Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Barnard Castle > Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Dockenflatts Lane
Lartington
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 9DG
Tel: 01833 630228
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/03 to 02/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 110 Reviews
                9/10 from 110 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: StoneWolf 5 reviews from this member

 An excellent site well worth a visit.

Very friendly staff who made us all welcome.

A great little dog walk through some woods.

The site toilet block was also located towards the middle of the site, rather than at one end or the entrance, which was great as it didn't then really matter where you were pitched.

They were also very clean and very well maintained.

Good sized pitches (a standard for 'the club') meant plenty of room, and the site was quiet at all times.

Not really too many dog friendly pubs in the near by area for eating out (suitable beer garden required) but those we did find were good with very nice food, especially in the local town on the high street.

All in all a great site that we would certainly return to. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spattison 4 reviews from this member

 Just an hours drive from home this site made an ideal place to try out our new tent for two nights.As mentioned previously the vary high standard of the toilets and showers made this site somewhere I could recommend unreservably.

All the pitches are well kept, the only slight problem for us was that the grass had been recently cut and then the rain had quickly followed. This meant that we carried a lot of grass cuttings into the tent and car until we organised a shoes off at the door routine.

We stayed at the end of May and being quite high up in the Northern Penines we did notice that it was definitely colder than lower lying areas of Britain.Our extra blankets were very much needed.

The site is near several good pubs that serve evening meals. We were warned that these get busy at weekends and that you either get there at opening time(6pm) to get seats in the bar or you would need to book. With the weather being so cold it was lovely to get settled near a roaring fire.

Nearly all the pitches were taken even though the forecast for that weekend had not been good. In fact, as we left on the Sunday there were 4 caravans waiting to come in that were blocking the entrance area.This site deserves it's popularity and we will certainly go back to this site to explore more of this fantastically scenic area. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dezzie 16 reviews from this member

 This site is fantastic. Up to the usual camping and caravan club standards. The management team are helpful and friendly, willing to give any advice or directions needed, and I especially like that they help you with advice where to pitch and what way is best for your tent etc.
The reception area has a few bits and bobs for sale (sweets, juice etc)and you can order the next mornings papers too. The site is spotless and I especially liked that the pitches are in great condition with lovely clovery grass that's soft and thick, but not too long. The play park was full of kids - including our 3 from morning till last light, then it was silent. Exactly how camping should be.
Showers and toilets were spotless, as was the dish wash and laundry areas. The only gripe I do have is that the hairdryers were coin operated, and having stayed at other c&cc sites where the hairdryers were free. Also I wasn't too happy that there was a £5 deposit for the disabled and parent and child rooms. Not good if like my wife you are disabled and have to visit reception before visiting the loo.
These are only very small annoyances and wouldn't put me off returning to the site however. People were also friendly and my kids came home with a multitude of email addresses from kids they made friends with. Around the area, Barnard Castle is nearby and has a Morrisons and a Co-op which is open till 10pm, so great for stocking up when you arrive if need be. There are lots to see around the area and the campsite has an extensive collection of leaflets at reception.
If you like shopping, then Darlington is worth a visit, its about 30 minutes from Barnard Castle and is a shoppers paradise, with loads of great shops to choose from. This site is easily one of the best sites I've visited and my kids ages 2,8 and 13 loved every minute of it. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Silverman 7 reviews from this member

 Excellent site and nice warmly friendly welcome.

Wardens a credit to the site and cleanliness etc lovely.

If being super super fussy, only downside was if sited by facilities block, kids play park in centre and can be noisy.

Overall a great site in good position etc. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sportacus 3 reviews from this member

 This is our second visit to this excellent site. Wardens are brilliant and the site has a friendly atmosphere with a good mix of tents, caravans and campervans of all shapes and sizes.

Toilets and showers are excellent and spotlessly clean. Washing up room closes at 9pm for some reason so it can catch you out if you are running late with tea.

There is a small children's play area (2 swings and a climbing frame/slide) however it is a great place for kids as both times we have been there there have been loads of other kids for ours to play with and there always seems to be a football game going on by the play area, which is in front of the shower block where there are no pitches.

If you don't have children there are many pitches situated well away from this area.

Barney is a lovely place, with a Morrisons and a butchers and bakers, and a shop called Boyes which seems to sell everything else. Burrells Fish and Chip shop (36 Galgate) is very good (and that was on Barney Meet Fair day when there was a 10 yard queue down the street). There is a nice walk into Barney through the woods from the camp site, (come out of the main entrance and double back to the left down through the stables), and you can get the bus back.

Stock car racing at Barford Raceway is a good afternoon out.

Hamsterly forest is an excellent day out with loads of walks and cycle paths and a great adventure playground.

We will definitely return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dave Thorpe 14 reviews from this member

 This is one of the few Camping Club sites that is up to Caravan Club Site Standards in our opinion. The loos have won awards & along with all club site loos, are kept immaculate as are the other ameneties. The wardens are a superb couple - friendly & helpful. We used a hard standing for the van. A few years earlier we used a grass pitch for our folder and to say the surface was like a quagmire under our awning groundsheet after prolonged rain is an understatement. Visit the otter sanctuary on Bowes moor, its a must do. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stunjazza 5 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site we keep going back to again and again.

The toilets and showers are second to none.

The location is quiet perfect to get away from it all, especially quiet during the week when the kids are at school!

A fair walk to the nearest pub or shop but great for walking the dog

Also great places to visit locally hamsterley forest is a favourite

Excellent shopping in barnard castle first class butchers and a nice little farmers market if you are there on the right weekend 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Atherwitzend 7 reviews from this member

 Really liked this site and will definitely visit again.

Flat pitches, many separated by bushy areas giving some shelter and privacy.

Small play area, one slide/climbing frame and 2 swings, but kept the kids entertained and was a great place for them to meet other children from the site.

Ample toilets and showers, never had to queue. Plenty of hot water, showers could have been a bit more powerful but were adequate.

Friendly wardens and staff.

Good washing up facilities, but one small criticism is they were locked at 21:30 which we felt was tad early.

'Barney' itself is a nice town to visit with a Morrison's and smaller shops only a short car drive away.

For the best home-made chips (In my humble opinion anyway) go to Valentines, 11 Galgate in Barney.

Visited Darlington which really surprised me. Had kind of expected a northern industrial town, but it is lovely place with a great shopping centre.

Also nearby are the spectacular waterfalls of Low Force and High Force.

Hamsterley Forest is great for walking and cycling and they have a fantastic children's outdoor play area. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beezers 13 reviews from this member

 We spent 6 nights here over the school half term.

The site is very level and in keeping with most of the C&CC sites the facilities are superb. Free, hot, powerful showers and we never had to queue once.Wash up facilities are excellent as well.

The Office sells a small amount of supplies, but mainly just items you may have forgotten. They also have a small library of books you can pay to borrow or even buy at very low prices. The money from this goes towards supplying the fresh flowers in the toilets.

There is a riding stable next door that provides lessons from the more experienced to total novices at very reasonable rates.

Barnard Castle itself is a short drive away and has a few shops and a Morrisons supermarket. There is also a couple of chip shops and take aways.

We recommend this site and the local area and hope to re-visit one day. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: The Leonards 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a weekend on this site and found it fantastic!  when we arrived the warden took us to our pitch which was very spacious and well maintained with short well looked after grass. (This was a welcome change to some sites we have visited which seem to have a free for all approach and lots of cut grass lying around.) 
The staff were very helpful and friendly with a small shop which had a good range of basics.  To say the toilets / showers / baby room were immaculate would be a huge understatement! They were cleaner than clean and just about every time I used them someone was in cleaning them. 
The play area was a big hit with my 5 year old son as were the bushes around where he and his friends liked to hide! We drove through Barnard castle which looked very nice but decided to visit High force and Middleton in Teasdale which was a pleasant village with a great play ground for the kids. The farm/stables next door were great, however you do need to book the horse riding in advance.
The only down side to the site was one or two of the children were snapping off branches and hitting some of the other children with them, however this is not down to the site its self as there are signs asking parents to ensure they supervise their children. Although I don't have a dog there was an excellent dog walking area all fenced off around the site.
I highly recommend this site to anyone thinking about visiting.  


Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barnard Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6363 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement