Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wyse House Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Malton > Wyse House Campsite Reviews

Wyse House Campsite
Wise House Lane
Old Malton
Malton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO17 6RE
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 28
Open: 1/03 Until 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 97 Reviews
                9/10 from 97 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (22)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  97 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cornbeef 2 reviews from this member

 I have never left a review before but having just returned I thought it was the least I could do. The owner / cleaner / manager / gardener / entertainment, you get the idea, just never stops, even mowing the grass with the baby strapped to her back. The grass is very well looked after and all the facilities are spotless. The pitches are well spaced so even if its full there is still ample room.

The nearest pub is about a 30 minute walk along the river bank. Take your wellies if its been raining as the grass along the Derwent is high. Malton centre is about 40 mins walk on the same route.

There are fences and gates surrounding the site and very child safe. There is a sunken trampoline in the grounds which would be virtually impossible to hurt yourself on. Campfires are fine but take something to keep it off the grass. BBQ does the job. I could go on but I fear I'm not going to get a booking without a months notice next year as it is. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ricknjose 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned home from a short stay at this campsite. It was quite full when we arrived at Saturday lunchtime but the site was very peaceful. From Sunday to our departing the following Wednesday we were one of only two units on the site. Wonderful for us but we couldn't understand why it wasn't more full.

A very well kept site on a working farm where the owners give you no hassle and we would definitely return if in the area again. The facilities are kept spotless and the grass cut short. Several hardstandings available at no extra charge and the small play area for kids appeared very popular. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tarabain 1 review from this member

 Went for a long weekend, site location very good, very close to Eden camp so accessible for those who are travelling by bus, campsite very clean and tidy, grass

Cut and site well maintained, four of us went and found everything to a high standard, toilets and showers clean, river close by for fishing (very big fish!)

On other reviews talk of noise from the A64 but really this is very very minimal, overall 10/10 and will be returning! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Auntie Doris 7 reviews from this member

 Have just spent a fantastic week at Wyse House along with friends. Between us we had several tents and a large gazebo.

Wyse House is a fantastic site. The facilities are spotless, and although there is just one shower for men and one shower for women we rarely had to wait to use them. There is also a handy little kitchen bit in the middle and we found it was very useful to have access to an electric kettle as when we arrived it was blowing a gale and we didn't want to set our cooker up!

The kids had plenty to do; the trampoline was a favourite, as were the guinea pigs, the piglets and there was plenty of space for them to run about. There were also several big wooden benches around, and we also managed to acquire a chiminea which we used during our stay!

The owner Ruth couldn't have been more helpful. One of the people in our group as a child with special needs and require a feeding pump. Ruth was really helpful in allowing this to be charged in the house and it made a big difference to this family being able to come camping.

From the site we went to Eden Camp (about a 10 minute walk), Yorkshire Air Museum and Castle Howard. Brilliant location.

The only downside is that you can hear the road noise, especially in the evening, but you kind of get used to it. Love the site and would definitely go back again. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Daunted1 2 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site a number of times and have always found it to be immaculate. This year the owners have made a number of changes to the site, added more hardstandings and a hardcore road. There is still plenty of room to play, there is a trampoline and playhouse for children.

There is a female bathroom (one toilet cubicle and one shower cubicle with a toilet) and the same for men. The washing up area has been upgraded this year with the addition of hot water, previously there was a kettle for boiling water to wash up.

The village of Malton is very close and can be reached on foot via a riverside walk (passing a couple of pubs on the way)! Eden Camp is also within walking distance. The noise from the road has never been too much of a problem for us. All in all this is a lovely site, ideal for families. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scb2 10 reviews from this member

 There were a few of us with a mixture of tents and caravans and children aged 20 mnts to 8years.

Lovely site and as mentioned in other reviews you can hear a slight road noise but not enough to affect sleep (I'm a poor sleeper and didn't bother me). Had a wooden play house and trampoline set into the ground. We didn't know we had our 8 and 5 year olds whilst on site.

There was also a tree swing just on the land out of the campsite that was also great.

Sometimes had to wait as only 1 shower in each of the mens and ladies but wasn't a problem as a small site (50p a shower)

Would definitely return as felt a safe site to give the children that extra bit of freedom they don't get at home and was reasonably priced.

Wasn't a shop on site as mentioned on the website and on here but they did have a fridge, kettle and microwave in the kitchen area. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Traceyinrosso 1 review from this member

 It was busy when we were there but I had only to wait briefly for the shower once (50p) and the toilet block/ washing up sink were always clean. The big plus for our 5 year old was the trampoline which was sunk safely into the ground and the play house and guinea pigs all added to her enjoyment - so much so she cried tonight when we got home because she wanted to go back !

The only problem we had was no reflection on the site but our pitch was right next to the trampoline which meant we had children outside the tent up to 10PM sometimes on the trampoline in their PJs ! Not easy persuading our little one that it was bed time when she can hear the others but she gained more pleasure from it than the small inconvenience we had. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bmacky 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 4 nights with husband and 4 children aged 14,12,8,4. The facilities were always spotless and the showers were great - they did cost 50p though. There are 2 large family bathrooms with toilet, shower and wash basin.There is also a place for changing nappies etc.

The ground was quite level and we were given a choice of where to pitch. Even though it was August it did not feel crowded at all and most nights it was quiet by 10pm. For the kids there was a playhouse and a trampoline that was level with the ground so no chance of falling! Also there was a good old fashioned swing hanging from a huge oak tree.

There is a bus stop about 1 mile away which can take you into York and the Eden camp is also about 1 mile away.

We would return here again but the only thing that puts us off is that the road noise (A64) which can be quite loud if the wind is blowing in the wrong direction! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mamoosh 1 review from this member

 Just spent a lovely two night stay here. The facilities, (showers etc), were wonderful and kept very clean and tidy by Ruth the owner. It was very handy having a fridge and washing up area too.

The site was level and the grass was short. The site is small and everyone was very friendly. It was quiet at night time. We were in the area to visit Dalby forest which is only a short drive away.

The only minor fault was the hum of traffic from the nearby a64 however the wonderful shower blocks and pretty site made up for this.

The trampoline and swing were much used and enjoyed by all!

We would definitely return to this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheThrashers 7 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful site. Ruth has one of the best sites I have visited, just north of Malton in Yorksire it is ideal for both short and long breaks being close to Flamingo land (for the kids), Eden camp,York and the North York moors and much more. Ruth greats you and shows you to the site and gives you all the information you need.

The site has a log cabin with washing up facilities and lots of information leaflets as well as two family size shower rooms (shower 50p good for two people)the rooms are large with baby changing facilities, a chair, shower, sink and wc. Ruth keeps the site well mowed and the wash rooms very clean, she also sells some wonderful fresh eggs from her chickens.

There seems to be two fields one with EHU and one without, there is a nice walk from the site down to the river Derwent and if you fancy it you can walk into Old Malton, half way down to the river is a swing for the kids (a good place for seeing bats at night)under a big Oak tree. The site also has a large play house the kids can play in. The site is one we will visit again. 


Previous     97 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wyse House Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wyse House Campsite?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Wyse House Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Malton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3506 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement