Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Castel La Bien Assise

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Guines > Castel La Bien Assise Reviews

Castel La Bien Assise
Cd 231
Guines
Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais   (Browse area)
62340
Tel: 0033 03 21 35 20 77
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 400
Open: 06/04/ To 26/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 106 Reviews
                8/10 from 106 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Neil+Barb 20 reviews from this member

 This is a first class site and one that we have stayed at before. It is popular for an overnight stay and is within easy reach of the Eurotunnel terminal. Best to call ahead to check availability, especially at peak season. It is open all year round, but has only a few pitches in the winter. There is also a very convenient wine and spirit outlet just a few minutes drive away for stocking up on the way home just ask at reception for directions. Good English spoken at the site.

It is easy to find on the main road out of Guines with very easy access to both the site and the pitches. All pitches are large and moving around the site with a twin axel was easy. It is a very well maintained site with a reasonable amount of shade. It reminds us very much of a UK Caravan Club site.

The sanitary blocks are very clean and some are heated. There is a swimming pool, a bar and take away and an excellent restaurant. Not your normal campsite restaurant, but one with fine dining. Just perfect for your last night in France to celebrate a good holiday.

There are vets nearby in Guines to check your mutt before you enter the UK. Best to ask the site for details and book an appointment in advance, but they do allow walk-ins at certain times of the day.

We like this site a lot and it is a shame that we only use it for a short stopover on our way to and from France. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grimmer 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed here last summer and had a brilliant time.

The site is big and our tent pitch was mixed in with other tents and static homes run by large camping holiday companies.

Despite the size, the showers and toilets were always clean and tidy with hot water continuously available. Although they got busy at peak times we never had a problem getting in there to shower. Similarly, the washing up huts were kept clean and were always available.

The pitch was grassy and separated by a tree and hedge - very pleasant and plenty big enough for our large 4 man tent + car and sitting area.

On-site there is a welcoming reception with very helpful staff and useful cycling / walking routes available. There is also an excellent shop selling fresh bread (delicious) in the morning and everything else from washing up liquid to chilled beers. Local supermarket is 10mins away providing you with everything else you'll need. There's also a cafe but we didn't use it (seemed popular) and we had a n evening in the restaurant (good but a bit over priced). There's also a pool but we didn't use this as it was always busy with children.

The local area is great and due to it's close proximity to the channel (everyone drives straight through the area en-route elsewhere I guess) it is not at all touristy - there are plenty of local villages and towns to explore each with local markets, cafes etc. La Touquet is certainly worth a visit - 'Paris by the Sea' is a lovely place.

We stayed here for four nights and had a great time and would definitely visit again, or use it as an over night stop before getting the ferry / tunnel home, as many people seemed to do.

Great facilities, great staff, great area. Such a success that I proposed on our final night and she said 'yes'! 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Franbee 169 reviews from this member

 We stayed here twice this trip, coming and going to/from the UK. We arrived late from the tunnel and reception was closed, so we found a pitch for the night and paid in the morning. They seem quite happy about that. On our return visit, we were asked to choose our own pitch which is unusual for here.

The showers in the 'warm' room seemed better this time, nice and hot.

I did see at reception that the site will be open all the year round, but only 5 pitches which must be booked in advance, and the only facilities available will be the toilet block (and possibly the campervan service area?) 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Neil+Barb 20 reviews from this member

 Part of the Castells group. Easy to find - satnav takes you directly to it - entrance is on a roundabout.

Large and open entry to the site with plenty of space and parking around reception. They are used to 'one nighters', so check in was fast and efficient and a lady on a buggy took us to the pitch. Good sized pitches with plenty of water and hook up points.

The site felt very much like a Caravan Club site. All very well maintained, with lots of well pruned shrubs and trees. Nice tarmaced roads. Considering it was the end of the season, the pitches were in very good condition. I suspect this is because many one nighters do not put up an awning and the grass remains in good condition.

Toilet blocks were of a high standard and some areas heated, certainly needed at the end of the season.

We did not use the indoor or outdoor pool, but both looked good.

There is a bar/snack bar and a small shop. We ate at the on site gourmet restaurant, which was a very high standard and virtually full, so booking required.

Though perfect for one night for the ferry/tunnel, it is a nice enough site and area for a few extra nights. We stayed for 2. We had to see the vet to take the mutt back into the UK. We phoned the site a few days before and they gave us the phone number of a local vet so we could make an appointment in advance. They were very helpful.

The beach area around Sangatte is lovely, as is the long promenade at Calais.

Plenty of supermarkets nearby to top up on plonk. We went to Carrefor and also a local unit called Franglais. Reception again helped here. Great wine selection at good prices.

Site is 10 mins from the tunnel.

Highly recommended as one night stop or for a few days. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Colmax 2 reviews from this member

 I would recommend this site as a short or long stay.We stayed for three nights enjoying the wonderfully landscaped former chateau grounds which are real parkland.

A nearby Carrefour and Lidl,only one mile away,were most convenient.

The well stocked shop opened convenient hours.

The bar/restaurant was large and inviting with really good choice of food and drink.

The on site gourmet restaurant is a must eat experience.

Plenty of play areas for children and adults.

Sanitary facilities were well maintained and plenty of showers,basins and toilets.Of particular note was that the showers were hot not the usual tepid offering.

A warm and well maintained pool with a water slide were available.

The local town of Guines is walkable and a charming town with history,plenty of shops and a weekly market.

Cite Europe is 5 miles away as also is the beach at Sangatte and Auchun in Coquelle.

10 minutes or so gets you to the tunnel and port.

Reception were pleasant and efficient.

Recommended and very convenient. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scarletsfan 90 reviews from this member

 This site is easy to find and is well sign posted being accessed directly off a roundabout on the D231.

Reception is open until late in the evening. The site is big and is popular with short stay caravanners due to it's close proximity to Calais.

Pitches are massive, though most are slightly sloping.

Toilets (UK Style with seats and paper)and showers are plentiful and cleaned regularly.

Cannot really comment further as we only stayed for 2 nights and did not use the other facilities on site. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bs assorted 10 reviews from this member

 We have recently stayed at Bien Assise for one night as a stop over from the south of France to the UK. We were greeted by the extremely friendly staff who showed us to our large and beautifully maintained grass pitch. The sanitary block near to our site - although a little dated was clean and well maintained, it was a little disconcerting though, as a woman to wash your hands standing next to a man using the urinal. The take away provided good quality food and my son was delighted to discover that while you waited for your food free internet access was available in the vicinity of the restaurant. This site is near to Calais and is useful as either an overnight stay or a longer holiday. I am sure we will visit again. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiftysomething 18 reviews from this member

 We used Le Bien Assise for a couple of nights in very early July on our way home and they were able to find us a large enough pitch although we hadn't booked. Very helpful, friendly and efficient.

Close enough to the coast to cycle there for a swim so we didn't use the pool, which was packed and quite noisy. The proper restaurant was excellent - what a shame more campsites don't have the same idea - and the loo block and showers were well looked after and warm.

An easy walk into the town although I didn't think there was much there. I did wander around the market but as we were on our way home the next day I didn't buy any more food. The wine warehouse is handily placed close by the autoroute into Calais so we wiled away an hour or so there.

Hope to go back, perhaps for a long weekend, in the spring as, as well as being a great stopover at the beginning or end of a holiday its well placed and interesting enough for a 'short break' 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dargy 34 reviews from this member

 Great campsite ideally placed for coming or going to the ferries or tunnel - 15 mins. We have stayed a few times and Bien Assise provides generous pitches with hook ups and clean, modern facilities.

There is a restaurant next door which is a real treat and moderately priced or there is a snack bar with take away. We didn't use the pool, but it is obviously handy if you are staying longer and the site staff are very friendly.

There are plenty of pitches but recommend booking if you think you will arrive after 5.00pm. Part of the Castels group. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Franbee 169 reviews from this member

 Reviewers - mature couple with car, tent and bikes.

We have used this site many times, mainly as a stopover to/from UK. It is well cared for, clean and tidy, grass cut short and hedges trimmed.

The toilet blocks are good, though the showers in the heated unisex room were not fixed to the wall, and difficult to position. I prefer the showers in the ladies block. I did think last time that if they came to refurbish, it would be better to put all the toilets into the unheated single sex blocks, and the showers and enclosed basins into the heated block.

Haven't used the pool, restaurant, shop or bar.

We did stay a couple of days last time, and had time to explore the town. There is a TI office where you can get a town trail, and there's a museum too, with an entry fee. On the far side of town is a canal, nice for a walk or cycle.

The main negative for this site is the price, quite expensive, though this time it was cheaper than last. 


Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castel La Bien Assise child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Castel La Bien Assise have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castel La Bien Assise?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castel La Bien Assise dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Guines      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4594 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements