Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Barnard Castle > Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Dockenflatts Lane
Lartington
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 9DG
Tel: 01833 630228
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/03 to 02/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 110 Reviews
                9/10 from 110 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HEJC72 13 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 3 night stay and all I can say is 'I'll be back!'

This was my first visit to the site and I went with a friend and her son. The approach road is quite narrow and twisting but there are several passing places.

We received a very warm welcome on arrival and we were asked if we would like to be pitched near the play park as we had 3 children with us.

We were escorted to the area by Andrew and then given a choice of pitches. I chose a grass EHU pitch opposite the play park and my friend chose a non-EHU pitch right next to it.

The play area is limited - 2 swings and a slide/climbing frame and no ball games are allowed. This didn't stop our 3 boys having a great time and they soon made plenty of new friends. All the children on site enjoyed hiding/building dens in the hedges and bushes - the pouring rain certainly didn't stop them having fun!

Toilet/shower rooms were kept immaculate despite the fact we had heavy rain and the ground was becoming muddy in places. Plenty of hot water and we never had to queue for the showers. Cubicles were big enough for me to take youngest son in with me and we could both shower and dry off in comfort.

There is a dedicated dish washing room which is heated. Plenty of hot water and dish drainers are provided at each sink.

The site also has a laundry room with washing machine and dryer and there are 2 large washing lines to hang wet laundry up.

Reception has limited opening hours so make sure you have enough of the basics - the shop doesn't sell bread, only part baked rolls.

On a Wednesday night a fish and chip van comes to site. Food was lovely and very reasonably priced but the queue gets long very quickly so arrive early!

The Treasure Chinese take away also delivers to the site if you don't want to cook - again the food was delicious and a good price.

All the staff we met were extremely friendly and helpful, stopping for a chat whenever they passed.

There is a dog walk which goes round the outside edge of the site with several dog waste bins along the route.

Everyone respected the no noise rule and the site naturally became quiet from about 9.30pm - think our children were the last ones still up and playing and by the time we went to bed at 10pm there wasn't a sound anywhere on site!

Barnard Castle itself is a short drive away and has a good selection of shops and supermarkets.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be returning in the not-too-distant future. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robd1 6 reviews from this member

 Second visit to this site. Facilities are excellent: plenty of hot water, decent showers (NOT push button), washing up facilities inside, everywhere nice and clean. Friendly welcome and a choice of pitches.

Limited kids playground, but ours played endlessly with other children on site in the various hedges around the site, despite there being a ban on ball games on site.

However as we have a 'jumbo' tent we ended up paying over £30 a night (without electric - and we are members of CCC) for 2 adults and 2 children, which is very expensive. The site attracts more caravans than tents, and a more 'mature' clientèle.

Fish and chip van visited on Wednesday which attracted big queues, but to be honest wasn't worth the wait. It would have been quicker to drive to the nicer chippie in Barnard Castle.

Would we go back? If we didn't have to pay an extra £10 a night for our tent yes, but at £30+ a night probably not. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chorleyted 1 review from this member

 Just back from this little gem, What a site we were shown to our pitch, Of which we had a choice, all were level and huge about 12 x 10 mtrs. Grass was short and kept in good condition as is the rest of the site.

Toilet block is large and the best on site facilities I have seen by a long way. Wardens very friendly and helpful. Only thing missing in my view is a small area for ball games, having said that will go again,and you should to. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sunvalleysue 5 reviews from this member

 We visited at the end of June/early July. This was our first Visit to this site and what a lovely site it is.

We were shown to a lovely level grass with electric pitch quite near to the facilities as I have walking difficulties.

The site is very level with a mixture of grass and hardstandings

The amenities block is spotless with ample showers and toilets.

There is not much for children to do apart from a small playground.

The access road to the site from the main road is very up and down and winding so be careful if you are towing.

Barnard Castle is about 5 minutes drive away and is lovely.There is a Morrisons supermarket and plenty of good small shops and a couple of nice fish and chip shops. There is a weekly market on Wednesday and a farmers market on the first Saturday of each month.

The area is lovely but you do need to drive a fair way to get to places, ie the lakes and Wenselydale 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Toni786 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Barnard Castle for five nights in June. After an extensive search of campsite reviews both around Scotland and Northumberland, we decided to book here. It actually worked out cheaper for us to join the Camping and Caravanning club than to stay on a non club site.

I can only describe this site as superb. The welcome we had was very friendly from the staff and all through our stay there, they would always acknowledge you or have conversation with you while they were out and about tending to the site.

We were given a choice of pitches as we arrived early enough. You are told to arrive from midday. All the pitches are level which makes it a lot easier to erect a tent. As we have no small children now it was not an issue to be really close to the toilet block but you could request that if you needed to be.

The toilet block is without doubt the best we have seen on any camp site we have stayed at. The ladies had four showers, about six toilets and four or five more cubicles with lockable doors and handbasins. The standard of cleanliness was exceptionally high. They close the toilet block for an hour and a half a day to thoroughly clean it. There is a separate toilet available for use during this time though. The staff also periodically check the toilets and last thing at night they do any cleaning that is necessary and freshen up the toilets.

There is also a pot washing room with four sinks and a laundry with dryer and an outside rotary dryer to hang out your washing.

Very close to the toilet block is a children's play area with swings, slide, etc and if you are pittched close by it is really easy to keep an eye on your kids whilst sitting outside your tent.

There is a lovely walk down a lane to the left of the site that leads through a farm and down a footpath into woods down to Barnard Castle town. The path comes out right by the castle and then is short walk into the town centre where there are a good selection of shops selling local produce. There is also a Morrisons supermaket in the town itself behind the main shopping street.

Barnard Castle is a good base to explore Co. Durham. It is about an hours drive to the Beamish outdoor museum which is well worth a visit. There are also castles in the area and is close to the Cheviot hills.

This is a site that we would have no hesitation in visiting again. There is nothing negative to say about the site. We were even blessed with great weather, as the sun shone for us all the time we were there which made our stay there all the better. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mouseybrown 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for two nights with our 3 young children & little dog. The staff were very friendly & we were given a choice of pitches right next to the play area and shower block. The shower block was immaculate. It is closed for an hour and half in the middle part of the day for cleaning, however almost every time I went to use the loo there was a member of staff emptying bins or mopping the floor. Spotless! The park is very small and our kids seemed disappointed when they first saw it however the surrounding bushes provided hours of entertainment as they made dens and tunnels! There is a nice dog walk around the site too and the kids enjoyed petting the horses that came over to say hello! Barnard Castle is a lovely oldy worldy town. There are plenty of shops and pubs, a pretty riverside walk and of course the Castle. We would return to this site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shinealite 3 reviews from this member

 We have just got back from a weekend at this site and I just had to write a review. This is one of, if not the best site we have stayed on. And we have been regular campers for 20 years. The people that run the site are very friendly and helpful. We were given a choice of pitches when we arrived which was fab.

The facilities on the site are excellent and impeccably clean. The children's play area is small but just right and the tunnels in the surrounding bushes provided as much fun for our son as the play area itself. The site is very quiet and relaxed and you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere, which is just how camping should be, with wildlife in abundance. We had to evict a rabbit to pitch our tent! however a brisk 30 minute walk through some stunning countryside brings you into 'barney' with its castle ruins and bustling town centre there is something for everyone.

Several pubs all serving food and a variety of real ales, supermarkets and off licences for stocking up on those essentials and some stunning walks along the banks of the river.Oh and a play area for the kids. I could go on about this site all day so I will finish with just one word to sum it up.AWESOME. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debsdoescamping 1 review from this member

 Set in beautiful countryside, a peaceful site which is easy to find. A very warm welcome by the friendly staff and we were immediately shown to our pitch, which, was perfect for us with 2 children, right next to the play area and facilities block.

The whole site was extremely neat and immaculately clean and tidy! The facilities block was impeccably clean, this goes for toilets, showers, washing cubicles and washing up area. The play area was small, but adequate and safe.

The reception area has a wide range of local information leaflets / places to visit and things to do including transport. Essential items are stocked in the reception area for sale, such as eggs, milk etc. This was our first camping trip, we had a great time and will definitely be returning this Summer.

If you're after peace and quiet, this is the place to be. Although this is by no means a criticism, but a small clubhouse would have been nice, as it rained very heavily for a short time and as we had only a very small tent were a little stuck other than to shelter in the facilities block or dance in the rain (which was fine really).

But, the lovely English weather we have to expect and perhaps, a club house is would not fit in with the idyllic setting and already perfect site! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Blalckbird3 9 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to this site. Despite the rain and low cloud we liked the surrounding countryside. Very friendly, helpful wardens. Good clean facilities. We walked into the town, be careful during wet weather as the walk down through the woods is a mud bath and very slippy. Caught the bus back, a few minutes walk from the main road back to the camp. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Steve McV 21 reviews from this member

 Just come home from a weekend at this site - not our first, & we will be back again. Nothing negative to report, clean toilets, good sized level pitches with a selection of grass or gravel hardstanding. Friendly, helpful staff.

Childrens play area with swings, climbing frame & slide, but the dog walk area was the big hit with my son. Thankfully it was 'clean' & has a small stream at the bottom that provided hours of entertainment building dams, crossing stepping stones, playing hide & seek etc. This dog walk has a useful shortcut to the path to town via the riding stables. Very pleasant woodland walks all around, lots of Bluebells & Primroses in May.

There is no pub nearby, around 1/2 an hours walk to the nearest, in town. Hourly bus service along Teesdale so one way walks along my favourite valley can easily be done. Barnard Castle has all you'd expect, lovely butchers, tea shops & some great antique / junk shops. Brilliant castle (English Heritage), mini golf & paddling pool.

Charles Dickens visited the town & based Nicholas Nickleby & Master Humphrey's Clock on material he researched there. The jewel in the crown at Barney though is the Bowes Museum. Too much to see to list, but be there for 2.00pm to see the fantabulous mechanical silver swan automata in operation. Over 200 years old & still runs like clockwork. Literally. 


Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barnard Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5828 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement