Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Wigan > Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park
Smithy Brow
Wrightington
Wigan
Lancashire   (Browse area)
WN6 9PP
Tel: 01257 451326
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 103 Reviews
                9/10 from 103 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  103 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cbreddie 7 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a weekend at Charity farm caravan and camping site, Where do I start?

The site is easy to get to, with easy access to the motorway. It has fantastic views from its camping fields, good facilities, friendly staff, cheap rates, well looked after, spacious pitches.

I have been camping all my life, and this campsite is right up there in the top 5 sites I have had the great pleasure to have stayed at.

A site shouldnt be judged on whether it has the latest and most modern facilities, it should be judged on how it looks after them. And how it looks after its guests.

Someone made a mess in the toilet block, when the owners found out about it, they cleaned them immediately and were very apologetic about the mess. The toilets in the camping field were just a couple of site portaloos with proper toilets. They were basic but clean and worked. The main toilet and shower block was a bit of a walk away from the tents, but these facilities were very good and kept clean at all times.

There is a bar, a cafe, stables and fishing on site. The site also allows the use of a firepit and suppy firewood at a reasonable cost.

We were there as part of a company teambuilding event, this was the first time we have done it, some of the group have never been camping before. We were going to look for a different site for next year, but I think we have found our annual venue. Only next year we hope to stay a bit longer.

Cant wait to return to this wonderful site, many thanks to the owners, who do a great job. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Curryking1980 1 review from this member

 Came here with some friends who had never been camping despite some awful weather all of us had a fab time we camped on the top field and it was a bit of a trek to the showers and main toilet block there were two porta loos in the field so wasn't a big problem the cafe/bar was nice good food and wasn't over priced we went with four kids and the only thing they were disappointed with was there wasn't a play park but it was a massive field and they had plenty of fun playing cricket and football. We chose this site due to it being close to home but we will definitely be returning can't comment on the fishing lake as we don't fish but there were lots of people fishing all weekend so I assume it is good overall very impressed with this site it is a good weekend campsite but I think I would struggle staying a full week. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grahamfin 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here one night whilst cycling from Lands End to John O'Groats. In addition to the campsite, the farm is also a busy horse riding location, but this seemed to work well with the camping.

I was allocated a pitch on a tent field with lush grass, it was easy to pitch and had wonderful views to the west and north west towards Blackpool, if there had been a strong wind from that direction the tent may have struggled, but fortunately there wasn't. It was a fair walk to the toilet block from the field, but the facilities were fine. I had read of a restaurant on site, but this appeared to only be open in peak periods, so I walked about a mile to the Corner House restaurant for a meal, which was excellent! Overall a good site, I would be happy to return. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DebzQ 3 reviews from this member

 We have used this site once before in a tent on the campsite ( Last October). On the field there is only 2 porta loos. However in close proximity to the caravans is a toilet & shower block. Lovely site. Quiet location. Fishing ponds need a little attention. Bar is basic as is the shop, which I haven't seen open as yet.

Good location as we were to go to The 3 Sisters race track to see a friend race.

We came again after purchasing a caravan as our maiden voyage. A good sized pitch with electric hook up & not too close to neighbours. Quiet caravan site. Again the pools looked a tad in need of TLC. Nice location & not too far to drive to Southport.

No shops or pubs close by so make sure you have provisions before you arrive.

Will come again no doubt. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: PGA1966 17 reviews from this member

 Set in a delightful quiet location part of a working farm just a couple of miles off junction 27 M6.

Easy reach to Preston, Wigan, Skelmesdale, Southport, Liverpool

Facilities good, pot wash, toilets, showers [ annoying as showers cost 50p but pitch fee 20. 00 per night expect showers to be free]. Shop and cafe.

Site offers wifi at 5. 00 for 3 days good coverage.

Nice walks around the actual farm campsite and fishery pools.

Dog friendly remember to keep dogs on lead on site, dog exercise area.

Good TV reception.

Defo would use again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bridget17 13 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site just off junction 27 on the M6, but very quiet and peaceful. The fishing lakes and surrounding countryside are stunning.

Check in at the farmhouse was quick and easy, our pitch was spacious, hard standing and had EHU. Overall it was well laid out with different fields for campers and well maintained.

Charity farm is a working farm, fishery and equestrian centre, dogs are welcome and they have a designated exercise area where they can be off the lead.

Toilet block and separate showers are cleaned regularly.

The enclosed washing up area has very handy vending machines as the cafe/bar is only open at weekends.

Will definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynn05 3 reviews from this member

 Spent a day here lovely location and walks, great for fishing and walking. Just one gripe toilets, this is a working farm and the toilet block had muddy floor due to the horse liveries and Fisher men be able to use the toilets, better if campers/tourers had a separate toilet block, very friendly place, bar just basic but great if your not bothered about decor. One bonus was the peace + quiet, we would visit again. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Dad1uk 36 reviews from this member

 First time here in our Folding Camper.

Easy to find and good access to the site.

Onsite cafe and bar but only open Friday to Sunday.

We were on field H and had EHU but were warned it was only 6 Amp. We did trip it a couple of times but just reset the trip at the EHU post so no drama. It appears the caravans have a higher ampage feed.

A very pleasant site which is set in a lovely location. The views from our field were excellent as were the size of the pitches.

On arrival we saw two 'portacabin' type loos and thought 'oh heck!'. We were pleasanly surprised they housed proper flushing toilets which were spotless. Only two for two fields apart from the toilets in the main complex so they could be at a premium when the site is busy.

As mentioned in a previous post the site does offer fishing in their own pools and it is a busy equestrian centre so plenty of horses.

A nice site, well run and will certainly return. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campnfish 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a few nights at the beginning of the month.

I would definitely stay here again.

You have to report to the reception on arrival, I forget the guys name who greeted us but he was a nice bloke, very helpful, it was a warm welcome, he checked the booking and gave us the directions to our pitch.

A relaxing laidback atmosphere was noticeable from the beginning. There was some maintenance work being done on our last days fishing which got quite noisy for a while but these things cant be helped.

From speaking to the owner and his son you could tell they were genuine people and work hard at what they do.

The cafe was shut as its only open for the weekends but the canteen room was great for charging your phone while you washed up or boiled the kettle (provided free of charge).

The toilets and washrooms were clean and tidy with hot water.

The camping field was big and had a large area in the centre where kids could play etc. There were at least 3 other camping fields that are probably used for rallies or busier periods.

The fishing was ok, I only fished the larger of the 4 ponds but it looked the best of the bunch. The weather was quite warm so mostly skimmers being caught, not many big carp but I did see a couple of people catch half decent fish.

Eccleston is a few miles up the road, turn left at the campsite exit and follow the road about 3 miles. There is a good mini-market that had some good offers on so I might not take as much food next time.

There were also takeaways and restaurants and a couple of pubs not to mention a few various shops.

I didn't care for wi-fi but my mate wanted it, he was disappointed that the signal dropped a few times and apparently it only allowed you 3 attempts to log on with the allocated code, on trying a different device (my phone) this must have been the 3rd log on and so it seemed no longer usable for his tablet. He said he had wasted his money, maybe it needs a stronger signal?

In all fairness I would say he should have checked if the signal could reach the fields or if it were advisable to use around the main amenities areas instead of expecting it to work as if he was at home sitting on his couch!

Other than that I could not fault Charity Farm and would recommend it to anyone. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Superginge 1 review from this member

 Just been for 2 night stop. This is the second time we have used this campsite. I think it is great, laid back with cafe and bar. Lots of space to wander around with footpaths and walks plus plenty of things for children to do. Loved seeing all the horses and chatting to various people involved in equestrian. Great views of Trough of Bowland and Harwich moors.

Very friendly owners with good showers. You do pay 50 p but I would rather pay and get decent warm water with decent flow. I have stayed in many camp sites where showers have been free but hopeless. All in all a little gem. I would recommend this site for camping 


Previous     103 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wigan      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5050 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement