Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wells Touring Park ( Adults Only )

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Wells > Wells Touring Park ( Adults Only ) Reviews

Wells Touring Park ( Adults Only )
Wells Cheddar Road (a371)
Haybridge
Wells
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA5 1AJ
Tel: 01749 676869
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60 Hard-standings / 20 Grass
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 108 Reviews
                9/10 from 108 Reviews

Photos (19)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  108 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Adw1 7 reviews from this member

 Booked this site at the last minute for one night. Very friendly and helpful welcome, including site map, Wells map, taxi number, directions on how to walk into Wells avoiding the main road etc.

The site was extremely clean and well run. Our pitch was large, but some looked on the small side.

The shower/toilet block was large, modern and exceptionally clean. The shower cubicles were larger than average and there was plenty of space to keep clothes dry. The washing up facilities were equally pristine.

The walk in to Wells took about 30 mins along the old railway track and about 20 mins back along the main road.

Site is well placed for Wells, Wookey, Cheddar etc. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stevebiggs 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a long weekend from Wells Holiday Park, excellent weather, excellent site, excellent staff, in fact I couldn't find fault at all.

Toilet block only used for chemical waste, but even this was kept clean.

The site was quiet all day and night with no kids making a noise. Each pitch was very roomy and gravel hard standing with plenty of power stands.

Excess into the site was via security card and gate.

Wells was very close whether you walked or drove.

Would certainly stay again. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jabberwocky 3 reviews from this member

 What a gem of a site this is. A clean well maintained site and in great location. On our arrival at the site we were made to feel really welcome and received good information about the site and places to visit. It is within walking distance of Wells city centre which is well worth a visit and short drives to many places to visit such as cheddar gorge and Glastonbury. Would recommend this site to those looking for a relaxing quite site and will in the future re-visit this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Yvonne B 17 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a brilliant week at this site, even though the weather was a bit hit & miss.

We were very impressed with the site. It is very clean, tidy & well maintained. Everyone we met was friendly, helpful & nothing was too much trouble.

Even though it is close to a main road it is very peaceful.

The shower block is lovely. Only negative is the pesky timed showers. Who ever came up with this idea wants to try having a shower with one.

There is a good dog walk just outside the site. Mr Pip loved it, he found some golf balls & rabbits to play with.

There is a bus stop right out side the gates. The walk into Wells is about 10-15 minutes.

We highly recommend this site & intend returning soon. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jazz1 7 reviews from this member

 This is a very clean. Site showers and toilets are big and kept clean regularly. The site owners are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The pitches are a really good size. The walk into the city of wells is about 30mins walk the cathedral & gardens are lovely & the Saturday market is very very good. Wookey hole is about 20min walk. The village pub is very good, local food and ciders and real ales and the caves are brilliant 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ms.trishy 4 reviews from this member

 Truly excellent site with spotless facilities.

The showers were free and hot with plenty of space to keep your clothes dry. Possibly because a lot of the pitches were taken by caravans, we found we never had to wait for a shower.

Good sized pitches, either grass with nearby parking, and gravel or hardstanding with spaces for cars beside them. All had access to electric hook up.

An easy 20 minute walk into Wells along pavements with a good choice of places to go, and only about £5 for a taxi back if you were too tired for the return.

We opted to have a takeaway meal delivered from Wells one night. Lovely fish and chips direct to our tent, couldn't ask for more.

Also found a lovely walk on footpaths to Wookey, a 30 minute stroll with a choice of 3 pubs all serving food.

Overall, a great site run by a lovely, friendly family. Definitely one to recommend. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Piffy57 37 reviews from this member

 Just returned home and there are some great things to mention about the site but there are also some inconsistencies and disappointments too.

The pitches are a bit small but the whole place is well maintained and credit is due. The washrooms are modern and again well looked after.

We arrived on time but were delayed getting our pitch as the people departing were late. Err sorry but we always adhere to times given to us and it’s the first time this has happened.

The manager was a pleasant bloke but I think he did the ‘rounds’ once in the time we were there.

Dog walking is a problem. We have an elderly dog and there is nowhere on site to exercise him so you have to take the dog offsite (which is quite a walk). Once offsite its houses either way on a main road.

The top line of page one says over 18’s only yet the day before we left a caravan arrived with a family with two very small children with them. How does that happen?

The speed bumps on site are in a word brutal. I can never understand the need for them but these are awful. I bottomed the caravan when I was doing only 5mph and that’s the first time I have done that. It bent the brass plate that holds the jockey wheel in place and I needed to do some repairs whilst I was there. Walking down to reception I wasn’t the only one to ‘bottom out’ either as I witnessed 3 others in the time I was there.

The access on the road from Cheddar/Draycott is awful and leaving we went via Glastonbury/Street back to the M5. Its six miles further but its stress free.

The area is outstanding and a week wasn’t long enough. Would I go back? Yes. Would I go back to Wells Holiday Park? Maybe but would check out other sites before I booked 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Davismickey 4 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely gem of a site situated in a perfect location for visiting Cheddar Gorge and Glastonbury. The site has a barrier gate and you pay a small deposit upon arrival for a barrier card which is refunded at the end of your stay on return of the card and you car registration is taken. This security is the best I have come accross as during our stay our son decided late on to come and spend a few days with us and with it being late we let him in with our barrier card, intending to get him registered when the reception opened the next morning but within 10 minutes the site owner came to our pitch as unknowingly it had triggered an alarm as it sensed that an unknown vehicle had entered the park. The pitches are off a good size with plenty of room and are all a short walk from the toilet block. The heated shower and toilet block was always spotless and have an electric socket at a charge of 20p for using your hairdrier/straightners and the outside pot washing area is undercover. With this being adults only it is a lovely little quiet site although the road noise can be a little annoying as it is something we are not used to, although this would not put me off coming back. The town of Wells is close by (about a 15 minute walk) with plenty of shops and pubs and lovely to visit in an evening. If we ever decide to return to this part of the country I would book this site in a heartbeat as we had a wonderfull stay. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hillbillies1 3 reviews from this member

 This is a very well maintained site with all pitches being of a high standard and well positioned. The facilities block is immaculate and there is a shop in the reception.

The walk to Wells takes about 20 minutes, the city offers some lovely shops, pubs and the beautiful cathedral and Bishops Palace. Do pay a visit to The Globe Inn in Priest Row, we and our two dogs were made very welcome and they serve well kept real ales and superb food. The pub has been tastefully redecorated to maintain it's olde world history along with modern comforts.

Our only constructive criticism about the site is that having been charged £2 per day for each of our dogs and appropriately reminded to clean up any mess, we were very surprised to find that there were no dog waste bins on site. There is no dog walk on site but there is a field next to the site where you can exercise them. There is also a lovely walk in Ebbor Gorge, which is just beyond Wookey Hole, about 10 minutes drive from the site.

Overall, a very peaceful stay in a lovely area on a site that we would recommend and visit again. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Buggy04 7 reviews from this member

 This is a fabulous adults only and dog friendly site, an easy 15 mins walk into Wells and 1. 5 miles from Wookey Hole which is a leisurely walk up a lovely country road. Wells, is a beautiful compact city with lots of 'eateries' and places to explore nearby. On Saturday and Wednesdays, there is a Farmer's Market and this is one of the best markets we have been to, with loads of local produce on sale and very little 'tat. '

This is a very well maintained site with an immaculate toilet block, which was so clean! It has underfloor heating and large hot showers with disabled access and would be very cosy in the winter. There is a laundry room and outside undercover sinks for washing up, with loads of hot water. The site would seem to be quite busy over a weekend so booking is essential. However, we only booked on the Friday morning, we arrived on a Friday afternoon around 5. 00pm and the site filled quickly. Local takeaways deliver to the site and menus are available at Reception. We spotted the delivery vans coming to the site a few times. There are lots of restaurants and pubs in Wells.

There is slight road noise during the day, but this is balanced by the beautiful views of The Mendips which surrounds the site, we did not find the noise intrusive. It was very peaceful during the night.

This site is perfect for motorhomes as there is a choice of hardstanding, grass or gravel. Some of the pitches were on a slight slope but most were flat, we used our chocks for levelling. There are some holiday lodges on the site but they are in the next field and again, beautifully laid out and landscaped. There are also holiday cottages on the site, perhaps perfect for friends. The tented area is fine mowed grass with parking for cars in a small area adjacent, to avoid driving on the grass.

This is great base from which to explore this lovely area, we will be back as the site is open all year. For larger units and caravans consult a map, the directions to the site on the website do work but we found the windy narrow road from the motorway managable but a bit stressful! 


Previous     108 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wells Touring Park ( Adults Only ) child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wells Touring Park ( Adults Only )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wells Touring Park ( Adults Only ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wells      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4750 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement