Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Barnard Castle > Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Dockenflatts Lane
Lartington
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 9DG
Tel: 01833 630228
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/03 to 02/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 110 Reviews
                9/10 from 110 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Prboyd 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely, well run site with friendly, helpful wardens.

Given choice of pitch on arrival. Good hard standing areas (or grass) with plenty of water / waste points / bins.

Area nicely broken up with shrubs / bushes etc.

There is a play area for kids.

Toilets etc immaculate.

Small 'shop' keeps basics.

Don't miss the fish and chip van but get there early!

Site security is good with entry and exit barriers.

Would certainly visit again! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bongobingo 2 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to barnard castle.

We stayed at this campsite for 2 weeks in June. We were welcomed by a very friendly team and given a choice of hard standings (previously booked)and the site manager helped us position our van and pointed out where everything was - especially the dog walk and also how to walk into 'Barney'. The site was very well presented, toilets and showers very clean (we did not have to queue at all) and the staff seemed to be constantly working around the site. The mobile fish and chip van was excellent with freshly cooked food - yes, there was a queue but it was worth the wait and the next visit we made sure that one of us was at the front. The ONLY complaint was the useless Wi-Fi - VERY poor coverage (hence 9 out of ten). Apart from that a great fortnight. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JEPattison 3 reviews from this member

 This site is off the main road but far off enough not to hear traffic. Clean and flat and the site has a one way system so it's relatively safe for wandering kids. However the site was dominated by the road and although there was a kids playground, it was pinned in by roads at either side and the site had no apparent open space for kids to run about. Our pitch was a 'Jumbo' tent pitch and our tent wasn't large. We had just enough room but not loads. We were surprised at how close to the road cars were parked which we felt was a bit unsafe for kids visibility wise. We were surprised how packed the site was and how close the units were together and were pleased that we opted for a larger pitch. We fancied chips from the chip van one night but the queue was ridiculous. Hubby went, came back deciding to try again later, went back 45 mins later and the same people were still waiting. Good job we brought supplies from the supermarket. Have to say that it comes late as well - 7. 30ish which too late for the kids to eat who were asleep by then. As CCC members were were disappointed and won't be going back due to how crammed in it was, the queue for ladies showers, the wait to get to our pitch and the amount of transit vans on site and the other comments mentioned. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gasman01 4 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a very cold but enjoyable Easter weekend at Barnaby Castle, originally we had booked for a site in north wales but this was cancelled due to heavy snow and ice on the site so we picked this location as there were still spaces available.

The site is excellent, very flat, the toilet blocks and showers were immaculate all weekend and the staff/wardens on duty were all very friendly and helpful, the site was practically empty all weekend due to earlier weather related cancellations so we couldn't get a true feel for the site but we will definitely return.

The town of Barnard castle is worth visiting and the nearby high force waterfall is also worth a visit, the only word of warning I would offer is the very narrow access road to the site off the main road, it is only single lane with maybe three or four passing places and twists and turns with a narrow bridge to cross, we didn't meet anybody coming the other way fortunately but I reckon in high season it could be a bit of a challenge to say the least. Other than that a cracking little site to visit. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Kate w 54 reviews from this member

 Just got back from 4 nights here. Arrived to a very warm welcome, shown several pitches we could choose from, all were very flat. We were on a grass with electric, good soil for normal tent pegs, no rock pegs needed here. I would have booked a hardstanding if there was one to book on the website but they were all booked. Was glad we got a grass one as we were all on our own at the far end of the site, whereas the hardstandings were quite crammed in the other end.

Lovely peaceful site. Only traffic noise is from a farm drive, the occasional tractor or car. Shower block is large, warm and clean. Although we'd not got the kids with us there was a nice little playground for small children. Nothing for older ones though and no ball games allowed. (I do wish both the big clubs would provide fenced in areas where they could play football / Basketball/ tennis etc. Without problems like you see in family friendly sites on the continent. )

A chip van visits on Saturday and Wednesday nights, good fish and chips.

Barnard Castle is a lovely town, the Bowes Museum is a must visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chris watson 2 reviews from this member

 From the warm welcome when we arrived this was the start of a lovely stay. The pitches are beautifully laid out with lots of room and a nice grass space between. The toilets, showers and basins were kept really clean, water lovely and hot, my favourite was the enclosed basins so you could be private, wish all sites did this. No children with us but those that were seemed to enjoy the small play ground. Barnard Castle is lovely with lots of antique shops, spent too much but whats a holiday for. There is lots to do in the area, an Abbey, the castle and near to the lakes. Must also mention the lovely fish and chips van which calls on site. I only would do one thing a few more refuse bins. Once again thanks to the wardens who keep it in the style. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dgs/xekaz 5 reviews from this member

 Having recently joined the Camping and Caravan Club (C&CC) (which in our opinion, is more geared towards caravanners than campers), we decided to opt for a visit to Barnard Castle Camping and Caravanning Club Site. On arrival to this relatively secluded site, we were met in the reception area by the wardens who presented as being friendly, polite and very helpful.

After being booked-in, we were shown to out tent pitch which was level and thankfully very well drained, as the constant, and sometimes torrential rain, lasted non-stop for the next 3 days. The site itself is well maintained, with the toilets, showers and dish washing facilities all being very clean, with plenty of hot water on demand.

At the reception area, there are a selection of information leaflets about days out, local attractions and an OS map of the area, etc. The reception also doubles as a shop selling some basic food essentials and ice-cream, etc. A book exchange is also available, which actually costs money to exchange a book (Okay, itís only 50p but if you are swapping a book surely this should be free!).

There is a fish & chip van that visits the campsite on a Wednesday evening for a couple of hours and the fish and chips are very tasty and are reasonably priced. Unfortunately, during our trip, we ran out of camping gas for our stove and despite the campsite being a gas cylinder stockist, we were advised that they only stock the gas bottle that we required in the summer months and tended only to keep a stock of the larger gas canisters used by Ö yes, you guessed it, by people in caravans. Anyway a trip into a gas stockist called Richardsonís of Barnard Castle, fixed this issue, but, again in our opinion, yet another example of the C&CC favouring caravans over campers in tents.

In summary, we would still recommend this campsite due to the friendliness of staff and its general location; as it makes a good base for exploring Teesdale and the Yorkshire Dales National Park, as well as being a haven for walkers like us.

Happy Camping! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alan-172 1 review from this member

 Camped at this site for one night when cycle touring 'the W2W route passes very close by'. The campsite was in immaculate condition; we had a good well drained pitch close to all facilities. Toilets, showers and pot wash area were very clean. Plenty of hot water on demand. All staff were very helpful, polite and gave a friendly welcome. I would recommend this site for both a short or long stay as there is plenty to see and do in the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shellyb76 3 reviews from this member

 Friendly welcome when 'checking in'. Shown to our pitch & given the option of a couple of locations. We had asked to be near the play area for the children's benefit & were pitched just at the other side of the bush which was perfect. Although its only 2 swings and a slide but enough to keep them occupied from time to time.

The ground was soft enough to peg easily but hard enough to stay firm and not muddy. It was also nice and even.

Also close to the toilet block/showers etc.

The site is clean and tidy with ample bins & water points. There is even a special bin for disposable BBQ's. Plenty recycle points.

I chose to park the car in the car park to give us more space.

The toilets & showers are spotless.

The wash up area is great and has drainers and very hot water always.

There is a laundry but didn't use it & there are washing lines that can be used if you take pegs.

The shop is limited but has essentials. Morrisos in Barny is less than 2 miles.

Fish n chip van is there Wednesday and Saturday for a couple of hours and has massive queues but ok fish n chips and reasonably priced.

We were disappointed that no ball games or anything like that we're allowed and we weren't aware before booking but we found plenty of other things for the kids to do. Plus we let them have a sneaky kick around of a soft ball and only near our own pitch.

There are lots of bushes that the kids like to make dens with so that was fun for them. My Son was always to be found up a tree.

The dog walk is good even; even if you don't have a dog.

We drove to High Force one afternoon which was quite handy.

There is a riding place next door which we will have to try next time.

The only negative was the issues caused by another camping family but this was not the fault of the staff on site as they were great after our complaints.

Reasonably priced and would go again because overall it was a great 4 days away. (bonus sunny weather too). 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ENOCH 29 reviews from this member

 This site is located approximately 1. 5 miles from the town of Barnard Castle and is in easy walking distance through the woods. The site is kept in pristine condition by the hard work of the wardens who are all very friendly and helpful.

The site has a small playground comprising of a couple of swings and a climbing framework which leads to a slide. Reception has a small shop selling basic supplies, more shopping is available in Barnard Castle.

Toilet and shower blocks were immaculate and had plenty of cubicles available. The hard standing pitch that we were on was only just adequate for the size of my van, as we were only using a 390 porch awning we were able to 'just' fit the car down the side of the van, if we had used the full awning we could not have got the car onto the pitch because the car would not fit across the front of the van as was requested.

The grass area next to the pitches should be used for vehicle parking, campers opposite us were driving cars off and on to the grass, appears to be a silly rule and should be abolished. A lovely site and we will definitely be returning, just need to sort out the pitches. 


Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barnard Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5898 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement