Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Wigan > Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park
Smithy Brow
Wrightington
Wigan
Lancashire   (Browse area)
WN6 9PP
Tel: 01257 451326
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 103 Reviews
                9/10 from 103 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  103 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smithycampers 1 review from this member

 We chose this site as it was only 25min drive away just to get used to putting the tent up etc.

We have stayed 3 times now all in J Field.

Pitches are a good size and well kept.

The weather has not been the best this year so every time we have been its been wet!

The site is great, me hubby and 2 girls 3&6 really enjoyed each visit.

No much to do on site, there is a cafe open at the weekend and I recommend hiring a fire pit. Don't forget your marshmallows!

There is a pub across the road with a hidden gem of a duck pond at the back, pub serves food but a bit pricey. Kids are allowed til 8ish I think.

Not much for the kids to do but we took bats and balls etc and there was plenty of room in the middle of the field for the kids to play safely and you can keep and eye on them.

At only £12 a night you cant grumble too much!

We will be back next year! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Oneof8 10 reviews from this member

 Just came back from staying at Charity Farm with the family. It's a lovely place with everything you'd expect from a campsite. The showers were hot - though were 50p a time - but for your 50p you also had the heater on too which was lovely.

The cafe only runs at weekends, so we didn't get to use it and as it was raining when we arrived on Mon, we didn't end up using the fire pits. It's £10 initial charge for the pit, kindling and logs and thereafter it was £3 a time for a bag of logs etc. Certainly we felt it was worth the cost, but as we spent so much time with our family, we didn't use it. You just pay at the farmhouse/reception during the day and they deliver for 6pm.

The little shop has vending machines that even stocks Pot Noddles so you are able to get hot food if you need it! The hot drinks are good too and only 50p for hot choc - we had lots of those!

The loos are really clean and they have a heater that comes on keeping the chill off.

We'd certainly go back next year when we're back in the UK visiting the family in the North West. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Val2168 2 reviews from this member

 We have now visited this site twice within 4 weeks. We chose it because it is only 25 minutes or so from where we live. We thought it would be an ideal spot to try out my daughter's new estate sized tent and to reintroduce my husband and I to the joys of camping.

It's a small site on a farm which caters for the fishing fraternity and private livery stable. The site is immaculately get.

Shower and toilet block is a credit to the owners and small aircraft hangar shaped cafe which is only open at weekends serves up a brill English brekky which we all partook of every morning on both our weekend stays.

For an extra fee you can have a firepit delivered to your unit. We didn't bother but relatives who decided to join us on our second visit did and they loved it.

The pitches are very generous in size and we all felt sure that the field for tents with hook-ups (which we had) could have held more units instead of the four it has. All in all. I would recommend this site to anyone.

You are only a couple of miles away from shops at Eccleston and there is a pub a few minutes walk from the site entrance.

We will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kn1te 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a weekend to test out our new van. The site is a working farm with horses and a fishing complex. Hard standing pitches are level and relatively easy to put pegs in. Although you will need rock pegs.

Once you pull into the site the dirt track is a little narrow and full of pot holes. When driving out, the exit is on a hill and a corner, so take care when coming out.

The chap that checked us in at the farm house was friendly and welcoming and explained everything thoroughly. Everyone who seemed to work there always said hello and were pleasant when walking round.

Toilets and shows are basic but clean. 50p for shower is too steep though, and only last around 10 minutes. There is a small café and shop, but these are only open during the day at weekends I think.

Waste water an toilet waste all go into the same hole in the ground. Motorhome users be aware, there is no water disposal point for you. Reasonable site, could do with a few minor improvements but much.  


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fudgetastic 10 reviews from this member

 I found the site easily, with a satnav. The site is part of a large livery stables and fishery, this posed no problem at all. Farmyard clearly sign-posted for loos, cafe, reception which was in the farmhouse.

I was met by a very friendly owner who gave me map and clear instruction of where I could set up, also told that there was no strict time to leave on the Sunday and could stay till 4pm. I found this really helpful as it gives you another day on site.

Found my pitch easily, (D35) was pleasantly surprised at the size of the pitch, largest Ive been on. Areas were separated by fences, only two tents and two caravens in my little area. Very clean, flat, arrived in a thunderstorm but ground remained fairly dry.

Spent the day walking around the site and surrounding area, lovely quiet and relaxing, had decided that I would definitely return until about 5pm on the Saturday when what sounded like 100 teenagers having an 'rave' in the next field.

Loud music, screaming girls and swearing men, continued. As there were rules clearly displayed around the site, quiet by 11pm, I waited for the noise to abate, it didn't and continued until 4.30am. What made it worse for me was the portable loo supplied in the camping field, was adjacent to my tent albeit in the next field, the door being slammed continuously and conversations clearly heard throughout the night. Very disappointed this was not curbed by the owner.

To sum up, very nice site, would definitely go again, but would speak to owner first to ensure no 'raves' were taking place, and would ask for pitch away from D field. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Xmazx2000x 2 reviews from this member

 We had a really nice stay at charity farm, we pitched a tent with hook up. No problems with electric, no problems with it tripping out. Very clean and well maintained. Showers, toilets clean.

The fishing is spot on, me son caught biggest fish of his life, common carp, 10lb! the owners are really welcoming. Plenty of space between pitches.

We stayed on small field so can't really say what it would be like to stay on the big field. The only downside would be that there is no on site shop, although I have been told they are hoping to open one.

They hire out fire pits if you don't have a free standing barbecue with coal and logs, very reasonably priced.

Overall a really nice place to stay, will be going back soon! 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Indyblade 2 reviews from this member

 Found this site purely by accident on my way home from a day's scuba diving at Eccleston Delph Dive Centre, decided to give it a try next time I was doing a couple of days diving at the Delph.

Very glad I did, nice flat pitches ideal for the trailer tent. Reasonably quiet site but excellent value for the money, the showers were amazing just like being in a washing machine ( the water comes on in timed cycles )

highly recommend this site to any divers wishing to do a weekends diving just up the road 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bury40 4 reviews from this member

 We went for the fishing. We left 2 days early, we'd seen enough. Yes we caught mediocre fish, injured and deformed and certainly nothing to get excited over. Local anglers leaving behind rubbish, leaving their leftover bait around the peg they left. No wonder the place was unindated with greedy ducks and swooping seagulls. Piles of duck poo (and there was loads of it) made the pegs slippery and dangerous, Rats visible.

This is not a true fishery. There are no regular angling rules so we were not surprised when we found, discarded 'barbed' hooks, fishing line, plus the rubbish and waste others had thrown down. Any kind of bait was being used regardless, and was being used at the detriment of the fish and other anglers. There was a terrible rancid smell from one of the big bins near the ponds.

This is not child friendly site, the fishing ponds don't have locked gates to keep wandering children out. No matter how great parents can be they don't have eyes in the back of their heads to keep their children safe.

The language coming from the mouths of some young lads was undesirable considering small children were wandering around the site.

Overall, this is a place for horses and horsy people. There are 40 stables total.

The cost of a stay here needs to reflect the amenities. Rules need to be used for guidelines for the more considerate angler. And health and safety issues need to be considered before a serious accident occurs.

No we will not be returning, ever.  


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sandram9898 40 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a four day holiday. What a nice site, although sat nav did not seem to want to take us to this site, we did eventually find it ourselves. Reception is in the farmhouse and we were welcomed quickly and efficiently.

We were on field D which was really quite central for all amenities.There are 132 pitches, which seemed evenly spaced. If there is one negative point it was one toilet block with 4 male and 4 female toilets and 4 showers for the whole site, although we did not have to wait often. Owner's response: All camping fields in fact have portable toilets in the field for convenience. They were extremely clean and tidy and I never saw them messy. Showers cost 50pence for about 10minutes.

There is a small cafe which in my opinion was not up to much. Owner's response: All food served in the café is finest quality fresh local produce, sourced from an award winning local butcher. It was also only open saturday and Sunday 9 - 2.30. There are 4 fishing lakes which OH and son really enjoyed fishing and caught some very large fish.

Please be aware that this is a fishery and the general public do come onto the site and there was quite a few people who also use the same toilet block as the campers.

We had a lovely few days and if we were in the area again we would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lisajan84 1 review from this member

 We visited for the first time, bank holiday weekend with our son, nephew and dog. The owners were very polite, helpful and went out of their way to ensure we had a lovely break.

We took our small bbq to cook on and to have a fire at night. Large fire pits were on offer to hire for your stay and are superb for keeping everyone warm on those cold nights. Prices were very reasonable, and came with a bag of fire logs, kindle and a pack of fire lighters. They also deliver them to your pitch. I've never seen these at a campsite before and heard they are new to this year. Ingenious idea and I will not be taking the small bbq next time.

The site was very clean and tidy and toilet / shower facilities were spotless for a campsite! The cafe served breakfasts / dinners and the vending machines served drinks and snacks the children spent a fortune on hot chocolates at night, even though the drinks were only 40p each.

Please be aware that there is no shop on site but the owners did say they are looking into expanding. Remember to take essentials like headache tablet's!

We were allocated a pitch number and were surprised with the space offered for our personal pitch. We were also very lucky to have been given an en suite near to two portaloos, which we were very grateful for considering we had two children.

We used these at night and it was about a two minute walk to the main facilities. (Only wish that people went to the main loo for a number two, portable loos should have a sign saying pee only).

There was enough to do on the very spacious field's and the children loved the horses, sheep, ducks and very big fish. Fantastic for fishing. Overall a brilliant, relaxing weekend and are planning our next visit very soon. We will definitely be returning. 


Previous     103 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wigan      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5576 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement