Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Wigan > Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park
Smithy Brow
Wrightington
Wigan
Lancashire   (Browse area)
WN6 9PP
Tel: 01257 451326
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 103 Reviews
                9/10 from 103 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  103 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barlea 1 review from this member

 We've been to this site quite a few times & we always enjoy it, the owner & his family are very friendly & helpful. Its very reasonable price wise & well worth a visit if you haven't been before, the toilets & showers are very clean with plenty of loo roll & the café food is very nice as well, lots of lovely walks if the kiddies get fed up, we will definitely be going back again 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Diane horner 1 review from this member

 1st time me and my Husband have been Camping together. Booked last minute, this Site is wonderful, they had every thing we needed, toilets and shower clean, Cafe and Bar very well run and not expensive. Bar had a BBQ and games sat night only £4 for burger and lots of salad. Had a lovely walk round the area and the Fishing Ponds. Local shops easy to find and not far from camp. Fire pit a great bonus to hire. Will visit them again soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lindseyderby 11 reviews from this member

 Spent just one night here when travelling up to Scotland, visiting friends in the Wigan area. We were made very welcome when we arrived, the pitch was spacious and conveniently located for water, elsan disposal etc. The site was well maintained, toilet facilities etc very clean. Did not use shower so unable to comment. Very conveniently located close to M6 and ideal for our purpose. Did not visit any oubs or shops in the area. Would definitely use again. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phil rawson 3 reviews from this member

 Just arrived back from charity farm. Weather. Brill. When weather good. Any where could be good. Great. Location. Only few mins off m6 and easy to find. Nice welcome. And we had booked so relatively easy check in. And given map to find pitch. Tent field large slightly sloping. We had hook up and easily found our pitch. There were tow portaloos on our field. Loos were functional. Little walk to shower block. Which again were functional we had a walk around the fishing lakes. But never fished. There is small bar. And cafe on site. Which we used. Food fine. All in all nice site. Will go again. Lots of horse stuff. Going on. Great for horse lovers 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Clairneville 7 reviews from this member

 We have really fallen in love with this site and have been back already! It's only 40 minutes from home but you could be a million miles away.

The hard standing pitches vary in size and direction which adds to the charm and the camping fields were very spacious.

The fishing lakes are stunning and surrounding countryside a perfect escape. The nearest pub is a respectable walk away and there is a NISA shop nearby with in-store bakery.

The cafe served a great breakfast at reasonable prices and the facilities were clean and functional.

We'll be back first chance we get! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stevehanover 8 reviews from this member

 Very friendly welcome from the owners nothing is too much trouble. Shower facilities are very clean as are the toilets.

Lovely walks around the fishing ponds. It's a very popular site so mid week would be best if you like it to be less busy. Local area is very nice for touring around a. Forty minutes to Liverpool. Not far to travel to Chester and also Cheshire Oaks retail village. Will definitely recommend and return again. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Milo2008 4 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a long weekend at charity farm, this was our first visit and was not disappointed. The owners were very nice, shown us to our pitch which was field H 93 and it was just perfect, toilets just across the field were clean, there was a horse show on whilst I was there in the next field which the owners said we could go and watch, :) great site, clean, great location. Not far from home, might go again this weekend, and being able to hire the camp fires is a great touch. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Holty_rover 1 review from this member

 Party of 12 of us in 4 tents at the bank holiday weekend, weather was great and this site is brilliant. It is obviously a well run farm & horse stabling/riding complex. The facilities were clean & tidy and the showers although 50p were hot. The bonus of having the on-site bar and cafe made it all the more pleasurable. The fishermen amongst us also made use of the really nice fishing ponds. The ability to hire a fire pit gives it that proper camping feel.

Booked again for a weekend in June. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lozsheffy 12 reviews from this member

 This was our third visit to Charity Farm, the last time being a wash out on August bank holiday, but this has not put us off. The previous visits were in a tent, however this was our first visit in our campervan. The staff are very helpful, the facilities are clean and tidy and the bonus of being able to hire a fire pit makes this our best site so far. There is a café/pub on site which is only small but very friendly and relaxing just like the whole site. Thanks again for a great time  


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Swiftycorn 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a three day two night stay here. We rang on Wednesday night to book in arriving the Friday afternoon and leaving the Sunday afternoon.

Arrived on Friday afternoon and following lengthy discussion with owner we discovered they had no booking for us and site was 'full'. Eventually problem was corrected. We were located on pitch B17. It was a large pitch with level hardstanding area, enough parking for two cars and a reasonable grass area, not overlooked and neighbouring pitches were separated by hedges and trees - bob on.

Charged £17. 00 per night for caravan with EHU, £3. 00 extra charge for second car. We did not use our awning but there is extra charges in place for extras ie dogs, awnings etc - some a bit pricey given that no one else can use space on your pitch.

Showers and toilets are clean but basic - toilets are open for use by anyone on site including fishermen and people using equestrian centre. Showers have charge of 50p but water was red hot and plentiful.

The site has no security barrier system in place but this did not seem to cause any problems due to location of site.

The site is located around a working farm that has a large livery business and there are four fishing lakes situated around the site.

All in all this is a good site with some issues that could be addressed to turn it into a great site.

Positives:

* large, level hardstanding pitches.
* easy to find.
* Small pub and cafe on site - Cafe a little over priced and a bit basic.
* very clean and well mainatined.
* Very quite and peaceful.

Negatives.

* Issues on arrival.
* Not child friendly site, the fishing ponds don't have locked gates to keep wandering children out.
* free for all coming and going people using livery and fishing lakes.
* No play area for children.
* only four showers for whole site - could do with more.

Overall, I feel this is a place for horses and horsey people or fishermen. 


Previous     103 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wigan      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2040 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement