Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tyn Cornel Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Bala > Tyn Cornel Camping > Reviews

Tyn Cornel Camping
Frongoch
Bala
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL23 7NU
Tel: 01678 520759
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 67
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 124 Reviews
                9/10 from 124 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  124 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2024 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Thesaint 28 reviews from this member

 Excellent site, very helpul staff.

Great location, 10 minute drive from Bala and a 5 minute walk to the National White Water Center next door.

The toilets were always clean, the pitches were level.

Riverside pitches were great, just remember to take Midge Spray. Spa and Co-op in Bala.

Highly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kaylac 1 review from this member

 Facilities are very basic but spotlessly clean. Upon arrival I was worried that the 1 male and 1 female toilet on the tent pitch field would mean queuing for loo.

However I was wrong and they were always clean. Again shower block only has 3 showers for female but again we’re always clean and never had to wait to use facilities.

Only downside for us on this trip was the poor Wi-Fi. The weather was extremely poor and stormy and we couldn’t get the Wi-Fi after the 1st night in our tent.

Location is beautiful 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Tonyburn 10 reviews from this member

 A warm welcome on arrival, which was lovely. Site flat with hard standing. It’s a well kept and tidy site, very clean. Showers were free and hot.

We enjoyed our time here, even though the weather wasn’t the best.

One minus point is the lack of TV signal and mobile reception, but that is not the fault of the site.

WiFi was hit and miss. Sunday evening there was no WiFi at all.

All in all, a very relaxed stay in a pretty rural setting right alongside the Vyrnwy. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sarahsorted 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely area, right next to white water centre and beautiful river, with lovely walks.

There was a two day canoe slalom event while we were there which meant the campsite was fairly busy but the facilities were fine and we enjoyed the atmosphere - and the amazingly skilled canoing.

The white water centre is a five minute walk and has a lovely cafe with tables right by the river.

The campsite owners are very friendly and helpful and overall there's a really nice vibe there, we enjoyed our stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: TonyCee 3 reviews from this member

 Tyn Cornel is a small site with a mix of hardstanding and grass pitches, both with electric hookups.

It is on the river next door to the National White Water Centre. The walk up the river takes you along the white water course, very nice.

The site is small and the facilities are fairly youth-orientated as one might expect - don't expect too much privacy in the showers! They are, however, kept spotlessly clean.

The young team running the site are pleasant and helpful. The office sells a few essentials like marshmallows.

If you want peace and quiet then Ty Cornel is a little haven. The exception is that roaring little river but one can have enough of tranquil waters, this makes a very pleasant change.

Well worth a visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ditsy79 12 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this lovely peaceful campsite for 2 nights. Our 8-man Royal Brisbane tent plus extension is bigger than the pitch size stipulated on the website, but I had emailed the owners in advance and they reassured me that it wasn't an issue.

On arrival, we were greeted by the owner who gave us lots of useful information about things to do in the local area, as well as explaining the campsite rules. Pitches are reasonably large and well-marked; we had an ehu pitch, and the owner said it wasn't a problem if our tent spread onto the next pitch, as it was a relatively quiet weekend.

The site is very quiet, no playground etc for children, but our 3-year old really enjoyed herself anyway.

The river is quite noisy, but that's nature for you! And to be expected on a campsite next to a river.

The facilities were spotless and more than adequate. The showers were free, and of the push button variety although the pressure and temperature were great.

There are a fridge and freezer available for campers to use, and a notice saying campers can borrow ice packs - which I thought was a nice touch.

We had a lovely weekend at Tyn Cornel and would be extremely likely to stay there again. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lozzi 1 review from this member

 A lovely small tent field not crowded like bigger sites, spotless facilities, very helpful and friendly young couple/owners. The site had greenery everywhere. Not concrete.

The roofed picnic table was a real boon, you can eat in all weathers. Important if in a small tent. The field had its own porta loos which was handy in the night. Well priced compared to others in Bala.

No charge for a fire pit as long as you buy a site wood pack very cheap. A sight of the river from the field would have been perfect but some dense growth was in the way. Maybe a job for Stu next year?

I will definitely bring my grandchildren next time. You both deserve success. Lorraine 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: The Sawyers 4 reviews from this member

 Located on the banks of the river Dee, Tyn Cornell is a beautiful site. Comprising 2 fields for tents – an upper and lower – there’s a big field of hardstanding too. The ground didn’t seem too stony where we pitched.

The river is fairly noisy during the day, but it’s turned down at night to a peaceful babble. The bottom field is fairly close to the road, and there can be a bit of road noise (it seems popular with motorcyclists…).

Izzi and Stu are the owners, and when we stayed it was their first season (2016) – they are doing a great job and sound like they have plenty of plans for the future. They are a very friendly, approachable pair, with good local knowledge and suggestions for what to do in the area. Reception is small, with a good range of essentials for sale.

For our smallest girl, we thought there could have been e. G. Some lower hooks, and maybe even lower shower presses. We suggested that to Stu before we left, and he really seemed to take the idea on board. (It's these reasons only that I've marked down facilities and child-friendliness).

Fire pits are loaned free, the only stipulation being that you buy your wood on-site (‘though it’s reasonably priced). There is direct access to the river, though there’s a fence all along the bottom field, with a gate. It’s great fun watching the canoeists and rafters on the white water.

The facilities were immaculate, with enough toilets and showers so that I didn’t need to wait once. (Mens: 2 urinals, 5 toilets, 4 showers). The washing up area was a bit too small, with probably only 2 of the 3 sinks really being usable at one time. There’s a fridge and freezer to use free, and a pay-to-use tumble drier in this area. I didn’t check out the laundry room.

There’s a lovely, fairly short, woodland walk up to the White Water Centre from the far end of the hardstanding area. I’m told the café is very good, but we never made it in time after the day’s activities. There’s plenty of room for a kick about or Frisbee fling down in the bottom field.

We had the benefit of early morning sun where we pitched – against the tree line separating the lower and upper fields. The side against the river had the evening sun. Midges were a natural hazard, but not huge in number.

It’s a short drive to Bala, where we hired kayaks and canoes, for a gentler paddling experience. Plenty of good places to eat here.

All in all, a terrific site, beautifully located, with wonderful owners. We will be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emmamoo 12 reviews from this member

 Me and my husband visited this site in August. The site itself was very nice and the loos etc were clean and modern. We managed to get a fire pit before the heavens opened, which was lovely until we got a bit wet (!) T

he campsite is also easy to find from Bala. The couple who run the campsite were very friendly and we will definitely go back. Its a good mix of families and groups, without too much bother.

The lower field is enormous but I would recommend pitching on the upper field if you can (if rain is forecast for more than a day) as it can become a bit difficult to drive on the lower field when wet. (But to be fair it didn't stop raining for 4 days. ) 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The coldys 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our bank holiday weekend break. Only booked last minute and was able to book EHU, on arrival was informed of the site 'rules' all fine and understandable then was shown personally to our pitch, with fantastic views from all putches.

The toilet/shower block where cleaned to exceptional standards and the showers where lovely and hot, wash up area was all undercover clean and tidy, noticed there was a tumble dryer available for a small fee and also a laundry room. Next to the toilet area was a boot cleaning area ideal for the walkers.

No children's playground but there is a very large field with goalposts etc ideal for the kids to play and let off steam, or a family game of rounders.

There is a stream running through the site that is used by white water rafters and water sports centre is just 2 minutes up the road, also great to paddle in when not in use as only operational set times of the day, very peaceful site all guests adhered to the no noise policy set times.

Owners sell scented candles on site as there is an issue with flys and midgeys but the candles sorted out the problem, they also stock ice creams, milk, bread, eggs etc. Bala town and lake is roughly 3 miles away we hired a canoe for £25 for 1 hour which was an experience with a 5 and 11yr old, two supermarkets co-op and spar and many cafes takeaways etc in the town well worth a visit, we also drove to Llangollen from here which took around 25minutes we had great day out. Will definitely be visiting this campsite again. Personally my only downfall was the cost to add children into the booking £7 per child per night, (I've never paid that much before) although this had no impact on the fact we had a lovely family camping trip I would recommend this site to all campers 


Previous     124 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Tyn Cornel Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tyn Cornel Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Tyn Cornel Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bala      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Woodshrop 24 Tribute Festival 19/07 to 21/07

Family friendly festival in Shrewsbury with 16 of the UK's best tribute bands honoring the greatest hits of the past and present. Chill out zone, food and drink stalls, camping on site and more. Win weekend camping tickets for two AND save 10% on Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2899 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement