Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Wigan > Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park
Smithy Brow
Wrightington
Wigan
Lancashire   (Browse area)
WN6 9PP
Tel: 01257 451326
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 05/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 104 Reviews
                9/10 from 104 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  104 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Standleo 4 reviews from this member

 A very short stay whilst I was waiting for my car to be serviced. Reception was closed and I knocked on the farmhouse door to get booked in.

We found the site to be a quiet retreat with all the necessary facilities. It is a large site but divided into small areas of perhaps 10 or 12 units.

We had a hard standing pitch with an EHU which was a fairly level area given that the site as a whole is not flat. The grassed portion was quite wet and we didnít stray onto it.

The cafe and bar were both closed too, time of year I suppose.

The facilities were reasonably modern clean and presentable. Water and disposal areas were evident all over the site.

The fact is that whilst we were there the weather was pretty atrocious and we spent most of the time indoors reading. There are lanes and quiet roads where we walked the dog but we ate in and didnít venture out much.

The fishing pools would no doubt attract anglers and it was clear that local anglers used them too so I assume that they are worth the effort to attend.

Overall I think this camping site would be lovely in summer. It is a working farm and horse riding is available too.

We would certainly return to Charity Farm.  
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Brucew 1 review from this member

 Had a lovely stay, the site is really quiet but very family orientated. We were on a non electric field. The pitches are well laid out leaving plenty of room for children to play.

There are four fishing ponds which are really nicely laid out. The staff are really friendly and very helpful. Overall we found it really good value for money. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Markheatrix 2 reviews from this member

 Have been to this site before and enjoyed it. Not the most plush but nice enough. Sadly, we won't be back. If we left after 6 days we would have been ok but on the Thursday a large group turned up and the management was completely ineffective at controlling the noise.

Despite several calls about being kept awake way beyond the stated 11pm curfew, we were woken again at 1. 30am with them still at it. Had to ring again the night after for the same reason, same crowd.

Wish we had gone home earlier. Dreading the last night, more of the same I expect. Shame, liked it here otherwise. It seems that the money from large groups is more important than the sites reputation for a nice stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mandst1499 4 reviews from this member

 Nice big field, all pitches are based around the edge, pitches clearly marked out. Plenty of space. Hire of firepit and BBQs. We took our own but had to use theirs, even though our was of the ground.

Facilities are good for washing up, clean toilets etc. Nice stay. Would go again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Netstuff 1 review from this member

 We have visited Charity farm twice in as many weeks.

Always a friendly welcome from the owners.

Pitches are a good size and generally level, water points within easy access both times.

The toilet facilities have always been clean, never had to use the showers but they look clean ( takes 50p coin)

No playground for kids BUT this hasn't bothered my little man as he's made friends with the other campers children easily enough and kids make up their own games easily enough.

First visit was with my partner and 2nd visit was just me and 4 year old son, both times I felt safe on site and wasn't worried about son's safety at all.

There's on site cafe which is reasonably priced and handy if the British weather decides to rain on your breakfast plans.

There's also a bar which I haven't tried out but seems to have a good stock of drinks in it,

I will be going back soon and would recommend this site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rigby5 4 reviews from this member

 Went for the weekend to try out a new tent. Camping field is large and tents are sited round the sides keeping the centre clear so that football, cricket etc can be played in the centre.

Very sociable site with kids all playing together. Only 3 showers for whole site but that said we didn't queue long. Fire pits with wood were supplied for £12 a night.

First pitch we were given was in front of a gate that had previously been gravelled so we couldn't get pegs in. They quickly moved us when we said and apologised.

Fishing lakes and nice dog exercising area available to use. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vangoman1 3 reviews from this member

 Nice caravan site. Very quiet. Cost 50p for showers but well worth the money as they are hot and powerful and the toilets and showers were very clean.

The only thing that we did not like was the three legged stool in the showers that we thought was a little bit dangerous as it was very easy to tip up, we had to be very careful as being older could easily fall and hurt yourself.

The site is quiet and also has a good cafe with good selection of food. All in all quite a good site and would stay again. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Greg M 38 reviews from this member

 We used this site as a stopover coming down from Scotland to avoid the horrendous winds on the motorway that was the tail end of a hurricane.

Very difficult to judge a site on a one night stopover in howling winds and torrential rain. No site would have looked that good in those conditions.

Not impressed at being kept at the farmhouse door for over 10 minutes getting drowned considering we had called ahead to book.

I get the impression this site is geared up for fisherman/campers as there are 4 lakes to fish and the majority of people on site were there to fish.

The showers are a key code which we didn't use but the toilets were clean except for people who seemed to have strewn toilet paper throughout the cubicles, not the sites fault though. TV and phone reception were good.

There is a cafe/bar on site in what appears to be an old Nissen Hut but very bright inside. In fact we used it in the morning for bacon rolls and very nice they were too.

The site I believe is split into 4 sections each with a pretty basic chemical waste disposal and water tap.

Access to the site was OK but care should be taken on the final mile or so on the quite narrow windy road.

As I say, a night stopover in terrible conditions would not show the site in it's best light.

We would use it as a stopover again though. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Simonanddeb 9 reviews from this member

 Great site with friendly staff, brilliant cafe/bar very well priced great facilities, good size pitches handy late check out on a Sunday.

Great base for visiting Southport airshow.

Already booked to go back there for this years airshow! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CAMPERRYAN 1 review from this member

 Just come back. All in all excellent site for camping and if you want to fish there is the four lakes. Only there two days so not able to comment on the area, but the site was nice, good walks around it but the shower charge is a bit unreasonable.

Also a night warden would be appreciated as I went with an older relative who was woken up twice by people coming back to the site about midnight banging and screaming. 


Previous     104 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wigan      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1735 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement