Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Tyn Cornel Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Bala > Tyn Cornel Camping Reviews

Tyn Cornel Camping
Frongoch
Bala
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL23 7NU
Tel: 01678 520759
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 67
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 122 Reviews
                9/10 from 122 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  122 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Tonyburn 6 reviews from this member

 A warm welcome on arrival, which was lovely. Site flat with hard standing. It’s a well kept and tidy site, very clean. Showers were free and hot.

We enjoyed our time here, even though the weather wasn’t the best.

One minus point is the lack of TV signal and mobile reception, but that is not the fault of the site.

WiFi was hit and miss. Sunday evening there was no WiFi at all.

All in all, a very relaxed stay in a pretty rural setting right alongside the Vyrnwy. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sarahsorted 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely area, right next to white water centre and beautiful river, with lovely walks.

There was a two day canoe slalom event while we were there which meant the campsite was fairly busy but the facilities were fine and we enjoyed the atmosphere - and the amazingly skilled canoing.

The white water centre is a five minute walk and has a lovely cafe with tables right by the river.

The campsite owners are very friendly and helpful and overall there's a really nice vibe there, we enjoyed our stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: TonyCee 3 reviews from this member

 Tyn Cornel is a small site with a mix of hardstanding and grass pitches, both with electric hookups.

It is on the river next door to the National White Water Centre. The walk up the river takes you along the white water course, very nice.

The site is small and the facilities are fairly youth-orientated as one might expect - don't expect too much privacy in the showers! They are, however, kept spotlessly clean.

The young team running the site are pleasant and helpful. The office sells a few essentials like marshmallows.

If you want peace and quiet then Ty Cornel is a little haven. The exception is that roaring little river but one can have enough of tranquil waters, this makes a very pleasant change.

Well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ditsy79 10 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this lovely peaceful campsite for 2 nights. Our 8-man Royal Brisbane tent plus extension is bigger than the pitch size stipulated on the website, but I had emailed the owners in advance and they reassured me that it wasn't an issue.

On arrival, we were greeted by the owner who gave us lots of useful information about things to do in the local area, as well as explaining the campsite rules. Pitches are reasonably large and well-marked; we had an ehu pitch, and the owner said it wasn't a problem if our tent spread onto the next pitch, as it was a relatively quiet weekend.

The site is very quiet, no playground etc for children, but our 3-year old really enjoyed herself anyway.

The river is quite noisy, but that's nature for you! And to be expected on a campsite next to a river.

The facilities were spotless and more than adequate. The showers were free, and of the push button variety although the pressure and temperature were great.

There are a fridge and freezer available for campers to use, and a notice saying campers can borrow ice packs - which I thought was a nice touch.

We had a lovely weekend at Tyn Cornel and would be extremely likely to stay there again. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lozzi 1 review from this member

 A lovely small tent field not crowded like bigger sites, spotless facilities, very helpful and friendly young couple/owners. The site had greenery everywhere. Not concrete.

The roofed picnic table was a real boon, you can eat in all weathers. Important if in a small tent. The field had its own porta loos which was handy in the night. Well priced compared to others in Bala.

No charge for a fire pit as long as you buy a site wood pack very cheap. A sight of the river from the field would have been perfect but some dense growth was in the way. Maybe a job for Stu next year?

I will definitely bring my grandchildren next time. You both deserve success. Lorraine 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: The Sawyers 4 reviews from this member

 Located on the banks of the river Dee, Tyn Cornell is a beautiful site. Comprising 2 fields for tents – an upper and lower – there’s a big field of hardstanding too. The ground didn’t seem too stony where we pitched.

The river is fairly noisy during the day, but it’s turned down at night to a peaceful babble. The bottom field is fairly close to the road, and there can be a bit of road noise (it seems popular with motorcyclists…).

Izzi and Stu are the owners, and when we stayed it was their first season (2016) – they are doing a great job and sound like they have plenty of plans for the future. They are a very friendly, approachable pair, with good local knowledge and suggestions for what to do in the area. Reception is small, with a good range of essentials for sale.

For our smallest girl, we thought there could have been e. G. Some lower hooks, and maybe even lower shower presses. We suggested that to Stu before we left, and he really seemed to take the idea on board. (It's these reasons only that I've marked down facilities and child-friendliness).

Fire pits are loaned free, the only stipulation being that you buy your wood on-site (‘though it’s reasonably priced). There is direct access to the river, though there’s a fence all along the bottom field, with a gate. It’s great fun watching the canoeists and rafters on the white water.

The facilities were immaculate, with enough toilets and showers so that I didn’t need to wait once. (Mens: 2 urinals, 5 toilets, 4 showers). The washing up area was a bit too small, with probably only 2 of the 3 sinks really being usable at one time. There’s a fridge and freezer to use free, and a pay-to-use tumble drier in this area. I didn’t check out the laundry room.

There’s a lovely, fairly short, woodland walk up to the White Water Centre from the far end of the hardstanding area. I’m told the café is very good, but we never made it in time after the day’s activities. There’s plenty of room for a kick about or Frisbee fling down in the bottom field.

We had the benefit of early morning sun where we pitched – against the tree line separating the lower and upper fields. The side against the river had the evening sun. Midges were a natural hazard, but not huge in number.

It’s a short drive to Bala, where we hired kayaks and canoes, for a gentler paddling experience. Plenty of good places to eat here.

All in all, a terrific site, beautifully located, with wonderful owners. We will be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emmamoo 12 reviews from this member

 Me and my husband visited this site in August. The site itself was very nice and the loos etc were clean and modern. We managed to get a fire pit before the heavens opened, which was lovely until we got a bit wet (!) T

he campsite is also easy to find from Bala. The couple who run the campsite were very friendly and we will definitely go back. Its a good mix of families and groups, without too much bother.

The lower field is enormous but I would recommend pitching on the upper field if you can (if rain is forecast for more than a day) as it can become a bit difficult to drive on the lower field when wet. (But to be fair it didn't stop raining for 4 days. ) 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The coldys 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our bank holiday weekend break. Only booked last minute and was able to book EHU, on arrival was informed of the site 'rules' all fine and understandable then was shown personally to our pitch, with fantastic views from all putches.

The toilet/shower block where cleaned to exceptional standards and the showers where lovely and hot, wash up area was all undercover clean and tidy, noticed there was a tumble dryer available for a small fee and also a laundry room. Next to the toilet area was a boot cleaning area ideal for the walkers.

No children's playground but there is a very large field with goalposts etc ideal for the kids to play and let off steam, or a family game of rounders.

There is a stream running through the site that is used by white water rafters and water sports centre is just 2 minutes up the road, also great to paddle in when not in use as only operational set times of the day, very peaceful site all guests adhered to the no noise policy set times.

Owners sell scented candles on site as there is an issue with flys and midgeys but the candles sorted out the problem, they also stock ice creams, milk, bread, eggs etc. Bala town and lake is roughly 3 miles away we hired a canoe for £25 for 1 hour which was an experience with a 5 and 11yr old, two supermarkets co-op and spar and many cafes takeaways etc in the town well worth a visit, we also drove to Llangollen from here which took around 25minutes we had great day out. Will definitely be visiting this campsite again. Personally my only downfall was the cost to add children into the booking £7 per child per night, (I've never paid that much before) although this had no impact on the fact we had a lovely family camping trip I would recommend this site to all campers 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tom Page 1 review from this member

 Dear Mrs. Tyn Cornel

I have just returned from a long weekend at your camp-site and I'm really disappointed. We knew this place wasn't kayaker/group friendly but everywhere else was full. Your facilities are average, nothing too special and the place is literally covered in signs - some less friendly than others!

While I have to admire your zeal for enforcing your numerous rules it did make us feel very unwelcome, right from the onset and it only got worse, we may have not been the best clients but outright insulting us is not on. I'm sorry you did not appreciate our little sing song either, perhaps you could recommend a better playlist?

Lots of Love,

'A Brain-dead Moron' xxx

P. S. - I left Bertie's skylight screws in the grill

To Everyone else - If you're a retired couple who enjoy sitting quietly, hate groups of people larger than about five or have a bit of a thing for excessive signage and dislike fun then is is the place for you! Otherwise I'd steer clear, especially if you're a paddler. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nedrocky 1 review from this member

 What a great caravan and camping site. Tyn Cornel is situated near to the white water rafting and kayaking centre, about 4 miles from Bala. It is an ideal location for spending time there to just relax, or for a touring base. The toilet and shower blocks are immaculate and the site is very well managed by the owners. Bala is convenient for any local shopping, although Jean and Peter, the owners, carry stock too.

There are cafes and pubs in Bala, and a market day. There is an abundance of wildlife, including buzzards, kites, and a plethora of smaller birds who visit the site on a daily basis for a feed, and otters in the river if you are up early enough to see them. There are walks directly from site if you don't want to take the car, or you can take the few minutes to walk up to the white water centre to see the rafting or just for a cuppa at the cafe. If you want a peaceful and relaxing stay, this site fits the bill. 


Previous     122 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tyn Cornel Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tyn Cornel Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Tyn Cornel Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bala      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3096 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window