Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Blackberry Wood Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Brighton > Blackberry Wood Campsite Reviews

Blackberry Wood Campsite
Streat Lane
Streat
Ditchling
Brighton
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN6 8RS
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 90 Reviews
                8/10 from 90 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: November 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RachG 2 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to Blackberry wood and it was everything we'd hoped for. The site was very quiet so we were left to choose whichever pitch we wanted. We were five adults in two tents so we chose a large one. The owners were really friendly and helpful and we loved the set-up. The facilities were basic but clean and adequate.

I'd probably always choose to camp here off-season- I wonder if the facilities become a bit over-crowded in the height of summer. The fact that you can have a campfire means that you can stay cosy even in winter, if you're well-prepared.

Yes, we saw rats in the woods, but only at the edge of our pitch, in the undergrowth. This is a site for real campers who accept that the woods are full of wildlife. If you're after a shiny caravan park you won't like it here!

We loved it and will be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dazandlorna 1 review from this member

 Have just come back from 2 nights at Blackberry Wood. Our first trip since our youngest child was born and he is now 3!.

The good points:

-they seem to restrict the number of tents/people but actually have more pitches available as site was full but there were at least 3 free pitches. So there did not seem to be many people around;

-you get LOADS of space if near the car park (less so in the woods and some pitches there were very small), they say limit tent size to 5x3m but you could have got a larger tent in, we managed to get two 5x3m tents in plus Gazebo in St Andrews;

- site is basic but adequate: showers and toilets were clean and no queues!

- the camp fire is fab and was the best bit about the whole trip;

So the bad points:

- not really suitable for children under 5- the only places to play were in the woods (which was great and they loved climbing trees but you needed to supervise all the time)or the caravan park- this had a lovely grassy area with a play castle but is apparently off limits to campers- we found this by being asked to leave (to be fair she did give us a 15 mins warning to leave);

- no one seems to get up before 8.00am- our children are early risers and not very quiet and there was no where to take them to let off steam at this time.

So would I go back- yes but in 2-3 years time. Our 5 year old loved it and could go off on his own. He made friends and they spent some time making Blackberry juice and had a great time. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Helen 4 8 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from our second camping trip to Blackberry Wood and I must say that I was a bit disappointed this time. It claims to be a peaceful sight but with a rope swing positioned just a few feet from our pitch meant that hoardes of children played there from before 8am until gone 10pm - not great when you come away for peace and relaxation! It is very pricey, especially as the showers are basic. However, it is lovely to be able to light a campfire and when the parents eventually rein their children in, it is lovely. Would ask to camp right in the middle of the wood if we ever decided to return. My advice to the owners would be to position the swings on the edges of the woods for other people's comfort and privacy. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Francesca123 2 reviews from this member

 We booked four nights at this campsite a year ago. It seems to be full if you leave it nearer the time! It is lovely to be able to have fires, and our older two children loved the woods and stream.
We found it difficult to keep track of our two year old, who was not happy to be confined to the clearing allocated to us, which meant we needed to follow him- the privacy of separate clearings has benefits, but open fields is an advantage when you need to keep an eye on kids!
We found the site to be overpriced, and were particularly shocked when we were charged for two nights we didn't stay (but had booked)- lots of rain and poorly children sent us home.
We have stayed at better places for less money, and will definitely not be returning! 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gibbard 7 reviews from this member

 We visited this site attracted by the marketing. We used a 2 person tent which almost filled the small clearing leaving just enough room for the obligatory fire (3.50 per sack). Actually it was a bit claustrophobic! The 'usual facilities' were very basic considering the 17 per night charge- definitely scope for some improvement here (elsewhere in Sussex we paid 7 per night).

Multi wheel barrow trips between car and tent were an interesting feature! Must be a challenge for parents with young children as they can easily disappear from view.

Without satnav we found some difficulty in finding the place. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suegw 7 reviews from this member

 I've just come back from this lovely campsite. Yes, the facilities are basic but perfectly adequate. It isn't strictly true that pitches are on a first come first serve basis. If you book online you can request a certain pitch at the time of booking. The management are upfront that rats may be around but so what - it's a wood and I actually never saw any at all. I thought the shop was fine for those forgotten necessities, especially when the owner happily gave me lots of ice every night for free. The pitches are nicely screened from each other, the setting is really good, with the South Downs and the coast within in easy reach by car and the walking is superb. And last but not least being able to have a campfire is just brilliant. If you want your camping with a touch of the wild then this is the place for you. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sb123 4 reviews from this member

 We recently stayed 2 nights at Blackberry Wood and although we really enjoyed our time there somethings were a bit of a shock.

To start with, and this is very important, pitches are allocated on a first come first served basis. Our party had two tents so needed a larger pitch. We arrived at about 2:15 (you can't check in until 2) and were lucky that the other people in our party had arrived before us. They managed to grab a very nice pitch with enough room for the two tents, however they had to put up with the dirty looks from other parties that wanted our pitch! If you are in a group which has more than one tent, you must turn up as early as possible.

I agree with Abbsy's comments. I don't mind basic facilities, but when you pay that much for the pitch and then expensive wood on top (we managed to go through about a bag an hour and at 3.50 a bag that isn't cheap - take your own) you do expect a certain level. Rat's running around isn't pleasant and we regularly saw one on our pitch.

Having said that, the camp fires were fun and the site is very pretty. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pwag 4 reviews from this member

 Just back from our first stay at this campsite. We chose it as it is one of the very few that allow camp fires and were not disappointed!

Only stayed the one night and were very lucky with the weather. Went for a lovely long walk through the woods and accross open fields discovering tyre swings, trees to climb and a little stream along the way.

Returned tired and hungry from our long walk, lit our fire and cooked on the cooking grill provided. Toasted marshmellows over your own camp fire - bliss!

Previous reviews mention the basic facilities but this is a real back to basics camping experience. Toilets and showers are adequate and clean.

Our 3 kids aged 16, 12 and 7 thoroughly enjoyed themselves exploring the woods and climbing trees.

I should probably mention that we did see a couple of rats - but, hey this is proper camping in lovely secluded clearings in the woods!

We were woken early by the sound of bird song :o)

It's easy to see why this place is booked up all year round - we'd definitely go again and for longer next time!

For those of you who enjoy 'proper' camping then this is the place for you and I'd recommend it whole heartedly! A real gem of a campsite. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kraftwerkorange 1 review from this member

 I was very pleased with this campsite on the whole. It was carefully planned out so that each woodland clearing was secluded and cosy, with some larger shared areas for families. It was exciting upon arrival where we were invited by the friendly owner to venture round the site and choose the clearing we wanted to pitch up in.

The site was enclosed enough to be safe for children to adventure in, but still felt open being in woodland. Another bonus is that open fires are allowed at your pitch, and bags of logs for one night is 3.50.

The toilets and showers were adequate, and were in close reach. The only problem I had was that the mini 'shop' on site was very expensive for relatively poor quality goods. I was expecting to buy local produce, with the abundance of farms in the local area, but instead there were only frozen meats and bread from the supermarket, at highly inflated prices! Despite this, there are shops in the nearby village of Ditchling and also a farm shop.

There are plenty of enjoyable walks along footpaths and the surrounding area is very beautiful. The owner is happy to provide you with maps of planned walks which we followed.

On the whole, this site was a great place to camp and we will be going back soon! 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Plm2441 1 review from this member

 I spent the most wonderful three nights here in June 2007 (in between the artic gales and flooding!) Not a good year for camping but this, truly idyllic campsite, will remain forever the highlight of my UK visit. The welcome was warm and friendly, and I was led to a small secluded clearing, with its own fireplace, 'discovered' through an almost hidden entrance. The site was spotlessly clean with a pinebark covering (no mud!) On site there was a small shop which carried a whole array of 'goodies'. Fellow campers could be heard but not seen and there were no problems with queing for showers etc. But, I emphasise, this site is designed for people who love nature, enjoy camping and don't expect the facilities of a caravan park. I had a bike; 'did' Ditchling Beacon and the surrounding villages and hamlets (all within easy, pleasant walking distance.

A positive 'gem', run quietly and efficiently by its 'live-in owners. I can't recommend it highly enough! 


Previous     90 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Blackberry Wood Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Blackberry Wood Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Blackberry Wood Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brighton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3671 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement