Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wells Touring Park ( Adults Only )

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Wells > Wells Touring Park ( Adults Only ) Reviews

Wells Touring Park ( Adults Only )
Wells Cheddar Road (a371)
Haybridge
Wells
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA5 1AJ
Tel: 01749 676869
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60 Hard-standings / 20 Grass
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 108 Reviews
                9/10 from 108 Reviews

Photos (19)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  108 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: IanMac48 2 reviews from this member

 Have just returned home from Somerset having spent 8 nights on this site (our 1st stay there) and after 30 years of camping this site is now firmly in our top 5! Very friendly and helpful staff, generous pitches, immaculate amenities block(the most spacious showers ever!) and very pleasant landscaping. 20 minutes walk into Wells City (lovely place)which has all you need(including a magnificent Cathedral). Attractions within 1/2 hour drive include Cheddar Gorge, Wookey Hole, and Weston-Super-Mare. The only minus points(not for us)are 1)Adults only, 2)No Clubhouse, 3)on site shop not much good and 4)The road can be a little noisy in the evenings. All in all a super site and very reasonable prices too! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JVRUDALL 5 reviews from this member

 A beautifully clean campsite with excellent facility block. I thought that, as it was so close to the A371 that there would be excessive traffic noise, but it was barely audible, and very quiet at night. Lovely views of the Mendip Hills, excellent for walking. Also close to Wells City and a swimming pool only a couple of minutes walk away. Sadly there is no on-site dog walk, which meant a bit of a hike for the early morning dog walk, but otherwise, a lovely site. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DandB 15 reviews from this member

 We really enjoyed our week here. Location is good for many attractions in this area.

The site is beautifully maintained, grass cuttings collected - so they don't end up in your tent. Sloping field, but not enough to cause a problem for tents.

The new shower block is superb - clean, plenty of hot water, etc. Nice touches like bowls and draining racks at the washing up area.

Site shop has all the basics, owners friendly and helpful.

Would highly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: TotnesTravellers 24 reviews from this member

 Heading back to the Westcountry after a holiday we wanted to extend the break and stopped off for a couple of nights here. Great welcome and a very well kept site.

It slopes fairly gently allowing better visibility but pitches are hard/level. The facilities block near the top is obviously fairly new and of a very good standard.

We walked into Wells a couple of time in about 15 mins - it is a main road but with a good pavement and there are plenty of pubs/places to eat there. Wells is also a lovely place with the cathedral and Bishop's palace being well worth a look.

We were lucky and bumped into a good market with plenty of local food stalls (Wednesday). It is a site we will definitely return to out of season. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Northender0602 4 reviews from this member

 I am writing this review while still at this park, this is the start of our second week here. The site is excellent, toilets and showers spotless, grass kept neat,

twenty minute walk into Wells, (plenty of pubs to keep you going) Wookey 1 mile with a pub and Wookey hole 1 mile with pub and club.

Glastonbury 5 miles- ish Cheddar 8ish walkable if you are active, but not down the roads, they are A roads.

Bath, about 18 miles handy for the races and the Rising Sun pub there does a wicked meal!

Beautiful countryside, and such friendly owners, and such friendly locals too! Perfect. You will not find better, and a good price as well! Adults only (this is our first time and it wont be the last using adults only)

Try this site, you will not be disappointed.

Every credit and success to the owners! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aliwade 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights, as a break from the journey from Plymouth home to Pembrokeshire, and also to try out our new caravan on a site with hook up.

The good reviews on here and their excellent website influenced our booking.

The roads from the M5 are narrow/twisty in places, but my husband is very experienced at towing (and we are used to country roads). Take your time and look out for potholes.

Very friendly owners and staff on the park. Absolutely spotless everywhere (even the torrential rain on the second morning, which caused some short-term flooding on the grass pitches, didn't cause much trouble - they soon had extra drainage dug and the water cleared).

Most of the pitches are hardstanding - including larger ones for big motorhomes - but there are a few grass pitches and tents are allowed. Very good electric hook up. Plenty of water/waste disposal points. New amenity block, with chemical waste points, undercover washing up area (used by many of the other campers - most of which have caravans/motorhomes sited there), launderette and fantastic shower/toilet areas.

The showers (push button type) were hot and good pressure. Lovely views of surrounding countryside. Slight road noise - but nothing to really disturb you. A quiet site that was mainly used for sited vans, so I imagine it would be busier on weekends/bank holidays/better weather!

Very close to Wells (well worth more than one visit - excellent sightseeing - Cathedral is amazing - shops/restaurants) and Glastonbury/Cheddar. Bath and Bristol are also close, as is Weston if you want some seaside.

An excellent base for exploring or just relaxing on a very well maintained and quiet site. A regular bus service leaves from outside the site, so you could leave the car by the van, also a footpath/cycle route on the old railway into Wells.

TV signal was good. The pitches are slightly sloping, so make sure you have levelling blocks. I noticed two full service pitches, but we weren't offered these so perhaps they were reserved? 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vivo 19 reviews from this member

 Directions:

The site is easy to find on the A371 road to Weston super Mare out of Wells; at Haybridge, on the left; Brown Tourist signs.

Site Description:

The pitches are gravel, well laid out, not too close but commercially spaced. Ours was not too level, more of a slope than our wedges could correct, however, the site is on a hill side and overlooks a wonderful hilly panorama.

Facilities:

The toilet block is superb, modern and spotless. We doubt you will ever find better.

Service:

Friendly, knowledgeable and helpful

Value:

The cost, we paid 44 pounds for 2 nights incl EHU is very good value.

Location:

There are lots of things to see in Wells and turn left out of site then right down the access road to Wookey Holes, then on the right is the disused rail track, now cycle route which will take you to the swimming pool and sport centre, half way to the city. After then you’ll need a map to get through the residential warren. Not many places to leave bikes in Wells but we found a place at the Bishops Eye Gate

Receptions:

Mobile phone signal is hit and miss.

Wi-Fi is available.

Our Opinion:

We would return. Highly Recommended. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lexie10 15 reviews from this member

 This is a very well maintained attractive site in lovely surroundings. It has good-sized, level hardstandings with EHU and water on hand.

The shower block was one of the best we've found - modern and scrupulously clean - with plenty of loos, basins and showers.

The staff were very welcoming and helpful providing lots of local information for visitors. There was also a small site shop if needed.

The site is within walking distance of Wells where there are plenty of pubs, eating places and tourist attractions.

The site's own website and the reviews of this site were very helpful and accurate. It is a very good place to stay and we would recommend it to anyone.

The only slight problem we encountered was that the road leading to the site is quite a bendy one for our 23' tourer, but we made it there OK! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chudders 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this adults only site for 3 nights and loved every minute.

The site is well laid out and pitches are nicely spaced. We had a hard standing which was secluded by bushes etc from the adjacent pitch.

The toilet block seems fairly new and was spotlessly clean.

We have a 28foot TAG axle motorhome and had no trouble negotiating the site and getting on to the pitch.

The site is not far from the city of Wells and walking in takes about 20 minutes at a gentle pace. There is a bus stop however outside of the site which will take you into Wells. In the other direction I think it goes to Cheddar and beyond but we did not go in that direction. We did visit Wookey hole which again is about a 20 minute walk.

All in all, a lovely adults only, quiet site with very friendly and helpful owners.

Would we stay again ?, of course we would and indeed have booked to stay again already.

One note of caution, we did go to the site via M5 having come from Cornwall, leaving at Junction 22 and went through Cheddar. Due to road works however the journey in the area was a bit difficult so we returned via Glastonbury, Street and Junction 23 on to the M5. Much better and would use that route again. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Collstoke 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a great 3 night stay at Wells Holiday Park.

We were met on arrival and Jason (the owner) showed us to our grass pitch, which was very level, as all the pitches seem to be. The tent pitches are all close to a single toilet, for those emergency early hours visits and about 1 minute walk from the excellent shower block. The men have 4 showers, with as many toilets and the women have the same (although I didn't check personally !). I've never seen such great facilities and all the other campers that I spoke to, said they were the best they have ever seen.

The showers are push button, each push lasting for 20 seconds, they are hot and free.

The small shop stocks essentials and there is a take away service available, with deliveries direct to your pitch.

The camp is about 20 minutes walk into Wells, where there are supposed to be 15 pubs (we found 6). The local bus runs past the camp, but Jason has a deal with a local taxi firm, who will take to Wells for £4. 50 each way per couple. We walked there and got a taxi back when it rained. It actually works out cheaper than the bus.

For caravans, all the pitches are hard standing.

This is an adults only site, which is great for those of us who have grown up kids.

I've been trying to think of how the camp could be better, but I simply cannot.

We will definitely be back. 


Previous     108 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wells Touring Park ( Adults Only ) child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wells Touring Park ( Adults Only )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wells Touring Park ( Adults Only ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wells      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


889 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement