Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Blackberry Wood Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Site Reviews

Blackberry Wood Campsite
Streat Lane
Streat
Ditchling
Brighton
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN6 8RSCheck Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 89 Reviews
                8/10 from 89 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  89 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: V4vixen 1 review from this member

My two teenagers, both our labradors and I, spent a few days midweek at this beautiful site during July 2018. The rates were very reasonable, checking in was quick and easy and the staff very friendly.

Although being a fairly small and also fully booked site, it was peaceful, tranquil and quiet, due to cars being kept away from pitches, and to the thoughtful spaciously secluded positioning of pitches, in beautiful little clearings. At the same time it was reassuring to know that other guests and site amenities were never far away.

There were ample wheelbarrows provided at each designated car parking area, for guests to use when transporting camping gear. Our pitch was stunning, situated under a large canopy of beautiful trees in a secluded glade called ĎBramble Hideí! Although the ground was hard due to the heat wave, pitching our large Outwell Edmonds 5A (air tent) using rock pegs was not much of a problem. We also welcomed the privacy of a large seating area which surrounded our very own fire pit!

The unique glamping accommodation offered on this site is exceptional! At the time of my visit, there were two huge, gorgeous, fully equipped, wood tree-houses, a double decker bus, helicopter, gypsy caravan, a wood cabin, a 1960ís revamped caravan and bell tents available. While a second wooded area available across the road offered adults only/no groups camping at weekends during peak season.

The immaculately clean, free, modern and stylish showers and toilets block were a pleasure to use. Being beautifully hand-crafted from wood and metal they offered perfect heat and water pressure; and matched the multi-level washing up sinks, dog tie-up area and fresh water stand pipes nearby. A separate industrial sized wheelie bins area positioned a short distance away, was also well maintained during our stay.

I canít recommend Blackberry Wood highly enough, we had a lovely relaxing stay, met lovely friendly people and will definitely return again.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AGixer 2 reviews from this member

Arrived last day of May just after a torrential downpour. The site does get very muddy but if you can get over this then itís not a bad place to camp. Fire pits and griddles are supplied and the pitches are nicely designed. There is clearly some investment going in as the wash facilities I used were quirky but well made. There is plenty to do in the area for the kids. We were a party of 15 with 7 children from 5 to 7 in age in 4 large tents. We all got into one pitch called Eden.

Showers are hit and miss- I think down to water pressure drop when the rest of the taps are being run.

Parking is tight and could be larger for the number of pitches. We all agreed that we would return.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sueb78 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site with well thought out and generous pitches and beautifully designed facilities. Great little adventure playground for kids too. Facilities were adequate when we were there but I wonder if there might be queues for toilets/showers when the site is full. Also be aware that you can't park by your pitch. Wheelbarrows are provides to carry your gear. Would definitely return.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Apday101 1 review from this member

Wanted to love this site but it is in dire need of maintenance and some basic changes.

The shower blocks are tired and unloved, the pitches aren't really cared for and the site feels tired. Not cleaned whilst I was there, lights not working, no hot water for washing up, showers only half covered in one of the blocks. Does anyone managing the site not walk around it checking things once and a while? Obviously not.

With some effort it could be outstanding but currently I wouldn't recommend a visit.

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: DeeD 10 reviews from this member

We have just returned from staying at the gypsy caravan. The owner the Highland Terrier greeted us when we arrived. Both was very pleasant & welcoming. The gypsy caravan itself didn't seem so well loved as others we've stayed in. The sponge mattress felt damp. The carpet was grubby, I could see daylight through a small hole in the floor, the queenie stove had rusty water in the base. In fact we had a problem lighting it. Partly because it was wet inside & partly because the logs that cost us £5 were damp. When we went up to the house, The owner's husband answered the door & when we explained that we were having problems with the stove, & told him about the water, he gave us the impression that we were stupid & couldn't light a stove. He handed us some kindling & firelighters & said that we probably wouldn't need the logs. This seemed a bit silly because we've stayed in a gypsy caravan before, used logs & managed to have a wonderful roaring stove. This gave us the impression that he didn't really want us to light the stove, or maybe he wanted us just to have it going for a very short time.

Regarding the facilities, there was no toilet paper in one of the toilets. Both the shower & toilets were a bit tired looking. Plus it cost 20p for a shower. Most campsites have free showers & are kept in better condition. The kitchen area hut for cooking was clean & newly built, but the light only stayed on for about an hour. This was probably due to the fact that it is powered by solar panels on the roof & there isn't much daylight at this time of year. The ignition on the 2 ring gas hob only worked in the evening. We had to use a lighter in the morning. Luckily we had one with us.

Overall impression, money for old rope.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sam1775 4 reviews from this member

My partner & I have just returned from a 4 night stay at Blackberry Wood, we stayed in the pitch space Mecca. All of the tent pitches are secluded surrounded by trees & bushes giving you privacy from other campers. We have a 5 man tent & although it fit within the pitch ok it did mean that we effectively camped under the trees, not ideal for drying the tent. Mecca is also the pitch furthest from the car park & closest to the playground. Although you can't see other campers we did have a stream of children & adults walking past our pitch to the playground. Mecca is also a good 100 metres from where you have to park your car. The site supplies wheelbarrows for taking your stuff to your pitch, this added about 1 hour each way to our setting up & breaking down time.

Unfortunately Mecca is very enclosed which meant that on the 1 dry night of our stay we had to look past the trees to see the sky, other pitches were more open to the stars.

Be aware that this site is very much in the wood which means that when it rains the trails are VERY muddy, make sure you take Welles & waterproofs even if it seems dry, we didn't & really wish we had been warned.

We would camp at this site again but would at least be aware of the facilities. The 2 toilets in the main camping wooden toilet blocks smelled like urine & we're very unpleasant. The 20p showers had a cover over the actual shower but we're uncovered over the area you dress in, less than ideal if it rains - which it did a lot. We used the toilet & showers near reception which were a lot (although not perfect) better, we were surprised that more campers didn't do the same.

The owner was a really friendly chatty chap as were the couple manning reception. Be aware though that if reception is closed & has a sign stating their new hours on that day are 9-11 & 2-8 then that means they are actually closed all day & you need to go to the main house for queries - clearer signage would have been appreciated. We were surprised to have to pay 25p to freeze each freezer pack, other sites charge by the carrier bag. Definitely out to make money at every chance.

A bag of logs & kindling for the fire was £5.

We had a look at the home made playground, you have to sign a release that states you take responsibility for your children at all times, we don't have kids but my partner is an interior designer used to working in big holiday parks, we both agreed that e park wouldn't meet safety or duty of care standards & there was no way any children we were in charge of would be allowed on the park unattended.

We were allowed to have a mooch around the curvy cabin, holicopter & London bus before we left (as they were empty), all very cool but we particularly liked the cabin as it has it's own toilet & shower, the bus also appealed to us. They are also building a tree house next to the car park.

Plus points were the friendly owner, 'secluded' pitches & camp fires.

Negatives were pitch a little small, overhanging branches so no view of the sky & very muddy paths & pitches (I understand we were camping in the woods & it rained a lot). Also I know not being able to park next to the tent was a pain but I understand that there isn't another option. Wooden toilet/shower area needs rebuilding.

The site has a lot of people returning time & again so they must be doing something right.

The site is 10 mins from Lewes & a good 40 minutes to the centre of Brighton but mostly that's down to traffic in Brighton.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ajbailey 7 reviews from this member

Stayed for 3 nights over the late May bank Holiday, very warm & amusing welcome on arrival, stayed in the 'wildside' across the road & child free, lots of small pitches in woods or larger area for groups which having stunning views across the South Downs, we opted for a pitch in woods but close to main road track as only 2 of us plus dogs, pitch more than adequate in fact as one of first to arrive I spent over an hour going round selecting the one that best suited us, pitches divided by gorse & bracken so although seem private quite close to others but all very respectful of every ones privacy, facilities basic 2 spotless portaloos & shower, wood available on site for fires, really relaxing weekend with some lovely walks direct from site so avoided roads with dogs, yes it rained & was a bit soggy but great fun, well managed & most of all peaceful apart from bird song & crackling of fires, really pleased they have a child free area now as main site very popular with children but as this part is across road you have no noise or intrusion from energetic children, cant wait to go again with friends next time.

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Staplebug 2 reviews from this member

Myself and 3 friends just spent the weekend at Blackberry Wood and what a fantastic weekend it was.

Upon arrival we received an extremely warm welcome from the owners who explained the campsite layout and location of the facilities. After setting up camp we explored the rest of the site which includes streams, bridges, ponds, rope swings and much more.

As the sun started to fade we got the camp fire started with logs brought from the owners and settled down with a few beers. As soon as the sun drops the site is very dark and very quite which was fantastic for star gazing.

I am not sure why some other reviewers are complaining about the toilet facilities as I found them clean and more than adequate. (You are camping after all).

I would not hesitate to recommend this campsite to friends and family and will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tracy Coker 9 reviews from this member

Helloooo, we are from New Zealand and just finished travelling around England and Wales (over 2 months) we travelled in winter so we were expecting the cold!

We stayed at over 15 campsites and this has to be by far the worst campsite we stayed at. The campsite owners were the most unwelcoming called us a name when we enter about not booking in advance. The facilities were the worse we had come across. Also it was the most expensive campsite we stayed at £19 a night and 20P for the shower. Again this was the only campsite where we had to pay for showers. The place where you had to park the car was around 100m from the pitch (no other campsite you were this far away from your car) Also no lights whatsoever near the pitch or where you parked the car. Also the pitch was on sticks and mud, the soil definitely did not drain.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: StephP 2 reviews from this member

Blackberry wood is a very nice campsite nestled in a scrub. It isn't particularly near features or walking distance of things in our experience, but nearby drives have nice views of rolling fields. The service is a little odd if I'm honest, but well meaning I'm sure. A bit of a fawlty towers campsite! The bathrooms are pretty basic, and require coins to operate. We were lucky to get a pitch in the daylight, by fluke really. Most were hidden under the shrub with the swamp and mosquitoes around I would guess! They hardly had daylight even in the height of summer. The playground is very sweet though. Not a favourite, I don't think we will go again but at least we can say we've tried it!

Previous     89 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2199 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019