Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Castel La Bien Assise

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Guines > Castel La Bien Assise Reviews

Castel La Bien Assise
Cd 231
Guines
Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais   (Browse area)
62340
Tel: 0033 03 21 35 20 77
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 400
Open: 06/04/ To 26/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 106 Reviews
                8/10 from 106 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alan Chilestone 36 reviews from this member

 Large campsite 10km south of Calais, excellent for a stopover before or after the ferry or tunnel. A large number of tourist pitches as well as some statics, both the site’s own and outside holiday firms’. Good toilet facilities, clean and well maintained. Site has café / bar and takeaway (nice pizzas) as well as a shop, where bread and croissants can be ordered. There is a play area with fitness equipment as well. There is also a traditional restaurant attached to the site. We would certainly use again and hope to return for a longer stay in the future. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elizahigham 21 reviews from this member

 We used this site as a stop-over going and coming home. Welcoming staff. Obviously because where the site is its used mainly as a stop-over, so lots of comings and goings. The facilities were fine, although the shower head in the shower I used was broken and water went everywhere except on me! I didn't know this until it was too late to change cubicles! Pitches were well laid out and ours was level. On our return stay regrettably our motorhome broke down. The staff were extremely helpful and acted as interpreters when the mechanic arrived. We didn't use any of the other on site facilities so can't comment. A Carrefour supermarket and petrol station near by. We used our ACSI card so felt that the charges were reasonable. I would use this site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ct955 47 reviews from this member

 Spent 3 nights here on way home from Loire valley, very convenient for Calais. Reception is very efficient and has lots of info on area etc.

Pitches all a good size, some sloping. You can apparently hire fridges and garden furniture from the site. Facilities were clean but dated. Shop, takeaway and bar all good but closed at lunchtime!

Pool was nice and there is a small waterslide. The restaurant nearby is absolutely fantastic but you need to book. The town of Guines is not worth the effort really but the Cite Europe centre is worth a visit.

This is a busy site with lots of short stays but they seem to keep the overnighters near the entrance so not too much traffic where we were pitched. Would use again for short stay only. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nellie72 16 reviews from this member

 We stayed here twice, once with my parents with their touring caravan on our way to the alps and then again solo with our own caravan three weeks later on our way home.

The July visit we were in the far corner on the biggest pitch I've seen in my life, my parents had a bigger unit but a slightly smaller pitch, I would imagine that if you weren't very good or confident at reversing your caravan, then it wouldn't have been the ideal spot for you as it was an S manoeuvre to get it onto the pitch. But neither of us had problems. Both pitches were slightly sloping so we needed blocks under the front steadys, but nothing horrendous.

We found the food in the bar to be perfectly fine for what it's advertised as, wifi speed in the bar was also reasonable, not as fast as home, but on holiday you don't mind a slightly slower download speed.

On our way home we ate at the restaurant and I can recommend this to all, the food was wonderful and reasonably priced. I would suggest that you book as it's very popular. We also used the pool which was warm(ish) and clean, although there were many pairs of abandoned children's flipflops at the entrance, a larger shelving unit near the foot pool would help solve this. Also a shelving unit within the pool area for swimmers to leave their towels/clothes so they don't get wet on the floor would be useful.

An adult swim time would be VERY much appreciated, even if it's only for 30 minutes, just to be able to swim lengths without getting jumped on by oversized teenagers would be blissfull after a long days towing.

Some staff in their golf buggies drive as though they're the next Lewis Hamilton, but it was the same two members of staff every time, so I suspect they're very much the exception, other than that, it's a perfectly lovely site for children to cycle around and explore safely. The grass is neatly mown and the option of being able to hire a bbq /fridge /patio furniture is an excellent idea for those of us with a smaller caravan that simply can't bring everything and the kitchen sink with us!

I would recommend this site to all but those who insist on silence at all times of day, (you wont get it here) We've booked again as our stopover point this summer, but we're going to stay two nights and explore the area a little before heading further South. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Clf86ha 16 reviews from this member

 Booked in here before morning tunnel crossing, as close to the tunnel.

The site is pretty enough and pitches spacious, although some slope slightly.

The sanitary block is average, certainly not 4*, but nontheless clean.

The pool is small and the slide may as well have been switched off (watched a child struggle to slide down, then stand up and walk down it!).

Wifi expensive for the time given.

All in all a pretty site, worth the cost on acsi, but not without. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bouzoukigirl 18 reviews from this member

 We really love this site. It is so convenient for the ferry/eurotunnel and is very pleasant to spend a night or two. The staff are friendly and helpful - for example one of the staff was very happy to photocopy a walking route for us. Pitches are certainly large enough for most units - some are flat and some slightly sloping. There is a useful little shop on site where you can pre-order bread and buy essentials. The toilets and showers were kept very clean. The swimming pool looked inviting but we didn't use it. The little town of Guines is unremarkable but there are a few pleasant walks in the area if you need to stretch your legs after a long drive. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elizahigham 21 reviews from this member

 We used this site as a stop-over going and coming home. Welcoming staff. Obviously because where the site is its used mainly as a stop-over, so lots of comings and goings. The facilities were fine, although the shower head in the shower I used was broken and water went everywhere except on me! I didn't know this until it was too late to change cubicles! Pitches were well laid out and ours was level. On our return stay regrettably our motorhome broke down. The staff were extremely helpful and acted as interpreters when the mechanic arrived. We didn't use any of the other on site facilities so can't comment. A Carrefour supermarket and petrol station near by. We used our ACSI card so felt that the charges were reasonable. I would use this site again. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Elaine-n-Trev 32 reviews from this member

 As we needed to stay for our dog - we use the vet near Ardres, it was convenient. We have ACSI so they charged us 18 euros a night (two nights) + 6 euros - I presume for the dog - or tax?

Total for two nights was 43 euros.

The exception was the WIFI - it has almost become an obsession with us. If the service is bad but free, you can forgive, but when the campsite charges 3 euros for a hour (for one computer) or 6 euros for three hours (and the internet is in anycase slow) - it starts to be a point of contention.

I'm not sure what the solution is, but we have now made a conscious decision to eliminate campsites that (in our opinion) think it's ok to make a profit from the internet. It should be a service (with a minimum fee if necessary) - not a money making machine. This is because people who travel need to stay in touch with their families.

Apart from that, the campsite ticked most boxes in the sense that it was clean and offered the necessary services. We won't be back. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sludge78 3 reviews from this member

 This was my first camping trip along with my husband and 9yr old.

Arrived at 2am so had to sleep in car and wait until office opened at 9am. Quite easy to find. Shown to adequate pitch amongst tourers and statics, close enough to toilet blocks etc.

Showers/toilets were relatively clean though a little dated (not a fan of spiders crawling overhead), some such as the individual cubicles by the pool had sections of roof missing but the wonderful powerful and warm shower made up for this.

Our daughter loved the swimming pool (though the flume and splash pool were icy cold) which was kept covered due to the time of year - seats around pools were constantly wet from the condensation, ping-pong and crazy golf. Park was a bit too young for her but had two swings near the shop.

Didn't make use of the shop or bar so can't comment on this - 15min walk took us into village where we found a lovely bakery and other shops for provisions. 15min drive to Calais to access shopping mall with large Carrfore stocking gas etc. If you don't do anything else on holiday go down to Calais beach and have one of the waffle ice creams with 3 flavours - excellent value for money,

Quite a few dogs on site and large enough to walk them around, wasn't aware of any dog mess etc.

Caravans seemed adequately spaced.

Now have a caravan and would def consider stopping off here again. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Retroplehcar 3 reviews from this member

 An attractive site, very close to Calais. The site is in a rural location and has a lovely feel to the place. It appears to be generally used by British holiday makers using this as a stop over before catching the ferry, but would be perfectly pleasant for a longer stay. There is lots to do in the area, good shopping, lovely beaches and countryside. The site is very well equipped with a bar, restaurant and take away, The grounds are clean, tidy and well maintained. The pitches are of a good size and generally level. There is lots to do for the children, such as a large play area, one for small children and one for older children. The pool is clean and warm, although the slide and slide pool was not heated, the kids did not seem to notice and enjoyed the slide. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We used this site for 2 night stop over and would definitely use again. 


Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castel La Bien Assise child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Castel La Bien Assise have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castel La Bien Assise?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castel La Bien Assise dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Guines      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3776 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements