Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Blackberry Wood Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Brighton > Blackberry Wood Campsite Reviews

Blackberry Wood Campsite
Streat Lane
Streat
Ditchling
Brighton
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN6 8RS
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 90 Reviews
                8/10 from 90 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jedzi 11 reviews from this member

 We booked this a year ahead, as it appears in all the 'Best Of' lists. Overall we loved it. Being in the woods was great and effectively we were in our own private clearing. While it's not the cheapest site, the space per pitch must be several times the average.

Our kids loved the camp fires and the new playground / assault course they've built. Oddly they also loved the open air showers (only the roof is open).

The place has a laid back feeling. It's not a slick corporate place, but it's easy going & friendly. You could call it slightly ramshackle, but in a good way.

We'll definitely try & return (if we can book a pitch.) Must admit I found the website irritating (esp the tweeting birds) & it lacked basic info.

The thing that I can't work out is why nobody else has tried to copy the 'formula' given its phenomenal popularity. There's nothing I saw that, broadly, couldn't be copied. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Yorkie32 1 review from this member

 We stayed one night, with our two granddaughters (3 & 9) in the big red double decker bus - great fun! The downstairs is set up as a kitchen with a gas cooker, fridge and seating for four. All the cooking and eating utensils are provided. The upstairs has a seating area, a double mattress and a large 'soft play area' at the front for the kids to play and sleep in. There are electric heaters which was great as it was a bit cool the night we stayed.

Behind the bus is a large barbecue and a few chairs and in front is a picnic table and a wood burner. The caravan field is large and open with some outdoor toys which my granddaughters loved. There is also a large communal barbecue in the middle of the field.

The other ‘speciality’ caravans are an Airstream, a Gypsy caravan and a tiny retro caravan all well spaced out. The toilet and shower blocks (20p) for the 'caravan' field are quite old but were fine for the one night we were there. Only one washing up sink meant a bit of a queue after breakfast.

My granddaughters loved exploring the rest of the site, the paths through the woods, the rope swings and the play area near the edge of the site.

Wild camping this is not, electric lights, fridge, electric heaters – but great fun, a memorable experience and an easy introduction to ‘camping’ for my granddaughters. 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Calcitestar 10 reviews from this member

 The owners were really friendly and gave us a choice of 2 sites that would fit our bell tent. She said it was a juggling act to get the sites to fit the tents. Another great thing about the site were the pheasants who took great delight that we had left our dirty plates out overnight for them to pick at (it was too dark to see to wash up by 7.30pm) There are also rabbits running about and 3 chickens by the reception area. The toilets were as many people have said - adequate. Fine for a back to basics site.

I now must mention the downside. Every single glade had no grass at all so we were camping on soil. This is not good for laying out a tent before you put it up as everything gets dirty. Admittedly we went early in the season but our glade was sluggy mud with a few woodchips sprinkled on top and ours was one of the drier ones. This was a huge downside as you couldn't put anything down without it getting muddy. The weekend we went was according to their website, fully booked but there were many glades unused. Maybe people book in the hope of fine weather. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phil and Marian 8 reviews from this member

 We loved this site. It was not what either of us expected, but it was better by far than any other site we've been to. We chose our own pitch, Stonehenge which was a small pitch perfect for our 2 man tent. It was very private, sheltered from the path by bushes and trees.
The campfire in the evening was fantastic, the first site we've been to that encourages a campfire. It was peaceful too, no radios are allowed at this site. Heaven! By 10am we had the sun streaming into our pitch and it was nice just to sit and relax.
There was lots of wildlife in the undergrowth and up in the trees. We slept well, and were woken by the dawn chorus. We'll certainly go back again and will take the children next time. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mnorris 1 review from this member

 Lovely secluded woodland camping with individually named pitches inventively located in a small wooded area. Wheelbarrows provided to transport your kit to and from the car-park to your pitch. Camp fires allowed and wood provided at a premium. Set in the shadow of the south downs with plenty of fantastic countryside and local pubs to explore. Nice wooden toilet block with open shower which is lovely in summer but a little cold in April. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Donny Osmond 12 reviews from this member

 I turned up here on a Tuesday in June & was lucky enough to be able to choose from a couple of their secluded pitches. I chose Minty - which was a very pleasant site at the far end of the site by a little pond, with a camping table. The site turned into woodlands the further back you explored, eventually emerging into a field from which you can pick up a lane which either leads back into the village of Streat or to neighbouring villages & pubs. The site owners provided a map of the area with pubs & shops marked on - which was handy for exploring.

I didn't take advantage of being able to have a camp fire as the weather was warm when I was there - but I intend to go back out of season for that very reason! Also didn't use the showers as I was returning home the day after staying here - but the facilities looked good.

I ate in nearby Ditchling at the White Horse - which has obviously been recently refurbished. The food & the Harveys were both very good. Also took a trip up to nearby Ditchling Beacon to watch the sun setting over the Downs.

All in all a very nice site in a great secluded location. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mapryan 2 reviews from this member

 Had a fantastic weekend here with my three boys. There was lots of great things to do and they made lots of friends.

I'd second all the other great things about this campsite that people have mentioned. However, I do have one gripe. The parking areas for cars is really small and can get very busy when the campsite is full. You then end up with lots of cars trying to manoeuvre around this really small area, and I now have a large dent in the rear left-hand side of the car where someone hit it and then drove off. Somewhat annoying 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grizzly adams 2 reviews from this member

 Absolutely fantastic, incredible, wonderful and romantic get away from it all place! Secluded pitches in the woods where you barely see or hear other campers. Open fires to cook and keep warm in the evening. The sounds of the wildlife and running stream were priceless.
Open showers were proper and there are closed ones for the colder people. Toilets and washing up area was as spotless as they could be. On site shop sells basics and logs are £3.50 per bag or 3 bags for £10.
If you are looking for a romantic couple of days with your partner to just be one with our planet then go, go, go. If you are wanting to take the kids somewhere and cook on the fire and toast waffles and marshmallows in the evening then go, go, go. We got back and felt revitalised.

STUNNING! Will be going back asap. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Woofa 1 review from this member

 This was my first camping trip and Blackberry Wood was a fantastic choice for me.

Very friendly owners were more than happy to give me advice on where to pitch etc and local shops etc. There is a small village called Ditchling a couple of miles from Blackberry wood where you can buy most essentials. I believe there is also a small on site shop.

The site itself is fantastic. I doult you could ever be overlooked by other campers here, as each site is so private. There are outdoor showers with hot water (20p) and clean toilets and a small washing up station.

Camp fires are allowed too which is fantastic, the owner sells big bags of logs for a few quid.

Some of the pitches are a few mins walk from the car park, but there are plenty of wheel barrows parked around to help you transport your goods! 


Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kerry+Pete 4 reviews from this member

 We turned up to this campsite without booking before hand and luckily the owner managed to squeeze us in.

We chose a really nice spot to the rear of the Campsite and it was lovely and secluded. Unfortunately the only downside to this was that you can't take the car past a certain point which meant lugging our gear back and forth to our pitch. There were Wheelbarrows to help but they were all being used at the time.

The facilities were excellent even though they were outdoors! This had me slightly worried in the showers but it was something different! I think it was 20p for about 5 minutes of hot water.

The Campsite isn't too far from Brighton and we drove there easily from the campsite. We visited the local pub down the road and it was very nice. There is a local village nearby and a supermarket about 10 minutes drive away.

Would definitely stay again, though I think booking is essential! My only criticism would be that there aren't enough spaces, and due to the popularity I'm sure it will be constantly fully booked in high season. 


Previous     90 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Blackberry Wood Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Blackberry Wood Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Blackberry Wood Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brighton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3545 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement