Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Blackberry Wood Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Brighton > Blackberry Wood Campsite Reviews

Blackberry Wood Campsite
Streat Lane
Streat
Ditchling
Brighton
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN6 8RS
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 90 Reviews
                8/10 from 90 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fatbloke 5 reviews from this member

 What a great little site ! Brings out the 'man the hunter' in you. Totally different type of site which I have only come across once before and that was twenty years ago in France. Incredible birdsong from early morning till late evening (along with a few of their big brothers on the approach to Gatwick - but not enough to spoil things).

You really do feel that you are miles from anywhere. I stayed on the aforementioned 'Stonehenge' pitch which means you only have to barrow your gear less than fifty yards - very convenient!

Unfortunately had to cut short my planned three night stay to two but as I only live a 35 minute drive away I am sure I will return - and the sooner the better. Some people have commented that the prices are a bit high for a 'basic' site - but what price sanity and relaxation I say. I only hope that the next time I camp here things have'nt changed and it's not been turned into Disneyland Ditchling - a Butlins Burgess Hill - or a Haven  


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Norfolkfellow 1 review from this member

 We were 8 nice bikers. We stayed over 2 nights a Friday and a Saturday. This place is really fantastic, its gives you exactly what you read on the label. Proper camping! The people who run it are really friendly and helpful. Everything you need is there. This was me and my wife's first camping experience it was the best place to start. You can not use radios and the such like but to be fair, if you go like we did with good friends, conversation by the open fire can't be beat. 

The only slight issue, if an issue at all is, if you take a bike, take something to stand your stands on, the ground is soft and the bikes are heavy they may fall. Also as bikers! car owners and drivers are not the most of helpful of people when it comes to parking near bikes i.e abandon and run policy.  We could not get close to our camp area when returning back after a days site seeing so we parked our bikes right next to our tents this made us feel even closer to "LONG WAY ROUND" This was no problem to the owners.

In conclusion if you want a good time, back to nature and want to experience a little of the Charlie BOORMAN and Ewan McGREGOR trip with a few comforts like showers and loo's then this is the place to start. To the owners THANK YOU    


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hotgail00 1 review from this member

 My partner & I stayed there last Sunday night, what a place! It is beautiful and as we are from Surrey was only an hour away. Perfect getaway with a difference. My partner had never camped before and loved it - despite the rain. We were the only campers there on the Sunday night which added to the fear factor! The White Horse pub I believe it was called was super and in nearby Ditchling food was lovely.
We cooked lunch on our campfire - we stayed in "Stonehenge" which we loved. We definitely plan to return in the summer. Superb. Thank you to the owners.  


Date of Visit: March 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sjcoles 3 reviews from this member

 Superb site for those wanting to camp properly!
Although it does look as though it has the potential to get pretty muddy, having said that you get a great feeling of wilderness camping.
The individual sites are well screened from each other but seeing as all the people we met were into this kind of camping also everyone respected each others space.
Tim and Eva were great and even though this was an expensive site we'd rather give our money to people like them to keep this kind of place going than some flash bang wizzy entertainment loaded holiday park. 


Date of Visit: September 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nettlesaj 2 reviews from this member

 This is what camping is all about to us. Had a fantastic weekend of getting back to basics. Turned into Ray Mears, made a spoon and a spit on which roasted chickens over an open fire!

Hunted high and low for this kind of place. You really feel like you are by yourself in the woods but with the luxury of a toilet and shower a short walk away! Fellow campers very considerate, didn't even know they were there. I hope nothing changes its great just as it is.

 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Kezza72 2 reviews from this member

 My partner, I and two children just spent 4 fantastic nights at this campsite. Tim and Eva are lovely, very help and accomodating.
The facilities are very basic but they do the job and they were always very clean. Even though they seemed to be busy over the bank holiday we never had to queue for the toilet or shower. My only suggestion would be to upgrade and add some more washing up facilties
To be able to sit by a camp fire looking at a sky full of stars and listening to the wildlfe was wonderful and totally made up for any minor problems. Thanks Tim and Eva, we will be returning next year. 


Reviewer: Mariamabbutt 2 reviews from this member

 August 2005
Having a husband from Africa, I leapt at the chance for a real wood fire dinner experience. Upon arrival we saw that there were plenty of opportunities for fires of all kinds. Each site has a fire pit with natural benches and logs for those evenings telling stories under the stars. Also the place was littered with barbeques which could be used as needs be. So our desire for open air cooking could not be better catered for. This feeling was shared by our fellow visitors who tend to be African and Australian and even though the site is only in its second season it has a high return rate (according to the owners).
The sites in the woods varied in size and most of the clearings were too small for our very long 6 man tent. There were sites large enough but these were already taken and so we pitched on the open area by the carpark. This has a variety of fire pits and whilst still very rustic and natural had the added advantage of being closest to the showers and toilets and handy for unpacking the car too. But as previous reviewers have mentioned, there are wheelbarrows provided to get your equipment to your site if you pick one which is deep in the woods.
The woods are mixed native trees. Some sites are hemmed in by thick bush (mainly blackberrys) with open sky, others are tucked under thick tree cover and fairly dark, some are very close together, others have their own private windy paths to reach them. So whatever type of going native you prefer, there is something here. They all have their own names like Sirus and Bunny, so that you can identify them if you wish to book a favourite. Toilets and showers could do with some TLC but they were clean. The owners encourage recycling and saving water. There are no radios etc so the place is peacefull apart from the noise our boys were making.

Wellys are a MUST. Here is a site for those who do not mind getting muddy and stinking of wood smoke fires. We had a day of constant rain and still loved every minute of it. 


Reviewer: Donkeyshed 3 reviews from this member

 August 2005
A really chilled out site with some excellent areas to camp. My daughter loved picking blackberries and exploring the woods. The atmosphere was excellent and everyone was really friendly. The camping areas are excellent- especially those in the woods (it feels like REAL camping, although you have showers & loos too!) Having a campfire was brilliant and we were also lent a cast-iron barbecue for the night. Owners very friendly. Will definitely return! 


Reviewer: Spicyniknak 1 review from this member

 August 2005
What a fantastic campsite. It was like being part of fairytale. If ‘Little Red Riding Hood’ had skipped past the tent or ‘Hansel and Gretel’ had stopped and asked for directions I wouldn’t have been surprised. After relaxing by an open fire in the middle of the woods, surrounded by natures splendour, without a man made sound in earshot you couldn’t help but rest like ‘Sleeping Beauty’.

The owners (Tim and Eva) were perfect hosts – kind, honest and interesting - working hard to keep the facilities spotless.

PS If you get the chance pick yourselves some of the ample ripe blackberries, mix them with some trifle from a local supermarket and you have one hell of a dessert!!! 


Reviewer: Simon Chadwick 2 reviews from this member

 August 2005
Very interesting place, not often you get to camp in the woods out of sight of anyone else. Also the pleasant smell of smoke from other peoples campfires. On the day we arrived there had been a monstrous downpour in the morning and in the afternoon, so although it was nice and sunny for the duration of our stay the ground was extremely muddy and wet with great puddles of standing water!

Because of the tree cover the grass is rather thin especially in the little "glades" where you can camp in the woods. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The facilities are basic but effective. Do try the blackberries - very tasty. 


Previous     90 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Blackberry Wood Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Blackberry Wood Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Blackberry Wood Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brighton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2909 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement