Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Barnard Castle > Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Dockenflatts Lane
Lartington
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 9DG
Tel: 01833 630228
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/03 to 02/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 110 Reviews
                9/10 from 110 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Clarelmiller 16 reviews from this member

 Had a quick walk around before checking in, and had spotted a pitch which suited us down to the ground, requested it and it was not a problem.

The site managers are very welcoming and helpful. The whole site is very flat and level, and the grass was being mowed every day, and looked very well kept, as is everything else on site, the managers never stopped for a minute.

The reception has the very basics for sale and has a wealth of information on the area.

There are not a lot of large ehu grass pitches, so booking would be essential if you have a larger unit.

There are great walks to be found for dog owners, and lots of access points to them around the site, which we found wonderful.

There is a very small play area for kids.

Next door is Raygill Farm, where you can horse ride. You can also access the walk in to Barnard castle, it takes about 35 minutes, and is a lovely place. It has loads of shops, restaurants, pubs and a street market on a Wednesday, there is also a Morrisons.

The weather was great for April, and it topped off a fantastic week at a fantastic site. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 2Woof 1 review from this member

 Just returned from this site and it is very pleasant. Staff are friendly and cheery, site is very well kept, facilities exceptional.

Only issue we had as the power is on one fuse, and so tripped the whole site twice a night. However it was soon fixed and back up and running.

There is a list of what items use so much electric given to you when you arrive. I am guessing that due to the time of year people had heaters, kettles and tv's on which was too much.

Despite this I would recommend and will be returning 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kensai 15 reviews from this member

 What a lovely little site this is. Tucked away down a lane not far from Barnard Castle. The site is fairly small but very neat and tidy. The facility block is positioned about half way along the site so no matter where you are pitched you not far from them. The block is big and modern, very warm and very clean in fact the best I have seen in a C & CC club site. The staff were all pleasant with a cheery greeting, and they were very busy tidying up for winter when we were there. We were give a choice of pitches by the warden and he was eager to give any assistance. The shop is small but well stocked for essentials. Well run happy site.

There are plenty of shrubs and trees about the site, so wildlife is plentiful especially the birds. There is a small neat play area and a dog walk adjacent.

We visited Barney as it is known walked along the high street with a good assortment of local shops. There is a Morrison’s if you need to stock up for a longer stay. There was of course the Castle itself, managed by English Heritage and well worth a visit in the spring and summer it would be brilliant for a Picnic. Great views can be had from the top of the tower and there is a sensory garden in the grounds. Bowes museum is not far and on a good day High Force in Teesdale is well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alan Blacklee 3 reviews from this member

 Have just enjoyed our first camping trip and loved it. This site is fantastic, very quiet and the facilities block is awesome and extremely clean. Wash basins in their own cubicles and hot showers at all times everything about this site is spotless.

Wonderful walks in the area and everything you need including a local Chinese that delivers to the site. Loved it so much we have already booked second visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Troutpout 6 reviews from this member

 Nice site

Clean modern all singing/all dancing facilities. Everything you could want, if you want an extremely well organised (if somewhat regimental) site.Nice showers,plentiful hot water. Separate sink cubicles. Only one soap dispenser and handryer though, which seemed a bit odd considering the amount of other things.I'm nit picking now though really.

Laundry fantastic and Washing up area good and well thought out. Tap and bin areas well placed.

Lots of other facilities which I never used but poked my head in and all all looked spot on

Central play area for children slightly away from units so no worries about them being a pain to people when they got excited with the other kids. My 2 had as much fun playing in the bushes surrounding the play area (lots of tunnels) as with the play equipment itself.

Good amount of trees and birds/wildlife at backs of pitches.Families of birds and rabbits about. Lots of wildlife noises.Sheep doing their sheep thing all day and night.

Good base for lots of surrounding attractions. Beautiful area.

Would definitely use again for a stop off between camps and for use of facilities on way to something a bit more smaller/ basic. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Martindoggy 10 reviews from this member

 Absolutely brilliant site! maybe the best I've ever been to.

Immaculately clean throughout hot showers. The wardens were really helpful and friendly. The surrounding area is fantastic loads to see and do.The walk walk is one of the best I've ever seen.Will be a regular here I think.

Night time was peaceful and quiet, reminded us why we are members. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KEITH BLACKETT 2 reviews from this member

 Have just spent a week at 'barnie', fantastic! Site is immaculate as where the facilities as you would expect from a C & C club site. The host where welcoming and helpful throughout. Excellent cheap washing facilities on site £2 for a full load washed and dried. If you don't mind sheep 'baaa-ing' through the day and night this is the site for you. Excellent flat level site, large pitches access road could be dodgy with a large towing unit but have seen worse. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: AandEsmum 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back ourselves from a fantastic 3 night stay with our new trailer tent. The site is perfect if you're like us and have 2 small people under 6. The site itself is well thought out and has hard standing pitches for caravans and motorhomes and pitches with electric hook up for tents, caravans, trailers tents etc., and pitches without if you've got your own or don't need it! The pitches near the play area are great if you've got kids of your own as you can just sit and keep an eye on them while they play.

At the other side of the play area is the toilet block/laundry/dishwashing areas and there are no pitches in front or at the side - so no noise in the middle of the night! If you've not got children of your own or just want peace and quiet away from the children there are plenty of pitches away from the play area. The facilities are superb and are spotlessly clean. The reception area has a little shop which supplies the basics for when you run out of milk etc. All in all a superb little site which we'll be going back to shortly! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ernbarton 18 reviews from this member

 A great site for walking and taking in some breath taking scenery.

The site is as of what would be expected of the camping and caravan club, spotless friendly and everything at hand.

The toilet block was immaculate along with the washing up facilities, the shop was well stocked and the staff friendly, with plenty of essentials on sale.

The dog walk was great with gates at different intervals or you could go full circle and walk into Barnard Castle itself, you wont be disappointed.

Just after we had pitched our tent the heavens opened and what followed was the mother of all downpours, the grass drained well but the road way seemed to hold water for the full weekend (bit of tarmac wouldn't go a miss)

We visited High Force and the waterfall was breathtaking then we progressed on to the visitors centre at bowlees, if you like walking drop in the visitors centre before and then take a scenic walk to High Force and back. If you can spare the time have a look at Low Force its a beautiful scenic 20 minute walk with a series of small waterfalls and finishing with a delightful waterfall and cave.

All in all a fantastic weekend from the site to the beautiful surrounding areas. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Georgiegirl104 20 reviews from this member

 As said before, nice site, always clean and there was plenty to keep us going.

One gripe though - the hard standing is all situated up-hill directly across the access road from the grass with electric pitches and when it rains the grass pitches flood out - as we know to our cost! (when I say flood I mean ankle deep water). We had to pack up and come home a day early, although our tent had coped remarkably well with the situation, as my husband remarked it isn't a boat!

We might go again - but only if it isn't going to rain (or we buy a boat)! 


Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barnard Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


908 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement