Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Wigan > Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park
Smithy Brow
Wrightington
Wigan
Lancashire   (Browse area)
WN6 9PP
Tel: 01257 451326
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 103 Reviews
                9/10 from 103 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  103 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Little Red Van 15 reviews from this member

 The site is nicely set out, with plenty space between units. The facilities are good, but the site was a bit too busy for us.

It was also very expensive - we paid 26 for just one night for one campervan, an awning and 3 dogs, plus there was an extra charge for the showers.

We probably wouldn't go back, just really because of the price. (We paid 15 per night a week later for a different site, and do not feel the extra facilities warranted an extra 11). 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smiffyz 9 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site, lots of room between pitches, 16amp hook up plenty of taps around the site for the aquaroll.

Toilets & showers large, clean and warm. Lovely well kept site, Gas, Cafe, Bar all available on site. Family run and really friendly & helpful. Dog walking area, and nice and quiet too. It's a large working farm so lots of animals to see, especially Horses.

Nice walks to go on. 5 mins from M6. Village 3min drive for cash, shopping etc.

Eccleston Delph diving centre 2 mins away, nice for a walk around and to feed the huge Koi Carp & Trout etc, also a cafe on site. I can recommend Charity Farm site. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fizzme 2 reviews from this member

 Wanted some where local to us to checkout our new tent. My teenage daughter decided on this one.

Charity Farm is on a road call TooGood Road (yes, that the official road name), its not far from Standish and Haigh Hall.

Once you enter its not very well signposted and they could do with one sign for where the reception is.

The senior aged couple that run the site are very approachable and friendly.

We were in K field which is on its own compared to the rest of the site. The main toilets block is couple of minutes walk through a quite bit of the site and wouldn't feel safe sending kids on their own late evening. There are other fields for tents which are more central.

The K pitches are almost level and it quite a large field. All the pitches are numbered and you will be given a pitch number. All the campers where friendly and most had come from 30 miles radius.

Facilities: toilets were clean every time we went. Once we went early 5. 30 and the mens was shut as they had a flood and were cleaning it and we were asked to used the disabled. The showers are part of the same block, they were four individual showers they cost 50p for 5 minutes of power shower, we didn't use them so cant comment.

Across is the cafe, bar and wash up area again we didn't use them or any of the four fishing ponds.

Friday night their were only four pitches on saturday night it was full, plenty of 'atmosphere' but nothing rowdy and it all went quite by 12:30, I don't think anyone bothers to come and check.

Overall it was a nice pleasant stay. We didn't leave camp but there is a local produce shop few minutes drive as well as the local village of Eccelston for your other needs.

Being in Bolton is nice close by campsite that we would use again. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Elseys 1 review from this member

 This is only my second camping experience but overall a very pleasant local (to me) camp site which I will visit again.

Positives

The site has a central toilet and showering block which was clean. There are porta-loos on the camping field itself for convenience and these are the cleanest I have come across, and they were cleaned like clock work every morning. There is also a washing up area on the field.

Vending machines have a good choice of snacks and both hot and cold drinks.

The first day it rained continuously and through the night, we got a puddle in our tent. We moved our tent and gazebo to a raised spot a few feet from our actual site and the farmer didn't seem to mind even though we encroached slightly on the communal field.

On leaving our transport arrived 4 hours late after our designated departure time. We sat in the sun in the middle of the field with our equipment until it arrived and again the farmer didn't mind this.

Negatives - only minor

The reception isn't manned all the time so we had to wait a few minutes to get our deposit back for the fire pit.

Suggestions

A playground facility for the kids would make the camp site better.

I marked the site location down because of the waterlogged ditch we ended up with. I'm not sure if being near the water tap contributed to this or if was just the bad weather. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cbreddie 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned from another weekend team building at charity farm campsite. We came last year and loved it, last year we took 7 tents and 12 people. This year there were 9 tents and a caravan with 17 people.

EVERYONE has commented how fantastic the site is, we had a great time in the main field, there is now a new washing up area in the main field which is great.

Yes the showers are a bit of a walk, but we were away having a good time relaxing, and I don't have a problem having a relaxing walk to the showers.

The cafe is reasonably priced, as is the bar, great atmosphere on the whole site. Congratulations to the owners again.

Cant wait for next year 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dtiapril 2 reviews from this member

 Took our new tent to this local site for two nights as a test run and was impressed with this basic but lovely looking site.

Fire pit was delivered to the generous sized pitch shortly after we arrived, and they come round each night about 6pm to deliver more logs if needed.

Two portaloos on the field itself which were spotless, so had no need to use the main toilet block.

Vending machines provided cold drinks and some snacks, but the cafe wasn't open the few afternoons we wandered past. There doesn't seem to be a shop with normal supplies, so we headed into the nearby village when we'd forgotten a few things.

Lovely and quiet, couldn't believe I was only about a 20 minute drive from home. Will definitely be visiting again, this will be our site of choice if the weather is nice and we decide to go out on the last minute for 1-2 nights. 


Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lee volvo 2 reviews from this member

 I spent 3 nights here and went for the fishing having been before, to my disappointment they have dredged all the ponds late last year, there was no mention of that on the website so booked. I found out having had a chat to a fellow fisherman who had spent all day there for one fish lucky man. I give it a try no luck others had nothing as well. It will no doubt will improve over time. Maybe in time for the summer. May give it a try next year. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Danmac1504 4 reviews from this member

 Went for a one nighter with my boy to try out our small tent, was our second trip there.

We were in the top field which was pretty empty so no issues with noise.

Very friendly on arrival and actually stood around chatting for a while much to mine and his sons disgust.

We hired the fire pit although never got around to using it.

The field is quite far from the main toilet/showers but there are portaloos in the field which were clean in my opinion.

The bar is quite nice and a good atmosphere in there, we were there during the rugby world cup so that was on tv, but then bingo started and my boy got obsessed, hence us not lighting the fire pit.

It is out in the country so 5-10 minutes back to shops/pubs etc. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emoore86 2 reviews from this member

 We camped here for 2 nights Saturday to Monday on 2 pitches. We were in field K which is a bit of a walk to the main toilet/ shower block but there are portaloos in the field, although they aren't the cleanest I've used! The camp site is lovely, as are the family who run the reception. There is a shop and a bar on site, the shop doesn't sell much, just 'essentials' like tea, coffee, sugar, crisps, icecream, etc. The toilet block was always kept clean and tidy, as where the showers. The showers are good, powerful and hot, and cost 50p. There are lots of horses around which are great for children to see. There are plenty of drinking water taps and the area to wash dishes is inside with plenty of hot water. We will return again (and camping until the Monday is great as we were the only ones camping Sunday night!). 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Julie - Mike 3 reviews from this member

 Currently on the Charity Farm site with my husband who has had a great day fishing the large lake on site. Fishing cost 7. 00 for the day for 1 rod, lake looks well maintained with trees well cut back. Cafe and bar basic but great if it's raining and you want to meet up with friends. Only issue is large groups of campers 5 families chatting round a fire pit you till 1. 30am, I feel the owners should be checking around 11pm to make sure others are not being disturbed. Toilets basic but clean showers 50p. Hardstanding pitches nice and large. Visited Cedar Farm which is a 7 min drive from the site first Saturday of the month they hold a farmers market which is worth a visit. 


Previous     103 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wigan      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4525 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement