Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tyn Cornel Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Tyn Cornel Camping
Frongoch
Bala
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL23 7NU
Tel: 01678 520759
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 67
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 118 Reviews
                9/10 from 118 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  118 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: TonyCee 3 reviews from this member

Tyn Cornel is a small site with a mix of hardstanding and grass pitches, both with electric hookups.

It is on the river next door to the National White Water Centre. The walk up the river takes you along the white water course, very nice.

The site is small and the facilities are fairly youth-orientated as one might expect - don't expect too much privacy in the showers! They are, however, kept spotlessly clean.

The young team running the site are pleasant and helpful. The office sells a few essentials like marshmallows.

If you want peace and quiet then Ty Cornel is a little haven. The exception is that roaring little river but one can have enough of tranquil waters, this makes a very pleasant change.

Well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ditsy79 6 reviews from this member

We stayed at this lovely peaceful campsite for 2 nights. Our 8-man Royal Brisbane tent plus extension is bigger than the pitch size stipulated on the website, but I had emailed the owners in advance and they reassured me that it wasn't an issue. On arrival, we were greeted by the owner who gave us lots of useful information about things to do in the local area, as well as explaining the campsite rules. Pitches are reasonably large and well-marked; we had an ehu pitch, and the owner said it wasn't a problem if our tent spread onto the next pitch, as it was a relatively quiet weekend.

The site is very quiet, no playground etc for children, but our 3-year old really enjoyed herself anyway.

The river is quite noisy, but that's nature for you! And to be expected on a campsite next to a river.

The facilities were spotless and more than adequate. The showers were free, and of the push button variety although the pressure and temperature were great.

There are a fridge and freezer available for campers to use, and a notice saying campers can borrow ice packs - which I thought was a nice touch.

We had a lovely weekend at Tyn Cornel and would be extremely likely to stay there again.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lozzi 1 review from this member

A lovely small tent field not crowded like bigger sites, spotless facilities, very helpful and friendly young couple/owners. The site had greenery everywhere. Not concrete. The roofed picnic table was a real boon, you can eat in all weathers. Important if in a small tent. The field had its own porta loos which was handy in the night. Well priced compared to others in Bala. No charge for a fire pit as long as you buy a site wood pack very cheap. A sight of the river from the field would have been perfect but some dense growth was in the way. Maybe a job for Stu next year? I will definitely bring my grandchildren next time. You both deserve success. Lorraine

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Sawyers 4 reviews from this member

Located on the banks of the river Dee, Tyn Cornell is a beautiful site. Comprising 2 fields for tents – an upper and lower – there’s a big field of hardstanding too. The ground didn’t seem too stony where we pitched. The river is fairly noisy during the day, but it’s turned down at night to a peaceful babble. The bottom field is fairly close to the road, and there can be a bit of road noise (it seems popular with motorcyclists…).

Izzi and Stu are the owners, and when we stayed it was their first season (2016) – they are doing a great job and sound like they have plenty of plans for the future. They are a very friendly, approachable pair, with good local knowledge and suggestions for what to do in the area. Reception is small, with a good range of essentials for sale.

For our smallest girl, we thought there could have been e. G. Some lower hooks, and maybe even lower shower presses. We suggested that to Stu before we left, and he really seemed to take the idea on board. (It's these reasons only that I've marked down facilities and child-friendliness).

Fire pits are loaned free, the only stipulation being that you buy your wood on-site (‘though it’s reasonably priced). There is direct access to the river, though there’s a fence all along the bottom field, with a gate. It’s great fun watching the canoeists and rafters on the white water.

The facilities were immaculate, with enough toilets and showers so that I didn’t need to wait once. (Mens: 2 urinals, 5 toilets, 4 showers). The washing up area was a bit too small, with probably only 2 of the 3 sinks really being usable at one time. There’s a fridge and freezer to use free, and a pay-to-use tumble drier in this area. I didn’t check out the laundry room.

There’s a lovely, fairly short, woodland walk up to the White Water Centre from the far end of the hardstanding area. I’m told the café is very good, but we never made it in time after the day’s activities. There’s plenty of room for a kick about or Frisbee fling down in the bottom field.

We had the benefit of early morning sun where we pitched – against the tree line separating the lower and upper fields. The side against the river had the evening sun. Midges were a natural hazard, but not huge in number.

It’s a short drive to Bala, where we hired kayaks and canoes, for a gentler paddling experience. Plenty of good places to eat here.

All in all, a terrific site, beautifully located, with wonderful owners. We will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emmamoo 12 reviews from this member

Me and my husband visited this site in August. The site itself was very nice and the loos etc were clean and modern. We managed to get a fire pit before the heavens opened, which was lovely until we got a bit wet (!) The campsite is also easy to find from Bala. The couple who run the campsite were very friendly and we will definitely go back. Its a good mix of families and groups, without too much bother. The lower field is enormous but I would recommend pitching on the upper field if you can (if rain is forecast for more than a day) as it can become a bit difficult to drive on the lower field when wet. (But to be fair it didn't stop raining for 4 days. )

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The coldys 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from our bank holiday weekend break. Only booked last minute and was able to book EHU, on arrival was informed of the site 'rules' all fine and understandable then was shown personally to our pitch, with fantastic views from all putches.

The toilet/shower block where cleaned to exceptional standards and the showers where lovely and hot, wash up area was all undercover clean and tidy, noticed there was a tumble dryer available for a small fee and also a laundry room. Next to the toilet area was a boot cleaning area ideal for the walkers.

No children's playground but there is a very large field with goalposts etc ideal for the kids to play and let off steam, or a family game of rounders.

There is a stream running through the site that is used by white water rafters and water sports centre is just 2 minutes up the road, also great to paddle in when not in use as only operational set times of the day, very peaceful site all guests adhered to the no noise policy set times.

Owners sell scented candles on site as there is an issue with flys and midgeys but the candles sorted out the problem, they also stock ice creams, milk, bread, eggs etc. Bala town and lake is roughly 3 miles away we hired a canoe for £25 for 1 hour which was an experience with a 5 and 11yr old, two supermarkets co-op and spar and many cafes takeaways etc in the town well worth a visit, we also drove to Llangollen from here which took around 25minutes we had great day out. Will definitely be visiting this campsite again. Personally my only downfall was the cost to add children into the booking £7 per child per night, (I've never paid that much before) although this had no impact on the fact we had a lovely family camping trip I would recommend this site to all campers

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nedrocky 1 review from this member

What a great caravan and camping site. Tyn Cornel is situated near to the white water rafting and kayaking centre, about 4 miles from Bala. It is an ideal location for spending time there to just relax, or for a touring base. The toilet and shower blocks are immaculate and the site is very well managed by the owners. Bala is convenient for any local shopping, although Jean and Peter, the owners, carry stock too.

There are cafes and pubs in Bala, and a market day. There is an abundance of wildlife, including buzzards, kites, and a plethora of smaller birds who visit the site on a daily basis for a feed, and otters in the river if you are up early enough to see them. There are walks directly from site if you don't want to take the car, or you can take the few minutes to walk up to the white water centre to see the rafting or just for a cuppa at the cafe. If you want a peaceful and relaxing stay, this site fits the bill.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BeniaminoGigli 10 reviews from this member

Easy access and a tidy and clean site with good facilities.

Plenty of rules and very regimentally run.

Cars cant be parked next to your caravan and this can be very inconvenient when you don't have an awning to store those extras you need. E. G. Wellies, Raincoats, Dog Cages etc etc. There is a very noisy river running alongside the campsite which is probably acceptable if you are into Kayaking/White rafting; far too noisy for us so will not be returning.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JoyanAl 3 reviews from this member

Tyn Cornel is a tranquil park situated in an area of outstanding beauty, with an abundance of bird life.

The owners, Jean & Pete, & wardens, Angela & Paul, are extremely friendly & helpful, if you need assistance with anything you only need to ask.

They take great pride in maintaining this beautiful site, which is a credit to them. In 10 yrs of touring, we have never seen a toilet/shower block so immaculately clean.

Yes, there are rules in place which, unlike many other sites, are enforced rigidly. Personally, we don, t have a problem with this. The 'no noise after 11pm' rule suits us fine.

Warning! if you want to party all night, allow your children & dogs to do as they please showing no consideration or respect for your fellow campers, then this is not the place for you.

However, if you are looking for a peaceful break in a stunning location, then we can highly recommend Tyn Cornel where you will be made most welcome.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Angie71 2 reviews from this member

What a Gem of a site, booked over the phone easly, to arrive on the Saturday but due to work rota changing I was able to arrive on Friday instead, Jean happily changed my arrival date. We were greeted by really friendly and very helpful owners on the Friday, and was shown to the camping field by Pete, we had a good chat and had a choice of pitches due to being first to arrive. Lovely flat pitches and well looked after, everywhere was lovely and clean.

We choice this site as 1, they was more then happy to except three young men. 2, ideal location for our mountain biking and kayacking and 3, the excellent website information on the campsite and reviews.

I love the great idea of having the porta loos on the non electric camping field, as they are a blessing when you need the loo in the middle of night, you don't have to walk far, they was clean and tidy to a high standard and all plumbed in. The main toilets, showers and washing up areas also very clean to a high standard with plenty of hot water. The fridge and freezer in the washing up area is brilliant for re freezing your ice packs, and the dryer came in handy.

The caravan called Bertie the Botthie is fantastic place to take shelter if the winds pick up, stocked full of books and games, I've been to many sites with my family over the years camping and never seen a Botthie before, fantastic idea. This site really does look after it's campers.

Jean and Pete stock a good variety of items in the shop/reception at good prices and also welcome you to charge your mobile phones /action cameras for a tiny cost.

I liked that their is a separate large field for children and family's to play ball or ride bikes or for a family game of rounders, it's safer as no chance of children tripping over guide ropes on the tents or running around with footballs near Bbq's, less chance of accidents happening. We didn't fetch our dog on this camping trip, but I know he would of loved it, large dog walking area.

Good information on the notice boards and the owners and wardens where really helpful and was always happy to have a chat.

In a ideal spot for lovely walks or drives or cycle, bala lake just down the road, we kayack end on bala lake, £3. 50 for a all day ticket, which is a bargain. Bala as a lot to offer for a relaxing break. We drove to dolgellau and parked up in the main carpark and cycled to along the traffic free cycle route, we drove to coed y Bren forest to ride the mountain bike trails, also ideal for family or dog walkers as lots of Forrest walks with activities along the walking route for children. Lovely cafe their and bike repair shop and cycle bite for all the family. After lots of adventures we were glad to return to camp where we could relax with a BBQ near our tent and blocks where provided free to raise BBQ of the ground to protect the grass, if you've forgot your BBQ, their was ones on site for to use. Lovely walk from site to the white water rafting centre with a good cafe.

Can't wait to return with the family and children, I know they will love Tyn Cornel as much as I did.

Thanks for a fantastic four days.

Previous     118 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3221 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019