Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tyn Cornel Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Bala > Tyn Cornel Camping > Reviews

Tyn Cornel Camping
Frongoch
Bala
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL23 7NU
Tel: 01678 520759
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 67
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 124 Reviews
                9/10 from 124 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  124 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Frank allen 1 review from this member

 Have just returned from a three day stay and must say what a wonderful site. I know the site has quite tight rules but this is what we wanted. A site where you can enjoy the peace and quiet. The kids are welcome to play on the recreation field away from the tents and caravans. The site is level and lots of space. The grounds are well tended and the toilet areas clean and fresh. Showers are clean and free but private showers are available for a small cost. There is a fridge and also a freezer for campers use, keeping meat and milk fresh and a dryer for clothes and towels. There is also a launderette but we did not use this facility. The owners of the site are welcoming and very willing to help. I would highly recommend a stay here for any family. Experienced kayak users would appreciate the access to the dam-controlled river and the short path to the white water centre and its activities (for all!). There is no cycling allowed on the site but the area is great for road and mountain biking with a number of quiet roads nearby.

If you are a solo camper and in small tent don't worry about the possibility of bad weather and having to stay cramped in your small tent as the owners have a small refuge caravan on the tenting ground for you to sit and let the rain pass. Although four miles from Bala town and lake this should not put people off, its only a five minute drive away or short cycle ride on a relatively quiet road. Go and enjoy. You won't regret your stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JBx2 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely setting, nice and quiet, very relaxing with the sound of flowing river as a backdrop - and a perfect location to visit lots of activities, canoe, walking, shopping, etc.

Very friendly and helpful site staff who can't do enough for you. Hard standing with plenty of space between neighbours. All facilities on site are top notch, toilets and showers are the best to date we have seen. Kept very clean too.

Walks available from the site to river and reservoir through fields and forestry, and plenty of areas for dog walking, which is always an added bonus.

Local area has outstanding beauty and the site is perfectly situated to take advantage that Bala and surrounding area has to offer.

Cannot praise this site enough and will definitely be returning frequently as we enjoyed our stay and thought the site was reasonably priced.

J Brookes 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 6oak 1 review from this member

 Excellent campsite. And cleanliness couldn't be beaten, superb toilet and washing facilities. Free showers.

Lovely location by river offering gentle walks and excellent for watching the water sports activities.

Only a short drive to Bala.

Owners apply rules but to the benefit of the majority who stay there as it is a very peaceful and very well run site.

Flat ground and easy enough to pitch tent.

Visited twice in the month as was so impressed on our first visit and weather was very favourable!

Freezer useful for refreezing ice blocks although one of ours did get taken so obviously not everyone uses it as it should be which spoils it for everyone else. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NikkiMarie 1 review from this member

 This is my first time camping and it was absolutely amazing. This site is one that friends have recommended, and I wasn't disappointed. The owners were really friendly and accommodating and this led to a really lovely atmosphere on the campsite. Everyone was friendly and said hello.

All of the facilities was immaculate, very clean, tidy and welcoming. This included washing up facilities, shower and toilet block.

It's in a prime location next to a rafting centre where we went Canyonning and White Water Rafting and the local town was beautiful with lovely architectural buildings and some touristy shops so you could purchase all the gifts you needed from postcards, Welsh Lovespoons and a lovely Fudge/Chocolate Shop 'Cocoa'.

I really enjoyed my stay and we're already planning our next trip to Tyn Cornel Camping and Caravan Site next year. (We're from Kent, UK). 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: DaveandEmma 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a weekend away at Tyn Cornel Camping and Caravan Club. We hired the on site caravan which was perfect for a two night stay. Jean was very accommodating and couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome.

The owner provided us with lots of information about the local area and recommended some lovely places to eat and visit.

I am not one for 'roughing it' and donít usually camp. The facilities here were of a very high standard, the caravan was immaculately clean and I would definitely go back and recommend to friends and family! We went white water rafting which was great fun, in walking distance and a must do. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dharmadoo 7 reviews from this member

 I agree wholeheartedly with a previous reviewer 'geraldine rocks'. Could not fault the site and the facilities and the host couple were lovely and so helpful and friendly. The owner however did rule with an iron fist it has to be said. But as long as you abide by her rules then you will have a pleasant stay.

That being said, the site was very clean and quiet so her rules obviously work and make for a pleasant site. Showers were free and warm, toilets were plentiful and clean. Washing-up station was even supplied with liquid and pan scourers. Dog friendly and included an off-leash dog area too. But beware, our friends dog was off her leash for all of 10 seconds as she transferred from their car back to the caravan after a day out and the owner was on them like a ton of bricks for not tying their dog up !

Perfect base for lake Bala and the whitewater rafting centre was a mere minutes away. I would stay here again without hesitation. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Geraldinerocks 20 reviews from this member

 Nice tidy site in a lovely position immediately on river walk up to damn.

Facilities were immaculate. Free, hot showers and the cleanest I've ever been too.

Not far from the road so you could hear the traffic but it's not a major road so not a problem.

Only criticism is the strictness of the owners. Rules for everything and woe betide you if you strayed even a tiny bit! My boyfriend got told off for splashing waste water when emptying the waste hog, my friends were told off for not having their dog on a lead when letting it out of the car to walk to the caravan after a day out (literally 5m). I understand the rules are there for everyones benefits but we did feel that we were under constant observation.

However, this wouldn't deter me from visiting the site again. 
Management response: This reviewer is we suspect a disgruntled Seasonal Customer on site at the moment not a tourer. Unfortunately for us he has no knowledge of how a 4 Star Caravan Park ticks, we Respect our customers, most treat us as friends and we would have been very disappointed to have to mention about keeping a dog under close scrutiny even when there is no one else close.

As for emptying waste hogs/cassettes ~ we would never make a comment to this particular customer! ~ we just clean up the mess after him, EVERYTIME! otherwise people following him would need their wellingtons on, we can only think someone else must have followed him in and mentioned it ~ certainly not us! He also states this wouldn't deter him from visiting the site again, we are sure it won't for 2013 at least! he has paid his ticket, but he will not be receiving a letter in the Autumn inviting him to return, we just like a happy site with reciprocal respect, its what we are used to.


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Louie monty 5 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a week in North Wales, and stayed at three sites, but just had to say how much we enjoyed Tyn Cornel. It is in a perfect central location which meant that we were able to branch out in all directions and find something of interest.

We were surprised at how diverse the countryside is, from beautiful Llangollen which reminded us of Bavaria, up to Conwy and LLandudno for some Victorian charm, and across to Barmouth which is set in stunning coastal scenery. Bala, the nearest little town is friendly and welcoming and has all you need, including some lovely places to eat. The gorgeous lake is a huge bonus and the little railway around it was such a treat.

We shall definitely be back in the summer as there is so much more to discover.

The site itself is wonderful next to the stunning River Tryweryn and the White Water Rafting Centre, where we saw red kites, a woodpecker, and lots of little birds that seem lacking elsewhere. There are otters too, but we didn't see them, maybe next time! The owners and Wardens keep the entire site in an immaculate condition, especially the toilet blocks and washing up areas, and were so friendly and helpful, pointing out places of interest and just having a warm conversation. Our rescue Corgie was also welcomed and drew quite a lot of attention as they are not that common now, even in Wales!

There is a large dog walking field and several lovely places to walk directly from the site. Our grown up children are now looking forward to coming with us, but would like to stay in the huge camping field for a bit of independence. A big plus is that they have a caravan or 'Bothy' to use for playing cards or having a chat, especially if it rains.

We can't recommend Tyn Cornel enough as a beautiful, clean, peaceful, central and friendly site and will be back as soon as we can. We would recommend it to anyone wanting an 'escape to the country' and will be telling all our friends how much we enjoyed it. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Street Family 1 review from this member

 Having just returned from a weekend stay at Tyn Cornel I had to write to say what a lovely, relaxing time both myself and my husband had. This is an exceptional site, washroom are the best I've ever seen (and I'm fussy).

The owners are lovely really friendly and helpful, location of site couldn't be better with a lovely walk along the river watching the white water rafters really exciting, and Bala only a short drive away.

If you want a site with loads of facilities maybe this isn't for you but if you need a quite, relaxing stay to chill out with friendly owners this is the site for you I couldn't recommend it highly enough. Will be back soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sarah-grace 1 review from this member

 We had a very enjoyable bank holiday made even better by staying at this wonderful site. The showers and toilets are 5 star, our pitch for our campervan was very spacious and the whole site is very well maintained.

So peaceful with the sound of Bala river flowing and watching the birds on the table just outside our window. Great place to enjoy some lovely walks or a nice walk around Bala town.

The owners and their friend are lovely, they are so helpful and always say hello and ask how you are. This site has 5 star facilities with a 5 star couple running this wonderful site. Thank you for making our stay a great one, we shall return again soon. 


Previous     124 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Tyn Cornel Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tyn Cornel Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Tyn Cornel Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bala      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


32084 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement