Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Wigan > Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park
Smithy Brow
Wrightington
Wigan
Lancashire   (Browse area)
WN6 9PP
Tel: 01257 451326
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 103 Reviews
                9/10 from 103 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  103 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jem.prydd 4 reviews from this member

 We arrived at the camp site on a very cold, wet and windy night in July but were instantly warmed by the welcome. The owner was curtious and friendly and was happy to give us as much or as little help as we wanted.
The site itself is well laid out - there is a lot going on with stables, fishing ponds, caravans and tents but the site is split into small areas with mature hedging and trees inbetween so you never feel crowded.
The facilities were ok - though I'm not sure how many pitches they served and you did have to pay extra for showers but the camp fees where so cheap this didn't really matter.

The farm shop a mile or so down the road towards the m6 is a must - lots of great produce and again very friendly people. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tyson1960 11 reviews from this member

 A delightful and relaxing break just spent at Charity farm. Camp facilities are clean and field kept in good condition. All pitches are numbered and we were able to get on a field away from main fields as was our want, as the main tent field with EHU was busy and we wanted some peace but still close to showers and wc.
There is a laundry room, but I didn't check it out as our stay was only a short one. Local pub within easy walking distance, and pub grub looked excellent, we'd had a bbq so didn't partake. Fishing on site seems good, not being an angler myself, just watched and some reasonable fish were being caught. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: F1roo 2 reviews from this member

 Well recommended really enjoyed the stay. The facilities on the camp are OK specially if you like fishing the lakes are well looked after and are clean you also have a canteen where there are vendor machines what you can get drinks snacks such as hot drinks or cold drinks pot noddles burgers where you use the micro wave provided or the hot water which is free which the refreshments are at a good price.
The toilet block are well kept and clean the showers are 50p for the water and the heater there is also a Landry at a charge as well,the pitches for your tent are well kept with a water tab near the entrance to the field.
There is a pub just down the road 200 metres with cooked meals (book in advance for Sunday lunch) which is very nice there are some shop not to far away either where there are take aways fill stations which is handy.
They also have horse shows occasionally. Public foot paths nearby too which are nice just to chill out. Handy because not that far away from the motorway and you can't hear the traffic.
The surrounds are lovely. We be going back next year. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bigdave 3 reviews from this member

 Just had a 3 night camping/fishing break at charity farm and we will be going back. We were put on the big camping field nicely maintained and flat with plenty of room between pitches.
Toilets/showers excellent although would have preferred free showers (50p). Local pub very nice, fishing very good.
I feel it would benefit from having its own on site shop and play area for kids. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Anoz44 7 reviews from this member

 Just back from visiting this site for the first time and was generally disappointed. First impressions was of a very pleasant site set in a lovely area down country lanes. Reasonably priced. I thought I would be in for a peaceful and stressfree stay.
The toilets block was newish and ok, about four or five toilets which was better than a lot of other sites, there was also a separate part for horses stables which I quite liked, however, as the afternoon went on the campers in the area opposite to us started playing games of football / rounders right in the middle of the caravans, this was going on more or less all the time. Nothing was done about this.
The site does not have anywhere for children to play or to kick a ball around. It puzzles me when these sites say they are family friendly but do not create any play areas or anywhere for children to play football as not to bother other campers. I do not think I will be going back to this site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sue and mike 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from Charity Farm, we went local as price of petrol mad at moment! (we live in sunny manchester!) The Farmer was very smiley and polite, lots of people enjoying the fishing, there was a horse show on whilst we were there, no rush for us to get off site on the Sunday afternoon so we enjoyed the show and the sunshine.
Lovely pub the Brook House, which was easy walk of 10 mins away, serves the best steak and kidney pie I have ever tasted! Countryside around was full of wildlife, we saw foxes, pheasants, buzzards so bring your binoculars if your into that kind of thing. We enjoyed it so much booked to go back again.
Toilets clean, you get allocated a pitch number and it was cheap, 10 for tent, car, us and no EHU. 


Date of Visit: February 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Silverwood 11 reviews from this member

 Just spent a very pleasant 4 nights here, largeish site mainly based on livery stables and commercial fishery 4 lakes.
The best way to describe the site is CLs within CLs as each group of pitches are in their own paddock, mixture of hardstandings & grass very well maintained & large.

The toilet block was spotless & looked to have been newly painted for the 08 season, small selfserve building with coin operated snack machines, dishwashing + microwave again spotless.
Fishing lakes comprise of 1 large lake approx 4 acres with 3 smaller ponds stocked with all the usual commercial fish permit 5 & 6 per day dawn till dusk.
There is a pub within easy walking distance, local village is Ecclestone approx 3 miles not much there but does have a supermarket, bakers, chemist, cafe, fuel & a chinese takeaway.
Best place to shop is at Ormskirk a very nice market town, for the kids Camelot is only just up the motorway 10 minutes from site.
This site is perfectly situated for anyone travelling from north to south who needs to break their journey due to it's easy access to the motorway network. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daslex1 1 review from this member

 Great site with friendly and helpful owner. Plenty of room between pitches and field was not overcrowded. Dogs are welcome but must be kept on lead, however there is an area where dogs can be let loose. Facilities are basic but clean (you need 50p for showers)

We were charged 10 per night for 2 adults and a 2 yr old which is not to bad for a bank holiday weekend. The time we visited the site was a little rowdy up until about 10pm but this was just young children and it was only the one night over our three night stay. If the site had a children's play area then this would be perfect.

I was a little surprised not to see any information about local attractions, places of interest etc.As there was a small room on the site with vending machines and a seating area which people tended to use.

I would definitely return to charity farm and recommend it to any readers. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SConroy 1 review from this member

 A very quiet campsite with the bare minimum of facilities. This however does not detract from the warm welcome you will receive. It is an ideal base to explore the local area with some beautiful countryside within easy reach. Southport and Blackpool are also easy to access. I would also recommend visiting Chorley market held in the centre of town on a Tuesday.
Don't forget your 50p's for the shower. I look forward to returning soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mattv 7 reviews from this member

 Visited this site with wife and small child during a wet May weekend. Despite the rain the campsite was a hit and when we found the farmhouse to pay 20 for the 2 nights we had a good time. We called at the local pub at 8pm on the Friday but were told that no 'little ones' were allowed past that time. We didn't go back to that pub although it did look like a good boozer.

I would recommend the 'Toogood' farm shop which was a mile from the campsite and can easily be found be turning right when leaving the campsite and following the road. The steak that we BBQ'd was fabulous.There was also a small nursery which was worth a look.

The site was quite when we were there and the pitches seemed to be a good size. The toilet block was clean and tidy and the owner seemed to be a friendly sort.

All in all very good. 


Previous     103 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wigan      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4439 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement