Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Wigan > Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park
Smithy Brow
Wrightington
Wigan
Lancashire   (Browse area)
WN6 9PP
Tel: 01257 451326
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 103 Reviews
                9/10 from 103 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  103 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dawnella 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here in a tent, 2 adults and 3 children. We were put on a very large field, where tents are located all around the edges on set numbered pitches, lots of space in the middle of the field for the children to play, and plenty of room between tents to have some privacy, which did help with the noise levels, was fairly quiet and peaceful.

We had a water point in the corner of our field so was easy to use. Because we had a few min walk to the main toilet block we were given 2 portaloos (which I'm told are new this year) just at the entrance of our field, we mainly used these at night and walked up to the main ones during the days but were open all the time.

The main toilet/shower block was always clean and tidy, even a plug for hairdriers etc in the toilet block (which Ive not found on any other site yet),there were 3 showers, separate small rooms with space to get changed and a small seat, these cost a 50 pence piece to use, but I did manage to get me and my 2 girls showered on one 50p (quickly!). I did like these separate rooms for showering, although would have preferred separate male / female shower rooms, but that's just me being fussy.

There was a good disabled toilet with baby changing unit inside, although I did not see a disabled shower which was a shame after going to the effort of adding a disabled toilet which was great.

The washing up area was very good, all inside so ideal if it rains, proper sinks with plenty of hot water and draining boards. Also in this rooms is vending machines that sell cold drinks (great on a hot day) and snacks, including pot noodles and there is a hot water tank for filling pot noodles / flasks etc which was a nice idea.

Although there is no children's park, there is loads for them to see so they were never bored, there's a few large fishing lakes, you can also get one day fishing passes here, the kids loved looking at the big fish. There are loads of horses so the kids loved that too.

We didn't go off site but live fairly local and there are lots to do nearby, as well as supermarkets etc, the owners are very friendly and helpful so they would be happy to advise on days out etc.

My only small gripes with this site is that for a family of 5 its the most expensive ive found, especially when you have to pay more for showers on top of that too, but for a smaller family is quite cheap, the tent price should be for 4 people not start at 2 then pay more per person after that.

Also there is 3 huge steps into the food/washing facilities, where they could easily put a ramp in here for wheelchairs and prams, and a disabled shower would make a big difference, I saw quite a few disabled people here so its a shame they haven't got that.

Overall we loved our time here and will definitely go again. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Vonfluff 2 reviews from this member

 We found the owners to be incredibly friendly - as were the other campers. We were on one of the large tent fields and found it gave a great feeling of privacy and community with a large space in the middle for the kids to run around in.

The pitches were a reasonable size and on the whole in good condition (There were a few dry/brown pitches.But we have seen them at most campsites.)

We were initially worried that a lack of children's playground would have been an issue as kids seem to use it as a meeting place - but the open fields meant that our kids were able to play and roam as they wished so this wasn't an issue. If you have children that need occupying or need other children, then this may prove to be an issue (Hence the 6 in the review).

The toilets were really clean and I was massively impressed by the portable toilets at the edge of the field which meant that we didn't have to take the (short) walk to the main toilet / shower block.

We did have a (very) short walk to the Washing up facilities but they were awesome. Under-cover, lots of hot water (including a boiler for making Pot Noodles.Or filling your flask depending on your needs) and really well thought out. Most impressed.

The location is quite lovely - really rural and open. Sat on our chairs having lunch, we could have been in Northern France. Not something you expect being so close to Wigan.

We had initially been put off going to Charity farm by some verbal feedback that there were large groups of young people getting drunk and being noisy. Ironically, the only drunk / noisy people we noticed were a small group and they weren't teenagers. To be honest - they weren't that bad either.

All in all, it was a great weekend and we would highly recommend the campsite. The welcome was lovely as was the setting - and all at an incredibly reasonable price. I don't think we've had better value out of a campsite. 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Vickynewby 9 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely, quiet weekend at this site. This was our first outing with our newly acquired Crusader, so we only went to the nearest available decent looking site we could find. Weather was chilly but mostly dry luckily! Owner very friendly and we paid upfront on arrival, no deposit was needed when booking over the phone. He said we could go on the hardstanding they'd allocated us or on the tent field, but we opted for the hardstanding. It was a newly laid out pitch and was level with a nice grassed area next to it. All the hardstanding pitches have EHU and there are water pipes located regularly around the site.

The site is fairly small, but does have large tent fields. There is a new looking toilet/shower block, it is heated, but the heater only kicks in when you open the door, so most of the time it was very chilly in there, but clean and well kept. The showers were 50p but lasted ages and were very hot. There is also a building that houses washing up sinks, hot/cold drink machines and a snack dispenser. It also has a Burco for making your own hot drinks.

The farm has fisheries and so on the Sunday morning there were plenty of fishermen around, so it does get busy in that respect. There is no play area on site, but there are places for the children to play and it's nice for them to walk around the lakes and see the ducks and geese.

There is a farm shop down the road and it is only a short drive to the nearest village. There is also a pub within walking distance, but we didn't try that out. It's easy to get to, our satnav did try and send us down an unsuitable road, but quickly recalculated a more suitable route! All in all, a very nice site for relaxation and we would go again if we just wanted somewhere local. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lockett192 1 review from this member

 One of the better sites we have been on,fishing is excellent the owner is very friendly and helpful. Would recommend this site to anyone. Toilets nice and clean for a commercial fishery. Shopping centre two miles away(left at exit gate) with a nice pub and supermarket,farm shop half a mile to the right at the exit gate. Not much for children unless they like to fish. Certain dates in the calender there are horse show events. Good value for money. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alferbys 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site positioned just off the M6 near Standish/Wrightington. Facilities are very good, toilets always clean, showers didn't check as we were only there for a couple of days and we have facilities in the caravan. Busy site includes fishing lakes and livery sections didn't see any area specifically for children. Owners friendly and helpful. Pub within walking distance. We had a pitch on D field, big enough to get the caravan and awning on and still have room to park the Kia in front. We were towing for the first time with a landranger and kia sorento, I spoke with the owner beforehand and the pitch we were given was ideal for us (facing the entrance onto a camping field) which made it very easy to reverse the caravan. Would recommend. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: LolaRola 17 reviews from this member

 Spent one night here in early April. The site is located on a farm, close to the M6, which also offers fishing and equestrian sports. Very friendly welcome at the farm house. Parked on a gravel hard standing arranged in one of several small fields.

Toilets were clean and satisfactory. We only found one working shower (although there may have been others dotted around the site)which was OK.

The Brook pub is a five minute walk and does food. Again, we got a very warm welcome here.

Would happily stay here again the next time we need a break from the M6. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheGlam-pers 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for an easy weekend to test our new tent.

Generally we were very pleased with the site, the clean facilities and friendly hospitality from the owner.

Despite the clear rules, there was a very noisy tent on our first evening which caused a degree of annoyance. However, the owner did take steps and sorted the problem.

I guess the only downside is the lack of a 'dedicated' field for ball games. Just a minor niggle on an otherwise great site. 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tigerlillyzoe 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this campsite a few times now, its very basic but well looked after. The own is very help full and friendly. Normal go with a few friends and the owner always ensure we are next too each other. Fisher out there will like this site. Plenty of area too walk your dogs.

Never had a problem with kids playing ball games at they always played in other field while we have been there.

Easy too find, in a lovely area few lovely farm shops near by. Plus a few pubs in walking distance (with skysports for you sports men/women)

Lovely cheap site we will keep going back. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tevez 2 reviews from this member

 Had a three night stay at charity farm and thoroughly enjoyed it. Flat, well mowed and spacious tent field with big open space for the kids to play. I have children at 2 and 7. No play area but as I say big open space, some good lakes to walk around and local routes on public footpaths. The owner will give you maps for 2 pound of local walks.

Owners where nice enough and helpful

8 minute drive from m6 junction and a ten minute drive from a parade of shops in eccleston. Great little pub 200 yards down road from site (five minute walk) where they sell good food and beer.

My only gripe being they charge for showers, the cleaners could of put a little more effort into cleaning the gents of which are modern but could be cleaner and finally a freezer for cooler ice packs would be very handy for those in the tent field.

Will definitely go back, kids loved it. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Blushb 3 reviews from this member

 Just got back from this Charity Farm, spent 3 days there with mixed weather, hot and sunny to thunder storms and heavy rain!

The site is basic with just 3 showers, and toilets next to them in an adjoining block. The toilets were clean themselves. The showers are 50p per use and they were warm and quite roomy.

The farm itself was lovely and very quiet, nothing for children to do as in play area, but it was nice to play games in the field we were pitched in.

A lovely pub was just 50 yards up the road and it was picturesque. Serving excellent meals.

Camelot theme park is not that far from this site and easily to get to.

On the farm also is fishing lakes and horse riding, both seemed very popular. The reception is at the farm house and they were very friendly.

We had a very chilled out time there and enjoyed the quiet, peaceful scenery. 


Previous     103 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wigan      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


850 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement