Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Barnard Castle > Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Dockenflatts Lane
Lartington
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 9DG
Tel: 01833 630228
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/03 to 02/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 110 Reviews
                9/10 from 110 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Rispinator 3 reviews from this member

 This is a CCC site so you get all that represents:

A nice welcome

Shown to your pitch

Perfectly clean toilets etc

Well maintained and a good layout

All facilities.

I arrived early and asked where I could park for a couple of hours until the staff were ready - but they broke off their duties and dealt with me. Thank you!

The visiting fish and chip van was excellent and good value.

Good WiFi and decent phone signal (02)

Barnard Castle is 2 or 3 miles away by road - a pity!

I'll return! 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Weston5 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, friendly staff, facilities are clean and well kept. Showers are hot and free and no push button carry on, never seemed to be any queues for toilets or showers either, also the toilet block was heated. Nice little park for the kids to play on. Dog walk is sufficient. Pitches are well spaced. Only minor complaint is there was a persistent awful smell of manure and strong urine, I'm assuming there is a farm very close by. The road leading to the entrance of the site is single track, steep with a few blind bends but thankfully it's short and we didn't meet anyone coming the other way! 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JuliemaxW 3 reviews from this member

 A quiet but popular site which is kept immaculate by the helpful wardens. The site was full when we visited for a dog agility show but the pitches were spaced well apart and we weren't overlooked. The surrounding area is well worth exploring and Barnard Castle has all the shops pubs and restaurants you will need, as well as some rather good antique shops. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dinx 11 reviews from this member

 Just stayed here at Halloween for the weekend,

Stayed on hard standing due to wet weather. Warm welcome from staff on arrival shown to pitch and guided back onto pitch as I was by myself. All the paths/roads and pitches have been upgraded since I was last here and its great improvement. I was meeting friends at site and we had all been put together(which we requested on booking)all facilities on site were spotless even with the wet weather.

Small play area on site.

Short drive into the town which has lots of local shops/café bars etc and the castle well worth visit.

We will use this site again in the future. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: LesleyandPeter 35 reviews from this member

 Lovely well maintained site, facilities warm and spotless as always on Caravan and Camping sites. Adequate dog walk on site for toileting purposes.

Great short walk through the woods to Barnard castle. Its a very pretty town with plenty of independent shops which I always appreciate, not so my husband who gets to stay outside holding the dogs!

Weather was very mizzley but made for some atmospheric photographs of the castle and surrounding area. We visited High Force water fall during a downpour. Hamsterley forest offered lovely long walks for the dogs.

The downside to our visit was the almost constant odour of Pig poop from the neighbouring farm, yes when in the countryside you can expect the odd farm yard smell, most of which never bother us, but pig poop is rather pungent. I do love Pigs so forgave them :).

Would we return? probably, if going further North to break up a journey, but not for a more than an overnight stay, lovely scenery but nothing spectacular to make us return, we are lucky to have similar on our doorstep. After saying that I do like to visit new places and feel extremely lucky to have the opportunity to do so. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jrayner 13 reviews from this member

 Nice site, very clean and well-maintained as one would expect from a C&C club site.

However, site is branded as a 'top site for dogs', which it is not. The dog walk is a fairly short, narrow and muddy path which runs under the trees round the back of the site. There is no room to run properly or play with a ball etc, and dogs are meant to be kept on a lead. While this may be fine for some, it is no good for my energetic spaniel. Dire warnings about the aggressive dogs loose on the farm through which the footpath into the town runs put us off from going that way.

We also had a large group of campers (several tents and caravans) behind our caravan who were very noisy into the small hours with no regard to others. The no-noise rule clearly is not enforced here. More worryingly, there was a small group of children building quite a large fire on a windy night in a small space between their awning and a windbreak, with no adults in sight! This is not the fault of the site, but perhaps a more visible presence might have encouraged some more responsible behaviour. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Zackyboy 16 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for four nights and during this time the site was extremely quiet, doubt if it was ever a quarter full. The site wardens were very helpful and friendly, the site was always clean and tidy and offered hard standing or grass pitches. Toilets and showers were never busy and always immaculately clean as were the other facilities. The entrance road leading off the main road is a bit narrow and hilly. The town and the castle are worth a visit as is the surrounding countryside. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Skiloony 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet location ! The wardens were also lovely (great chat with the Geordie ex Army assistant warden).

Great large pitches and clean toilet/shower block.

Great location away from the main road but easy access on foot into Barnard Castle (in good weather, muddy otherwise). We would definitely return. Well spread out and grass was cut daily !

The only criticism we can think of is the access road up to the site entrance is tight and winding. Try not to be on the side where the farm access road is as it is in constant use with farm traffic. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 184 reviews from this member

 Used the site as a stopover for one night on a long trip, turned up without booking (having gone into the CC site by mistake: it's members only so we were turned away). It's close enough to the A66 to be convenient, far enough away from the main road to be very quiet & peaceful. As usual on CCC sites, one of the friendly wardens cycled with us & gave us a choice of pitches and advice on local walks. Hardstand & EHU for two CCC members over 55 cost £22 midweek in August, less than we'd expected. The hair drier was free! The dog walk through the woods beside the site was very good, though it was muddy due to horse riding. The Warden rightly advised us to keep our dog on a lead and stay on the path if we left the designated dog walk, in order to avoid the nearby farm as the dogs there are not pets & are territorial. We would be very happy to come back again for a stopover or longer stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jegr 3 reviews from this member

 Beautifully maintained site which is nice and peaceful. The chippy van that visits site is worth the wait as the food is lovely. The town of Barnard Castle doesn't come across as a tourist town which makes it all that much better. If your not a member of English Heritage the castle is worth the entry money. All in all we'd recommend visiting Barnard Castle and we've already said we'd go back. 


Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barnard Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3636 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement