Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tyn Cornel Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Bala > Tyn Cornel Camping > Reviews

Tyn Cornel Camping
Frongoch
Bala
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL23 7NU
Tel: 01678 520759
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 67
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 124 Reviews
                9/10 from 124 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  124 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tom Page 1 review from this member

 Dear Mrs. Tyn Cornel

I have just returned from a long weekend at your camp-site and I'm really disappointed. We knew this place wasn't kayaker/group friendly but everywhere else was full. Your facilities are average, nothing too special and the place is literally covered in signs - some less friendly than others!

While I have to admire your zeal for enforcing your numerous rules it did make us feel very unwelcome, right from the onset and it only got worse, we may have not been the best clients but outright insulting us is not on. I'm sorry you did not appreciate our little sing song either, perhaps you could recommend a better playlist?

Lots of Love,

'A Brain-dead Moron' xxx

P. S. - I left Bertie's skylight screws in the grill

To Everyone else - If you're a retired couple who enjoy sitting quietly, hate groups of people larger than about five or have a bit of a thing for excessive signage and dislike fun then is is the place for you! Otherwise I'd steer clear, especially if you're a paddler. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nedrocky 1 review from this member

 What a great caravan and camping site. Tyn Cornel is situated near to the white water rafting and kayaking centre, about 4 miles from Bala. It is an ideal location for spending time there to just relax, or for a touring base. The toilet and shower blocks are immaculate and the site is very well managed by the owners. Bala is convenient for any local shopping, although Jean and Peter, the owners, carry stock too.

There are cafes and pubs in Bala, and a market day. There is an abundance of wildlife, including buzzards, kites, and a plethora of smaller birds who visit the site on a daily basis for a feed, and otters in the river if you are up early enough to see them. There are walks directly from site if you don't want to take the car, or you can take the few minutes to walk up to the white water centre to see the rafting or just for a cuppa at the cafe. If you want a peaceful and relaxing stay, this site fits the bill. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BeniaminoGigli 10 reviews from this member

 Easy access and a tidy and clean site with good facilities.

Plenty of rules and very regimentally run.

Cars cant be parked next to your caravan and this can be very inconvenient when you don't have an awning to store those extras you need. E. G. Wellies, Raincoats, Dog Cages etc etc. There is a very noisy river running alongside the campsite which is probably acceptable if you are into Kayaking/White rafting; far too noisy for us so will not be returning. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JoyanAl 3 reviews from this member

 Tyn Cornel is a tranquil park situated in an area of outstanding beauty, with an abundance of bird life.

The owners, Jean & Pete, & wardens, Angela & Paul, are extremely friendly & helpful, if you need assistance with anything you only need to ask.

They take great pride in maintaining this beautiful site, which is a credit to them. In 10 yrs of touring, we have never seen a toilet/shower block so immaculately clean.

Yes, there are rules in place which, unlike many other sites, are enforced rigidly. Personally, we don, t have a problem with this. The 'no noise after 11pm' rule suits us fine.

Warning! if you want to party all night, allow your children & dogs to do as they please showing no consideration or respect for your fellow campers, then this is not the place for you.

However, if you are looking for a peaceful break in a stunning location, then we can highly recommend Tyn Cornel where you will be made most welcome. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Angie71 2 reviews from this member

 What a Gem of a site, booked over the phone easly, to arrive on the Saturday but due to work rota changing I was able to arrive on Friday instead, Jean happily changed my arrival date. We were greeted by really friendly and very helpful owners on the Friday, and was shown to the camping field by Pete, we had a good chat and had a choice of pitches due to being first to arrive. Lovely flat pitches and well looked after, everywhere was lovely and clean.

We choice this site as 1, they was more then happy to except three young men. 2, ideal location for our mountain biking and kayacking and 3, the excellent website information on the campsite and reviews.

I love the great idea of having the porta loos on the non electric camping field, as they are a blessing when you need the loo in the middle of night, you don't have to walk far, they was clean and tidy to a high standard and all plumbed in. The main toilets, showers and washing up areas also very clean to a high standard with plenty of hot water. The fridge and freezer in the washing up area is brilliant for re freezing your ice packs, and the dryer came in handy.

The caravan called Bertie the Botthie is fantastic place to take shelter if the winds pick up, stocked full of books and games, I've been to many sites with my family over the years camping and never seen a Botthie before, fantastic idea. This site really does look after it's campers.

Jean and Pete stock a good variety of items in the shop/reception at good prices and also welcome you to charge your mobile phones /action cameras for a tiny cost.

I liked that their is a separate large field for children and family's to play ball or ride bikes or for a family game of rounders, it's safer as no chance of children tripping over guide ropes on the tents or running around with footballs near Bbq's, less chance of accidents happening. We didn't fetch our dog on this camping trip, but I know he would of loved it, large dog walking area.

Good information on the notice boards and the owners and wardens where really helpful and was always happy to have a chat.

In a ideal spot for lovely walks or drives or cycle, bala lake just down the road, we kayack end on bala lake, £3. 50 for a all day ticket, which is a bargain. Bala as a lot to offer for a relaxing break. We drove to dolgellau and parked up in the main carpark and cycled to along the traffic free cycle route, we drove to coed y Bren forest to ride the mountain bike trails, also ideal for family or dog walkers as lots of Forrest walks with activities along the walking route for children. Lovely cafe their and bike repair shop and cycle bite for all the family. After lots of adventures we were glad to return to camp where we could relax with a BBQ near our tent and blocks where provided free to raise BBQ of the ground to protect the grass, if you've forgot your BBQ, their was ones on site for to use. Lovely walk from site to the white water rafting centre with a good cafe.

Can't wait to return with the family and children, I know they will love Tyn Cornel as much as I did.

Thanks for a fantastic four days. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheCampingGuru 1 review from this member

 Great spot for your little unit of one or two campers, this site sits right by some great geographical features such as, a river. Some rocks. And best of all, a forest. This made my latest trip of the year quite a pleasant experience. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Steveaudi 4 reviews from this member

 My wife and I visited this site for 3 nights. It is absolutely spotless, the toilets and showers are amazing and the owners and wardens are really friendly. The area is gorgeous though there is not a lot to do. If you just want to chill out, this is the place. We ran out of gas while we were there and I was prepared to pay over the odds because we were desperate. To my surprise it only cost 50p more than Go Outdoors. Five minute drive to Bala Lake, which is really nice. If I was in the area again I would definitely stay again. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: FamilyFriendsCamper 3 reviews from this member

 Great Location. Walk to the rapids in minutes. Only a fridge in camp shop with a few drinks and chocolate bars. Portaloos's on non electric side. They were clean. Staff were very uptight and the most frustrating thing of all our kids were not allowed to play ball. There was a large open place between the five tents that were on the field. Three of the tents had very small children that were playing whilst we cooked dinner. The warden came over and told them to stop. He said that no one had complained but it was the campsite policy and if they wanted to play football the six of them would have to go and play of the other field. Well they are too small to go on their own and all families were perplexed by this as they had to cook at the same time and this would mean having to go to the other field to watch them. It definitely spoiled our holiday. Friend had also come to visit and were slapped with an £8 car parking charge for just three hours. His response to this was well how many were in the car. This is a useless argument since he was not charging per occupant of the car. He said that they are using the camp facilities and wanted friends off the site by 8pm. Not very accommodating. For such a short camping season you would think that customer satisfaction comes first when being a campsite owner. Very Disappointed will not be returning.  
Management response: Allowing this group booking turned out to be our mistake, we had 150 + people on site with just this one group disregarding other people, they decided to work their own agenda right from the onset. We publish our Terms & Conditions on both our webpages which clearly state that we provide a Recreation Field where children are directed for all ball games and cycling, as it is strictly forbidden around the caravans and tents. Why did they choose a site that was obviously so unsuitable?

This particular group allowed their 4 year old to cycle ahead of them directly through the site, he was going full pelt and if it had not been for our eagle eyed warden stopping him he may well have cycled straight out through the open gate onto the road where we have already had a child hit by a car (hence the rule) where were the parents? Right at the top of the field putting their own bikes through the gate! but did they think to thank the lady who stopped their child and made him safe? No they took umbrage ~ poor little Jimmy could not ride his bike!

This group extended their numbers later in the day with visitors. The Price Guide is clearly displayed on the Notice Board with the price and information regarding visitors. It is permissible between 9am and 8pm over a Bank Holiday. The charge is £8 per car, our customers normally check if itís ok as many sites do not allow visitors especially over a Bank Holiday period.

Later when they were asked to stop playing football on the camping field and to please take the ball to the Recreation Field they became very intimidating to the warden, rather than talk one to one, all 7 berating him at the unfairness of it all. We provide and mow a 3 acre field and have put Goalposts and a Netball Post in it for the children, we just DO NOT allow ball games on the camping fields.

When this group were berating the warden for stopping the football the Visitors joined in with another moan! asking why our visiting charges were more expensive than parking in Liverpool 1? The warden asked if they normally took days out to a Car Park? Pointing out that he had paid for 5 people to come onto a private campsite, park his car, and make use of the campsite facilities ~ their choice! They were not our customers, and not expected! The campsite owner took a softball over to the grumbling customers as she felt sorry for the children whose parents would rather sit by their tents chatting with their glass of wine rather than taking their children to the Recreation Field and play with them, she did this at 8. 40 just as the visitors were leaving, so they also totally disregarded the 8pm departure.

To put the review into the true perspective:-

We have the main Toilet and Shower Block on the hook up field.

The Camping Field has 2 flushing toilets with wash hand basins in porta cabins, the chiller in the shop had bread, eggs, butter, milk, orange juice, chocolate biscuits, jam, coke, water, chocolate bars, plus many non-perishables in the shop. Ice Creams were also on sale which this group took advantage of.

Regarding families, we welcome families, but BE WARNED we only supply a 3 acre field where they may ride their bikes, kick a ball, play frisbee and scream and shout to their hearts content well away from our camping pitches keeping everyone happy. How many sites can boast that?


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: SLouiseB 2 reviews from this member

 Pretty little site away from the hustle & bustle but only a 5 minute drive to Bala.

One of the cleanest toilet/shower blocks, if not the best we've ever visited! Absolutely spotless and well stocked.

This was reflected throughout the site.

The site also has a lovely chilled, relaxed feel to it and nothing was too much trouble for the owner, Jean, who was very helpful with recommending and booking us somewhere to eat.

Wifi available, which was a relief after contending with the lack of phone signal throughout Wales and was just a £2 contribution to the air ambulance, which we thought was a wonderful idea.

All in all a fabulous little find. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dornier 3 reviews from this member

 Terrific site. Spotless toilets and showers. Rules on the site keep, children and the rowdy at bay. Lots of other signs about trivia that I was oblivious to.

The owners strive to make the site a really first class one and as such are quite clear about how they expect visitors to behave. To the normal amongst us it's perfectly normal behaviour and no issue at all.

The site is in a great location and even has its own direct launch point on the river for the kayak enthusiast just a hundred meters from the National Water-sports Centre. We were pitched right next to the launch point with a great view of the river just yards away. Bala lake is a few minutes drive away and the town has the amenities you need.

Yes it has midges, so does all of Wales at this time of year!

If you want a lovely clean site that is quiet at night with a great location then this is the place for you. If you want to drink and be rowdy then perhaps Newquay? 


Previous     124 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Tyn Cornel Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tyn Cornel Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Tyn Cornel Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bala      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4192 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement