Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tyn Cornel Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Bala > Tyn Cornel Camping > Reviews

Tyn Cornel Camping
Frongoch
Bala
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL23 7NU
Tel: 01678 520759
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 67
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 124 Reviews
                9/10 from 124 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  124 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: D.kendaall6 1 review from this member

 Stayed here over Easter for the first time, I will definitely be returning, location was stunning right on the river. What impressed me most was how clean the site was, the shower facilities and toilet blocks are the cleanest we have seen. The owners of the site were very helpful with local info and things to do. It was very quiet at night just the sound of the river flowing. Lovely place, owners very welcoming, very clean 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jalipac 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic location, close to many visitor attractions.

The site is amazingly clean and well kept, the best we've ever come across.

Disabled facilities were good but a little on the smallish side to meet our needs fully.

Site owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. As first time caravanners we were very appreciative of the many tips from Pete, they will set us in good stead for many years to come. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MARC1974 6 reviews from this member

 Can not fault this site at all. The location is stunning with the river running by.

The grounds are 5 star and this is one of the cleanest sites which I have stayed at. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

The shower blocks are very good and there is also an option to rent a private shower block if you want to.

There are fridges and dryers for you to use and the washing up area has washing up liquid for you to use should you forget your own.

The pitch sizes are large and very well maintained. Will visit again. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Holdsworth1982 1 review from this member

 I would just like to say how impressed I was with this campsite, I've stayed here twice this year and found the campsite exceptional. The facilities are the best I've come across, the shower / toilet / washing/drying areas are very well looked after and incredibly clean. The owners and other campers are friendly and helpful, with advice about activities or routes for walking. The running of the site is spot on, and makes the experience so enjoyable. The setting is spectacular and within close proximity to many walks/activities/local sights, the river running close by adds to the tranquillity of the place. I would not ever look for another campsite in Bala again, as Tyn Cornel is a outstanding package for all types of getaways in North Wales. I hope, in fact I know it will keep its standards well above the norm. I couldn't recommend it higher, an amazing find.  


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Extremetrader 4 reviews from this member

 Upon arrival we were greeted by the very friendly owners. The site is ideal for the white water centre which is basically the other site of the campsite through the gates and walking about 5 minutes to the river. It was a very nice walk about 30 minutes along the side of the river.

The site is close to Lake Bala which is about 5 to 10 minutes drive away and close to the town for evening meals.

We did a bit of cooking and they also had some barbecues there for you to use as well as breeze blocks to lift your cooker off the ground to prevent burning the grass.

Because we were only staying 1 night we were close to the main entrance which wasnít an issue. However, we didnít sleep well as the neighbouring tents were very close and were closing car doors and packing up around 0600 in the morning.

The toilet facilities and shower were very good and extremely clean.

On the downside the charges were made by size of tent. For me and the wife this was great as I had a 3 man dome tent but for my friend he had to pay almost double for a 4 man halfords tent.

Also take lots of insect repellant as we made the mistake of not taking any as this was our first trip in years. After 3 weeks I am still itching from the insect bites. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bulman 1 review from this member

 This site was absolutely amazing, couldn't ask for better, everything thought of for you, constantly clean. My husband, dog and I spent a lovely holiday, husband has MS and we requested a close to amenities pitch which was no trouble, as Poet stated the zapper did make slight noise but not enough to disturb.

Even the dog was catered for with there own area. Plenty of provisions in small shop. Our only disappointment was that we didn't have time to fish in the river, so that means we will have to go back, looking forward to it already ! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Poet 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here from 6th-8th August.

The site is immaculate and the owners work really hard to keep it that way. You often see somebody cleaning. The toilet/shower block is closed every day btwn 11am-12noon while it gets a thorough clean but the loos seem to be cleaned constantly.

The showers are a bit of a pain because you have to press a button every 10 seconds to keep them switched on but they're included in the price and the water was always warm so not a huge problem. Just a bit longer between presses would be good :0)

It's in a brilliant spot, right next to a river and a little walk along the river bank from the camp site takes you to the white water rafting centre where you can sit in the cafe and watch the rafts and kyaks go past.

Pitches are spacious and the EHU is really good, no problems with tripping supply if you plug several items in.

There is a little shop open til late and even when it's closed they will serve you if you ring their doorbell.

It's in a great location too, we went on the little train by Bala lake and there's a great organic farm not too far away called 'Rhug Estate' on the A5 where you can buy delicious organic Welsh meat, including bison!

We requested a pitch near the showers/loos as I can't walk too far, but I was woken up very late and very early by people who seem to forget that tents don't have walls! Not the owners fault though as there are plenty of notices to remind people to be quiet after 11pm!

There is one of those electric bug zappers outside the facilities which is quite noisy if you're a light sleeper (but then again we did ask to be right outside) and there is some road noise.

All in all, this is a great site and we would definitely recommend it. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cmoncymru 3 reviews from this member

 Great little site, well run by the owners, spotlessly clean showers & toilets, right in the country! well done to the owner & his wife.

Everything done to ensure you & your belongings are safe & sound,near the white water rafting centre (but no yobs or rowdy people admitted) Chemical toilets & drinking water & dish washing in each field, so you only go to the main block for a shower, shave etc. No ball games allowed in the tenting fields, so I guess this qualifies as a 'grown up' site. But, well behaved children are encouraged.

Small shop selling the basics (and some not so basic) Snowden,Bettws Y Coed and Llangollen all within an hours drive 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TWallis 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for over a week in August and must say the site is spotlessly clean. The pitches are spacious with great EHU hookup, although the tv connection is rather weak.

The place is quiet and peaceful with the river running alongside and the white water rafting centre a few minutes walk away. Would definitely advise everyone over 12 to have a go it is probably the best fun you can have on water (this was my first experience of it and will definitely be doing it again!).

My only concerns are the lack of activities for children. Although there is a dedicated area for ball games this is not near the pitches and in fact the children have to walk out of the main gate, up the drive through the visitor parking area and the play area in adjacent to this.

It is not a play area though just a large field where they can play ball (not allowed near the pitches) and where the dogs are allowed off their leads. It can not be seen from the pitches, it would be worth making a dedicate play area for children which can be seen from the pitches and this would make the site more child friendly.

There is no separation between the field and the carpark and my concern is that with children playing ball near a carpark it is an accident waiting to happen. In addition to this the driveway is accessible straight from the main road with no gate so the children could effectively go onto the road if they decided to explore what was down the end of the lane (the road is very busy!).

It was brought to my attention when I arrived that children are not allowed to ride bicycles on the site, although the reason was explained it would have been worth being informed when booking and not when we were there. They did allow the younger one to ride his around our pitch but only on the grass which was very hard as he is only 3 and the grass is very thick.

Although I appreciate that there needs to be rules in place to make sure everyone enjoys there time I also think the owners need to understand that people are on holiday and should not be so regimental by telling people to go indoors at 11pm. A number of people arrived late one night - not me I hasten to add - and after pitching their tents and settling in were enjoying a cup of tea with their friends whilst standing outside only to be approached at 11pm by the owner with the flashlight telling them it was 11pm and they should now be inside.

The site is over run with signs saying don't do this don't do that which does not make for a very welcoming environment. I appreciate that rules need to be in place but this is rather over board, most people that have caravans / tents are respectful to others and do not need a constant reminder of what they can / can not do.

As I said previously a very clean well appointed site, perfect if you want to spend your time white water rafting but it is not a site for families with small children. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joy buckley 6 reviews from this member

 Large 6 man tunnel tent with electric hook up.

To put it simply there was nothing to find fault with.

An immaculately kept site with a lovely river running alongside it.

Excellent facilities which are spotless and regularly inspected and cleaned.

The welcome we received from the owners was one of friendship and warmth.

They had lots of information about the local and surrounding area and had lots of tips on where to go to do certain activities. They also provided you with information leaflets if you so wished. This was great and we had a lovely few days cycling, especially at the mountain bike centre which they recommended.

The site is a quiet site and we felt extremely relaxed whilst staying there.

I would definitely recommend this site to members and will be returning. 


Previous     124 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Tyn Cornel Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tyn Cornel Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Tyn Cornel Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bala      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4795 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement