Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Chestnut Meadow Camping & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Bexhill On Sea > Chestnut Meadow Camping & Caravan Park Reviews

Chestnut Meadow Camping & Caravan Park
High House Farm Field
Ninfield Road
Bexhill On Sea
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN39 5JG
Tel: 01825732617
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: April 10th To 30th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 169 Reviews
                9/10 from 169 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  169 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: XBLACKRATx 4 reviews from this member

 During these difficult times we stayed at chestnut meadows & once again we really enjoyed ourselves. We travelled to bexhill on sea seafront which was great fun.

The staff are very friendly & all the shower rooms & toilets were made covid 19 distancing correctly. The site was full with a lot of children having a good time which is nice to see.

The campsite has had an upgrade since we were here last time but it makes the entrance especially for caravans to have easier access the new reception & shop had most things people need.

We will be hoping to come here again in the no to distant future. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Grubworm11 3 reviews from this member

 Booked a weeks holiday at this campsite going by other reviews and website (found they also had a Facebook page later). However, upon arrival we discovered that the site had new owners who hadnít long taken over and the information about the owners is incorrect on their website.

The site was clean and spacious and the pitches are huge and flat. The grass however was very, very long and looked like it hadnít been cut for weeks. Only 5 other units on site when we arrived and for one of our nights there was only us and one other unit, so no problems with noise or queuing for the showers!

Shower and toilet block was clean, but the main bin in the ladies and gents were pretty full when we arrived and never got emptied and the ladies bin didnít have a lid. One of the hairdryers in the ladies didnít work and not sure if the water buckets for mopping out the showers was ever changed.

Toilets had blue cleaner put down them everyday until that was the Friday and Saturday when a few more units arrived (seemed strange that toilets didnít get any attention when more people arrived?). Whole area around the toilet block and chemical waste just needed a good sweep and clean up from the tree debris. New signage would also be good.

Wi-Fi was excellent on this site although that could be because not many were logged in. Very narrow lane entry to site, but actually didnít have problems and barrier entry onto site via a card (£10 deposit), which was good as the owners do not stay or have a warden on site overnight Ė did make me feel a little uneasy, however there was an intercom at reception that went straight through to owners if there was an emergency.

Shop wasnít very well stocked and not always open - probably because site was so quiet. We were told they didnít do gas anymore although you could get gas in the village just down the road.

Only ever saw a couple of different ladies at the reception, never saw any other members of staff. There was an excellent sized cafť and games room on site but these had closed the week before we arrived so canít say what they would have been like.

We would recommend this site however, it just feels like it needs a little TLC. We do feel that the price we paid was a little high for this time of year, maybe the owners need to do a few ďout of seasonĒ promotions on their Website or Facebook page or send emails to former visitors letting them know they are open all year round to get the site fuller.

Overall nice little site with huge potential. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NickHazle 1 review from this member

 We loved out stay at this great campsite. Lovely flat and spacious pitches with electricity meant setting up was nice and easy. You're not at all penned in even when we stayed during a very busy sunny weekend no neighbours were too close and all were respectful of their low noise policy.

The toilets and showers were lovely and clean. There were plenty of cubicles too which meant to queuing which was a pleasant surprise.

The on-site shop offers all the little bits you'll need - pegs that you've forgotten (or not as the case turned out to be!) Munch, milk and more.

The folk behind the scenes were very friendly and gave great advice where to eat locally and couldn't have been more helpful.

We will definitely be back and we are already looking forward to it! Tried for this August Bank Holiday but unsurprisingly they were fully booked already. Early birds next year :)

Thanks for a lovely stay. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: XBLACKRATx 4 reviews from this member

 Just spent a lovely weekend at this really nice site.

The staff are very friendly, the shop is well stocked up & they maintain a very tidy clean site.

We were very happy about the very spacious plot we had.

The wash area & shower blocks were also very tidy & clean.

Will definitely stay here again great site 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Phillynomates 5 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site just above the town of Bexhill. We stayed during the week when it was quiet and very peaceful. The pitches are huge so that we did not feel hemmed in.

There were great views of the surrounding countryside and you can just see the sea as the site is quite elevated. It was enjoyable to see Buzzards and other birds of prey hovering in the nearby fields throughout the day.

It is an attractive site with the best showers/toilets that we have seen, they are kept immaculate being cleaned several times during the day, not just once.

The owners are friendly and helpful and there is a well stocked shop.

We walked through to Highwoods which is managed by local volunteers, our dog loved exploring the many well marked trails and it is definitely worth a visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kingmonkey01 1 review from this member

 Having just spent a week at Chestnut Meadow I have to say it's a great little site. Pitches are huge so you're not pitching on top of each other, which is quite refreshing.

Facilities are excellent and kept clean and tidy and the staff are very friendly and helpful. All in all I would highly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Platinum5 6 reviews from this member

 We very easily recommend a stay at this site, a relaxed sit with very spacious pitches great facilities, especially family friendly with children well catered for lovely staff.

Best site in Bexhill definitely returning, thank you.

Pat and Kathy Nolan. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Catarinabod 55 reviews from this member

 I agree with Kyezer - if you are pitched on the inner field, you have no privacy - our pitch was used as a constant thoroughfare by adults and children. Maybe some shrub planting would help.

That was a definite negative for us, but the site is great for children as there is a large games room, shop, play area and field so they be independent around the site.

There is a footpath running down the side of the site which was very useful for the early morning dog walk. Unfortunately, the site is at least an hour's walk into Bexhill along roads - no footpath that we could find.

The weather was extremely windy and showery while we were there - typical start of school holidays. Shower facilities very good and clean. Even though site was full, we didn't have to queue.

We used the 98 bus to get to Hastings - this takes just over an hour each way but was good value - we prefer not to drive the van once we are pitched up.

This site is not for us but there were many families who appeared to be repeat visitors.

Bexhill seemed a little run down - maybe the weather didn't help. Hastings old town and harbour area are very attractive. Also, the village of Battle with its Abbey, is very quaint. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kyezer 6 reviews from this member

 We were booked in for 5 nights but left after 3. The facilities are great, some of the best we've ever used. A great play park for the kids, hot, spacious and spotlessly clean showers and big level pitches.

Unfortunately children and adults were cutting through our pitch, even between our vehicle and tent so there was no privacy.

We were unfortunately pitched in the inner circle which seems to be a playing field. We got fed up with not being able to sit outside without getting hit by balls, our children couldn't play outside our tent as a 14+ people football game was going on (children and adults) with no regards for other people's vehicles, tents or dogs.

The owners were very good in offering us another pitch but we decided it would be too much hassle to pack away (big tent)and then re pitch.

After that group left we thought it would be better, but then had to put up with another group that were split across the field, running around and shouting until 1. 20am.

Definitely not the peaceful, quiet site as advertised and not for us. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hazel R 1 review from this member

 When we arrived we had a warm, friendly check in even though we were a bit early. We stayed in the lead up to the end of May Bank Holiday and although it was quiet when we arrived they were fully booked for half term the following week.

Pitches are very generous with plenty of space between neighbours. The site is level and well kept. The grassy areas were very lush making it much easier to pitch.

Toilets and showers very clean with plenty of hot water. We were able to put our freezer packs in the freezer in the games room. Wi-Fi available if you need it.

It's obvious to see why so many of the reviews are excellent, we agreed. Would definitely recommend this site and would visit again.

Bexhill has free parking away from the town centre so inevitably it gets very busy. Lidl just down the road and a small business park further on with Tesco, DIY stores etc about a 5 min drive. 


Previous     169 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Chestnut Meadow Camping & Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Chestnut Meadow Camping & Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Chestnut Meadow Camping & Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bexhill On Sea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1391 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement