Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Co Durham > Barnard Castle > Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Dockenflatts Lane
Lartington
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 9DG
Tel: 01833 630228
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 123 Reviews
                9/10 from 123 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  123 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mazzey 24 reviews from this member

 Very warm welcome and super helpful friendly wardens.

Beautifully kept site although could.

To avoid churning up the grass to get onto the shortish but wide pitch -

Wash rooms sooo warm and spotlessly clean.

Washing up area in a warm room too. 


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: GWTE 23 reviews from this member

 Back again for another visit to the site and an area we know quite well. Much is the same as it was for our last visit except we were given a choice of pitches.

Last time we were there I mentioned the poor condition of the approach road, well this has been massively improved. The road had been resurfaced and not a pot hole to be found.

As we are eligible for an age concession the cost was less than 22, which we thought was excellent value.

Only disappointment was that the wifi was not very good whilst we were there. 


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jldon1 1 review from this member

 This was our first caravanning experience so have nothing to compare with but the site was extremely well kept with excellent facilities and very helpful and friendly staff.

The only downside was the WiFi, we had it for the 1st day then nothing for 6 days.

The staff said they were waiting for it to be fixed but it never was, very disappointing.

Overall a very god experience. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Acting_strange 8 reviews from this member

 As with most C & CC sites the pitches are great and facilities very clean etc. It is a quiet site with all kinds of of bird and wildlife if you care to be quiet and observe.

The walk into Barnard castle through the farm and wood is thoroughly enjoyable but can be taxing on the elderly and infirm.

The bus service from outside the entrance is great and less work on the legs.

My biggest criticism of our stay was the smell from the pig farm at the bottom of the site which almost made us leave early and certainly made mealtimes hard work as the smell was disgusting. It must be remembered however that this was not in the C & CC control. 


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: ChrisBradburn 30 reviews from this member

 Pleasant and quiet site. 1. 5 mile walk through a nature reserve, to Barnard castle.

Level pitches with good facilities, if a little tired.

Very pleasant staff on site, good TV signal & 4g signal was OK. Couldn't connect to the site WIFI. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Kate w 70 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 5 nights at Barnard castle CCC site. I had a friends birthday party in Bishop Auckland on Saturday night and I knew this was a great site from a previous visit and only about 25 minutes away.

Decided to turn a party into a holiday. Lovely welcome from the warden, advised to take my pick of the pitches.

Over the 5 nights there were only around 15 units on site each night.

There are now safari tents at the top end of the site since my previous visit.

Toilet block is kept well, cleaned daily. Water points easy to access. Refuse is up a corner with general and recycling bins. There is no road noise, only thing that was annoying was crows cawing in the trees at the back of the site. There are a lot of them to wake you up first thing in the morning.

Bowes museum isn't far away and well worth a visit. I decided to head further North to Vindolanda one day and got caught out by snow on the return trip, in hindsight perhaps a little too far away across the moors. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Kate w 70 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 5 nights at Barnard castle CCC site. I had a friends birthday party in Bishop Auckland on Saturday night and I knew this was a great site from a previous visit and only about 25 minutes away. Decided to turn a party into a holiday.

Lovely welcome from the warden, advised to take my pick of the pitches. Over the 5 nights there were only around 15 units on site each night. There are now safari tents at the top end of the site since my previous visit.

Toilet block is kept well, cleaned daily. Water points easy to access. Refuse is up a corner with general and recycling bins. There is no road noise, only thing that was annoying was crows cawing in the trees at the back of the site. There are a lot of them to wake you up first thing in the morning.

Bowes museum isn't far away and well worth a visit. I decided to head further North to Vindolanda one day and got caught out by snow on the return trip, in hindsight perhaps a little too far away across the moors. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Redria 2 reviews from this member

 Great site nothing to dislike.

The town itself has great food stops and we did some walks as provided by tourist information in the town.

Site is well maintained. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Truediamond 111 reviews from this member

 Standards have overtaken C &. C Club. We joined the Club about 14 years ago when C &C Sites were of a standard well above average and were competitively priced.

It is difficult to get away from the conclusion that things have changed and the club has not kept up in many areas, except for the continuing excellence of Site staff.

Barnard castle is a good example, toilets and other facilities are clean and kept scrupulously so but are quite long in the tooth. The Site is well placed in the middle of fields and only ~1. 5 miles by footpath from town. There's lots of space and hard standing.

The site wifi has 'improved' but only to the extent that it's now free and you're not paying for its unreliable performance.

Summer prices are high, we paid 42/night for a van, 2 over 65 adults and serviced pitch. 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Happy Grandad 2 reviews from this member

 Spent 4 nights here, the site was well laid out and level. The site is well, maintained and clean.

The toilet block is immaculate and all the facilities were well kept.

The wardens were very friendly and welcoming and eager to assist. (Even when herding the sheep that came through the hedge to visit).

There is nothing negative about this lovely quiet site.

I would recommend this to anyone. 


Previous     123 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barnard Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


13321 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement