Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Barnard Castle > Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Dockenflatts Lane
Lartington
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 9DG
Tel: 01833 630228
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 04/07/2020 to 02/11/2020
           01/03/2021 to 02/11/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 110 Reviews
                9/10 from 110 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Cpw1984 3 reviews from this member

 Really enjoyed our stay here. The staff were really friendly, facilities were clean, if a little dated, and the grass pitches were nice and level. There was a good play area for the kids too.

We enjoyed the short walk into town and drove to visit High Force during our stay. The pub at High Force is also well worth a visit and is child and dog friendly.

The only drawback for us was the lack of a bath in the parent room. There wasnít even a shower in there, but the staff very kindly gave us a key for the disabled shower room which was really helpful for showering our 1 year old. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Custard15 18 reviews from this member

 This Camping and Caravanning Club site conforms to expectations. The location is nice and quiet (not along a roadside like another locally), although it would be a long walk into town, and thereís no buses on a Sunday.

The pitches are a reasonable size and are accessed via a tarmac road network. Sadly, the hard standing pitches are not fully level, so campervans and motorhomes mostly use ramps to correct a little.

The facilities block is spacious, with plenty of loos, showers and wash rooms for the numbers of people on site Ė the site was full during our visit. Cubicles have 6 hooks AND a stool and additional light, the water is lovely and hot. Thereís also washing up sinks, albeit the normal massive sink with low water flow (so itís hard to fill) and only a single draining board, so pots in and out on the same side. Thereís a well situated motorhome service point Ė always a great bonus of club sites.

The greatest frustration this weekend was the electric hook-up, which was over-loaded (thanks to visitors who donít seem to understand that you canít run numerous heaters, hair dryers etc. in a caravan without blowing the circuitsÖ not only for yourself, but for others.

Understandably, the on-site staff were unable to keep replacing fuses all night, and that left a large proportion of visitors without light or heat from 9:30pm until long after breakfast. We were lucky, on the second night, the electric stayed on in our area, but others were not so lucky.

More could be done to inform visitors about reasonable loads and the risk of total power loss overnight, perhaps then a few more would take a bit more caution. So take the precaution of having secondary heat if itís going to be cold overnight and donít rely on charging anything over night. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ct955 47 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site on the outskirts of the town adjacent to a working farm.

Clean and tidy club style facilities, dog walk on and off site. Friendly wardens and well maintained pitches. It is quite a hike into town and good strong shoes needed.

Lots to do in the area, would return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LBBK 44 reviews from this member

 The approach road is rather narrow & pot holed but there are passing places. Staff gave us a friendly welcome including instructions on the walking route to town (allow 45 mins to reach the shops on the main path: avoid scenic detours in the woods - we got lost!

We were also slightly concerned at the warning of loose farm dogs but they weren't any problem as the farm is a working horse stables and the dogs are clearly very used to visitors). Site reception also sold some basic provisions, ice creams & papers to order. There was plenty of tourist info available. Wifi signal on our pitch was good.

Pitches: level with short grass. There is tree shelter around the edge of the site and more open/exposed/sunnier pitches in the central area.

Facilities: a central, large, new, clean block that was a pleasure to use.

Chip van twice a week. We didn't use it but others gave good reports.

Any complaints? obsessive grass cutting & the hairdryer in the ladies broken. Otherwise hard to fault!

Barnard Castle is a large market town with all facilities. We recommend the walk on the Teesdale Way to the ruins of Egglestone Abbey a couple of miles to the east. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: WOBBLE 22 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to this site, only 45 miles from home, spent 2 nights. Access to the site is along a narrow road (passing places along the road) about 1\2 mile from main road. And 2 miles from Barnard castle, plenty of shops pubs restaurants as well as Bowes museum. The pitches are level and well spaced. Toilet block is a little dated inside but always clean. TV reception was poor on our pitch because of trees, (left hand side of site). We will us site again for a quick break. Wardens were helpful and friendly, and loved our Scotties. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: PedroPete61 22 reviews from this member

 Having been here last year this was my first stop heading North and once again a lovely site.

The Wardens may have changed but the welcome was a pleasure.

Open area, quiet my cup of tea.

Once set up off to the village 2 miles away for Food the Fox and Hounds.

The ale is kept well and the place was the same as before.

Will be back next year 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chris5mph 31 reviews from this member

 As immaculate as one expects from a Camping Club site and I rejoiced to discover proper taps in the showers, not those push button things that always turn off at the wrong time.

I sometimes wonder whether club sites would be better with slightly longer grass, which may show less marks of previous occupation.

The attractions of the surrounding area (the dales, the hills, the villages and town, castles and houses) are stunning, and will warrant a further visit.

When we were on site there did seem to be an unusually high number of small yappy dogs (irritating), many obviously not trained to walk on leads, and some owners who thought that the 'dogs on leads' rule does not apply to their prize pooch.

With the site about half or more full, including some units with pre-school age children, I saw only two cars travelling at 5mph (my own and the parents of a toddler). Most were driving at 15mph or more! 5mph is walking speed! 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vivvyb 1 review from this member

 First class site. Wardens very friendly and helpful. Facilities spotlessly clean and warm!Even let us stay a couple of extra hours because it was not too busy. Very safe with barrier for vehicle entry. Ideal site for tents as completely flat. We will definitely use this site again. 


Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jojobo01 13 reviews from this member

 Arrived at 1pm and shown to our pitch.

Lovely site with really lovely facilities, toilets and showers great and nice hot water.

Kids enjoyed the small park area.

Everyone was so friendly and was really lovely couple of nights.

Only thing is there is a large amount of crows in the trees that's not the site but they were quite loud.

We shall return as our kids loved it 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stuart l 90 reviews from this member

 We broke our journey south from Scotland with a three night visit to 'Barney'.

The site situated at the top of a single file road with passing places, leading to the odd anxious moment when we came in and left.

We were invited to take a pitch fairly close to the amenity block, which suited us well. As expected of Club sites, it was well presented, and the amenities were always clean. The site was also very peaceful - very welcome after a week with our grandchildren!

Barnard Castle is 1. 5 miles down the road, where there is a Morrisons supermarket as well as many small shops and cafes. On suggestion of the wardens we had a meal at the Three Horseshoes Inn. It tuned out that we were fortunate to get in, as booking is normally essential. The meals were excellent and reasonably priced.

Car parking in the town can be at a bit of a premium - especially on Wednesdays, which is market day. There are buses from the end of the site driveway - but not that frequent.

TeesDale is a lovely area to explore; Middleton in Teasdale is also a pleasant backwater, whilst a visit to 'Locomotion' at Shildon is worth the experience. The 'Flying Scotsman' was on display at the time of our visit. There is no entrance fee and a large car park.

Club prices can be heavy, but this was still before the school holidays, so the site fees were not bad,

A fish & chip van visits the site on Wednesday and Friday evenings - an seemed to do a lively trade. His produce was lovely!

All in all, for a visit to the Durham area, or a stop-off when heading north if the border, Barnard Castle Camping & Caravanning site makes a pleasant venue. 


Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barnard Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1343 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement