Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Barnard Castle > Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Dockenflatts Lane
Lartington
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 9DG
Tel: 01833 630228
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/03 to 02/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 110 Reviews
                9/10 from 110 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SaraG0267 2 reviews from this member

 We chose this site because it was a CCC site. They are very pricey compared to other sites even with member discount but we like the fact that the facilities are clean and tidy. It was very busy but we did not feel crammed in and were not kept awake by comings and goings in the night. I did feel the camp manager was a bit of a jobs worth though and found his comments about wives/women sexist and unnecessary. He was also far to particular about the exact positioning of our tent when there was no one any where near us.

The shower block was fine and as I get up early, I did not have to wait but the queue was very long by the time I left.

The walk to Barny was easy to find and very pleasant but the town was extremely busy. Having said that we found nice places to sit out for a few drinks in the evening. The chip van made a visit and luckily my husband was one of the first on site otherwise we might still be waiting.

We will not return just because the cost is not justified in the facilities. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Yawmj 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a couple of nights stay at this site and cant find anything to criticise at all.

The staff were polite and efficient, the site was immaculate,

The showers and toilet block were spotless and the grass was manicured to golf fairway standards.

As previously mentioned on earlier reviews the dog walks are good as is the walk into Barney.

Have booked again for next weekend to see if the grandkids enjoy it as much as we did. Ps. Even the weather was half decent 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Heath63 14 reviews from this member

 Spent five nights at this site. Staff are very friendly, helpful, showed me to my pitch, which suited me, as it was right next to the dog walk. Explained to me where the facilities and water taps were.

Didn't queue for the showers, even though the site was full. Facilities kept clean.

Fish and chip van was there on the Wednesday. Very popular amongst the campers.

The reception, sells basic food, and ice-cream. Book exchange is available. Information leaflets also available of what to see and do.

The location is ideal for touring the area, visiting waterfalls, museums and castles. Definitely a walkers paradise, for canines as well.

Plenty of places to eat and drink in the town itself. As well as shops to mooch around.

Will stay at the site again. As there is still loads to see. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Fionag 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed over the Easter weekend. It was my second stay at this site and will not be my last. Nice level site, toilet block immaculately clean. Never had to queue despite how busy the site was.

Pleasant dog walk around the perimeter of the site.

Access to the site can be a bit hairy as quite steep in places, but bigger units than me get through without incident so nothing to worry about. Small children's play area in the centre of the site.

Short drive from Barnard Castle, which has some lovely walks, especially along the river. Nice range of shops for browsing.

Recommend a trip up to the Balderhead, Blackton and Hury reservoirs. They are a hidden gem, the views are stunning and fantastic walks.

What I would also like to add is a word about the wardens. There were a number of issues regarding the bookings some campers had made. Some gave the wardens a really hard time even though the bookings had been made on-line and the campers had received confirmations of booking. Anyway, the wardens were very patient and did their best to accommodate, but being such a busy weekend they were unable to assist everyone and some left disappointed.

However, the wardens kept smiling and despite all the grief they received were professional throughout. Well done to you all! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 552 reviews from this member

 Location:

Well located, this site is an excellent base for exploring the towns of Barnard Castle and Middleton, as well as great opportunities for enjoying the outdoors in Teesdale.

Facilities:

The toilet and shower facilities are superb, with large, modern shower cubicles a motorhome service point, well stocked shop. Staff excellent - really accommodating. Wifi on site for 2 a day.

Prices:

About 18 per night for motorhome with two people and electricity. Great value for facilities and location. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Magsmol 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for 2 nights over the August bank holiday. I had incorrectly booked(without electric) and they were very good to find me an electric point to use(it was off the garage, at the back of the site, on the carpark), but, we were very happy with it, as we weren't disturbed at all.

The toilet block is cleaned every day(10. 30-midday) but the parent and baby room is still open to use.

It was a short walk through the riding school and surrounding fields into Barnard Castle(walking boots advised)which we enjoyed and so did our dog.

We will definitely stay here again 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anja 9 reviews from this member

 This was the August bank holiday weekend and the site was full. That said, it did not feel at all cramped as the spacing is strictly controlled by the site wardens. The only time it became obvious how busy things were was in the morning with queues for the showers (male & female). We found it easier to shower after returning from the hills when the facilities were empty.

As one would expect from a CCC site, the place is spotless and the staff friendly and helpful.

Barnard Castle is a 30 minute walk and has some very interesting things to look at. If you like museums, the Bowes is a must. On turning up you think you are in France as the building copies the Napoleonic style. There are plenty of pubs and places to eat and we would certainly recommend the Old Well, both the food and choice of 5 real ales were excellent.

You are spoilt for choice for walking with the Teesdale Way running close to the site offering trails on both sides of the river and in both directions. High Force, possibly the most impressive waterfall to view in England, is a few miles up the road and definitely worth a visit.

During the whole 3 days we were there we had no complaints apart from having to ask a couple to turn their TV down (in a tent) when it was keeping us and others awake at 01. 45 in the morning.

We will return! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Db123 6 reviews from this member

 Just spent 7 nights at this site. The staff are really friendly and helpful.

A lovely well kept site, the site is also quiet flat with clean facilities.

The only downfall of this site is there is nothing near the site, you have to walk into barnard castle over the fields, about 30 mins walk, or drive into to town for anything.

There is a few things available in the club shop.

There is a fish and chip van that comes round on a Saturday and Wednesday night.

Really lovely fish and chips. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Truediamond 86 reviews from this member

 First Class Site

Stayed here for a couple of nights break. This is a well set out site with plenty of space and is located off the main roads so quite peaceful, especially at night.

We were very impressed by the helpful staff - yes, they did ask for our membership cards! They were cleaning out the dishwashing room at ~10h30pm so clearly committed to keeping the place up to scratch.

The site has good screening & shelter, unlike the CC site near town which seemed quite exposed. We thought the toilet block might be busy as there's only 1 for the 90 or so pitches but we never had to queue.

There are plenty of good walks in the area, many direct from site. If anyone does go into the Bowes Museum in town, be sure to get there for 2h00 pm to see the swan do its performance. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Snaprails 13 reviews from this member

 We stayed here 4 nights, using it as a base to tour round the Dales (for tour read bimble about aimlessly, our speciality). It's a good site, flat and well located for both the Yorkshire Dales and Teesdale & Weardale, to which we'd never been before.

Fairly level site with some shelter from tress and shrubs which divide some of the pitch areas, facilities well up to C&CC standards in terms of cleanliness and state of repair, although looking a little dated compared to some.

Manager's were very professional, helpful, and like a previous reviewer asked to see our membership cards, a first I think.

Barnard Castle is an interesting little place, about 30 minutes walk away according to the directions posted in the toilet block. We didn't walk due to inclement weather and me and the dog both having a bad leg (each obviously, rather than between us).

There is ample parking in the town centre, especially in the evenings and actually free. Yes, even in 2011 a town with free parking!

The site was quiet during the week but Friday night all that changed. There are a lot of camping & caravan sites in the area and I think I now know why.

The local town and city dwellers empty into them at the weekends, taking advantage of their close proximity to such great countryside to fill the kids with fresh air. We were travelling home Saturday so it wasn't an issue for us but if you are looking for a quiet weekend I suspect this isn't the place you're going to find it. That said it was all quiet by 'lights out', 2300hrs, and it wasn't the kids who were making all the noise anyway.

Fish and trip van calls Weds & Sats but for other nights or if you don't want to stand in the very long (and wet, when we were there) queue then I can recommend Burrell's Fish & Chips in Barnard Castle town centre. Absolutely superb quality, best fish & chips I've had in years and to us southerners at least, surprisingly inexpensive! 


Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barnard Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4814 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement