Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Wigan > Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park
Smithy Brow
Wrightington
Wigan
Lancashire   (Browse area)
WN6 9PP
Tel: 01257 451326
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 103 Reviews
                9/10 from 103 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  103 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deacons 2 reviews from this member

 We visited this site shortly after the torrential rain we had in the summer of 2012, the site would not allow tents to pitch as the ground was too muddy when we initially tried to book, once the ground had a chance to drain, the site owner very kindly directed us to a pitch that wasn't too wet, although the field in parts was still sodden. The field itself was nice and big, with plenty of room in the middle for kids to run around and play games. There were portaloos situated on the field which were a cleaned once daily, but by lunch time, they were very disgusting and often out of loo roll. The main toilet/shower block was nice and clean though (remember to take some 50p pieces though). The weather was lovely the weekend we went, which did bring out some 'types' of campers. There were fire pits to hire for 10 plus wood, cafe and shop. I'm not sure I would have liked to have stayed any longer than a weekend as there isn't much to do on the site and in the surrounding area. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrbaldyed 1 review from this member

 Really friendly site, with clean and excellent facilities. Very spacious pitches. We was allocated H field with electric hook up. This is quite a big field with lots of room for kids to play. The only drawback I'd say is that there are 4 portaloos in one corner of the field, so if your pitch is on the opposite side then you have a bit of a walk, but all in all the portaloos are kept very clean.

I would definitely recommend this site and will definitely return there. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stefnm 1 review from this member

 My family and I had an overnight stay at this site recently and would definitely return. The site was easy to find, and as we were visiting camelot theme park, ideally located for our trip. The owners were helpful and friendly, the toilet and shower facilities were great, little bit if a walk from our tent but not a problem. There is a shop and cafe on site but we did not use them, thought was a good idea though. There are also vending machines near the toilets which was very handy. Overall great site, cheap Carvery nearby which we took advantage of, would recommend this site to anyone visiting this area. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jayandpam 2 reviews from this member

 We stay at charity farm 2 or 3 times a year more if I have my way.

The site is family run and are very nice and would go over backwards to help in anyway.

The site has many pitches which are large and able to pitch any large tents, hookup are available for caravans and tents,

There is drinks machine and sweets machine in the main wash room there is a newly bult cafe which serves good food mainly open at weekends.

Hopefully there will be a bar opening soon,

The site has a fishery and livery stables and are welcome to watch the horse jumping.

They have lots of ponds with good size fish from 7 a day

The site is very tidy and the shower blocks and toilets are cleaned everyday as they can get muddy when its rains.

The showers are 50p to use there is also a washing machine and tumble dryer.

There is local shops about a mile away and there was a pub just cross the road but don't know what's happening about it as it was closed when we where last there.

The only downside is for the children as there is not park for them, but mine where happy fishing and playing ball games with all the other children on site.

If you want a nice and quiet relaxing holiday then this is the place for you.

At an affordable price you can't go wrong. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BoltonianBoy79 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for a single night over the Jubilee Weekend on the recommendation of a friend.

Despite getting a little lost after coming of Junction 27, once I arrived I must say I loved the site. (need to invest in a Sat Nav!).

The pitches are large, and there is plenty of space for the kids to play on the field we were allocated (E). The toilets, the showers and the overall facilities were great.

A toilet nearer to the field would have been great but it was only a 2 minutes walk to the main block. Me and my family had a breakfast in the on-site cafe which was great!

You can tell this is a real family run site. Everyone I spoke to either on the phone or in person was always very friendly. They even helped me jump start my car after my battery decided to die on me! Can't argue with 12 quid a night(great value!) and being able to hire a fire pit was a bonus!

Didn't get chance to really explore the surrounding area but from what I saw it is a lovely area!

Will be back I'm sure many times over the summer. Lets hope the sun shines! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pee-Jay-Cee 8 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our first (and almost certainly not our last) trip to Charity Farm. It is only 40 minutes from home, but it could be anywhere because we were so relaxed after the weekend that we felt like it had been a long weekend, rather than just the 2 nights.

We arrived on Friday, after work and school, pitched, collected a take-away pizza and chilled out. Saturday we enjoyed a trip to Cedar Farm followed by a BBQ back at our tent. Sunday we had a full breakfast at the cafe before striking camp at our leisure, due to the fact that the latest departure time is 16:00 - a welcome change from sites that demand you are away by 10. 00 on the last morning!

The site is beautiful, well laid out with different fields for caravans and tents, so we never felt overcrowded and the welcome was warm and friendly. We didn't have a fire-pit this time, but the fact that you can hire them out for the evening is an excellent idea. Another nice touch is the hot drinks vending machine and the electric kettle down at the washing-up area.

Our only criticism of the site would be that 3 showers really are not enough for the size of the site. Luckily, on this occasion, we did not have any problems but could imagine that on Bank Holiday weekends, for example, there must be long queues. That said, the showers were clean and the 50p charge gave ample hot water. We felt that the portaloos in the camping fields were a good idea to prevent a long walk down to the main toilet block.

All in all, a good weekend and we would recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lozsheffy 12 reviews from this member

 First visit to charity farm, will definitely be coming back. Lovely place, field e was great, spacious and not cramped in.

Normal toilet block lovely and clean. But even the porta loo toilets in camping field were the best I've ever used, clean and always toilet rolls in them.

Although no park for children, the big field let them play football and fly kites and do what they should be able to do.

Would recommend for couples or families. Shower block was 50p and clean and does the job. Very good place to come. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cheryl.mark 91 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a very enjoyable weekend at this site which is only 10 miles from where were we live. Lovely location, you could be anywhere its a lovely setting. Equestrian centre, lots of horses and fishing lakes set away from the campsite. Pitches are huge gravel hardstanding, there are 3 showers which cost 50p for hot water, toilets very clean, only gripe with showers could do with a chair or something in to put your clothes on. You cant use your own firepits but the site hires them out plus logs and they drive around each night at 6pm to see who needs logs, quite a nice idea. Cafe which we didn't use basic menu. Theres a washing up area but its quite a way from the tent field, there's also vending machines where you can buy hot drinks/crisps which I think is a nice touch. I would definitely return to this lovely site, its a credit to the owners and not badly priced at 18 a night inc elec. Theres no kids play area but ours were quite happy playing on the huge tent field which was close to our pitch, loved the atmosphere on this site. Tent field looked flat and there were quite a few tents on, loads of space too. We will be returning to this site as we loved it and its close to home but feels like miles away. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bertie300 20 reviews from this member

 We managed to get a cancellation booking, and at 15 a night, including electric, for one tent and 2 people we didn't expect much. How wrong we were!

What a find! This site is a working farm dealing with horses and fishing mainly.

There are quite a few well kept fields to choose from and all of them have a few pitches with EHU. One or 2 of the fields have portaloos which is a bonus for those night time trips.

The toilet block could be bigger to prevent waiting times in peak season but it is clean and well looked after.

There is a cafe on site which opens just at weekends and serves fantastic bacon butties and even better breakfasts'.

The local pub has now closed so a 15 min car journey is required if you want to visit the pub. The local shops are not too far away either.

To sum up, a very nice site, friendly staff and priced fairly.

We shall be going back, Ruby! get the bacon butties ready! 


Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Deallyboy 13 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for three nights in Feb half term, the site is very easy to get to just about 4 miles off junction 27 of the M6.

The site itself is a working equestrian based farm which has branched out into fishing and camping, the touring pitches are level and of a good size. The toilets are of a good standard and although they were not heated did have lots of hot water. The showers were brill, 50p for about 10 minutes. The cafe was not open due to the holidays, but looked OK.

The local Pub has just closed down, but there are lots in the local area.

We made use of the train from Appley Bridge station which was very close, the station had free parking and only cost 6. 10 for two adults and 1 child, with a railcard, to get into Manchester.

We would use this site again. 


Previous     103 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wigan      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4481 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement