Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Blackberry Wood Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Brighton > Blackberry Wood Campsite Reviews

Blackberry Wood Campsite
Streat Lane
Streat
Ditchling
Brighton
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN6 8RS
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 90 Reviews
                8/10 from 90 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dubnuts2 3 reviews from this member

 Quaint site - we rather liked it and the secluded pitches - facilities were average but hey this is camping! If you are looking for spotless facilities then this is not the site for you.

Only drawback was that it was a long way to the beaches but despite that we would recommend this site - it is unique & has its own character 


Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dannyandhelen 3 reviews from this member

 We loved this campsite. Little paths through the woods, your tent in your own clearing, campfires. Toilets, showers and kitchen were basic but always clean. The owner was friendly and helpful - providing us with maps for walks. There are 2 pubs within walking distance and shops in the nearby village. There's nothing better than sitting by a fire that you made drinking a glass of wine. We'll definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Angelofthelake 2 reviews from this member

 My husband and I chose this site under a recommendation, we were we glad we did! We both agreed it was the coolest, beautifulist (new word) site we have stayed at and we've stayed at quite a few. When we arrived there was no-one else around so we were able to take the pick of the crop out of all the lovely little clearings, in my opinion we chose the best one although all were great, we chose 'wobble' and had a great 3 nights there camping under the stars with our roaring campfire and friendly neighbourhood shrew, field mouse and robin who all loved pink marshmallows :) In the morning we were lucky enough to sample the chicken's eggs which were delish and then head off across the south downs for a day of walking with fantastic scenery. Ending up in nearby ditchling for a few pints to see us back on our way back to 'wobble' for another perfect evening around the campfire. Since arriving back home we are now in progress of creating a 'baby wobble' in our back garden & are planning to become the next Tim & Eva as they have the perfect camping experience absolutely spot on! Thanks to both of you. 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bass Camper 2 reviews from this member

 I'm not a country person, so I did find the smell of 'agriculture' somewhat over powering at the site, but my better half assured me that it was the country side, and that was the way it is - it smells, and its good for you.

Initially the cost put my off staying - it seemed way above what I'd consider an average price. I've stayed at places on outstanding areas of natural beauty and paid a lot less, and had better facilities. The facilities here are not great. It appears they have water pressure issues, and it looks like they are metered. Thus every water saving device is used from the requests only to flush when necessary, to the roses on tap heads. To have to pay to stay there then have to pay extra to use the shower appeared to be a bit of a piss-take, especially given that there was 1 shower for each sex and it was pretty manky inside. They could do with completely re-building the shower and wash-up cubicle, get all the moss and filth out of it.

The site itself was quite good. They clearly trade on the seclusion of the little pitches and their allowance of campfires. Its fantastic for families with small children. That means if you are an adult wanting a lie in, forget it - other families will wake you up when their smallest child awakes! Fair warning for those with tents, the tree canopy can mean a bit more dampness that a camper might expect! Lots of wildlife.though we couldn't be sure if what has been described on here as voles were in fact rats. Country rats though, so that's ok (so I'm told).

All in all, its ok, but it should lower its price and do something about the facilities. The smell you just have to get used to! 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 6830ross 1 review from this member

 This is an excellent campsite, yes the toilets aren't perfect but it is a campsite not the Hilton hotel, but the privacy you can get is pretty impressive with your own secluded pitch.
The staff were fantastic, there were four of us that stayed and we all agreed to go back next year. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Trewnuff 1 review from this member

 A great back to basic campsite, it was just the job after driving from Cumbria to have a hot shower for 20p. The glades for camping are in the woods, this is great if you like your privacy.
You can have a camp fire, logs are sold on site. There is a nice walk to a nearby village where you can go for lunch etc.
Our children loved the tame hens on site very much. We found the lady who runs the campsite very helpful. So over all a great place to stay!
 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RichardH39 1 review from this member

 I'm relatively new to camping, but after staying at The New Forest last year, this site wins hands down!  This is REAL camping, with a lovely down to earth, back to basics feel about it.  Its gives a very private and magical sensation, due to a restricted amount of pitches available and there are trees and shrubs all around enclosing your site. So much nicer than being huddled in a field with hundreds of others looking on!  The toilets and showers were clean and worked well. 
The highlight was the real camp-fire.  We all loved it, esp the kids! Me included!  Who needs entertainment when you can sit around a fire when the Sun's going down.  We toasted waffles,marshmallows, and did toast in the morning. IT DOESN'T GET ANY BETTER THAN THAT! Our hosts were lovely, always had time for a chat and by looking at them, we should all try and go for this way of life.  Thanks guys we loved it!
There's loads more to see and do, for instance a little stream which runs through the bottom of the site.  This was a massive hit with the kids. 
I didn't really want to do this review because the least amount of people who know about it, the easier it will be for us to book next year!  


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debnade 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from 3 days at Blackberry Woods - what a fantastic experience!

We went with another family so had two pitches and fire pits . We were able to pick blackberries and damsons from the woods to use for puddings and the kids nicked a handful of corn on the cob from the neighbouring field one night for the BBQ. Felt like we were really living off the land.

The fire pit we had (we were on the Humpty Dumpty pitch) was huge, and allowed for all nine of us to sit round with a beer or 5, each evening until the rest of the camp went quite at about 11 pm.

During the night (me being a light sleeper) I was aware of but did not see, plenty of badger activity, small owls and another owl that I couldn't identify by call alone , and our tent (huge old fashioned frame tent) became a regular jaunt for a couple of shrews in the night. We kept lifting the tent flaps for them to leave, but they decided they preferred our tent to their own home.

Birds were great, we didn't hear or see the nightingales, but there were plenty of others; usual suspects like blue and great tit, greenfinch, blackbirds, magpies, crows etc, but also goldfinch, blackcap, whitethroat, chiffchaff, goldcrest, mistle thrush etc.

Great site, as had already been said. Will definitely be going back, and will try the mint in my potatoes from the end of the woods near the stream. Unfortunately, the hens didn't lay eggs in the days we were there, but maybe they will be on the menu next time.

Only down side is that there was only one washing up area and only one female shower, so sometimes a queue! Also, the bags of logs are pricey (£3.50, for a small net bag), so might be worth trying to find some at one of the local farms. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Popeye1973 1 review from this member

 The campsite is really beautiful and the other reviewers are right, it is so much better than every other campsite we have ever stayed at. With only one large reservation.

The facilities are not just basic. 2 toilets for men and 2 for women was marginally just enough. However, they don't work. The note saying "if it's yellow let it mellow, if it's brown, flush it down" is fine, when you are not sharing the loo with about 30 other bottoms. It is also fine as long as you are able to flush when you feel things are "yellow", or "brown" enough. We couldn't do this and they really smelt, really smelt. It was the hot topic of conversation around the camp site, so cannot be simply put down to my lack of adventurous spirit or middle class bravado.

One shower per sex also wasn't too problematic. They got cleaned every day, but again even when you put your 20p in you couldn't always get hot water. A note blithely stating that it was "good for your circulation" was fine for adults, but we had a 2 year old with us and he didn't find it quite so stimulating.

Overall I feel this is a lovely campsite, and yes it is more expensive than others. I can recommend it because this is how camping should be, not with some 1960's style land lady telling you where to pitch or how far apart your tents should be. It was also heaven to be away from the caravan club types with sky TV and no imagination. However the owners should carry their philosophy through and if they want to charge a little more, then as a bare minimum what they provide should work, but in all honesty, they should provide facilities commensurate with the prices they charge. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kea123 2 reviews from this member

 This place is heaven. A rare mixture of laid-back (campfires) and considerate, strict rules (no music/noise curfew). You can pitch in clearings where you can't see anyone else. Owners really friendly and take complaints seriously.

Facilities basic but who cares when you have this degree of peace and wilderness?

When we rang Spring 2006 the site was fully booked every weekend until September! It's had a lot of press publicity as it is so unusual. Hopefully we will get in next summer. 


Previous     90 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Blackberry Wood Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Blackberry Wood Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Blackberry Wood Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brighton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2936 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement