Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Wyse House Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Malton > Wyse House Campsite Reviews

Wyse House Campsite
Wise House Lane
Old Malton
Malton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO17 6RE
Tel: 07949794648
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 28
Open: 1/03 Until 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 93 Reviews
                9/10 from 93 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  93 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smithy18 1 review from this member

Now we've visited many sites up and down the country and never felt the urge to leave a review for any site, but having spent the week at Wyse House I have nothing but praise for Ruth and family for providing such fantastic facilities. The toilet & wash room area is a remarkably clean and tidy chalet stlye block with 2 family sized shower rooms (with baby changing units, the site itself is lovely and scenic with views across the yorkshire wolds and a lovely walk down to the river derwent which leads you into the local village/town of Malton.

The site is well thought out and well catered for all types of campers/caravaners, there's plenty for kids to do with a great play house,a trampoline (Which has been sunk into the ground, and plenty of animals for the kids to look at.

It is a great base to visit many attractions nearby with flamingoland and Pickering's Steam Railway less than a 15 minute drive away.

All in all it is a brilliant place to go and unwind and relax.

One note for Ruth please don't let it change.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mercer_20 1 review from this member

This is an excellent Family site, so friendly, being a first timer this was the perfect place to try camping, thanks to ruth who picked up up from malton station and dropped us off. The bathrooms were large and very clean and the farm so picturesque. This is definitely a must if you have children as they have a trampoline in the ground a children's play house and lots of animals

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Betto10 1 review from this member

Whilst we use this website a lot to find sites, we rarely leave reviews (how bad are we). But this is the exception to the rule. We have stayed on lots of camp sites across the country and non are in the same league as this one. Really relaxed, great facilities and the perfect base for a family holiday.

We had lots of space, kids could play happily and the price is extremely good. A top site highly recommended!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Online_Dad 23 reviews from this member

We and our 3 dogs visited Wyse House for the first time for a week in July.

Ruth, and her son Tom couldn't have been more helpful. The site, toilet and showers, and surroundings are kept spotlessly clean and tidy, other campers on site were friendly and always happy to stop for a natter. Ruth works hard to make this site a happy and relaxed camping experience.

We didnt have any problem with the spotles toilets/showers being busy. We were greeted with warmth and friendly smile by Ruth who showed us to a choice of pitches which were of gigantic proportions.

We enjoyed going to several local places of interest especialy Eden Camp just a short walk away.

It was interesting to watch a Barn Owl hunting in the field behind the site, Which Ruth pointed out to us.

Would we go back? YES this site is 5 star in my estimation.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 182 reviews from this member

Superb wee site with pretty views of the Wolds. Quiet (apart from the distant hum of the main road), with lovely facilities and beautifully maintained. The two bathrooms in the timber chalet are just like home, and the central kitchen had a table (that would allow folk in a tent to eat out of the rain) and a fridge to freeze chill bags; the electric sockets would allow you to recharge phone and camera batteries, or use your own hair dryer.
Little library to borrow from or add to - a nice touch. You do have to boil the kitchen kettle for hot water, and the shower is 50p but this gives ample for two people. Fantastic dog walk down the side of the field to the river - our spaniel was very happy here. We had one night and were sorry to leave.
We were in the area specifically to visit Scampston Walled Garden, a short distance to the east and a mecca for anyone interested in plants or contemporary garden design (by Piet Oudolf). The Hall is well worth a visit too. Castle Howard in the opposite direction is also superb. Entry to both Houses (and many more in the area) is free to Friends of the Historic Houses Association. Pickering has the steam train to Whitby (but not every day - and quite pricey).

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Newby18 1 review from this member

Just visited this site for the first time and it definitely will not be our last. We had a lovely 3 night stay over the bank holiday weekend and could not fault it at all. I would even go to say, this is the best site we have come across since we've been caravanning.

The facilities on site are new and very well maintained. Although they were very busy at times, its easy to see why people took their time in the lovely new showers.

The family who run this business go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. The site is a credit to them. Their younger son who runs the farm shop is a budding entrepreneur and we can thoroughly recommend his free range eggs.

Be sure to check out the family pets whilst you're there. Little Marnie is sporting a rather stylish hair cut!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Laalann 2 reviews from this member

Well,  For the second time, I have just visited this site along with my friend on our annual holiday, 2 weeks and I think we have had the best 2 weeks of the year as far as the weather was concerned. 
Once again Ruth, Phil and their son Tom couldn't have been more helpful.  The site, toilet and showers, and surroundings are kept spotlessly clean and tidy, all the other campers on site have a lot of respect for the owners, who have worked extremely hard to make this site just what it is today.  
I have no problem with a few hens walking around, at least you are guaranteed fresh eggs every day from them.  We were very fortunate to be in the area this year and have the opportunity of going to several local country shows and a steam gathering.  
We also travelled to Pickering only 7 miles away and went out for the day on the steam railway to Grosmont  and walked into Goathland.Heartbeat . Country and spent ages in the Aidensfield stores and visited Aidensfield pub too.  A great day out.   Well done to The Pool family,  We will be back next year

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dobsondanby 1 review from this member

This is a lovely site.
We have just come back from a long weekend break; meeting with some friends.
Toilet facilities are superb, if somewhat limited - not too sure what will happen when the site becomes more popular.
(Very) fresh eggs in the morning from the farms own hens,  Our boys (7 & 9) had a great time.
The owner has definitely thought about what is wanted in a camp site and has gone out of the way to do it at hers. 
There is plenty to do either withing the North York Moors area (railway, Whitby, biking - check out Dalby forest), or in York.
And for the Acid Test; would you go back - yes.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: YVIE 1 review from this member

We arrived at Wyse House after 8pm on a Bank Holiday Friday and had a very pleasant surprise indeed. The site was lovely, closely mown grass, lots of room to pitch, quite sheltered and nice and peaceful even though it was almost full. I think Mrs Pool has put a lot of thought into making camping here as homely and comfortable as possible. The toilet and shower facility was home from home in a nice new log cabin style building. There is a walk along the river and this takes you into Old Malton, just a short walk away. Loads to do in the area, very well positioned for the North York Moors and Coast. We will definitely be back! 

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scotsmaninleeds 3 reviews from this member

We have been to Wyse House several times throughout 2006. Recently my wife 'chilled out' for 2 weeks there. Quite contrary to the opinion expressed in another review*, Wyse House is a nice little get away site in an ideal location for exploring Yorkshire.
The owners have went out of their way to ensure that the boxes, which 'vanners and tenters need, are ticked.
Toilet facilities are clean and homely. Children are suitably provided for, especially the younger ones. Loads of room to go for a walk by the river. Has been known to get a wee bit busy at Bank Hols which is usually when the 'other reviewer' types usually turn up and potentially spoil it for others. Head off to Wyse House Farm this weekend for an enjoyable break.

Previous     93 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Malton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1620 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019