews from this member

 July 2004
I can only agree with the other reviewers' comments. One thing that some might find interesting is that campfires are allowed which is often a longed for factor when looking for the ideal site. Me and my two year old son survived two nights and had great fun in the woods. 

Advertisement

Reviewer: roytheboy 1 review from this member

 June 2004
A small site with uneven ground and very basic facilities by modern European standards (and few of them at that). Not ideal for novice campers. However... a lovely quiet location, away from main roads and railways etc. yet only a short drive from Brighton (via the Ditchling Beacon road). 5 per person per night.
Easy to find if you can read a map. The site is surrounded by woodland and you can even camp in the woods if you want to. The facilities are clean and the owners are friendly. All-in-all, a very nice site to which we shall return. Oh yes, and the Indian Restaurant in nearby Hassocks is very good. 


Reviewer: Paul Berry 1 review from this member

 June 2004
We visited this site on a last minute whim to 'get away from it all' (for a night at least). What a great find - peace & quiet, stunning surroundings and a really well kept site. It's a small site, so facilities are limited - but its size is part of the charm. There is great access to the South Downs Way for awesome views, and great walking and cycling - and Tim is on hand to provide expert local knowledge. Only an hour or so from London, this is a great weekend retreat....give it a go! 


Reviewer: dm.rusbridge 1 review from this member

 May 2004
Excellent small quiet site, close to Brighton (about 20 mins) yet really rural and out in the country. Good clean facilities and a friendly reception 


Reviewer: miles7576 1 review from this member

 May 2004
My wife and I stayed at this delightfully quiet and peaceful site last week. It is just lovely, a short drive from Brighton but secluded from busy roads and city lights, surrounded by tall lush green trees.

The facilities are good and the owner is very welcoming, imparting some good tips for walking and country food in the area. The atmosphere is very peaceful, if you're looking for somewhere that feels like the middle of nowhere, but is near a town and access, this is just ideal. 


Reviewer: timjo 1 review from this member

 May 2004
Sandown campsite is up a country lane, Streat lane which is a little hard to find, 5 miles north of Brighton in beautiful sussex countryside. The site is a real country retreat, very quiet and like stepping back in time. The sound of the birds was incredible even at nightime with nightingales chirping away. The showers and toilets were freshly decorated and did the job, there were no real other facilities there which is what we like.
We found some great walks and did lots of cycling along the downs. The site is also really handy for Brighton by car just 20 mins away. We had our tent but they did have some tourers on site and even we believe rent out small caravans.
It really is a lovely spot, Jim and Eva, the new owners have just taken it over and are doing some good things but they say they want it stay quiet and peaceful. They don't allow radios or music but you don't need any with the sound from the birds. We highly recommend it and will definately be going back later in the year.
tim and friends 


Previous     90 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Blackberry Wood Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Blackberry Wood Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Blackberry Wood Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brighton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3478 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement