Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Blackberry Wood Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Brighton > Blackberry Wood Campsite Reviews

Blackberry Wood Campsite
Streat Lane
Streat
Ditchling
Brighton
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN6 8RS
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 90 Reviews
                8/10 from 90 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Abbsy 2 reviews from this member

 Was disappointed in this campsite after the reading the reviews . Maybe it led us to expect to much. We are very used to basic facilities and these were not a problem to us, the price of a nights camping, with such basic facilities, however was!

Wood which was available to buy on site was expensive as well. We strongly recommend you take your own.

Lots of rats running around which was a little unnerving even in the countryside.

Toilets were clean, although not many of them, which may be a problem at busy times.

Beautiful surrounding area with lots of lovely walks. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Matt+loo 1 review from this member

 Just spent two nights at this site and thought it was fantastic!  Pitched our tent on the edge of the wood, which our 7 year old boy loved (loads of trees to climb, ropes/tyres to swing on, a stream to fall into!) lit a fire and chilled out.  Never noticed the planes or saw any rats and as for the caterpillars, You're in the countryside what do you expect? Facilities were basic but very clean and pleasant to use-20p provides 2-3 quick, hot showers, so share! Owners friendly and v. Helpful.  Ate one evening at The Plough at Plumpton, which was dog and children friendly.  Lovely delicatessen in Ditchling, lady in shop made local produce recommendations-well worth trying.  Bluebell Railway a short drive, but great  day out.  Lots of recycling facilities and water conservation measures-our son learnt the rhyme in the toilets on his first visit! Despite all the recent rain, no evidence of flooding and owners are currently improving the car park surface.  Don't expect to drive your car to the woodland pitches; wheelbarrows are provided for unloading/loading, and adds to the fun.  Our first camping experience as a family and would recommend.  Returned home smelling of woodsmoke and eagerly awaiting next year's visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camp outside 3 reviews from this member

 A great campsite in tranquil surroundings with everything you would want in a 'proper' camping trip to be, secluded woodland, open fires, no cars and peaceful surroundings. Facilities are clean and discreet with nothing unnecessary. A couple of small bad points 1. Pitch sizes are not massive, if you've got a very big tent I think there is only 1 or 2 pitches that'll be suitable. 2. Whilst this camp site is also natural and peaceful, there does seem to be a feeling of trying a bit to hard to be cool! However very well worth a visit and perhaps you too will understand what I mean. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Freebird777 1 review from this member

 We have camped recently at Blackberry wood and like everyone else loved it. The weather was dreadful but we still managed to have a good time! We quickly noticed that experienced wet weather campers arrived with a tarpaulin or gazeebo which they put up first over the firepit. They then lit the fire with the dry logs, bought on site and put their chairs out, it meant they always had a dry area to hang out around the fire. Later at their leisure they put their tents up when the rain had stopped.
Generally Blackberry wood seemed to fair pretty well in wet conditions. There was a large pile of woodchip available for us to put in any splodgy bits we had in the clearing and although it was very windy we could not feel it at all because of the trees and bushes around our lovely clearing. The kids did need a ridiculous amount of muddy clothing changes but I don't think I've ever seen them so happy. The previous reviewer mentioned plane noise, all we heard was a lot of birds chirping very loudly, very early!
We loved our back to nature experience and now we've bought our tarpaulin might even return to Blackberry wood in the winter as they are now open all year! 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Iitu 4 reviews from this member

 We have returned from an enjoyable week at this camp site and can fully recommend it. It is a small site and many of the pitches are in their own little clearings which is nice, as it means you cannot see your neighbours though you may be able to hear them. As we had only a small tent we were directed to Bunny, one of the smaller pitches, surrounded by brambles and nettles.

We chose this site because it is one of the few that allow campfires. They sell bags of wood for £3.50, this is enough for a small fire for one evening. We had lots of trouble getting our fire to light even with the help of lots of firelighters - it kept smoking and smouldering and we think the wood was a bit too fresh. Some other people seemed to have the same problem while others were fine - luck of the draw, I suppose. On the other hand, the charcoal they sell is of excellent quality.

The facilities are fine, there are flushing toilets and outdoor showers (one of us enjoyed a lovely hot shower while the other's remained cold - not sure why). There is a little shop on site selling essentials.

This site is well located for long walks along the South Downs Way - invest in a walking map and you can explore all the footpaths and bridlepaths. We walked to Lewes and back which is easily done in a day although you can choose to take the train back. The villages of Ditchling and Hassock are nearby and have their shops and pubs.

We did not see rats nor caterpillars; our only animal companion was the hedgehog who decided to explore our rubbish bag at night. Lots of birdsong here, and yes, some aeroplane noise but if you are used to city noise you won't notice it at all.

It does get muddy when the weather is wet so bring your wellies! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yvonner 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed here as part of a UKCS meet. This was my first meet and first visit to Blackberry woods so I was not sure what to expect!
The site itself is beautiful, as long as you are the sort of camper who is happy to be in PITCH black at night and have basic facilities. No "bathrooms" as such, showers and a sink attached to back of shed in open air with mirror, toilets sited inside shed.
To be fair there are similiar facilities also available in a brick built building near the reception - which is in a motorhome by statics that are also available to rent. If you are a camper who likes sparkling state of the art facilities, on site pubs and playground for kids - you might prefer another site :0)
 
This site has pitches of varying size, small nooks in the undergrowth up to the large clearing we had near the car park for the meet. Whilst the main camping area is car free and you make use of a wheel barrow to move gear to pitch. Where we were, cars from static renters were allowed to pass through, although this was infrequent.
 
Children loved the woodland environment, playing hide and seek, climbing trees and exploring. I would say it is best suited for children over 4 though as the lack of facilities and ease by which you lost sight of kids due to layout might be a problem with younger ones especially babies.
 
Found the ground mostly soft with some stone but easy to pitch. Could see if heavy rain it could go a bit "glastonbury" so wellies are a must!
 
Air craft noise was not constant and living on the flight path myself I felt only heard due to sheer lack of noise from anything else! That said the most amazing noise was the nightingale we heard each night - what an amazing treat!
 
Would go back again next week but its fully booked up for ages - heres to the meet next year!
 
Oh and if you want to see pictures the meet has a gallery on the site here. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carol864 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned after spending a very soggy weekend at Blackberry wood. We managed to light a fire around which the children toasted marshmallows.

The site is perfect for families with young children with woodland to explore and rope swings ( one over a stream, much to the children's delight ).
We were really impressed with the recycling facilities and the fact that the site is car free and peaceful.
Ask the children what they enjoyed most, using wheelbarrows to transport all the camping gear to the pitch.
The toilet and shower facilities are basic but clean although the addition of a couple more toilets would make a difference especially I would imagine at busy times
 
Overall this site is truly beautiful and we will be returning hopefully in better weather. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carriboo 5 reviews from this member

 We have just enjoyed two wonderful nights at this site. Having done several camping trips in Alaska and Canada where this sort of site is the “norm” I found it a joy to be trusted with an open fire. The fact that it is a wooded site shelters the pitches and we were able to light a fire both nights in spite of the rain.

As to the planes flying over, I was first awakened at about 4am by the dawn chorus, it was only then that I was aware that we were in the flight path to Gatwick, by the time I eventually got up at 9am they had become less frequent and I slept in the interim with the aid of ear plugs more for the birds than the planes.
We went midweek.blissfully quiet but I imagine school holidays could be a bit of a nightmare!

Can recommend The Sportsman Pub at Goddard Green, open all day and dogs welcome! 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clucky07 2 reviews from this member

 OK, we've all read how fabulous this place is, and yes, it's all true, the place is beautiful. However, I would like to offer an honest, objective review looking at the downsides to give people a more balanced overview.
 
The woodland pitches are mainly on bare earth. When we visited it had been dry for weeks but this floor would turn to mud very quickly after some rain.
 
It is close to Gatwick airport and you are aware of planes flying overhead most of the time.
 
There are rats here and also lots of caterpillars. We are still finding them in our pants. (caterpillars that is - they get everywhere).
 
Toilets are a long walk in the dark for pitches furthest away.
 
Very busy and impossible to book for dates you would want to go (ie weekends and school holidays). This place is sadly booked up until October this year. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ncskip 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic site. The sheer pleasure of being able to light a campfire really makes this an amazing (and very rare) experience.

The owners are very friendly and obviously care passionately about what they have created in this site. The wooded setting is wonderful, with the sound of a small stream, owls, woodpeckers loads of bird song and a real sense that you are surrounded by nature.

The facilities are fine, with the option to shower in a wooden cubicle with no roof, it's a little wired looking up at the trees as you soap up. Top tip: Don't run the shower at full strength and the water will be lovely and hot.

As all the pitches are within the wood, you have to leave the car in the car park. Wheel barrows are provided to help transport your kit into the wood, but you may want to try and leave anything big and bulky at home.

Overall this site will suie anyone who really wants to feel they have escaped the hustle and bustle of normal life. Quiet (no radio's allowed) surrounded by the noise of the forest and viewed by the light of a open fire - pure magic.  


Previous     90 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Blackberry Wood Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Blackberry Wood Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Blackberry Wood Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brighton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3604 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement