Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Barnard Castle > Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Dockenflatts Lane
Lartington
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 9DG
Tel: 01833 630228
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/03 to 02/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 110 Reviews
                9/10 from 110 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gone on holiday 30 reviews from this member

 We went to this site in June just after the high winds that weekend. We travelled North on the A1 to Scotch Corner, then the A66. We took the 1st turning, approx. 13 miles from A1 that said Barnard Castle - DONT TAKE THIS ROAD, go to next turning, opposite a farm shop (I think) with grass roof, as this takes you straight to the traffic lights just outside Barnard Castle, go through traffic lights then as you go up the road you pass the Caravan Club Site which is on the road side. Approx half a mile further there is a sign for the Caravan & Camping Club Site on the left, take the left turn and around half a mile up a winding lane to the site. There is passing places in the lane if something should be coming the opposite direction.

Check in was smooth, we had booked a hard standing pitch and asked for one with sun in the afternoon, we were shown a few pitches and decided on one on the hedge side opposite the toilet block then next field down. It was a lovely pitch, room for caravan, awning & parking car to the front. It was still quiet windy when we arrived around 1:30pm so decided to wait to see if winds would drop, which did nr tea time, so we put up our awning then.

The following day was cloudy, we walked into Barnard Castle from the site, turn left as you leave the site entrance and left again into the lane (this lane ran at the back of our pitch) walk toward the farm and go into the farm yard (public right of way), then head right, there is arrows pointing the way, once out of the farm yard you walk between fenced off areas that had horses in the fields either side. You then walk through a small wooded area out onto a gravel path until you come to the main road, cross over the road & a bridge, you can see Barnard Castle from here, then turn right to walk into Barnard Castle, or go uphill, this walk will bring you out in the main square of the town. I think it's approx. 4. 5 miles there and back. After the cloudy start the sun came out the following day and we had it all week.

The site was lovely & quiet except when the warden was on his grass cutter which was nearly every day, but only for about 10 minutes at a time, so no big deal. The showers was clean and lovely & hot. We really enjoyed this site & will be back. The Fish & Chip van came Friday & the Pizza van Saturday, both times there were queues for the food. The Pizza van had a proper wooden oven to cook your pizza. You sometimes had a tractor or wagon down the lane at the back of our pitch going to the farm, other than that, heaven.

We have only just joined The Caravan & Camping Club, we were already members of the Caravan Club, and although we did not look around the CC site I would still stay here due to it being half a mile from the road, so peaceful. As a pair of young OAP's we also get discounts on the price paid, I think it would have cost around £7 per night more at the CC site.

We had lunch in the Three Horseshoes pub in Barnard Castle, a lovely pub & the food was nice too.

One day we went to High Force, parked in the car park £2 for car, & I think £2 each to walk to High Force waterfall, you get your tickets from the shop in CP. We called at Middleton on Tees on way home and got some lovely sausages from the local butchers for our BBQ, they were lovley, the burgers were too thin though. We also had a coffee at the coffee shop next to the Co-op in the village.

Another day we went to a garden centre, another we parked at Bowless Visitors Centre, car park charge was voluntary, then walked through wood to Horseshoe Falls & Gibsons Cave, I really like this walk. From here we walked down to Low Force, there were kids jumping off the bridge into the water, under supervision, the rafting down the falls. Also from here you could walk to High Force 1. 5 miles which we will do on our next visit. All in all a lovley area & site, we will be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 134 reviews from this member

 The site is located 2 ¼ miles from Barnard Castle on at an exposed elevated location. Trees and bushes do afford some shelter from the prevailing wind. Generous sized pitches and friendly staff make up for this minor shortfall.

A public footpath runs parallel to the site and affords a mile long riverside/woodland walk into Barnard Castle. However this footpath goes through the adjoining farm land/property with untethered farm dogs that have been known to bite walkers. This issue is of local concern and the site warden informed me local Police have been involved. One to watch out for, especially if you are out walking with young children or dogs.

The central toilet block, whilst functional is quite dated and could do with a refurbishment. Reception has some basic provisions and can provide a daily paper if ordered in advance.

Barnard Castle has numerous eateries, pubs, a Morrison’s Supermarket plus Co-op and local shops, live music at the Old Well Inn, plus the truly amazing Bowes Museum. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Banditmum 4 reviews from this member

 We spent five days on this peaceful, off-the-beaten-track site and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. They have all the spotlessly clean facilities we have come to expect at Camping and Caravanning Club Sites. Set in beautiful countryside with plenty of walks from and nearby the site. We will certainly be returning again, hopefully often! 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Special01 42 reviews from this member

 Not stayed on site before. Friendly and helpful wardens. Stayed for 4 nights. Good toilet block. Good showers. Good dog walk too. Very quite site. On a clear night good view of star's in the sky. ( no light polution) Barnard Castle nice town. The Castle is also worth a visit. (english heritage) we visited swaledale. Wensleydale. Hawes. Etc. Well worth another visit to area. 4 nights OAP rate £44. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Irvine45 71 reviews from this member

 Stayed here over the Easter weekend. It is a nice site, not far from the town. The walk to town was a bit muddy and steepish in places but the chance of seeing wild deer makes it worth it.

The welcome is friendly and the facilities very good and clean. Although, it was wet when I arrived and the ground a bit boggy, the following day the ground was very firm.

Would return to this site without issue. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mr Beanz 3 reviews from this member

 Did a weekend visit to the site, arriving Friday evening. Friendly welcome from wardens and shown to pitch. Site was reasonably busy but not full and warden made sure we were happy with the pitch. Facilities are typical of Camping and Caravan Club sites. This one has a small play area for children which was OK for younger children. Toilet / Shower block was clean (closed at 11am for 90 mins daily cleaning) and had adequate numbers of showers / toilets / washing cubicles for the size of the site but was a little barn like with high roof and quite noisy almost industrial extractors.

Pizza van visits Friday evening (not tried but reputedly good) and Fish and Chip van on Wednesday and Saturday evenings which we did try. This has a deserved excellent reputation which results in a long queue - but well worth the wait.

There is a small shop at reception which sell basics but otherwise there are no shops / pubs etc nearby - others have mentioned the access road as being difficult but we had no problem (there are a good number of passing places on this single track road) and a bus stop on the main road near the access road - bus timetables from the wardens.

There is a lovely walk along paths into Barnard Castle which goes through Deepdale Nature Reserve and the wardens have produced a sheet with detailed instructions so you don't get lost - well worth 20p. The walk is about 1. 5 miles and would be muddy in a few places after rain.

Barnard Castle has a large range of cafes, coffee / tea rooms and pubs as well as interesting (non-chain) shops.

Would we use the site again - yes.

The site was quiet as befitting the tranquil setting. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cwilkinsonfamily 21 reviews from this member

 Great site with good facilities and very friendly staff. Only stayed one night as we were heading to Durham but would definitely stay here again. Very clean toilets etc. Extra plus was the chip van which came on the Saturday night. Queue was enormous but everyone was in good humour and we had several nice conversations while waiting. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Magieann 7 reviews from this member

 Great site with good facilities and very friendly staff. We stayed for two nights on our way back home. We enjoyed the walk into Barny with its variety of shops and pubs, it took us about 40 minutes but was well worth it. We would definitely stay here again.

The toilets were very clean and the showers were hot. The chip van which came on a Wednesday and Saturday night was a bonus, the queue was enormous but everyone waited patiently and in good humour. The fish and chips were the best I have had in along time and well worth the wait 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The fab 4 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Barnard castle camping and caravan site from 21-06-14 to the 04-07-14. We travelled up from Lincolnshire and our friends from Derbyshire, the entrance/ exit route for the site is approximately half a mile of single track road with passing places, shared with the farm behind the site, that said we had no problems with traffic over our stay. The site itself is security barrier protected at both entrance and exit routes and operates a one way system for traffic on site. We had a touring caravan and our friends a family tent for our stay. And requested 2 pitches side-by-side and were successful. There is a small camp shop which was reasonably priced, the staff were always friendly and helpful, the facilities were we thought of a good standard, and very clean, we never had any problems with the hot water, there is only one facilities block on site, water/rubbish points were not too far away no matter which pitch you had. There is a dog walking area behind the shower block but it is not totally secure unlike some sites we've visited. There's an information area under cover outside the camp shop. We took a walk to 'barny' along the route obtained from the camp shop, it's a great walk but it's a 'walkers' walk, not a stroll, but well worth it the dogs enjoyed it. Barnard Castle is a gem of a town, and the castle ruins give some nice views of the area, there's a supermarket (Morrisons) in the town, plenty of pubs and cafés, we found plenty to do even though limited to where we could go by having the dogs with us. A great site to give access to North Yorkshire and Co Durham, we visited Durham another very nice City. Would definitely recommend timing your visit to coincide with the Miners Gala held annually. Great site, great staff, we would recommend this site we had a great holiday, thank you. We would give the site a 9/10 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Biscuit lover 1 review from this member

 My husband and I stayed here for two nights midweek. The site is very well maintained and quite level. They offer all types of pitches from tents to hard standing with electric (no water hook ups).

There isn't really much to say other than its a quiet site which is not within walking distance of the gorgeous Barnard Castle.

One tiny let down. The wardens were unable to suggest a local pub to watch the football because they don't go out. I'm on holiday! I'm not asking you to come just to provide me with local info. :) 


Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barnard Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4790 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement