Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Wyse House Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Malton > Wyse House Campsite Reviews

Wyse House Campsite
Wise House Lane
Old Malton
Malton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO17 6RE
Tel: 07949794648
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 28
Open: 1/03 Until 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 90 Reviews
                9/10 from 90 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pipthecat 1 review from this member

We booked to stay for two nights and ended up staying for three. From arriving we were impressed with the clear board stating our pitch, and each pitch being numbered so it was clear how much space we were allowed to use. Very generous. There were wooden tables and chairs for us to use- great! The campsite is small and friendly. The toilets were small 2 toilets and 1 shower but we never had to wait long and they are really nicely turned out. This site was great for travelling with a baby as the owners had provided a baby bath, changing mat and there is also a sweet little play room. The washing area also had a microwave which is a god-send when travelling with a baby. The owner was very friendly and was always working hard to keep the toilets and kitchen area clean and tidy. There is a nice playground for the kids, and as the site is not being too big the kids had the freedom/confidence to go themselves. We would definitely recommend this site to anyone and we will be going back next year. ( family of 5 campers for 6 years)

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: On tow 1 review from this member

On arrival the site was as expected, clean and well spaced with pretty areas of clumps of small trees.

All the information we needed as to where we should site the caravan was displayed on a notice board at the gate.

The toilet/shower block was adequate, although a need for maybe another shower is required in both the men and women sections.

The children's area seemed to be popular among other guests staying there. It was clean and well thought out.

You can take a walk through the adjacent fields where you will discover some lovely friendly donkey's and a horse.

Great for dog walking too.

Ideally situated for the nearby town of Malton and car ride to Pickering and Thornton Le Dale- highly recommended!

My only niggle was that there didn't appear to be a waste disposal drain to be used.

A nice site with a friendly atmosphere.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Zyroman 2 reviews from this member

Really nice little site, our van at just over 8 m was a little long for the hard standing but the grass was firm and it wasn't an issue. At least two water points and a chemical disposal point in the adjacent farmyard.

The location is good, just over the road from Eden camp and close to Malton, I would certainly recommend the Thai and the Tex-mex as well as the restaurant/bar on the edge of the market square but I cannot remember what it is called.

The ablutions are ok but it did cost my Wife 1. 50 to shower herself and the two kids, can't comment as I used the shower in the van. We would also recommend Yorkshire air museum as well as camp Eden but take your cash as nobody seems to take cards ! We will be back for another visit in the Autumn.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mike99a 1 review from this member

Lovely clean site. Friendly but not pushy owners. Great facilities for younger children, small playground, rope swing rabbits, guinea pigs etc. Literally just over the road from Eden Camp, Flamingoland etc close by. Quiet in the evenings, very peaceful and relaxing. Could maybe use a couple of extra showers, although we didn't actually have to queue.

Stayed 3 nights.

Will definitely be going again kids didn't want to leave.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 2004brianv 5 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for 3 days at the beginning of September and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, this site is immaculately kept as is the washroom and kitchen area with microwave and fridge and in fact we keep going back to this site as we love it so much.

Situated just outside Malton, Pickering and the gorgeous picturesque village of Thornton Le Dale it is ideally situated. Malton has three supermarkets and numerous pubs and restaurants.

The owner is very helpful and sociable buy leaves you to your own devices. Peak time price was 18 per night with electric hook up, 15. 00 off peak and worth every penny. It is a working farm situated by a river with plenty of wildlife and surrounded by fields is very picturesque, I would definitely recommend this site.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Noyamyam 5 reviews from this member

Just got back from a lovely 3 night stay here. The site is very clean and well kept. Only 1 shower and 2 toilets for each sex, but was never a problem. 50p shower, easy temperature control, so I didn't scald my little girl. Has happened in the past.

2 (or 3?) sinks for the pots, a spinner, microwave, and very thoughtful to leave a few tea bags and coffee in the kitchen area too. Good selection of local attraction leaflets there also.

We went to North Yorks Moors railway, about 7 miles away in Pickering. Also several pubs, Asda and Morrisons within 2 miles I guess.

Outside were rabbits and guinea pigs to feed, chickens, and eggs for sale.

Younger children would enjoy the swings and climbing frame in the play area.

Over a style, was a walk by the edge of 2 fields, through the lambs to the river. In the second field was a large buoy, on a rope hanging from a large tree branch. An excellent swing.

The pitches were large, flat, regularly mown grass, or hard standing for caravans/motor homes.

2 people, in August, with EHU 18 per night.

The owners, and the campers were all very friendly when we were there, my little 'un made friends, as did I, and loved it.

Will definitely return

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tedizz 1 review from this member

Stayed here for 1 night on a flying visit, what a lovely site it felt like we had pitched on a snooker table! The pitches were level and whole site kept immaculate. The owners very friendly and helpful, the camp kitchen was a useful addition for us, as we had very little equipment for just one nights stay.

The washroom / toilets were kept clean and very cosy, even proper fresh towels and soap available!

We will certainly be back here again soon with our motorhome and little boy to make more use of the the facilities electric hookup, playground etc and to sit and watch the wild rabbits playing 4 yards away from us

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mig2k_uk 16 reviews from this member

Picked this site as a last minute holiday for my son and girlfriend and us to older folk for two weeks as the caravan club sites were all booked up. As we have no young children it was the first time we have stayed on a farm.

The first week our caravan was the only one booked on as the weather was rain and more rain.

The site came into its own on the second week when the weather changed and more tents arrived.

The people who own and run the site are more than nice they will help were they can but leave you alone to get on with your holiday. They have pitches with numbers about 8 hard standing but as more tents arrived these seem to become car spaces and tents were just placed where ever, this was not a big problem as there is more than enough space around each plot.

There are little hutches with rabbits in them and chickens that provide eggs at 2. 50 a dozen.

The wash room is small only two toilets for male and two for female one placed in side the cubical for the shower. Baby changing mat and hand towels provided.

In between the male and female toilets is a small kitchen with microwave and two large sinks great when wanting a quick meal or to wash pots.

The children around us had lots of space to run and play and a play ground all enclosed in the site so no harm could come to any of them. Gates and fences lead to fields and the river. There is a nice walk into Malton along the river and when you get there a tea room that welcomes dogs inside and give the biggest Yorkshire roast dinner for the cheapest price ( the great Yorkshire tea rooms).

The campsite has a great atmosphere and no one ever seemed to feel over crowded. Lovely walk to the shower under the apple trees by stepping stones.

Just a point if the weather had stayed wet thing may have been different as there would have been a lot of mud but then it is a farm and I would stay there again.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: WhiteRoseUtilities 1 review from this member

Ok, so we were lucky with the weather. The pitches were large and flat, the site and facilities were very clean and tidy. We were very nicely welcomed by the owner (who didn't rush us off our pitch on last day).

So there were only 2male showers, so what, so you could hear traffic, so what.

Families opposite apologized for their children's noise, rubbish, they were just having fun on a safe, secure camp, it was lovely to see.

We got on really well with our neighbours and the 2 of us guys fished while the girls drunk wine and watched children playing. Lovely

Everyone on the camp we spoke to said they loved the place. We will be back.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Misspopsicle 1 review from this member

We chose Wyse House Campsite as the location for our first ever camping trip mainly because it was very close to Flamingo Land and our children wanted to have a day out there. Upon enquiring about pitch availability at short notice, the owner replied very quickly, letting us know that there was space for us. The campsite was very easy to find. On arrival, we saw our name written on a white board telling us to choose any pitch (they were quiet due to the recent bad weather).

We only really saw the owner twice but she seemed to be very friendly and not at all 'in your face'. We felt comfortable to get on and do what we needed to do.

The grounds were well kept and fenced around so I could let my children roam around a little without having to keep an eye on them at all times.

Facilities were spotless. You have to pay 50p to use the shower but I felt this was long enough for myself and my toddler to get washed.

The playground was good for children aged up to perhaps 8, my younger children really enjoyed it.

A but hit with all of them were the guinea pigs and the rabbits. In fact, my eldest was in tears as we left because he was going to miss the rabbits so much!

The road noise is quite apparent but not offensive, although it did wake me up a few times, along with a helicopter and (I think) a sheep in the early hours!

Unfortunately, we only stayed one night as the weather took a turn for the worse, which was a shame.

All in all, an excellent beginning to our camping career. We would definitely go back.

Previous     90 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Malton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5941 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019