Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Blackberry Wood Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Brighton > Blackberry Wood Campsite Reviews

Blackberry Wood Campsite
Streat Lane
Streat
Ditchling
Brighton
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN6 8RS
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 90 Reviews
                8/10 from 90 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peturian 1 review from this member

 In general it was an excellent stay and for those wanting the woodland experience you will not be disappointed.

With the open fire pits and spacious pitches it is magical and while the facilities are basic they are adequate and quaintly bohemian.

Unfortunately our stay was marred by a couple in the opposing glade who decided to get completely drunk, shouting, arguing, crying, swearing and throwing glass lanterns and bottles from about 11pm until 4. 30 am.

On ignoring the direct requests of several other campers in surrounding glades to be quiet the camp owner was notified at 2am but for reasons known only by them chose not to do anything about it leaving the terrified campers to deal with the situation themselves?

Despite this we would definitely return 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Christine S 4 reviews from this member

 We tried to stay at this site last year but left it too late to book, so we thought March would give us the pick of pitches on an empty site – not so! Several other hardy (foolish) campers were lurking in the woody clearings. As my husband is disabled, the very helpful and friendly site manager gave us a pitch at the edge of the wood, near the car-park. The pitch was flat, but no grass had yet grown and after the rain it became quite muddy, but this is only to be expected this early in the year. EHU was not available in the woods. Road noise was almost completely absent and the occasional jet flying over did not bother us. The dawn chorus was amazing and included owls and a woodpecker as well as the pheasant who strutted the site as if he owned it.

The toilets, showers and washing-up facilities were spotlessly clean and well-supplied with soap and paper, although the water pressure and timing in one of the two indoor showers was a little erratic. The open-to-the sky showers in the woods looked interesting but it was a bit too chilly to try them. Every pitch had a fire basket and some form of seating and firewood was on sale, with free kindling.

The woods are quite extensive and pitches come in various sizes, the largest of them able to accommodate two or three tents, but it is clear that when the trees are in leaf no pitch is overlooked by any other. There were very few leaves out but I did find a primrose bank.

The other part of the site had some interesting accommodation available, and occupied, including a double-decker Routemaster bus, a rescue helicopter and a gypsy caravan, all set around a grassy area with a generous sprinkling of children’s’ play equipment. I think that it is probably a children’s paradise in the summer.

Despite the rain we had a relaxing weekend, including a fairly soggy trip to Brighton, about 8 miles away. It was only slightly marred by some inconsiderate people who indulged in some drunken crashing about in the woods in the small hours, but they took their hangovers away the next day. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KayRobson 1 review from this member

 This campsite is amazing. Individual pitches all have fire pits. Couldn't be more picturesque. Staff are so friendly and accommodating. There is really good video of the site on youtube. Hot croissants can be bought every morning form the little shop. It's really near Ashdown Forest, which is definitely worth a visit. We live locally, so it will be a regular weekend away for us. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leishans 2 reviews from this member

 This campsite is full of promise. But ultimately is nothing special. We stayed here for a couple of nights and were staying in Blackberry Fields, next door to the main campsite. We first had to check in at the main campsite where we were shown the facilities there, and then told to drive further up the road and on the opposite side of the road is where we are camping.

We have a 5m bell tent and told them this when we booked. When we got there, we were just told to find an available pitch - we just about managed to squeeze into one, but if we had arrived later on in the day then in all likelihood, we would have not been able to find a pitch big enough. We asked the owner which pitches were larger, but he didn't know, so not particularly helpful. Once set up, we had very little room in the pitch to relax in and almost couldn't wait to pack up.

Our pitch itself was private, however you are only separated by thin woodland from other pitches. We kindly had our neighbouring pitch thinking that he was a bushman and started hacking at the woodland at around 11pm.

Our pitch was a short walk through the woodlands, and we were told that we could ferry our stuff up and down with their wheelbarrows. When we turned up, there were none but luckily we managed to push our trailer through the woods and into our pitch. Just! When we were packing up to leave, we managed to find one wheelbarrow throughout the site for use. I'm sure there were more, but we couldn't find them.

The facilities are basic, but this is to be expected from this sort of campsite. We have been to some exceptional woodland campsites in Fairtrough and West Hoathly, and these are proper woodland campsites with plenty of space all round and a much more natural feel.

I think this campsite is very over-hyped for what it is and unfortunately we will not be going back here again. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lizintwicks 3 reviews from this member

 Just back from 2 days at this lovely campsite. We camped in 'Fruity'. A good level pitch with about 50% sunlight. It's almost the farthest from the loos (Applewood is further) but that didn't bother us too much.

This is a woodland site, so if shade, dripping trees, nettles and brambles (hint, name of site?) bother you, it's not for you. If, like me, you are never happier than when surrounded by trees, it's truly wonderful.

The management are helpful and friendly, the facilities are clean but quite basic.

In the static caravan field, they had just started work on their latest accommodation - A Royal Navy helicopter! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cookies71 3 reviews from this member

 We've just come back from a two night stay, and were lucky enough to get the Avalon pitch. A tip for parents - this pitch is close to a toilet and open air showers, along with the washing up facilities. In addition, you don't have to trek too far from the car park (very handy if you have a lot of stuff).

It is, however, relatively shaded so if you prefer sunlight there are two more exposed pitches just inside the site, either side of the access road. The pitch itself is well maintained with bark chippings, and well drained.

This is a beautiful site, with many lovely and secluded pitches scattered around the wood. As already mentioned it allows for a camp fire on each pitch, and the pitches vary in size depending on requirements. The Avalon pitch was suitable for 2/3 smaller tents, we pitched our Icarus 600 with plenty of room around it.

The toilets, showers and washing up sink were all cleaned each day, and we didn't experience any queues - but this was more likely due to the low occupation of the site at the time of our visit.

As mentioned on the site there is a rope swing - but this has been added to, with a zip run, two rope swings, a playhouse and loads of trees that can be clambered all over.

We loved this site, and will be keen to return. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Notthatcamp 2 reviews from this member

 Everyone knows about this campsite so don't need to repeat all its great points. So here is some advice I would want to read if I go again (which I probably will).

I will try to choose a pitch which gets some sun as this would make it nicer to spend daytime at the site - some don't get any as covered by trees.

I would try to book in advance but would not be put off turning up on spec as this seemed possible even on a busy, sunny, bank holiday weekend. I would start the fire any time of day as it is lots of fun. I would walk to pubs through the fields.

I would always use the roofless shower as standing naked under hot water looking at trees and sun is magic. I might try to avoid loud children or loud groups of adults - because the cars are away from the tents, you are actually much closer than on a conventional campsite.

Same reason, I would always take earplugs. I would take bikes and even cycle there from Lewes or other stations. That's it. Definitely recommend. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Denty 12 reviews from this member

 Winter visits

This is truly an all-year site and a wonderful place to escape to from winter cabin fever. We went for the first time late November 2010, a few days before the massive snow falls, (-7C), then between Xmas and New Year, then again in early March this year, each time expecting to have the entire site to ourselves, but there were similar nutters each time! Unsurprisingly facilities out of season are limited but a tap and a loo (clean+paper) were all we needed. The thought of having to cart all our kit from the car park to the plot was daunting, but it wasn’t a problem with wheel barrows lined up in the car park. The plots, all named, vary from small to large so something for everyone although some of them are quite close to each other. Each time we received a warm welcome from the manageress (who has sadly moved on, ) paid our cheap fee, bought some wood (free kindling if required and each plot has its own metal fire grate for cooking on) and were left to get on with it. - on our first visit she did walk the site just to make sure no-one had frozen to death overnight!

The ground is fairly well drained but certain plots can get muddy if it’s rained and you walk about a lot, no problems with tent pegs, just watch out for the abundance of very prickly brambles (SIM got punctured last visit!)

As its also great for kids, booking during the summer has to done a long way ahead and I would imagine the facilities come under pressure, but read other reviews.

In conclusion, an excellent site – roll on winter! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kirkyk 3 reviews from this member

 We had a lovely time even though it rained pretty much everyday in Avalone Pitch. Loved being able to have a campfire and our 3 year old son and hubby loved the play area, climbing and swinging from trees.

Very large pitch with picnic table, beautiful carved benches, fire pit and cooking stand. Close to the toilet/wash up block.

I had fun trying to make a stinging nettle soup which tasted a bit like vegetable stock. The hubby and son did not want to try it. We shopped for supplies in Brighton.

The facilities are quite basic and I did not have a shower but had regular washes. Though son and hubby loved the open shower. I enjoyed reading about ladybirds and hedgehogs whilst using the toilet.

Lots of recycling bins and general waste bins.

We visited Brighton and went swimming in the Royal Pavilion Leisure Centre great kids pool and warm shower. Had a lovely bike ride during sunny period along the promenade kids beach play area was amazing.

The customer service was very friendly and welcoming and pleased that they are strict with their opening times. Shame about the annoying website. We hope to go again next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alkarichard 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite and good fire pits.

Great kids play area too but lots of nettles so everyone got stung a lot.

The manger kept telling our neighbours off about the dog barking and it really wasn't that much. She then complained our kids were noisy - we are very careful that their noises should not upset other campers and it was 7.30pm and in our minds they were not noisy at all. This spoilt the rest of our stay as we felt they had to be kept quiet all the time. 


Previous     90 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Blackberry Wood Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Blackberry Wood Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Blackberry Wood Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brighton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2885 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement