Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Wyse House Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Malton > Wyse House Campsite Reviews

Wyse House Campsite
Wise House Lane
Old Malton
Malton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO17 6RE
Tel: 07949794648
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 28
Open: 1/03 Until 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 91 Reviews
                9/10 from 91 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  91 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Misspopsicle 1 review from this member

We chose Wyse House Campsite as the location for our first ever camping trip mainly because it was very close to Flamingo Land and our children wanted to have a day out there. Upon enquiring about pitch availability at short notice, the owner replied very quickly, letting us know that there was space for us. The campsite was very easy to find. On arrival, we saw our name written on a white board telling us to choose any pitch (they were quiet due to the recent bad weather).

We only really saw the owner twice but she seemed to be very friendly and not at all 'in your face'. We felt comfortable to get on and do what we needed to do.

The grounds were well kept and fenced around so I could let my children roam around a little without having to keep an eye on them at all times.

Facilities were spotless. You have to pay 50p to use the shower but I felt this was long enough for myself and my toddler to get washed.

The playground was good for children aged up to perhaps 8, my younger children really enjoyed it.

A but hit with all of them were the guinea pigs and the rabbits. In fact, my eldest was in tears as we left because he was going to miss the rabbits so much!

The road noise is quite apparent but not offensive, although it did wake me up a few times, along with a helicopter and (I think) a sheep in the early hours!

Unfortunately, we only stayed one night as the weather took a turn for the worse, which was a shame.

All in all, an excellent beginning to our camping career. We would definitely go back.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PMBJW 7 reviews from this member

Just had a fantastic long weekend here over the extra bank holiday during which time the site was about 90% full but always immaculately clean. Showers and toilet facilities were lovely with a keen eye for detail like lower sinks for children, steps for the loo or sink baby change etc. Pot washing was also clean we didn't use it but many guests did but again with both facilities very rarely a queue.

We asked for a quiet pitch to meet my sons additional needs and could not have asked for a better pitch but must add all the ptches were well kept and very spacious. The site is well maintained with grass areas for chilling and picnic benches for those in tents.

The park and animals were not visited by our son (his choice)but were enjoyed by many of the other chidren on site. This site is safe with fences and gates all round allowing parents to chill and be watchful instead of running round after the kids all day.

When you first arrive look to the right hand side of the big white gate and the board has your name and pitch number on with a map so all very easy and the stepping stones lead to the facilities.

The river is a lovely 10 minute stroll down the edge of the farmers fields but again the eye for detail is shown as the farmer has cut a wide path down the edge to make walking easier I would imagine a pram or wheel chair would be able to get down the path to the river be it a little bumpy.

We took our dog who loved the walk down and along the river the owners had poo bags and a bin at entrance of field so no excuse for not cleaning up after your dog. Our son loved the Tarzan swing and could wander by himself to go and play. Fishermen be warned it can seem a long way to river with full tackle box so take the basics.

The surrounding area is lovely and this site is ideal if you want a quiet tranquil setting. We ventured to Whitby for crabbing 45 mins and Bridlington to sea fish of the pier 50 mins and Scarborough is 1/2 an hour away.

I cannot praise this site enough we will be going back next year if I was to give 10 out of 10 it would not do the site justice many thanks to the owners who are both friendly but unobtrusive so all in all make their site what it is perfect!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scb2 10 reviews from this member

Just returned today from our 3rd stay at this fantastic site. (2010, 2011 and 2012)

As usual the site is really peaceful and very well kept and the facilities are spotless.

The owners are very friendly and the site had rabbits and guinea pigs for the children to look at as well as a small play area.

There is a rope swing just outside the site in their land which the children loved.

There is also a lovely walk along the river into Malton with a lovely pub called the went worth arms which has excellent home cooked food.

The local pizza shop also delivers to the site. Morrisons is only 5 mins away in Malton as well as lots of other shops.

There is only one shower in both the men's and ladies but as its a small site you never have to wait long, showers are 50p which gives you ample time and worth it for lovely warm water.

Will definitely visit again when we visit that particular area xx

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ice Queen 5 reviews from this member

What a lovely site. We arrived at approx 4pm on a lovely sunny Friday afternoon. Its location is down a single track road, but this is just off the A64 and very easy to get to.

The site was empty, so had the pick of the pitches as the board by the entry gate detailing your name and pitch number had everyone down for 'any pitch' that weekend. Chose a pitch next to the barn, which proved useful as the wind got up a bit, but the barn sheltered us nicely for barbecuing. There are some strange animal noises that come from the barn at night, but you expect animal noises on a farm.

The first night there was only ourselves and 1 other caravan and tent, the second night some more tents arrived, mainly family groups, but still all very peaceful.

The kids play area is excellent, not taking children ourselves, but for families with little ones, was great.

The walk down to the river was a good dog walk for those early morning and last thing at night 'walkies', with the owners providing bags and a bin by the gate.

We walked into Malton along the river on Saturday, took about 40-50mins. We had to negotiate the field of sheep and a fence under the A64, but once past these, there is well worn path which brings you out in Old Malton, then its a straight road down to Malton town centre. There are some lovely pubs and eateries, with James Martin having a restaurant in The Talbot Hotel.

Was disappointed that no eggs left on the Sunday morning to take home, but that's our own fault for not getting them when available.

The shower could have lasted a little longer, had to put in 2 50p's to wash my hair, which is long, but my husband had no issues (no his hair isn't long).

Had to go in search of the owner to settle our bill, they seem very laid back and definitely not your in face proprietors.

I would say be careful walking along the road at 5pm on Friday night when workers from the farm and also the one further down the road go home, they don't seem to like to slow down.

Overall, the site, its location and cleanliness are excellent. It is very well kept, with hardstandings for caravans or cars if you're in a tent and want to park a car on them.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Denver8 1 review from this member

Just returned home having spent two nights on this lovely site. Situated, about one mile outside malton. The owners, are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. A well kept friendly site, with spotlessly clean toilet facilities. There is a small children's play area, numerous hens, where you are able to purchase fresh, eggs, and home made sausages. All in all a lovely site, and will definitely be returning. Many thanks to the three chaps who helped us out, on our first night. Local pub about half a mile away. Serving lovely home cooked food. This can be reached by main road or by walking down by the river. In malton there is a morrisons super market for any shopping needs. There are numerous pubs in the town itself, where you are able purchase bar meals if you wish. There is a variation of takeaways where the local pizza shop will deliver to the site. For a good day out edam camp is just opposite the site and well worth a visit. Also nearby is flamingo land, avery popular theme park. Also handy for pickering, market town. Avery enjoyable two nights camping.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Laura 32 1 review from this member

We had a lovely weeks holiday at Wyse House in August. It was a lovely, well thought out and excellently maintained site. The children were initially disappointed there were no trampolines as we had read online but instead they were very satisfied with the playground facilities. They also loved the rope swing down by the river a short walk away. There were other children to make friends with but the site was always quiet by 9pm. The children are safe to run around as the fenced boundaries are very well maintained.

The fresh eggs and sausages from the farms chickens and pigs were a real bonus. We were very impressed with the toilet, shower and small kitchen facilities. We never had to wait long. Although the shower cost 20p it was clean, hot and gave ample time.

Flamingo land was very close by. We also enjoyed York and had a great day at Dalton forest.

We were never bothered by the road noise only occasionally by low flying aircraft.

We'd would highly recommend this site and would return. Very family friendly.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Catty500 7 reviews from this member

Had a lovely nights stay here. It's very clean with lovely spaced pitches.

My son loved visiting the chickens and checking if some more eggs had appeared in the cupboard (you can buy them - I don't think they were laying very much when we were there), and the piglets which the owner said we could visit in the main farm area.

There's a nice little playground and a walk through some fields to visit some horses and access to the river. The washrooms and kitchen area were nice and clean, and everyone seemed very friendly. It was mainly families with young children but all seemed well-behaved and to be enjoying their weekend away. Nice, friendly atmosphere. It's very handy for the Eden Camp, Flamingo Land and Castle Howard but we went a bit further to Filey for the day.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Justy 13 reviews from this member

We have just arrived back from a week at this site and can only agree with other reviewers - it is fab! The site is very small but very well laid out and our pitch was huge. There are 2 areas to the site. The main part with electric and then the 'paddock'. It is immaculate and the pitches are all completely flat which makes a nice change.

As other reviewers have mentioned there are only 2 showers - 1 mens and 1 ladies. This was never a problem despite the site being quite busy. I personally found that 50p was not enough time so ended up spending a pound on each shower. The showers are lovely and hot though and I am so pleased they are not the hideous push button type. More of an issue is that there is only one pot wash sink which did mean we had to queue at times.

I am really really intolerant of noise and was quite dismayed when we first arrived at the noise from the main A64. It is pretty intrusive and is almost constant - the only time it seemed to go quiet was between 2am and 4am. However I had my trusty earplugs and was not really bothered by it. The other campers were all extremely considerate and there was no noise past 9. 30 on any night we were there.

The site is well situated to visit either York or the coast (the A64 can be very busy though) and the Eden Camp and Flamingoland are literally down the road.

This is a great site and I am sure we will be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Foxyloxy 5 reviews from this member

This is the second time we have stayed here and it most certainly won't be the last.

There has been some improvements to the park over the last year such as a playground for the kids and a new entrance and more fencing making the park completely secure.

It is a small family run friendly park great for families with young children as it is very safe for them to wander about looking at the chickens and guinea pigs.

You can buy fresh eggs and sausages made from their own pigs. Delicious! I recommend the cranberry chutney sausages.

If I was to be picky the only downside is that there aren't enough showers and the mens shower only has a curtain so if the door gets left open to the toilets it could be a bit embarrassing, however that is only a minor problem have never really had to wait for a shower even when full. Will definitely return.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hellsbells100 1 review from this member

We found this site to be immaculate in all areas.

Very well kept pitches with lovely lawns, great size pitch for our large tent.

Fab play area for the kids and brilliant views across the countryside from the site.

Great dog walk down the fields to the river.

They have a chalet style toilet block with a campers kitchen including a fridge, microwave, washing up facility, spare essentials such as tea bags, sugar etc, a mens toilet and shower area and a ladies one with a bigger shower (great for getting the kids in with you).

The owners couldn't have been more helpful, they even loaned us a duvet for our stay as it was very cold for July.

Previous     91 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Malton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5429 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019