Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tyn Cornel Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Bala > Tyn Cornel Camping > Reviews

Tyn Cornel Camping
Frongoch
Bala
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL23 7NU
Tel: 01678 520759
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 67
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 124 Reviews
                9/10 from 124 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  124 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gubs1 2 reviews from this member

 We visited for the fourth time over the Bank Holiday in August. We find this a very relaxing and clean site.

The owners were always very friendly, organised and willing to be of service and after a long journey from Norfolk this is always a big plus.

Places of interest are too many to name but the White Water Rafting complex a short walk from the campsite is worth a visit and our 2 children always enjoy watching the rafts and the soaking the occupants receive.

We personally hope this remains a hidden gem and can't wait to visit again in the coming months. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Anime 1 review from this member

 Beautifully maintained site in regards to the grounds and toilet block. Would be very much suited for the more mature customers as the staff although very hard working are extremely regimental in nature.

Definitely not suited for children. Make sure your dog is never off the lead as they are very much on the ball with this.

I think that if the atmosphere wasn't quite so tense, this site would be good.

All in all clean and tidy site but wouldn't go back as we personally prefer a much more relaxed site with much fewer rules and regulations. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Thkta0 11 reviews from this member

 Small site, immaculately kept, lovely staff/owners, enjoyed our stay here.

Four miles outside Bala and unfortunately not a road suitable to walk to town upon. Five minutes walk away from the whitewater centre, definitely worth a visit and a walk besides the river.

Toilets and showers were great, showers could do with being a little warmer, but difficult to please everyone. Facilities well thought out, dish washing area nice with chopping boards, etc. Tumble dryer if you need it.

Great dog walking field were you can let dogs off their leads which was most appreciated by our two.

All in all we had a great weekend having booked last minute. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LindsayH 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this campsite for a kayaking weekend on the River Tryweryn and the campsite’s location is perfect as it’s only a couple of minutes from the main centre (and for one section of the river you can launch from / land at the campsite which is great).

However, because it’s next to the river, we’ve heard reports that midgies can be a real problem, although they were fine during our stay because the weather was quite wet.

The campsite has the usual rules and they enforce them (our dog was briefly off lead and we got told quite quickly to keep him on the lead at all times) – though we don’t have a huge problem with that because the rules are usually there for a good reason and I’d prefer it if they were enforced than to see people abusing them.

The shower block was very good – clean and warm – and there are a couple of extra toilets in a separate block (they look like portaloos but are proper flushing toilets inside and were kept very clean). There wasn’t really a shop to speak of on site though (other than ice creams) so you need to go into nearby Bala to get supplies.

The site did, however, get very muddy in places whilst we were there (a wet bank holiday weekend) so I’d recommend wellies. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mr+mrsC 4 reviews from this member

 I have just returned from an overnight stay at this campsite. My parents were staying there for a few days and I decided to drive over and join them as a 'guest'.

I didn't arrive until 7. 45pm, but Jean was great (even though I interrupted her dinner) and was extremely friendly and chatty. I only briefly met the wardens but they too seemed friendly and very helpful.

The site itself is immaculate. The showers/loos are extremely clean and the outside washing up area was spotless too. The grass was short, the pitches nice and flat and the scenery beautiful.

It was a lovely quiet site, only a handful of children who were very well behaved and respectful. I think this would be a nice site for adults wanting some rest and relaxation.

I should think I will definitely return again, and am quite gutted that I've already booked my week in August elsewhere! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clarky94 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed there for the first time, very helpful owners,

Excellent facilities, impressed with the cleanliness of the toilet block & shower facilities which are maintained to a very high standard,

There's a shop on site open until late and the owners will open to deal with emergencies,

The white water centre is only a short walk away and its only a five minute drive to bala town,

Will stay here again as its one of the best camp sites I've visited in north wales,

All in all a very peaceful relaxing camp site that's well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jonicola 1 review from this member

 Very well equipped site with good facilities, very clean toilets. The owners were very helpful and nice. Shower on a timer that is way to short, you have to press a button every 20 seconds which was a pain.

Great for dogs and walks in the country, on site shop selling some basics. All Electric pitches are with the caravans and campers and in a separate field from the other tents.

I was not keen on the numerous rules around the campsite, I understand that rules are needed but seemed a little over the top.

Booked for 5 nights but after 2 days of heavy rain our tent had rained though so had to cut our stay short, no offer of a refund by the site which was disappointing.

Bala is a very nice town with good shops.

Overall this is a very good site, and we would stay again in the future. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Campermaid 20 reviews from this member

 A quiet and relaxing camp site. The owners, and stand in Warden were very, very friendly and most helpful.

The no noise after 11pm rule suited us fine. If you want rowdy, late and boozy nights this campsite isn't for you.

We aren't doggy lovers particularly but we found the presence of dogs (lots of them) to be no problem, as all the owners kept them on their leads and walked them in the dog walking area. We never heard any disturbance from dogs at all.

The washing facilities were fantastic, clean showers and lots of hot water. Not a great deal to do close by, but enough for us in our short stay.

We would recommend this site to all who want a peaceful break. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JohntheT25 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for three nights during a warm and dry April on a hardstanding pitch with hookup.

The site is immaculate, not a thing out of place and spotlessly clean. There is a fridge/freezer in the washing up area which can be used (free of charge). The showers were clean and warm and Included in the site fee. The shop stocked basics, and ice cream! (which we didn't expect to be eating in April)

We took our dog (must be kept on a lead obviously). There is plenty of space between vans. There is a dog walking field where dogs can be walked off their leads and a small 30 minute (approx) long from the end of the site, past the white water centre and along the river.

We drove through Bala on the way but didn't return as it was more driving distance than walking distance due to it being a walk along the roads to get there. There are no other shops/pubs/facilities in walking distance other than Bala. This didn't bother us during our three day relaxing stay. A nice place for relaxing. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Matthew235 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from our 5th stay at Tyn Cornel and thought it was about time we left a review.

We have stayed at various campsites around the Snowdonia area in search for the ideal site and in finding Tyn Cornel we have hit the nail on the head.

The site is exceptionally well run by the owners Jean and Pete, who are obviously passionate about providing an enjoyable camping (or caravanning) experience for their customers. Of particular note is the cleanliness of the facilities. The toilets, showers, washing up area and the site in general are kept to an extremely high standard.

However, it's not just the immaculate facilities which keep us coming back year after year. The location is fantastic. The site sits alongside the River Tryweryn which is popular with kayakers and canoeists and Bala is just 5-10 minutes away, with it's shops, pubs etc.

There is a lovely short circular walk accessible from the site, which runs up alongside the river and past the White Water centre. Fishing also is available on site, something we've not tried yet but definitely intend to.

Your every need is catered for at Tyn Cornel. There is a well stocked cabin for those things you may have forgotten and they also sell many food stuffs including ice cream, biscuits, milk, beans etc.

There are board games available to hire here as well and they even have wifi. Jean and Pete are so friendly and always have time to stop and chat and give you advice. I think their site is a benchmark in quality that many other sites would do well to take note of.

I can't recommend this site highly enough, absolutely perfect for a quiet, relaxing break. Try it, you won't be disappointed. 


Previous     124 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Tyn Cornel Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tyn Cornel Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Tyn Cornel Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bala      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5014 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement