Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tyn Cornel Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Bala > Tyn Cornel Camping > Reviews

Tyn Cornel Camping
Frongoch
Bala
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL23 7NU
Tel: 01678 520759
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 67
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 124 Reviews
                9/10 from 124 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  124 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JoannMatt 1 review from this member

 A second wonderfully peaceful visit to Tyn Cornel-and we will keep going back now as it's such a lovely site and you feel off the beaten trck but still near to towns if you need supplies. Everywhere was spotless again-toilets and showers were immaculate and Wardens Nick and Caroline were so helpful and very friendly. The grass was trimmed short which was excellent for pitching the new tent and was well worth paying a little extra for the secluded pitch. Excellent views and lovely walks. If Carlsberg did campsites this would be it! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jennster 1 review from this member

 My family and I spent a wonderful 6 days at this campsite in a tent with hook-up. The owners were lovely and helpful, giving us many helpful ideas of days out with the children. We had mixed weather, not nearly as bad as forecast, but the pitch remained well drained. The facilities were scrupulously clean, with plenty of free hot water showers. A fridge and freezer were provided for the guests in the covered washing up area. The campsite although plagued by midges, was wonderfully quiet. The silence was punctuated by the cries of a large bird of prey (buzzard?) and the soothing sound of the river. At night when the clouds lifted, we were rewarded with beautiful views of the stars and even saw the International Space Station whizz past one night. There is no playground for the children, but a recreation field is provided to play on. This was more than enough for my children aged 5, 7 and 8. There is a small shop selling very basic supplies on site, including that essential Avon SSS spray!

There is much to do in the area. We climbed Snowdon from Pen-y-pass, spent a day on the beach at Black Rock Sands, went to Beddgelert, went down the Llechwedd slate mine at Blauenau Ffestiniog, went to Chirk Castle and walked over Pontcysllte aqueduct. The walk down the river from the campsite is beautiful. Bala is a bustling town with all the supplies you need for a week long camping trip, with small supermarkets and pubs.

We will definitely return to this lovely campsite. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spicey 1 review from this member

 We are novice campers and our location was chosen due to our daughter competing in a slalom competition which was close to the camp site.

We were greeted by two very friendly ladies who told us everything we needed to know about the area.

The toilet/shower block was immaculate, pride was taken in keeping it clean and tidy and this reflected across the whole site.

Loved that we had access to a fridge/ freezer and could borrow ice blocks while ours were chilling.

The washing up area was once again immaculate.

A short walk from our pitch took us to the White Water Centre.

A very good weekend was had by all and following this experience we would definitely return to this relaxing, quiet and well looked after site. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Benraf 3 reviews from this member

 I stayed with my girlfriend and family on this brilliant site for a long weekend, and can honestly say I have never seen such clean toilets and showers! The owners and wardens were kind and friendly, and made campers feel welcome. It is very central to lots of attractions and easy to get to. We had an amazing drive completely around Snowdon, had a BBq, crabbed from the quay in Caernarfon and walked around Betwsycoed. We also went to Morfa Nefyn where there is a pub right on the beach which you can walk to from a clifftop carpark. I would definitely recommend this site, especially if you want to do anything on the river. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gturner1709 7 reviews from this member

 If I was a site owner I would be head hunting the current wardens whose contract finishes October. They are so friendly, helpful and very hard working. Great ambassadors for this site which is immaculately maintained, very well organised, quiet and very relaxing. Also great for dogs on the excellent dog run. A short walk to the white water rapids is quite a treat. Toilets are immaculate. Nearest village is Bala which is very busy but great for cafes, restaurants etc and local shops 
Management response: Thank you for your very nice comments, we sell on being clean and quiet and are always happy when people appreciate what we provide.

Our wardens are friends as well as helpers and we would like them to stay, but the work is hard and they really want to move on to pastures new to see and do different things, so it is not our decision that they go!! Perhaps you could persuade them to stay for us when you return?

Hope the op went well"

Regards from Tyn Cornel

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Alfsvan 1 review from this member

 Booked in for one night and stayed for four, had a great pitch next to the river. Good walks along the riverside, friendly and helpful wardens. We found all the facilities on site to be spotless and the grounds well maintained. Good base for exploring the surrounding area. We didn't have any children with us but the dog loved it! We hope to come back again. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Astrid Hamburg 1 review from this member

 We travelled the first time from Germany to Wales and looked for a campsite for one night and stayed in the end three nights because of the friendly, competent and helpful manner of the owners and the couple of the first caravan whose names we unfortunately forgot. :-)

We enjoyed the stay very much.

Best regards from Germany

Thorsten and Astrid 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: M mars 1 review from this member

 I have just returned from a wet bank holiday staying in a 3 man tent. On arrival at Tyn Cornel we were warmly welcomed by Jean and Caroline. The site was spotlessly clean and this high standard was maintained throughout the weekend in spite of the wet conditions. The showers, toilets and washing up area remained immaculate. The water was always hot. The tumble dryer was reasonably priced at 50p for 10 minutes drying time.

The site is easy to fine and conveniently situated.

We chose to stay here because of the close proximity to the National White Water Centre. This camp site is a little gem. I highly recommend it 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ferbietool 2 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from a wonderful relaxing break from here and really did not want to come back. On arriving my partner and I was welcomed by the owner who is lovely, she booked us in and gave us some information about the area and things we could do. We were shown to our pitch by the owners Husband, who was very helpful and helped us in. There are also two wardens who are very nice and friendly and very helpful. The pitches are very spacious and very well maintained. The facilities are second to none always clean and well maintained. One of the days we had a walk up to the dam which was along side the river which was beautiful. Bala town is about 5 min car ride down the road and is a lovely little town with some nice shops, there is a co-op and spar for supply's. Porthmadoc is about 40 minutes away and barnmouth is about 50 min which is a lovely seaside town. We highly recommend this site if you want a lovely relaxing time. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jcurrington 1 review from this member

 My fiancé and I recently camped at Tyn Cornel with our 2 friends and had a lovely time there. Jean, Pete and the other wardens were very welcoming and helpful. The shower and toilet block and the washing up areas were immaculate every time we went to use them and in general the site was really well looked after. There were other amenities such as a communal fridge, laundry facilities, bertie the bothie, and the reception sold a few camping essentials. The walk to the white water rafting centre from the campsite was nice and Bala was only a 5 minute drive away to get food, petrol etc. We had a great time at Tyn Cornel and would recommend it to others! Thanks for a lovely stay! x 


Previous     124 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Tyn Cornel Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tyn Cornel Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Tyn Cornel Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bala      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3986 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement