Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Barnard Castle > Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Dockenflatts Lane
Lartington
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 9DG
Tel: 01833 630228
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/03 to 02/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 110 Reviews
                9/10 from 110 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kiters 59 19 reviews from this member

 We had booked this lovely site for June 2010 but Turbo blown on Xtrail stopped us, so we booked again for this year & were not disappointed,

What a super quite site this is, with walks right from the site in all directions,

All staff were helpfully & had aways got time for a chat,

Site was very well kept & toilet block was kept very clean,

Warden was even in cleaning late in the evening so they were clean next morning,

So we would recommend this site for a visit, well done to C&CClub for this site 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peter Atkin 3 reviews from this member

 A very well kept site with superb faclities.

Perfectly flat and well separated with bushes dotted around. The toilet/shower block was as good as you'll find anywhere and spotlessly clean, but it did suffer from 'small cubicle' syndrome with the showers. When you have a block so big, why leave so much space inside, instead of making each cubicle 1ft wider? Odd.

The manager couldn't have been more helpful and they let us put our food in their fridge (we were cycle touring, you can't carry a fridge on a bike!) which was most welcome. There's plenty of info about local attractions and facilities available in the shop too. I seem to remember there was a washer & dryer available to use as well.

Can't fault the site or the price at all.

Unfortunately our visit seemed to coincide with a plague of flies which drove us mad!

There were a few noisy people on site when we were there, I'm surprised they weren't told to quieten down, to be honest, given the C&C Club rules. I always pack ear plugs though!

Barnard Castle is a pretty little town and has many pubs and restaurants, and it's well within walking distance through the woods. (the woods can be very slippery after rain though!)

You can tell this is a C&C run site, as it's just so good, and I have no complaints about the price either, it made other sites we used on our tour look like a rip-off!

I'd have no hesitation returning. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Steveraine 8 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a two night stay at the Barnard Castle C&CC Site. We are members, and regardless of what other reviews have said, we found this to be one of the cheaper club sites.

It is in an excellent location, with plenty of walks available from the site without having to drive anywhere.

Although we tend to use the facilities in the caravan, we did visit the shower block a couple of times and they were absolutely spotless and the staff were in there promptly at 11am to clean them.

The staff that checked us in were extremely prompt and friendly. They got us pitched, and were very keen to explain where all the facilities etc were.

The fish and chip van came on Saturday, and as other people have said the service was fairly slow - but the food was top notch!

We will return to this site, lovely lovely place 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nikki1171 10 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for the first time over Easter weekend and were presently surprised (unlike a previous reviewer) that it compared very well with Doe Park.

On arrival we were asked for our camping & caravanning club cards. I'm mentioning this because we've never been asked by the Caravan Club sites so I had visions of us turning around and heading home! Fortunately the warden decided to kindly let us off this time and we were able to pitch.

The pitches were level and it is a very green site with a 'middle of nowhere' feel about it which we prefer. There are grass and hardstanding pitches. We were travelling with a 6 and a 4 year old who loved the play area. There were a lot of children on site over Easter Weekend and if people were looking for a quiet weekend then they may have been disappointed! It definitely was a family orientated site. That said all was quiet by 9pm.

The facilities were spacious and very clean with the only minor complaint being that the hot water was too hot to wash your hands with!

Before going to this site we felt like it was a second choice but afterwards we felt that it was hard to choose between this site and Doe Park. It is dearer than Doe Park but if you do have membership the difference is minimal. We will be alternating between the 2 sites in future I think! 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Fionag 6 reviews from this member

 This was only my second trip out and my first to a formal campsite, and boy, didn't they set the benchmark high!

The site is in a secluded setting. Level pitches.

Toilet/shower/laundry/dishwashing and chemical disposal block was immaculately clean and of a high standard. Having nothing to measure it against in recent years I was really well impressed by the standard as I remember some of the places we went to when I was considerably younger.

Shower cubicles were roomy and had 2 hooks for hanging up essentials and a stool so you could dry your feet without being a contortionist! Wash basins were also all in little individual lockable cubicles - take your own hand wash though. The dishwash room was roomy with 4 or 5 large sinks and drainers.

There is a dog walk around the perimeter of the site and plenty of places to visit in the loca area. The rabbits were almost fearless, and loads of birds - particularly the noisy crows in the wooded area!

Fish and chip van visits on a Sat night.

Water and rubbish areas were kept clean and tidy and were well lit at night.

The wardens were really friendly and helpful.

As I am a member it cost me just over 10/night as I am a solo camper which I though was fantastic value as the site I have booked up for a week in June is 23/night.

There is a children's play area in the centre of the site, quite small and basic but the youngsters seemed to enjoy themselves by creating their own entertainment - two little boys were telling me about the wolf who lives in the trees who eats bunnies, but only French ones!

If you want a quiet site where you can just enjoy the peace then this is the site for you.

As a centre for touring the area it is ideal.

Will definitely be going again as it is close enough to home to make it a bolthole from the daily grind 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Alitone 25 reviews from this member

 This is the most expensive site by far in Teesdale and compared to nearby Doe Park site which is 2 miles away its a bit of a rip-off.

We are not members of the Caravan and Camping Club as we tend to tour round and try many sites. So its a mistake to use Caravan & Camping Club sites if you are not a member. How they can justify over 25 a night with no hookup is beyond me,

On top of this the pitches were quite small unless you booked a jumbo pitch which was 10 extra per night. Compared to Doe Park at Cotherstone the site was very cramped and OK the toilet blocks were cleaned buts that's only because the wardens spent lots of time with the toilets 'closed off'.

On the day of our arrival the reception area was locked-up and a long queue of new arrivals waited and waited and waited for the Wardens who then faced a hostile atmosphere from those who had been waiting.

You should be allowed on pitch after 12.00 but the wardens finally turned up at 12.30. The good points about this site are location with a nice walk into Barnard castle through fields and along the river.

It's a site which seems to attract lots of families with Kids who have a play area in the middle of the complex. We wont be returning here. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mickwithdoodle 23 reviews from this member

 Just got back from campsite after our first visit there. It was great. The 4 members of staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful.

We were allowed to select our own pitch & a member of staff helped us reverse onto the pitch & spent time explaining all the facilities etc. The toilet block was very clean & my wife & I never had to queue whenever we went to use the facilities.

The dog walk was very good & easy to access. Campsite very quiet on a night & the pitches were very spacious, ours & the adjoining pitch could have housed 4 units not just the 2. Barnard Castle is just 2 miles away & is well worth a visit with lots of pubs, cafes, shops etc in an olde world environment.

No criticism at all & look forward to future visits. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Northern_dave 2 reviews from this member

 Great site, Great people, great time.

The approach road is narrow but with plenty of passing places and it is not too long a drive to the site probably less than 500 yards.

We were met at reception by the staff and were taken to our pitch which was beside the hedge and trees, a bit bothered by wasps, mice ( ingenious little buggers even managed to get in to our larder unit even though it was zipped up with only a tiny gap which they managed to get in to no big problem as they only ate the bread lol ) and a few earwigs.

The pitch was level and we were advised which way to pitch it so we had sun all day very happy about this.

Toilet block was very well looked after warm and clean at all times, with plenty of showers loads of hot water and I am pleased to say not the push button type showers, and cubicles with wash basins, and full toilet rolls in all the toilets. The bins were emptied about 4 times or more a day, and the grass was well kept and cut on a regular basis.

The kids play area was very basic with just 2 swings and a slide/climbing frame but most of the kids were playing in the bushes so it didn`t seem to be a problem.

A good mix of vans and tents with nice friendly people.

Barnard castle is within easy reach of the site with plenty of pubs and takeaways. There is a good hardware shop which is great for the little things you forget, we bought a bug bat there for the wasps. There is a fish and chip van on site on Wednesdays from 7.30 to 9.00pm but the queues can be long ( probably faster to drive in to Barnard castle and get from there).

There is a no ball game policy at the site which we liked but probably not to popular with other`s.

This site had a laid back quality to it which we loved.

We stayed for 5 night and would definitely go back again. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Keanonwuk 8 reviews from this member

 This was our second outing in our Kampa Lulworth 6. The drive up to the site is very narrow with a few passing places, also be aware of roaming sheep. Once on the site the welcome was friendly from the site staff and we were shown to our pitch.

The 6 metre rule was enforced with a friendly warning that we would be moved if we were over the prescribed area. There had recently been heavy rain but the pitch was fine, flat with a slight loss of grass.

Our pitch faced the showers / toilets / washing / chemical waste block, only downside was that the children's playground was in between (all our kids are grown up). However, we were not unduly troubled plus the site has a 'no ball games' rule. With respect to the amenities block they were brilliant, very clean, plenty of showers/toilets/wash basins/ plenty of hot water, if I could wish for an amenities block it would look like this.

There is a one way system for vehicles with a speed limit of 5mph. Barnard Castle is a short drive away or you can walk there within 30mins (be aware that if the weather is bad the walk passes through woods with steep paths).

Barnard Castle is a lovely place with many shops/pubs restaurants supermarket and of course the castle. We also visited Hadrian's wall and other historic sites which are plentiful around the area. There is a fish and chip shop which visits the site on a Wednesday evening but we were warned that it could take two hours to be served (we had a BBQ). All in all we loved this site and will go back again soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: L-Andy 1 review from this member

 What can I add that hasn't been said?

This was our first proper trip with our caravan having recently converted from canvas, and our first CCC. We were not disappointed. It made sense for us to join the club as we were staying 5 nights and the discount covers the membership fee! Based on this site our membership will be well used in the coming year.

We were warmly welcomed by the wardens and showed to our pitch choices. We chose the one that gave us the best view of the small playpark to allow us to keep an eye on our 4 & 6 year olds. The park is small but ideal for a campsite in my opinion. My son (4) made a new best friend (age 5) and we were happy for them to disappear off together. Both his Mum and us gave our kids more freedom than they have ever had before - it felt like that kind of site.

The dog walk was fine for a little walk after dinner (even though we don't have a dog) and there are stables a short walk away where the kids enjoyed feeding 'Tom' over the fence.

The facilities are first rate and this is the most important thing for us when choosing a site. Plenty of hot water, clean and bright - the only negative is that they close everything (Gents, Ladies, Dishwashing & Laundry) 11-12.30 for cleaning, leaving only 1 toilet for the whole site.

We were there the first night the fish van was visiting and I'm glad my wife sent me down early as the wait was a long one!

Castle Barnard is a lovely place to spend an afternoon and has everything you need. I was paticularly taken with the Series 1 LandRover advertising the local garage! We visited Beamish which was about an hour away (I think!) and High Force is worth a visit.

I can see us going back again and using it as a base for exploring wider afield. 


Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barnard Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4501 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement